DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group A in the reply filed on 10/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/28/2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0047], the reference number “500” has been assigned to both “a DHW storage tank” and “The system”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the limitation “a thermal expansion device” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “device” coupled with function “expansion” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a thermal expansion device” can be implemented in various ways, such as “an expansion valve” [0046]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN105020933A).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses a system (see figures 1-5) for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water water source heat pump (the heat pump which associated with the water pump 6 and hot water heat exchanger 6; noted that the recitation “for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water water source heat pump” has been considered as a recitation of intended use; it has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)), the system comprising:
a compressor (1);
a source heat exchanger (4);
a load heat exchanger (5);
a domestic hot water heat exchanger (6);
a reversing valve (2 and/or 3);
a domestic hot water recirculating pump (6a);
an expansion valve (9; paragraph 2 of page 4; see figures 1-5); and
piping for transporting refrigerant between the compressor (1), the source heat exchanger (4), the load heat exchanger (5), and the domestic hot water heat exchanger (6; see figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the system further comprising a reversible filter dryer (the limitation “reversable filter dryer” has been interpreted as a filter dryer in a reversable system; Chen discloses a filter dryer 8 in a reversable system; see figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the system further comprising a hot gas bypass valve (11; see figures 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Xiao (2007/0125111).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a system (see figures 1-5) for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water source heat pump (the heat pump which associated with the pump 6a and hot water heat exchanger 6; noted that the recitation “for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water water source heat pump” has been considered as a recitation of intended use; it has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)), the system comprising:
a compressor (1);
a source heat exchanger (4);
a load heat exchanger (5);
a thermal expansion device (9),
a domestic hot water heat exchanger (6; see figures 1-5); and
piping (the piping of the system; see figures 1-5) for transporting refrigerant between the compressor (1), the source heat exchanger (4), the load heat exchanger (5), the domestic hot water heat exchanger (6), and the thermal expansion device (9; see figures 1-5);
However, Chen fails to disclose the system is concealed inside a single wall cavity comprising a substantially planar front wall and a substantially planar back wall, the system disposed within the wall cavity such that the system does not penetrate into the plane of the substantially planar back wall or beyond the plane of the substantially planar front wall.
Xiao teaches a system (the heat pump system which associated with compressor 1) is concealed inside a single wall cavity (6; see figure 1) comprising a substantially planar front wall (61) and a substantially planar back wall (the back wall of the wall 6), the system disposed within the wall cavity such that the system does not penetrate into the plane of the substantially planar back wall (the back wall of the wall 6) or beyond the plane of the substantially planar front wall (61; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the system of Chen to incorporate a system which is concealed inside a single wall cavity as taught by Xiao in order to save living space in the room.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the water-to-water water source heat pump (the heat pump system which associated with the pump 6a and the hot water heat exchanger 6) utilizes water at both a load (the load side of the hot water heat exchanger 6) and source side (the water source side) as a thermal transfer medium (see figures 1-5, Chen).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses system further comprising:
a reversing valve (3); and
wherein the thermal expansion valve (9) is an electronic expansion valve (paragraph 2 of page 4; see figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the system further comprising a domestic hot water recirculating pump (6a; see figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, Chen fails to disclose the system further comprising a reversible filter dryer (the limitation “reversable filter dryer” has been interpreted as a filter dryer in a reversable system; Chen discloses a filter dryer 8 in a reversable system; see figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the system further comprising a hot gas bypass valve (11; see figures 1-5).
Claims 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Xiao as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Petty et al. (5,769,033).
Regarding claim 2, Chen as modified fails to disclose the water-to-water water source heat pump (6a and 6) is mounted between adjacent wall studs.
Petty teaches a hot water storage which is mounted between adjacent wall studs (12; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Chen to incorporate the claimed mounting location and configuration between wall studs as taught by Petty in order to mount or secure the water-to-water water source heat pump adjacent wall studs and to save living space in the room.
Claims 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leman et al. (2015/0052914) in view of Xiao.
Regarding claim 1, Leman discloses a system (10; see figure 1) for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water source heat pump (12; noted that the recitation “for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water water source heat pump” has been considered as a recitation of intended use; it has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)), the system comprising:
a compressor (20);
a source heat exchanger (18);
a load heat exchanger (76);
a thermal expansion device (78),
a domestic hot water heat exchanger (36; see figure 1); and
piping (the piping of the system; see figure 1) for transporting refrigerant between the compressor (20), the source heat exchanger (18), the load heat exchanger (76), the domestic hot water heat exchanger (36), and the thermal expansion device (78; see figure 1);
However, Leman fails to disclose the system is concealed inside a single wall cavity comprising a substantially planar front wall and a substantially planar back wall, the system disposed within the wall cavity such that the system does not penetrate into the plane of the substantially planar back wall or beyond the plane of the substantially planar front wall.
Xiao teaches a system (the heat pump system which associated with compressor 1) is concealed inside a single wall cavity (6; see figure 1) comprising a substantially planar front wall (61) and a substantially planar back wall (the back wall of the wall 6), the system disposed within the wall cavity such that the system does not penetrate into the plane of the substantially planar back wall (the back wall of the wall 6) or beyond the plane of the substantially planar front wall (61; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the system of Leman to incorporate a system which is concealed inside a single wall cavity as taught by Schmitt in order to save living space in the room.
Regarding claim 3, Leman discloses the water-to-water water source heat pump (12) utilizes water at both a load (the load side 36) and source side (86) as a thermal transfer medium (see figure 1, Leman).
Regarding claim 4, Leman discloses system further comprising:
a reversing valve (the reversing valve at the outlet of the compressor 20); and
wherein the thermal expansion valve (26 or 78; see figure 1) is an electronic expansion valve (though Leman fails to disclose the thermal expansion valve is an electronic expansion, the Office taken Official Notice here that the thermal expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve is well-known feature in the art of refrigeration system).
Regarding claim 5, Leman discloses the system further comprising a domestic hot water recirculating pump (62; see figure 1).
Claims 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leman in view of Xiao as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Petty.
Regarding claim 2, Leman fails to discloses the water-to-water water source heat pump (12) is mounted between adjacent wall studs.
Petty teaches a hot water storage which is mounted between adjacent wall studs (12; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Leman to incorporate the claimed mounting location and configuration between wall studs as taught by Petty in order to secure the water-to-water water source heat pump adjacent wall studs and to save living space in the room.
Claims 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leman in view of Xiao as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Ishizuka et al. (EP2420767A2).
Regarding claim 7, Leman fails to disclose the system further comprising a hot gas bypass valve.
Ishizuka teaches a heat-pump hot water supply and air conditioning apparatus comprising a hot gas bypass (40) and a hot gas bypass valve (41; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Leman to incorporate a bypass and a hot gas bypass valve as taught by Ishizuka in order to control the defrosting operation by the controlling the bypass valve to regulate hot gas through the bypass.
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leman et al.
Regarding claim 8, Leman as modified in detail as in claim 1 above discloses a system for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water water source heat pump (12; noted that the recitation “for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water water source heat pump” has been considered as a recitation of intended use; it has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex part Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)), the system comprising:
a compressor (20);
a source heat exchanger (18);
a load heat exchanger (76);
a domestic hot water heat exchanger (36);
a reversing valve (the reversing valve at the outlet of the compressor 20);
a domestic hot water recirculating pump (62);
an expansion valve (26 or 78; though Leman fails to disclose the expansion valve is an electronic expansion, the Office taken Official Notice here that the expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve is well-known feature in the art of refrigeration system); and
piping for transporting refrigerant between the compressor (20), the source heat exchanger (18), the load heat exchanger (76), and the domestic hot water heat exchanger (36; see figure 1).
Claims 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leman in view of Xiao as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Ishizuka.
Regarding claim 10, Leman fails to disclose the system further comprising a hot gas bypass valve.
Ishizuka teaches a heat-pump hot water supply and air conditioning apparatus comprising a hot gas bypass (40) and a hot gas bypass valve (41; see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Leman to incorporate a bypass and a hot gas bypass valve as taught by Ishizuka in order to control the defrosting operation by the controlling the bypass valve to regulate hot gas through the bypass.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 except the limitation “a thermal expansion device” (see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222).
Chen teaches a system for providing domestic hot water using a water-to-water source heat pump comprising a thermal expansion device (9; paragraph 2 of page 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of claim invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 to incorporate a thermal expansion device as taught by Chen in order to expand the refrigerant supplied to the heat exchanger to perform heat transfer between the refrigerant and the air.
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 discloses the water-to-water water source heat pump is mounted between adjacent wall studs (see claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 fails to disclose a reversing valve; and wherein the thermal expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve.
Chen teaches a system comprising: a reversing valve (3); and wherein the thermal expansion valve (9) is an electronic expansion valve (paragraph 2 of page 4; see figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of claim invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 to incorporate a reversable valve and an electronic expansion valve as taught by Chen in order to perform reversable operation of the system and to expand the refrigerant supplied to the heat exchanger to perform heat transfer between the refrigerant and the air.
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 fails to disclose the system further comprising a domestic hot water recirculating pump.
Chen teaches a system comprising a domestic hot water recirculating pump (6a; see figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of claim invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 to incorporate a domestic hot water recirculating pump as taught by Chen in order to circulate domestic water to the domestic hot water heat exchanger to perform heat exchanger between the refrigerant and domestic water.
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 fails to disclose the system further comprising a reversible filter dryer.
Chen teaches a system comprising a reversible filter dryer (the limitation “reversable filter dryer” has been interpreted as a filter dryer in a reversable system; Chen discloses a filter dryer 8 in a reversable system; see figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of claim invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 to incorporate a reversible filter dryer as taught by Chen in order to absorb moisture in the refrigerant.
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 fails to disclose the system further comprising a hot gas bypass valve.
Chen teaches a system comprising a hot gas bypass valve (11; see figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of claim invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 to incorporate a hot gas bypass valve as taught by Chen in order to regulate the hot gas through bypass during defrosting operation.
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 discloses all the limitation of claim 8 except the limitations “a reversing valve” and “an electronic expansion valve” (see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222).
Chen teaches a system comprising a reversing valve (2 and/or 3) and an electronic expansion valve (paragraph 2 of page 4; see figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of claim invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 to incorporate a reversable valve and an electronic expansion valve as taught by Chen in order to perform reversable operation for the system and to expand the refrigerant supplied to the heat exchanger to perform heat transfer between the refrigerant and the air.
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 fails to disclose the system further comprising a reversible filter dryer.
Chen teaches a system comprising a reversible filter dryer (the limitation “reversable filter dryer” has been interpreted as a filter dryer in a reversable system; Chen discloses a filter dryer 8 in a reversable system; see figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of claim invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 to incorporate a reversible filter dryer as taught by Chen in order to absorb moisture in the refrigerant.
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 fails to disclose the system further comprising a hot gas bypass valve.
Chen teaches a system comprising a hot gas bypass valve (11; see figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of claim invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,222 to incorporate a hot gas bypass valve as taught by Chen in order to regulate the hot gas through bypass during defrosting operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763