DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 03/04/2022, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection prompted by Applicant’s amendment to claims. A new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chang in view of Kerwin, with Kerwin teaching a semi-disposable medical-fluid waste management apparatus comprising a disposable assembly inserted into the canister as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 9, 11, 16, 17, and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170106127 A1 (Chang et al.) in view of US 5637103 A (Kerwin et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Chang teaches a semi-disposable (at least the liner being single-use [0083]) medical-fluid waste management apparatus (1000) (Figs. 1-6), the apparatus comprising:
a rigid canister ((1100) and (1200)) (Fig. 1) having a first canister portion (1200) (Fig. 6) with a canister opening (1213) and a second canister portion (1100), one of the first and second canister portions having an interstitial vacuum port (1170) therein [0090], the first and second canister portions including a first seal portion (1229) and a second seal portion (1140), respectively, which when sealingly engaged form a canister joint (this being formed by the mating surfaces between the two components, as seen in Figs. 2-4 and described in [0095]) in a canister-closed position (seen closed in Fig. 3), the canister joint defining a seal area (essentially the upper perimeter of the second canister portion, as seen in Fig. 4) and the canister opening defining an opening area smaller than the seal area (the opening seen in Fig. 6 necessarily being smaller than the seal area); and
a disposable assembly (at least 1310 and 1400 and their respective subcomponents, as seen in Fig. 3) comprising:
a lid (1410) configured to sealingly mate with the first canister portion at the canister opening [0105] and having lid-ports ((1440), (1450), and (1460)) for vacuum and fluid connections to the canister [0102-0103] (Fig. 3); and
a suction liner (1310) sealingly attached to the lid [0107] and configured to be inserted into the canister and receive medical-fluid waste when the canister is in the canister-closed position and the lid is mated with the canister (as seen in Fig. 3).
Chang fails to teach the disposable assembly being configured to be inserted into the canister through the canister opening after the canister is closed, to thereafter receive medical-fluid waste while the canister is in the canister-closed position and the lid is mated with the canister.
Kerwin teaches a semi-disposable medical-fluid waste management apparatus (12) (Fig. 2) wherein the disposable assembly (13) is configured to be inserted into the canister (20) through the canister opening (24) after the canister is closed (the state shown in Fig. 2), to thereafter receive medical-fluid waste (Col. 4: ll. 10-12) while the canister is in the canister-closed position and the lid is mated with the canister (Col. 3: l. 60 – Col. 4: l. 9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chang to incorporate the disposable assembly of Kerwin which allows insertion after the canister is closed to allow for safe and convenient disposal which minimizes user interaction with potentially dangerous fluids (Kerwin Col. 2: ll. 12-17).
Regarding Claim 2, Chang further teaches the canister joint (the connection between (1229) and (1140) as described in Claim 1) defines a joint plane (said plane extending over said joint and being essentially parallel with (1200) as seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Chang further teaches the seal area (the upper perimeter of the second canister portion, as seen in Fig. 4 and previously described in Claim 1) is an area no less than any planar cross-section intersecting the canister parallel to the joint plane (the interaction between the canister portions forming the largest area, as seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Chang further teaches the canister has a canister volume (1002), and the lid (1410) is configured to pass into the canister volume through the canister opening (1213) when not sealingly mated with the canister (the upper portion of the lid, to include at least lid ports (1450) and (1460), passing through the opening before sealing occurs).
Regarding Claim 5, Chang further teaches the disposable assembly (1310 and 1400) is configured to be removed from the canister when the first (1200) and second (1100) canister portions are disengaged in a canister-open position ([0103] describing removal, the canister-open position being considered the position wherein the first and second canister portions are not sealed, such as the position seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Chang further teaches the suction liner (1310) is a suction bag formed by bonding together two sheets of flexible material ([0261] describing the formation of the liner using different panel shapes to form an expandable cavity);
wherein each of the two sheets is circular [0261] before the suction bag is formed.
Regarding Claim 11, Chang further teaches the first canister portion (1200) is a top canister portion (being placed atop the second canister portion, as seen in Fig. 1), and the second canister portion (1100) is a bottom canister portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Chang further teaches the canister ((1100) and (1200)) includes a hinge (elements (1151) and (1251), as described in [0096]) between the first (1200) and second (1100) canister portions.
Regarding Claim 17, Chang further teaches the lid-ports ((1440), (1450), and (1460)) include a fluid disposal port (1460), a vacuum port (1440), and a patient port (1450) [0102-0103].
Regarding Claim 19, Chang further teaches a porous vent plug (1560) in the vacuum port (1440) (Fig. 3), configured to permit gas flow therethrough only when the plug is dry [0117].
Regarding Claim 20, Chang further teaches a one-way valve (the fluid port check valve described in [0113]) in the patient port (1450) configured to permit flow only into the suction liner (1310) [0113].
Regarding Claims 21 and 22, Chang further teaches the disposable assembly (1310 and 1400) further includes port caps (1550) configured to temporarily cover the lid-ports (covering (1450) and (1460) as described in [0126] and seen in Fig. 3);
wherein the port caps are integrally formed as a port-cap assembly (the port caps being attached to lid as described in [0126] and shown exemplary in Fig. 73).
Regarding Claim 23, the device of Claim 22 is considered to teach the port-cap assembly includes the lid (1410), and the port caps (1550) are tethered to the lid (as described in Claim 22), as the components are attached together as claimed and can be considered to form an “assembly”.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Kerwin, and further in view of US 20220031926 A1 (Leadingham et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Chang further teaches a plurality of canister shapes (including rectangular, circular, or elliptical [0252]), but Chang in view of Kerwin fails to teach the canister is substantially spherical.
Leadingham teaches a medical-fluid waste management apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the canister (2) is substantially spherical [0064].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the canister shape of Chang in view of Kerwin with the spherical shape taught by Leadingham to utilize a more efficient shape [Leadingham 0064] which is strong and minimizes material usage [Leadingham 0017].
Regarding Claim 7, Chang further teaches the canister seal is circumferential, as seen in the embodiment of Fig. 49.
Claim(s) 10, 12-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Kerwin, and further in view of US 20170304511 A1 (Harpham et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Chang in view of Kerwin fails to teach the canister includes a mounting connection.
Harpham teaches a medical-fluid waste management apparatus (800) (Figs. 12-13) wherein the canister (812) includes a mounting connection (862) (Fig. 13).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the canister of Chang in view of Kerwin to incorporate the mounting connection of Harpham to all for attachment to a cart or holder, thereby providing a stable interface for the device [Harpham 0012].
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Chang in view of Kerwin fails to teach the canister includes a mounting connection.
Harpham teaches a medical-fluid waste management apparatus (800) (Figs. 12-13) wherein the canister (811 and 812) includes a mounting connection (862) (Fig. 13); wherein the mounting connection is on the bottom canister portion (812).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the canister of Chang in view of Kerwin to incorporate the mounting connection of Harpham to all for attachment to a cart or holder, thereby providing a stable interface for the device [Harpham 0012].
Regarding Claim 14, Chang in view of Kerwin fails to teach the lid further includes pinch tabs configured to release the lid from the canister when the pinch tabs are depressed.
Harpham teaches a medical-fluid waste management apparatus (800) wherein the lid (811) further includes pinch tabs (856) configured to release the lid from the canister when the pinch tabs are depressed (pressed outwardly) [0093].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid of Chang in view of Kerwin to incorporate the pinch tabs of Harpham to provide a positive locking connection [Harpham 0093].
Regarding Claim 18, Chang in view of Kerwin fails to teach the lid-ports further include a tandem port for daisy-chaining the apparatus to other apparatus.
Harpham teaches a medical-fluid waste management apparatus (100) (Fig. 1a) wherein the lid-ports ((104) and (110)) further include a tandem port (106) for daisy-chaining the apparatus to other apparatus [0004].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid-ports of Chang in view of Kerwin to further include a tandem port as taught by Harpham to allow overflow to be directed to another container [Harpham 0004].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Kerwin, and further in view of US 20110238022 A1 (Massi et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Chang in view of Kerwin fails to teach the lid further includes one or more tear-away tabs configured to release the lid from the canister when the one or more tear-away tabs are torn off the lid.
Massi teaches a medical-fluid waste management apparatus (1000) (Fig. 7B) wherein the lid (1511) further includes one or more tear-away tabs (1512a) configured to release the lid from the canister when the one or more tear-away tabs are torn off the lid [0081].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chang in view of Kerwin to incorporate the tear-away tab of Massi to ensure the device cannot be re-used [Massi 0081, 0091].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANS KALIHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ANDREW J MENSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781