DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,246,679. All limitations of the pending claims are claimed in the patented claims. The pending claims are broader than the patented claims, except for claiming the item is a food container. Claim 13 of the patent claims the item is food within a container.
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,827,135 in view of Perelli et al. (US 2016/0059790). The patent does not claim the side walls. Perelli et al. teaches forming a recessed cavity (32) with a side wall that extends downwardly from floor section (12), as shown in Figure 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a side wall extending downwardly from the floor section, as taught by Perelli et al., to better support items placed in the recessed cavity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perelli et al. (US 2016/0059790).
Perelli et al., in reference to claim 1, discloses a method of transporting an item in a vehicle comprising placing an item within a recessed cavity (32) provided in a floor section (12) of the vehicle, as shown in Figures 1-5 and disclosed in paragraph [0036]. The recessed cavity (32) has a bottom lining (34) made of slip resistant material, rubber, and at least one side wall, as shown in Figures 3 and 4 and disclosed in paragraph [0024].
The entire element (12) is made of rubber, including the liner (34). The slip resistant material prevents the item from tumbling during transport. The recessed cavity (32) is a depression carved within the floor section of the vehicle. The side wall extends downwardly from the floor section. The item is a food item within a container, a grocery bag, as disclosed in paragraph [0003].
In reference to claim 2, the recessed cavity (32) has a cover (14) configured to situate within the recessed cavity (32), as shown in Figure 2, and to be removed from the recessed cavity, as shown in Figure 3. The top surface (22) of the cover (14) integrates with the floor section (12) of the vehicle such that the cover aligns with the floor section to provide a leveled and substantially uninterrupted floor when the cover (14) is situated within the recessed cavity (32), as shown in Figure 2.
In reference to claim 3, the top surface (22) of the cover (14) is made of a material which matches a material of the floor section (12), as shown in Figure 2 and disclosed in paragraph [0024].
In reference to claim 4, the cover (14) is removed from the recessed cavity (32) prior to placing the item within the recessed cavity (32), as shown in Figures 2-5 and disclosed in paragraph [0029].
In reference to claim 5, the cover (14) has a handle (30) configured to facilitate its removal from the recessed cavity (32), as shown in Figure 2.
In reference to claim 8, the cover (14) is hingedly coupled proximate an edge of the recessed cavity, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 9, the recessed cavity is provided in the floor section of the vehicle trunk, as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed in paragraph [0023].
In reference to claim 10, the material of the bottom lining of the recessed cavity (32) is heat resistant since it is made of rubber, as disclosed in paragraph [0024].
In reference to claim 11, the recessed cavity (32) has a depth less than the thickness of the vehicle floor (12) since the bottom lining (34) is part of the floor and the cover (14) is flush with the top surface of the floor, as shown in Figure 2 and disclosed in paragraph [0026].
In reference to claim 13, the recessed cavity (32) is rectangular, as shown in Figure 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perelli et al. (US 2016/0059790).
Perelli et al. does not disclose the depth of the recessed cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the recessed cavity of Perelli et al. with a depth between ¼ of an inch to about 3 inches with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious design choice to provide sufficient space to receive the collapsible container formed by the cover, side flap, and other portions.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perelli et al. (US 2016/0059790) in view of Conley (10,899,287).
Perelli et al. does not disclose the specific material.
Conley teaches forming a bottom lining from silicone, as disclosed on lines 13-30 of column 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the bottom lining of Perelli et al. from silicone rubber, as taught by Conley, as an obvious material choice with good ultraviolet and temperature resistance while maintaining flexibility to extend the life of the product.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 December 5, 2025