DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is with regard to the most recent papers filed 4/28/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10, Applicant argues the double patenting rejection, arguing that Boyer was not relied upon for the frequency limitation. However, the rejection did specifically rely on Boyer for modifying the claims of ‘968 for this limitation, and thus the claims stand rejected for obvious-type double patenting for the reasons provided below.
On page 10, Applicant argues that Boyer does not disclose “providing to the trained machine learning model a first input, the first input comprising first access data identifying a first plurality of data items accessed at the SaaS management platform using a first user account of a plurality of user accounts.” In support of this, Applicant argues that the file access list of Boyer describes resources that the user has access to as opposed to data identifying a first plurality of data items accessed. However, Boyer discloses in paragraph [0129] that metrics that are derived includes “file access,” which would include files that the user has access to using the user account.
Further, on pages 10-11, Applicant argues that Boyer does not disclose the subject matter previously presented in claim 19, as Boyer detects a chain of anomalous behavior (which Applicant identifies is a count of anomalous behavior events that the system has identified), as opposed to data identifying frequencies at which the first plurality of data items were accessed… However, data “identifying” frequencies is not the same as providing the frequencies, themselves. Instead, the data only needs to somehow identify the frequencies, which would include providing enough information to determine the frequencies. Providing the chain of access events (or “count,” as identified by Applicant) would also serve to identify the frequency, as the frequency would be a number of occurrences over a period of time, such as the time frame provided by Boyer (Boyer: Paragraph [0077]).
It is noted that claim 10 generically provides information to the trained learning model, then obtains outputs identifying certain information. In Boyer, it is presented that specific metrics provided are largely irrelevant as along as metrics are provided (Boyer: Paragraph [0129]). In the instant claims, the different input of claim 10 and many of the dependent claims appear to be largely interchangeable, and largely a design choice. It is recommended that amendments going forward serve to, in addition to providing stronger language (as above, data “identifying” information is broader from providing the information, itself), provide details that provide details that occur between the providing steps and the obtaining steps, such as the actual workings of the system in processing the provided data to reach the outputs. Otherwise, details elaborating on how the providing occurs in a novel way or actions that are performed with the obtained outputs would also likely help advance prosecution.
Double Patenting
Claim 10-21 and 24-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 and 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/382,968 (reference application) in view of US 2021/0273957 (Boyer). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 10, 20, 24, and 31 are substantially within the scope of claims 9 and 21 of ‘968, and are thus deemed to be an obvious variation. However, with regard to claim 10, the claims of ‘968 fail to disclose, but Boyer teaches providing to the trained machine learning model a sixth input comprising sixth access data identifying frequencies at which the first plurality of data items were accessed at the SaaS management platform using the first user account (Boyer: Paragraph [0077]. A number of times an interaction with the SaaS application took place in a time period can be determined and used to identify unusual behavior, where the number of occurrences over a specified time would constitute “frequencies.”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to check the frequencies of accesses to better identify anomalous behavior of the user.
Further, the instant claim 12 (and 11, from which claim 12 depends), 13, 14, 15, and 20 (as well as claims 25-28 and 32-35, which are similar to claims 12-15) are substantially within the scope of claims 13, 14, 15, 16, and 9, respectively, of ‘968, and are thus deemed to be an obvious variation. In summary, claims 10-15, 20, 24-28, and 31-35 provide subject matter substantially within the scope of one or more of claims 9 and 13-16 of ‘968, and are thus deemed to be an obvious variation.
With regard to claim 16, the claims of ‘968 fail to disclose, but Boyer teaches providing to the trained machine learning model a third input comprising third access data identifying access types corresponding to the first plurality of data items accessed at the SaaS management platform using the first user account (Boyer: Paragraph [0054] and [0090]. Characteristics can be checked, which includes “types of data transfers,” which would constitute “access types” in as much detail as claimed.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to check the types of data transfers to better identify anomalous behavior of the user.
With regard to claim 17, the claims of ‘968 fail to disclose, but Boyer teaches providing to the trained machine learning model a fourth input comprising fourth access data identifying time periods the first plurality of data items were accessed at the SaaS management platform using the first user account (Boyer: Paragraph [0128]. The data can be used to produce time series data, which can then be bucketed into individual time slices (time periods).). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to check the time periods of accesses to better identify anomalous behavior of the user.
With regard to claim 21, the claims of ‘968 fail to disclose, but Boyer teaches providing to the trained machine learning model an eighth input comprising information identifying, for the first user account, a respective department of a plurality of departments of the client organization (Boyer: Paragraphs [0054] and [0191]. The work groups field describes the role, where in the example, “software development group” would be the group, and would constitute “a respective department,” in as much detail as required by the instant claim.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to check the department to better identify anomalous behavior of the user, such as accesses to information that are unrelated to the department of the user.
With regard to claims 29-30, the instant claims are similar to claims 16-17, respectively, and are thus rejected for similar reasons.
With regard to claims 36, the instant claim is similar to claims 16, and is thus rejected for similar reasons.
Further, with regard to claim 18, the claims of ‘968 in view of Boyer fail to teach, but 2020/0265356 (Lee) teaches providing to the trained machine learning model a fifth input comprising fifth access data identifying, for the first user account, calendar events corresponding to non-work periods (refb: Paragraphs [0175]-[0176]. As part of a risk determination for a user, a user’s work schedule can be utilized and compared with accesses to data.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize data comparing a user’s work schedule with accesses to identify accesses outside of the user’s work hours to provide another metric to identify anomalous behavior.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-17, 20-21, and 24-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2021/0273957 (Boyer).
With regard to claim 10, Boyer discloses a method for using a trained machine learning model using information pertaining to accesses of data items at a software-as-a-Service (SaaS) management platform to determine an occurrence of malicious activity at the SaaS management platform, the method comprising:
providing to the trained machine learning model a first input, the first input comprising first access data identifying a first plurality of data items accessed at the SaaS management platform using a first user account of a plurality of user accounts associated with a client organization (Boyer: Paragraph [0054] and Paragraph [0129]. Context is gathered for the associated SaaS application, which can include a file access list.);
providing to the trained machine learning model a second input, the second input comprising second access data identifying frequencies at which the first plurality of data items were accessed at the SaaS management platform using the first user account (Boyer: Paragraph [0077]. A number of times an interaction with the SaaS application took place in a time period can be determined and used to identify unusual behavior, where the number of occurrences over a specified time would constitute “frequencies.”); and
obtaining, from the trained machine learning model, one or more outputs identifying (i) an indication of a potential occurrence of malicious activity corresponding to the access of data items by the first user account at the SaaS management platform (Boyer: Paragraph [0060]), and (ii) a level of confidence that the potential occurrence of malicious activity is an actual occurrence of malicious activity by the first user account at the SaaS management platform (Boyer: Paragraphs [0060] and [0169] and Figure 15. When a threat is identified, such as malicious behavior identified from the user’s inputs, a threat risk parameter (output) can be generated that includes a confidence of malicious behavior, where this information can then be used to determine remedies to be performed (Boyer: Paragraphs [0156] to [0157]).).
With regard to claim 11, Boyer discloses determining whether the level of confidence that the potential occurrence of malicious activity is the actual occurrence of malicious activity by the first user account at the SaaS management platform satisfies a threshold level (Boyer: Paragraphs [0139] and [0143]).
With regard to claim 12, Boyer discloses responsive to determining that the level of confidence satisfies the threshold level, initiating a security response to address the actual occurrence of malicious activity (Boyer: Paragraphs [156] to [0157]. Different actions may be taken based on the threat.).
With regard to claim 13, Boyer discloses that initiating the security response to address the actual occurrence of malicious activity comprises: providing a notification identifying the actual occurrence of malicious activity, an identifier of the first user account, and information identifying the first access data (Boyer: Paragraphs [0090] and [0143]. A user interface can be provided that provides a user with the information.).
With regard to claim 14, Boyer discloses initiating the security response to address the actual occurrence of malicious activity comprises: initiating, at the SaaS management platform, an account lock out corresponding to the first user account (Boyer: Paragraph [0157]. The user account can be disabled.).
With regard to claim 15, Boyer discloses wherein the first input comprises the first access data identifying the first plurality of data items accessed at a first SaaS service of the SaaS management platform using the first user account, the method further comprising: providing to the trained machine learning model a third input, the third input comprising second access data identifying a third plurality of data items accessed at a second SaaS service of the SaaS management platform using the first user account (Boyer: Paragraphs [0054], [0139], [0199], and [0202]. The data is collected about the user across multiple SaaS applications.).
With regard to claim 16, Boyer discloses providing to the trained machine learning model a fourth input comprising third access data identifying access types corresponding to the first plurality of data items accessed at the SaaS management platform using the first user account (Boyer: Paragraph [0054] and [0090]. Characteristics can be checked, which includes “types of data transfers,” which would constitute “access types” in as much detail as claimed.).
With regard to claim 17, Boyer discloses providing to the trained machine learning model a fifth input comprising fifth access data identifying time periods the first plurality of data items were accessed at the SaaS management platform using the first user account (Boyer: Paragraph [0128]. The data can be used to produce time series data, which can then be bucketed into individual time slices (time periods).).
With regard to claim 20, Boyer discloses providing to the trained machine learning model a seventh input comprising information identifying a respective job title of a plurality of job titles for the first user account (Boyer: Paragraph [0054]).
With regard to claim 21, Boyer discloses providing to the trained machine learning model an eighth input comprising information identifying, for the first user account, a respective department of a plurality of departments of the client organization (Boyer: Paragraphs [0054] and [0191]. The work groups field describes the role, where in the example, “software development group” would be the group, and would constitute “a respective department,” in as much detail as required by the instant claim.).
With regard to claims 24-30, the instant claims are similar to claims 10 and 12(with claim 11, from which claim 12 depends) through 17, respectively, and are thus rejected for similar reasons.
With regard to claims 31-36, the instant claims are similar to claims 10 and 12 (with claim 11, from which claim 12 depends) through 16, respectively, and are thus rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyer in view of US 2020/0265356 (Lee).
With regard to claim 18, Boyer fails to disclose, but Lee teaches providing to the trained machine learning model a sixth input comprising sixth access data identifying, for the first user account, calendar events corresponding to non-work periods (refb: Paragraphs [0175]-[0176]. As part of a risk determination for a user, a user’s work schedule can be utilized and compared with accesses to data.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize data comparing a user’s work schedule with accesses to identify accesses outside of the user’s work hours to provide another metric to identify anomalous behavior.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SCOTT B. CHRISTENSEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2444
/SCOTT B CHRISTENSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444