DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 2 – “the second optical element” is presumed to be intended as “the second optical element pair”.
Claim 17 requires a period (.) at the end.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peterson (US 6,501,772).
Regarding claim 1, Peterson discloses a method for seeding an optical beam (Abstract), comprising:
emitting an optical beam from an energy source (28, Fig. 1) towards an optical amplifier (36, Fig. 1; col. 11, lines 22-33) along an optical axis (55, Fig. 4) (col. 10, lines 36-39);
rotating one or more optical elements (50, Figs. 1, 4) disposed with in the beam path of the optical beam between the energy source (28) and the optical amplifier (36) about the optical axis (55) to a align the optical beam with a reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-59; col. 13, lines 40-56).
Regarding claim 2, Peterson discloses wherein the one or more optical elements (50) includes a first optical wedge (first 52) and a second optical wedge (second 52) aligned with one another along the optical axis (55) so as to form a Risley prism configured to adjust an angle of the optical beam relative to the reference beam (Fig. 4; col. 12, lines 6-59; col. 13, lines 40-56),
wherein rotating the one or more optical elements (50) about the optical axis (55) includes rotating the first optical wedge (first 52) by a first amount in a first direction, and rotating the second optical wedge (second 52) by a second amount in a second direction until the optical beam is parallel with reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 3, Peterson discloses wherein the one or more optical elements (50) further includes a first optical plate (first 52 of second 50) and a second optical plate (second 52 of second 50) aligned with one another along the optical axis (55) disposed in the beam path of the optical beam between the Risley prism (first 50) and the optical amplifier (36) (Figs. 1, 4) configured to adjust a lateral position of the optical beam relative to the reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28),
wherein rotating the one or more optical elements (50) about the optical axis (55) includes rotating the first optical plate (first 52) by a first amount in a first direction, and rotating the second optical plate (second 52) by a second amount in a second direction until the optical beam is co-linear with reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 4, Peterson discloses wherein the one or more optical elements (50) further includes a third optical wedge (first 52 of second 50) and a fourth optical wedge (second 52 of second 50) aligned with one another along the optical axis (55) so as to form a second Risley prism disposed in the beam path of the optical beam between the Risley prism (first 50) and the optical amplifier (36) (Figs. 1, 4) configured to adjust an angle of the optical beam relative to the reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28),
wherein rotating the one or more optical elements (50) about the optical axis (55) includes rotating the third optical wedge (first 52 of second 50) by a first amount in a first direction, and rotating the fourth optical wedge (second 52 of second 50) by a second amount in a second direction until the optical beam is parallel with reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 5, Peterson discloses further comprising, maintaining an alignment of the one or more optical elements (50) within a defined plane for rotation about only the optical axis (55) (col. 12, lines 6-28); and
constraining the one or more optical elements (50) from rotation about any other axis (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 6, Peterson discloses a seed beam alignment system (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a laser transmitter (28, Fig. 1) configured to emit an optical beam along an optical axis (55, Fig. 4) (col. 10, lines 36-39);
an optical amplifier (36, Fig. 1; col. 11, lines 22-33) configured to receive the optical beam;
a first optical element pair (50; Figs. 1, 4) disposed in a beam path of the optical beam between the laser transmitter (28) and the optical amplifier (36) (Fig. 1); and
a second optical element pair (second 50, Fig. 1) disposed in the beam path of the optical beam between the first optical element pair (first 50) and the optical amplifier (last 36) (Fig. 1),
wherein the first optical element pair (first 50) and the second optical element pair (second 50) are oriented relative to one another about the optical axis (55) to align the optical beam with a predefined reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-59; col. 13, lines 40-56).
Regarding claim 7, Peterson discloses wherein the first optical element pair (first 50, Fig. 1) includes a first optical wedge (first 52) and a second optical wedge (second 52) (Fig. 4) and wherein the first optical wedge is oriented relative to the second optical wedge to steer the optical beam to be parallel to the reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 8, Peterson discloses wherein the second optical element pair (second 50, Fig. 1) includes a first optical plate (first 52) and a second optical plate (second 52) (Fig. 4) wherein the second optical plate is oriented relative to the first optical plate to steer the optical beam to align the optical beam to be co-linear with the reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 9, Peterson discloses wherein the second optical element pair (second 50, Fig. 1) includes a third optical wedge (first 52) and a fourth optical wedge (second 52) (Fig. 4), wherein the fourth optical wedge is oriented relative to the third optical wedge to steer the optical beam to be parallel to the reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 10, Peterson discloses further comprising, a plurality of optical element pairs (50) disposed in the beam path of the optical beam, each optical element pair including a pair of optical wedges (52, Fig. 4), wherein the optical element pairs are oriented relative to one another configured to align the optical beam with the reference beam and configured to remove holes introduced into the optical beam (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 11, Peterson discloses wherein the system is configured to be mounted in a housing (54, Figs. 1, 4) such that the first and second optical element pairs (50) are mounted for rotation about the optical axis (55), wherein the first and second optical element pairs are mounted such that the first and second optical element pairs are prevented from tilting about an x axis or a y axis (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 12, Peterson discloses wherein the housing (54) is a cylindrical housing (Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 13, Peterson discloses wherein the system is configured to maintain an orientation and spacing of the first and second optical element pairs (50) relative to one another under vibratory loads, temperature change, and/or pressure change (col. 9, lines 24-38; col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 14, Peterson discloses a system (Figs. 1-4), comprising
a beam seeding alignment system (10, Fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (54, Figs. 1, 4);
a first optical element pair (50, Figs. 1, 4) mounted to the housing (54); and
a second optical element pair (second 50, Fig. 1) mounted to the housing (54),
wherein the first optical element pair (first 50) and the second optical element pair (second 50) are oriented relative to one another within the housing (54) about an optical axis (55) configured to align an optical beam emitted through the housing with a predefined reference beam to seed a master laser with an optical amplifier (36, Fig. 1; col. 11, lines 22-33) (col. 12, lines 6-59; col. 13, lines 40-56).
Regarding claim 15, Peterson discloses wherein the first optical element pair (first 50) includes a Risley prism pair (52, Fig. 4), and wherein the second optical element (second 50) includes an optical plate pair (52, Fig. 4), wherein the optical plate pair is disposed in the beam path of the optical beam between the Risley prism pair (first 50) and the optical amplifier (36) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Peterson discloses wherein the housing (54) is a cylindrical housing (Figs. 1, 4), wherein the first and second optical element pairs (50) are configured to be rotated about the optical axis (55) within the housing to align the optical beam with the reference beam (col. 12, lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 17, Peterson discloses wherein the first and second optical element pairs (50) are mounted in the housing (54) for rotational adjustment only (Figs. 1, 4; col. 12, lines 6-28)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson (US 6,501,772).
Regarding claim 18, Peterson discloses wherein the beam seeding alignment system (10) is configured to steer and align the optical beam relative to the optical amplifier (36) (Fig. 1; col. 12, lines 6-28).
Peterson does not explicitly disclose a LIDAR system, wherein the beam seeding alignment system is optically coupled to the LIDAR system, wherein the optical beam is a beam of the LIDAR system.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a LIDAR system, wherein the beam seeding alignment system is optically coupled to the LIDAR system, wherein the optical beam is a beam of the LIDAR system, to implement a distance-finding system as desired (Peterson, col. 3, lines 1-13).
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871