DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action for application SN 18/382,981 having an effective date of 23 October 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 August 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mueller et al (US 5,281,329).
Mueller et al [“Mueller”] disclose crude oils, vacuum gas oils, and residual oils containing long chain polyalkyl (meth)acrylates as flow improvers, wherein the long chain polyalkyl (meth)acrylates are a mixture of:
a polyalkyl (meth)acrylate P1 having an onset of crystallization at temperatures above 15°C, and
a polyalkyl (meth)acrylate P2 having an onset of crystallization at temperatures at or below 15°C,
with the proviso that there is a temperature difference of at least 5°C, preferably 10°C, between the onset of the crystallization of polyalkyl (meth)acrylates P1 and the onset of crystallization of polyalkyl (meth)acrylates P2. Mueller discloses that a synergistic effect is present. COL.2, L15-37.
Thus, P1 having a crystallization onset temperature of above 15°C is within the claimed range of between about 5°C and about 23°C, and between about 5°C and about 18°C (anticipated).
Mueller discloses that the two polymer components P1 and P2 are preferably in a weight relationship of 1:50 to 50:1, particularly 1:10 to 10:1. COL.2, L38-40.
Mueller discloses that polyalkyl (meth)acrylates P1 are formed from monomers having an alkyl portion of greater than C18, such as C18-C26, and preferably polybehenyl acrylate. COL.2, L49-55. Stearyl is C18.
Mueller discloses that polyalkyl (meth)acrylates P2 are represented by esters of acrylic or methacrylic acid, particularly with longer chain alkanols (from C1, preferably from C8, and up to C40), thus including those having C16-24 alkyl groups. COL.2, L56-65.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al (US 5,281,329) in combination with Kundu et al (US 2018/0086862).
Mueller et al [“Mueller”] is relied on as outlined above.
Dependent claim 12 differs when the low temperature intermediate comprises an olefin maleic imide polymer. However, as evidenced by Kundu et al [“Kundu”], olefin maleic imide polymers are known in the art as paraffin inhibitors when added to hydrocarbon media such as crude oils. See [0007]-[0008].
Dependent claim 13 differs when the low temperature intermediate comprises a phenolic resin polymer comprising an alkyl chain with a length between C20 and C28. However, Kundu discloses that in some embodiments, the paraffin inhibitor may be a C4-C50 alkyl phenol-formaldehyde resin which are available commercially having various molecular weights [0098].
Thus, having the applied prior art references before the inventor(s) at the time the invention was made it would have been obvious to the skilled oil formulator to have added known paraffin inhibitors such as disclosed in Kundu, to the flow improvers for crude oil disclosed in Mueller if the known imparted properties were so desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771
EMcAvoy
November 24, 2025