DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pollack et al (US PG. Pub. 2015/0166265). Relative to claims 1 and 3-6, Pollack discloses:
claim 1) An article transport facility (Fig. 2A), comprising:
at least one transport vehicle (“carrier”) configured to transport an article (Para. 0063);
a travel path (“track system”) on which the at least one transport vehicle (“carrier”) travels, the travel path divided into a plurality of control regions (see “local track sections”, that are individually controlled; Para. 0043);
a plurality of section control devices (“local processors”) each provided for a corresponding control region out of the plurality of control regions (“local track sections”) and configured to control passage of the at least one transport vehicle (carrier) in the corresponding control region (Para. 0043);
a superior control device (central controller) configured to control the plurality of section control devices (Para. 0043);
the travel path (150) including a plurality of recording points (see “decision points”, 164, 166, etc.); and
the plurality of section control devices (“local processors”) each configured to:
(i) record a control state of the at least one transport vehicle (“carrier”) at each recording point in the corresponding control region as recording information associated with said each recording point (at the decision point, carrier communicates its identity, identity of sample being carried (Para. 0092), (ii) generate transmission information including a plurality of pieces of the recording information for said each recording point (Para. 0092, identity information of carrier and sample is generated and transmitted), and (iii) transmit the transmission information to the superior control device by said each recording point (information obtained at decision point about carrier may be transmitted to central controller; Para. 0044);
Claim 3) each of the plurality of control regions includes a specific section (see for instance, a section of the track system 200 comprising a portion of the top track 220 around a top decision node 214 – i.e. a first path – and a portion of the track 222 directly underneath the top portion above around a bottom decision node 214 – i.e., a second path, this section of the track may be within or outside a module 205),
the specific section includes:
a first path and a second path not intersecting with each other (a portion of the top track 220 around a top decision node 214 – i.e. a first path – and a portion of the track 222 directly underneath the top portion above around a bottom decision node 214 – i.e., a second path, don’t intersect each other); and
a connection path connecting a first connecting part in the first path to a second connecting part in the second path (at the section, see the path connecting the top track 220 and the bottom track 222, between a top and bottom decision node 214)(Fig. 3, the connecting parts are located just before reaching the decision points 214 along the paths)(Para. 0066),
the specific section includes a first passage point downstream from the first connecting part as a recording point (in the section, the connecting parts are located just before reaching, or when reaching the decision points 214 along the paths, the first connecting part is just prior to reaching or when reaching the top decision point 214 at the top track 220, the first passage point is located at or just after a top decision point 214 along top track)(Fig. 3),
the specific section includes a second passage point downstream from the second connecting part as a recording point (the second connecting part is just prior to reaching or when the carrier reaches the bottom decision point 214 at the bottom track 222, the bottom passage point is located at or just after a bottom decision point 214 along top track)(Fig. 3),
in response to the plurality of section control devices (“local processor”) each permitting a transport vehicle (“carrier”) traveling on the first path for passage through the first passage point to pass through the first passage point, the section control device records, as the recording information, (i) the transport vehicle (“carrier”) identification information on the transport vehicle (Para. 0992) and (ii) permission time information indicative of a time point at which the section control device permitted the transport vehicle (“carrier”) to pass (Para. 0107, information also includes position of carrier at any point, Para. 0093), in association with point identification information on the first passage point (Para. 0092),
in response to the plurality of section control devices each permitting a transport vehicle (“carrier”) traveling on the second path for passage through the second passage point to pass through the second passage point, the section control device records, as the recording information,
(i) the transport vehicle identification information on the transport vehicle (Para. 0092) and (ii) permission time information indicative of a time point at which the section control device permitted the transport vehicle (“carrier”) to pass (Para. 0107), in association with point identification information on the second passage point (Para. 0092), and
in response to the plurality of section control devices each permitting a transport vehicle (“carrier”) traveling from the first path to the connection path for passage through the second passage point (see near bottom decision point 214 on bottom track 222)(Fig. 3) to pass through the second passage point, the section control device records, as the recording information, (i) the transport vehicle identification information on the transport vehicle (Para. 0092) and (ii) permission time information indicative of a time point at which the section control device permitted the transport vehicle (“carrier”) to pass (Para. 0107), in association with point identification information on the first passage point and point identification information on the second passage point (Para. 0092, 0107);
claim 4) each of the plurality of control regions includes a specific section (see for instance, a section of the track system 200 comprising a portion of the top track 220 around a top decision node 214 – i.e. a first path – and a portion of the track 222 directly underneath the top portion above around a bottom decision node 214 – i.e., a second path, this section of the track may be within or outside a module 205),
the specific section includes:
a first path and a second path not intersecting with each other (a portion of the top track 220 around a top decision node 214 – i.e. a first path – and a portion of the track 222 directly underneath the top portion above around a bottom decision node 214 – i.e., a second path, don’t intersect each other); and
a connection path connecting a first connecting part in the first path to a second connecting part in the second path (at the section, see the path connecting the top track 220 and the bottom track 222, between a top and bottom decision node 214)(Fig. 3, the connecting parts are located just before reaching the decision points 214 along the paths)(Para. 0066),
the specific section includes a first passage point downstream from the first connecting part as a recording point (in the section, the connecting parts are located just before reaching, or when reaching the decision points 214 along the paths, the first connecting part is just prior to reaching or when reaching the top decision point 214 at the top track 220, the first passage point is located at or just after a top decision point 214 along top track)(Fig. 3),
the specific section includes a second passage point downstream from the second connecting part as a recording point (the second connecting part is just prior to reaching or when the carrier reaches the bottom decision point 214 at the bottom track 222, the bottom passage point is located at or just after a bottom decision point 214 along top track)(Fig. 3),
in response to the plurality of section control devices (“local processors”) each permitting a transport vehicle (“carrier”) traveling from the first path to the connection path for passage through the second passage point to pass through the second passage point (see near bottom decision point 214 on bottom track 222)(Fig. 3), the section control device records, as the recording information, passage permission information indicating that the section control device (“local processor”) permitted the transport vehicle (“carrier”) to pass, in association with the first passage point and the second passage point (passage permission information may include identities of carriers, loads, times, routing and other information, Para. 0092);
claim 5) the plurality of section control devices (“local processors”) each collectively transmit, to the
superior control device (“central controller”), transmission information including recording information recorded in association with the first passage point (near top Ref. 214) and transmission information including recording information recorded in association with the second passage point (near bottom Ref. 214)(Para. 0092; 0044); and
claim 6) each of the plurality of recording points (decision point) has an accumulation period (Para. 0092), and
the plurality of section control devices (“local processors”) each generate transmission information including recording information on each recording point (decision point) for the accumulation period, and transmit the transmission information to the superior control device (Para. 0092, information at decision point is transmitted to the central controller).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollack. Relative to claim 2, Pollack discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including:
the at least one transport vehicle (“carrier”) comprises a plurality of transport vehicles each having unique transport vehicle identification information (Para. 0089; 0042),
each of the plurality of recording points (decision points, 164, 166) has unique point identification information (decision points may be landmarks, 0048, that can be identified by the position decoder, Para. 0108, 0093; see also Para. 0118, track sections can be identified along with the decision points along the track), and
in response to the plurality of section control devices (“local processors”) each permitting a transport vehicle to pass through a recording point, the section control device records, as the recording information, point identification information on the recording point in association with (i) the transport vehicle identification information on the transport vehicle (Para. 0092, carrier identity at decision point is determined and is associated with the identity of the decision point landmark; Para. 0048; 0108).
Pollack does not expressly disclose: in response to the plurality of section control devices each permitting a transport vehicle to pass through a recording point, the section control device records, as the recording information, point identification information on the recording point in association with (ii) permission time information indicative of a time point at which the section control device permitted the transport vehicle to pass.
Pollack teaches: the section control device records, as the recording information, point identification information on the recording point in association with permission time indicative of a time at which the section control device permitted the transport vehicle to pass, as an obvious matter of design choice.
A controller that makes a real-time decision to allow a carrier to enter a section necessarily performs that decision at a particular time (Para. 0107, the real-time position of the carrier is known and communicated to the local controller, Para. 0044). This obtaining the time of the allow/entry event at the decision point on the track would have been an obvious and routine implementation detail of the real-time gate/switch control.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Pollack with the recording the permission time information indicative of when the vehicle is permitted to pass since obtaining the time of the allow/entry event at the decision point on the track would have been an obvious and routine implementation detail of the real-time gate/switch control.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollack in view of Harasaki (US PG. Pub. 2014/0358338). Relative to claim 7, Pollack discloses all claim limitations above, but does not expressly disclose:
the plurality of section control devices are each configured to receive a passage
completion notice in response to a transport vehicle having passed a recording point, and
the plurality of section control devices each transmit, to the superior control device, transmission information on a recording point satisfying either a first condition or a second condition,
the first condition being that the section control device does not receive the passage completion notice within a predetermined time period after the section control device permitted the transport vehicle to pass through the recording point,
the second condition being that another transport vehicle has been unable to pass through the recording point for a predetermined time period.
Harasaki teaches:
the plurality of section control devices are each configured to receive a passage completion notice in response to a transport vehicle (3) having passed a recording point (see near tracks R1-R16, near S1-S6 or C1-C6)(Para. 0032), and
the plurality of section control devices (4) each transmit, to the superior control device (12), transmission information on a recording point satisfying either a first condition or a second condition (Para.0050),
the first condition being that the section control device (4) does not receive the passage completion notice within a predetermined time period after the section control device permitted the transport vehicle to pass through the recording point (Para. 0050, abnormality is detected),
the second condition being that another transport vehicle (3) has been unable to pass through the recording point for a predetermined time period (Para. 0050).
Harasaki teaches: receiving the passage completion notice, and transmitting information satisfying either a first condition or a second condition as mentioned above, for the purpose of providing a travelling vehicle system that prevents areas of congestion of traveling vehicles from widening and improving traveling efficiency of the traveling vehicles (Para. 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Pollack with the receiving the passage completion notice, and transmitting information satisfying either a first condition or a second condition as taught in Harasaki for the purpose of providing a travelling vehicle system that prevents areas of congestion of traveling vehicles from widening and improving traveling efficiency of the traveling vehicles.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pollack and Harasaki as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Matsumoto (US PG. Pub. 2023/0242166). Pollack in view of Harasaki discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
the plurality of section control devices are each configured to transmit the transmission information to the superior control device at a predetermined cycle, and
the section control device transmits the transmission information to the superior control device up to predetermined times in response to the first condition or the second condition being satisfied.
Matusumoto teaches: the plurality of section control devices (220)(Fig. 3) are each configured to transmit the transmission information to the superior control device (200)(Para. 0057; 0079) at a predetermined cycle (Para. 0078), and the section control device (220) transmits the transmission information to the superior control device (200) up to predetermined times in response to the first condition or the second condition being satisfied (Para. 0078), for the purpose of providing a traveling vehicle system that can efficiently pass through a branching portion (Para. 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pollack in view of Harasaki with the transmitting the transmission information to the superior control device at a predetermined cycle, and transmitting the transmission information to the superior control device up to predetermined times in response to the first condition or the second condition being satisfied described above, as taught in Matusumoto for the purpose of providing a traveling vehicle system that can efficiently pass through a branching portion.
Conclusion
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651