DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I, claims 1-19, in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/12/2025.
Claims 1-15 are pending, claims 1-9 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made for priority claims from European patent application EP22203962.0, filed on 10/26/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2024, 05/06/2024, 08/13/2024 and 08/22/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “hydrocarbon”, and the claim also recites “straight, branched, or cyclic alkanes and alkenes having 20 to 65 carbon atoms” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “esters”, and the claim also recites “esters from fatty acid or alcohol” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “amide”, and the claim also recites “N-acetyl-N-butylaminopropionate …N,N,-diethyltoluamide” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “ether”, and the claim also recites “saturated and unsaturated fatty ether…thereof” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “silicones”, and the claim also recites “polysiloxanes” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation “skin care actives”, and the claim also recites “vitamins, peptides and peptide derivatives, sugar amines” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "additive" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 cite parenthesis, and it is unclear if the subject matter contained within the parenthesis is further limiting or not. A parenthetical expression is simply a word or string of words which contains relevant yet non-essential information and are non-restrictive which means that the phrase may be removed from the sentence without changing the meaning of the sentence. Parenthetical expressions are not permissible which do not contribute to clearness or exactness in stating Applicant’s invention (Ex parte Cahill, 1893 C. D., 78; 63 O. G., 2125).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 8-9 recite thickening agent, since no every thickening agent is shear thinning structurant, claims 8-9 fail to include all the limitation of claim 1. Claim 9 recites hydrophobic component, since hydrophobic component is not necessary an oil, claims 8 fails to include all the limitation of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Klomp et al. (US20100275941).
The limitation of claims 1-7 are met by Klomp et al. disclosing a shave composition (aid) comprising water, hydrocarbon oil, thickener such as gum (read on shear thinning structurant) and humectant (additive) ([0009, 0027, 0034, 0056]). Klomp et al. is silent about polar component of surface free energy, storage modulus G’ and loss modulus G’, and contact angle; which are regarded as inherency of prior art composition. Since prior art teaches the same composition, this same composition must have same properties. MPEP 2112.01 II, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Grady (US20070110703).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
O’Grady teaches Razors and components thereof (abstract). The shaving aid composition comprising fragrance ([0032]), clay ([0054]), mineral oil ([0013]; claims 1 and 6) and water ([0115]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and O’Grady is that O’Grady do not expressly teach all ingredients in one embodiment.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
O’Grady teaches a shaving aid composition comprising fragrance (read on perfume, additive), clay (shear thinning structurant according to applicant’s claim 6), mineral oil and water. O’Grady is silent about polar component of surface free energy, storage modulus G’ and loss modulus G’, and contact angle; which are regarded as inherency of prior art composition. Since prior art teaches the same composition, this same composition must have same properties. MPEP 2112.01 II, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18383079 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teach the same shaving aid composition comprising each ingredients in the claimed composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613