DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranieri et al. (2014/0352161 A1 ; see reference in its entirety) in view of Rando (US 5621975; see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Ranieri disclose(s): A laser level system (Fig. 2) comprising:
a mount (Fig. 2: 20) comprising a base portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below) and an attachment portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below);
a laser level (Fig. 2: 12) on the base portion of the mount (Fig. 2), the laser level configured to project a first line (Fig. 2: 54) and a second line (Fig. 2: 56), the first line being perpendicular to the second line (Fig. 2);
a motor (¶[0037]: motorized self-leveling mechanism ) in the base portion (Fig. 2), the motor configured to drive rotation of the laser level relative to the mount (¶[0037]);
wherein the base portion is transverse to the attachment portion (Fig. 2).
Ranieri does not specifically disclose: wherein the motor is configured to operate in response to a wireless signal from a remote input device.
However, Rando teach(es) a system (Fig. 6) comprising: wherein the motor is configured to operate in response to a wireless signal (Figs. 5 & 6 and col. 3, lines 38-45) from a remote input device (Fig. 6: 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri, with the teachings of Rando, for the purpose of allowing to facilitate measurements (col. 2, lines 29-43).
With respect to Claim 2, Ranieri and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a wireless receiver which is configured to receive the wireless signal from the remote input device.
However, Rando further teach(es): a wireless receiver (col. 4, line 51) which is configured to receive the wireless signal from the remote input device (col. 3, lines 38-45)
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 3, Ranieri and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 2.
The combination does not specifically disclose: further comprises a controller.
However, Rando further teach(es): further comprises a controller (Fig. 5: 69)
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 4, Ranieri and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 3.
The combination does not specifically disclose: further comprising a circuit board; wherein the wireless receiver is on the circuit board; and wherein the controller is on the circuit board.
However, Rando further teach(es): further comprising a circuit board (Fig. 5: 68); wherein the wireless receiver is on the circuit board (Fig. 5); and wherein the controller is on the circuit board (Fig. 5).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 5, Ranieri and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the laser level is configured to be selectively driven by the motor in a clockwise direction and a counter-clockwise direction.
However, Rando further teach(es): wherein the laser level is configured to be selectively driven by the motor in a clockwise direction and a counter-clockwise direction (col. 3, lines 38-45)
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranieri and Rando further in view of Steffen (US 8511635 B2; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Ranieri and Rando disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the attachment portion comprises an attachment element configured to secure the mount to a surface.
However, Steffen teach(es) a system (Fig. 1) including: wherein the attachment portion comprises an attachment element configured to secure the mount to a surface (Fig. 1: 20 & 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri and Rando, with the further teachings of Steffen, for the purpose of increasing the flexibility of the fastening onto different substrates (col. 2, lines 38-41).
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Ranieri and Rando disclose(s) the system of Claim 6.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the attachment element comprises a magnet.
However, Steffen teach(es) a system (Fig. 1) including: wherein the attachment element comprises a magnet (Fig. 1: 20 & 21).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 6.
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Ranieri and Rando disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a manual adjustment actuator, which is configured to allow a user to manually rotate the laser level relative to the mount.
However, Steffen teach(es) a system (Fig. 1) including: a manual adjustment actuator (Fig. 1: 9), which is configured to allow a user to manually rotate the laser level relative to the mount (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri and Rando, with the further teachings of Steffen, for the purpose of allowing for alignment (col. 4, lines 6-7).
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranieri in view of Steffen and Rando.
With respect to independent Claim 9, Ranieri disclose(s): A laser level system (Fig. 2) comprising:
a mount (Fig. 2: 20) comprising a base portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below) and an attachment portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below) generally transverse to the base portion (Fig. 2);
a laser level (Fig. 2: 12) on the base portion of the mount (Fig. 2), the laser level comprising a housing (Fig. 2: 20) and configured to project a first line (Fig. 2: 54) and a second line (Fig. 2: 56), the first line being transverse to the second line (Fig. 2);
a self-leveling mechanism (Fig. 1: 26); in the housing (Fig. 1);
a laser generator (Fig. 1: 30) on the self-leveling mechanism (Fig. 1);
a motor (¶[0037]: motorized self-leveling mechanism ) in the mount (Fig. 2), the motor configured to selectively drive rotation of the laser level about an axis perpendicular to the first line (¶[0037]).
Ranieri does not specifically disclose: the attachment portion configured to secure the mount to a surface.
However, Steffen teach(es) a system (Fig. 1) comprising: the attachment portion configured to secure the mount to a surface (col. 2, lines 38-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri, with the teachings of Steffen, for the purpose of increasing the flexibility of the fastening onto different substrates (col. 2, lines 38-41).
Ranieri in view of Steffen does not specifically disclose: a remote input device configured to control rotation of the laser level.
However, Rando teach(es) a system (Fig. 6) comprising: a remote input device (Fig. 6: 80) configured to control rotation of the laser level (Figs. 5 & 6 and col. 3, lines 38-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri and Steffen, with the teachings of Rando, for the purpose of allowing to facilitate measurements (col. 2, lines 29-43).
With respect to Claim 10, Ranieri, Steffen and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 9.
Ranieri further teach(es): wherein the first line is a horizontal line (Fig. 2: 54) and wherein the second line is a vertical line (Fig. 2: 56)
With respect to Claim 11, Ranieri, Steffen and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 10.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the laser level is configured to rotate about a vertical axis when the attachment portion is attached to a flat vertical surface.
However, Steffen further teach(es): wherein the laser level is configured to rotate about a vertical axis when the attachment portion is attached to a flat vertical surface (Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 56-63)
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9.
With respect to Claim 12, Ranieri, Steffen and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 11.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a wireless receiver which is configured to receive the signal from the remote input device.
However, Rando further teach(es): a wireless receiver (col. 4, line 51) which is configured to receive the signal from the remote input device (col. 3, lines 38-45)
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Ranieri, Steffen and Rando disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the attachment element comprises magnets.
However, Steffen teach(es) a system (Fig. 1) including: wherein the attachment element comprises magnets (Fig. 1: 20 & 21).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Ranieri, Steffen and Rando disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a manual adjustment actuator, which is configured to allow a user to manually rotate the laser level relative to the mount.
However, Steffen teach(es) a system (Fig. 1) including: a manual adjustment actuator (Fig. 1: 9), which is configured to allow a user to manually rotate the laser level relative to the mount (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri, Steffen and Rando, with the further teachings of Steffen, for the purpose of allowing for alignment (col. 4, lines 6-7).
With respect to Claim 15, Ranieri, Steffen and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the laser level is configured to be selectively driven by the motor in a clockwise direction and a counter-clockwise direction.
However, Rando further teach(es): wherein the laser level is configured to be selectively driven by the motor in a clockwise direction and a counter-clockwise direction (col. 3, lines 38-45)
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranieri in view of Rando.
With respect to independent Claim 16, Ranieri disclose(s): A laser level system (Fig. 2) comprising:
a mount (Fig. 2: 20) comprising a base portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below) and an attachment portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below);
a laser level (Fig. 2: 12) on the base portion of the mount (Fig. 2), the laser level configured to project a first line (Fig. 2: 54) and a second line (Fig. 2: 56) perpendicular to the first line (Fig. 2);
a motor (¶[0037]: motorized self-leveling mechanism ) in the base portion (Fig. 2), the motor configured to drive rotation of the laser level (¶[0037]).
Ranieri does not specifically disclose: an output shaft driven by the motor; a first gear driven by the output shaft; a second gear driven by the first gear; wherein the laser level is configured to be driven by the motor through the output shaft, the first gear and the second gear; wherein the laser level is configured to be selectively driven by the motor in a clockwise direction and a counter-clockwise direction.
However, Rando teach(es) a system (Fig. 6) comprising: an output shaft driven by the motor (Fig. 2: 54); a first gear driven by the output shaft (Fig. 2 and col. 4, lines 56-58: 58); a second gear driven by the first gear (Fig. 2 and col. 4, lines 56-58: 64) ; wherein the laser level is configured to be driven by the motor through the output shaft, the first gear and the second gear (Fig. 2); wherein the laser level is configured to be selectively driven by the motor in a clockwise direction and a counter-clockwise direction (Figs. 5 & 6 and col. 3, lines 38-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri, with the teachings of Rando, for the purpose of allowing to facilitate measurements (col. 2, lines 29-43).
With respect to Claim 17, Ranieri and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 16.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a controller and a wireless receiver.
However, Rando further teach(es): a controller (col. 4, line 69) and a wireless receiver (col. 4, line 51).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 16.
With respect to Claim 18, Ranieri and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 17.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the motor is configured to operate in response to a wireless signal from a remote input device.
However, Rando further teach(es) a system (Fig. 6) comprising: wherein the motor is configured to operate in response to a wireless signal (Figs. 5 & 6 and col. 3, lines 38-45) from a remote input device (Fig. 6: 80).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 16.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranieri and Rando further in view of Steffen.
Regarding Claim(s) 19, Ranieri and Rando disclose(s) the system of Claim 18.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the attachment element comprises magnets.
However, Steffen teach(es) a system (Fig. 1) including: wherein the attachment element comprises magnets (Fig. 1: 20 & 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri and Rando, with the further teachings of Steffen, for the purpose of increasing the flexibility of the fastening onto different substrates (col. 2, lines 38-41).
With respect to Claim 20, Ranieri and Rando teach(es) the system of Claim 16.
Ranieri further teach(es): wherein the first line is a horizontal line (Fig. 2: 54) and wherein the second line is a vertical line (Fig. 2: 56).
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the laser level is configured to rotate about a vertical axis when the attachment portion is attached to a flat vertical surface.
However, Steffen further teach(es): wherein the laser level is configured to rotate about a vertical axis when the attachment portion is attached to a flat vertical surface (Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 56-63)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ranieri and Rando, with the further teachings of Steffen, for the purpose of increasing the flexibility of the fastening onto different substrates (col. 2, lines 38-41).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate to level systems: Bank (US 2015/0160009 A1); Kahle (US 2013/0276315 A1); Dumoulin (US 2014/0304994 A1); Munroe et al. (US 2007/0124947 A1); Schumacher et al. (US 2010/0064534 A1); Giger et al. (US 2014/0190025 A1); Kodaira (US 2007/0089309 A1); Fessler et al. (US 2014/0283399 A1); Hansen et al. (US 2022/0316874 A1); Connolly (US 6762830 B1); Kwan et al. (US 10591296 B2); Winter et al. (US 10823565 B2); Kodaira (US 8857068 B2); Katayama et al. (US 6023326); Hajmousa et al. (US 7587832 B2); Gould et al. (US 11287258 B2); Gould et al. (US 11781865 B2).
The following reference(s) relate to levelling devices (same inventors and same assignee: Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.): Eidinger et al. (US 11320263 B2); Eidinger et al. (US 11846507 B2);
The following reference(s) are listed in the applicant’s originally filed specification, but not in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 24 October 2023, in order to expedite the examining process, the examiner has listed these in the PTO-892 of this Office Action: Ranieri et al. (US 2014/0352161 A1); Yong et al. (US 2018/0321035 A1); Hersey (US 6763595 B1); Puri et al. (US 6763596 B1); Le (US 5539990).
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TC/
06 January 2026
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855