DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the amendment dated 1/26/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of a previous claim. Applicant is required to cancel the claim(s), or amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, or rewrite the claim(s) in independent form. Claim 1 claims a structure and/or structural elements of an acoustic driver, and claims 16 and 18 claim a method of forming/making an acoustic drive, which clearly fail to further limiting claim 1. Please note: a method of manufacture an acoustic drive, is classified in class 29, subclass 594, which will be examined by an art unit in Technology Center 2800.
Appropriate correction/cancelation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2022/0182763).
Regarding claim 1, Nam et al. disclose an acoustic driver (Fig. 2) comprising: a piston (Fig. 10) having a plurality of protrusions (412a, [0051]) extending around a periphery thereof; and a liquid silicone rubber (LSR) surround ([0051]), wherein the LSR surround extends around the plurality of protrusions ([0051]) as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein adjacent protrusions in the plurality of protrusions define channels through which LSR flows during formation of the LSR surround ([0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein portions of the LSR surround extend between adjacent protrusions in the plurality of protrusions ([0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein the plurality of protrusions structurally reinforce the piston ([0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein the plurality of protrusions enhance a surface area for sealing the LSR during molding of the LSR surround ([0051]).
Regarding claim 6 , Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein the plurality of protrusions (412a) includes at least three protrusions ([0051]).
Regarding claim 7, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein the plurality of protrusions (412a) are positioned around the periphery of the piston and are approximately equidistant from a center of the acoustic driver ([0051]).
Regarding claim 8, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein each of the plurality of protrusions extends from a first side of the piston and is approximately aligned with a ring on a second, opposing side of the piston ([0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, comprising a voice coil (30) and a bobbin (30) coupled with the voice coil, wherein the bobbin is coupled with the piston (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein relative to an axis of movement of the piston (A), the ring is radially inboard of the bobbin (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2022/0182763).
Regarding claim 11, Nam et al. may not specially teach that an outer diameter (OD) of the acoustic driver is approximately 10 millimeters (mm) or less as claimed. Since providing suitable sized acoustic driver is very well known in the art (Official Notice), and Nam et al. do suggest for modification for the acoustic driver ([0063]), it therefore, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable sized elements for assembling the acoustic driver taught by Nam et al., in order to provide suitable sized acoustic driver for certain application.
Regarding claim 12, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein a position of the bobbin relative to the ring mitigates rocking relative to a reference acoustic driver (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Nam et al. may not specially teach in detail for all elements of the acoustic driver as claimed. Since providing suitable sized acoustic driver for specific application is very well known in the art (Official Notice), and Nam et al. do suggest for modification for the acoustic driver ([0063]), it therefore, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable sized elements, such as the piston with a diameter of approximately 2-8 mm and the LSR surround with a thickness of approximately 10-50 microns, for assembling the acoustic driver taught by Nam et al., in order to manufacture suitable sized acoustic driver for certain application. Furthermore, Nam et al. further disclose the acoustic driver, wherein each protrusion extends from a first side of the piston (Fig. 10) as claimed. But Nam et al. may not specially teach that each protrusion extends by approximately 30 microns to approximately 70 microns as claimed. Since providing suitable sized protrusion for acoustic driver for specific application is very well known in the art (Official Notice), and Nam et al. do suggest for modification for the acoustic driver ([0063]), it therefore, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable sized protrusion, such as each protrusion extending by approximately 30 microns to approximately 70 microns, for assembling the acoustic driver taught by Nam et al., in order to manufacture suitable acoustic driver for certain application.
Regarding claim 14, Nam et al. may not specially teach that the piston includes at least one of a thermoplastic or a metal as claimed. Since providing suitable material for a diaphragm of an acoustic driver is very well known in the art (Official Notice), therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable material, such as a thermoplastic and/or a metal for the piston/diaphragm of the acoustic driver taught by Nam et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the acoustic driver.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are allowed.
Claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments dated 01/26/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
The cited reference (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2022/0182763) does clearly show an acoustic driver (Fig. 2) comprising: a piston (Fig. 10) having a plurality of protrusions (412a, [0051]) extending around a periphery thereof; and a liquid silicone rubber (LSR) surround ([0051]), wherein the LSR surround extends around the plurality of protrusions ( FIG. 10 is a view illustrating a center portion of a diaphragm of a waterproof microspeaker according to a sixth embodiment of the present disclosure. According to the sixth embodiment of the present disclosure, a center portion 410a of the diaphragm may have a protrusion 412a or a recess on a surface in contact with the silicone injection-molded portion to enhance adhesion with the silicone injection-molded portion. In this case, a plurality of protrusions 412a or recesses may be provided. Meanwhile, a portion of the center portion 410a protrudes upward or downward along the outer periphery, and the protrusion portion may include an edge portion 414a thicker than other portions. The edge portion 414a may not only increase rigidity of the center portion 410a but also serve to guide an installation position of a voice coil (not shown) during assembling of the microspeaker. [0051]) as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691