DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first lifter moveable in the horizontal direction between a first position above the foam assembly ready table and a second position above the assembly bed, and moveable in the vertical direction, to thereby engage a foam layer assembly on the ready table and lift it to the first position”.
It is unclear if “the ready table” is in reference to the rectangular foam assembly ready table or rectangular panel assembly ready table.
Claim 1 recites “the foam assembly ready table positioned proximate to the assembly bed on a first side thereof, and the surface assembly ready table positioned proximate to the assembly bed on a second side thereof opposite to the first side thereof” and “a second lifter moveable in the horizontal direction between a third position above the surface assembly ready table and a fourth position above the assembly bed, and moveable in the vertical direction, to thereby engage a first surface panel arrangement on the surface assembly ready table and lift it to the third position.”
There is a lack of antecedent basis from “the surface assembly ready table”. It is unclear if the “the surface assembly ready table” is a previously cited structure or a new structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Automated Gluestream” ("Automatic Sandwich Panel Production Line with Automatic Application of Glue, Pressing, and Manipulators", Gluestream Equipment, Publicly Available 06/11/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Automated Gluestream teaches a build-up cell, comprising:
a rectangular foam assembly ready table capable of receiving a foam layer assembly;
a rectangular panel assembly ready table capable of receiving a first surface panel arrangement;
a multi-part, rectangular assembly bed capable of receiving a second surface panel arrangement from a first direction and delivering a superposed lamination assembly in a second direction parallel to the first direction;
the foam assembly ready table positioned proximate to the assembly bed on a first side thereof, and the surface assembly ready table positioned proximate to the assembly bed on a second side thereof opposite to the first side thereof;
an adhesive gantry straddling the assembly bed and moveable across the bed in a third direction parallel to the first direction;
a first lifter moveable in the horizontal direction between a first position above the foam assembly ready table and a second position above the assembly bed, and moveable in the vertical direction, to thereby engage a foam layer assembly on the ready table and lift it to the first position, move it from the first position to the second position, and place it on a second surface panel arrangement on the assembly bed; and
a second lifter moveable in the horizontal direction between a third position above the surface assembly ready table and a fourth position above the assembly bed, and moveable in the vertical direction, to thereby engage a first surface panel arrangement on the surface assembly ready table and lift it to the third position, move it from the third position to the fourth position, and place it on a foam layer positioned on the assembly bed.
Regarding claim 2, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1, wherein the first and second direction are colinear (see figure).
Regarding claim 3, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1, wherein the first and second positions are the same (see lifters positioned in annotated figures).
Regarding claim 4, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1, wherein the first lifter is linearly moveable in the horizontal direction between the first position above the foam assembly ready table and the second position above the assembly bed (see lifters positioned in annotated figures).
Regarding claim 5, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1, wherein the second lifter is linearly moveable in the horizontal direction between the third position above the foam assembly ready table and the fourth position above the assembly bed (see lifters positioned in annotated figures).
Regarding claim 8-10, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1, wherein the adhesive gantry includes downward-directed nozzles, wherein the downward-directed nozzles are configured to deposit an extrusion of adhesive onto items placed on the assembly bed (see annotated figure).
Automated Glue stream does not explicitly teach the adhesive is water activated polyurethane construction adhesive.
However, inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP § 2115).
Given that the cell of Automated Gluestream, in particular the adhesive gantry and its downward-directed nozzles, is identical to the claimed structure, the adhesive gantry of Automated Gluestream would be capable of use with a water-activated polyurethane construction adhesive.
Regarding claim 12-13, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1, wherein the first and second lifters appear to be vacuum lifters.
Regarding claim 14, Automated Gluestream teaches the cells as applied to claim 1, further comprising a press table (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Automated Gluestream in view of Mine (PG-PUB 2020/0179972).
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1.
Automated Gluestream does not teach:
the rectangular panel assembly ready table includes rollers for movement of the first surface panel arrangement thereon and the rectangular assembly bed includes rollers for movement of the second surface panel arrangement thereon.
Mine teaches an application system comprising a support device 4 and support device 5 for supporting the workpieces W1 and W2, respectively (Figure 8 and [0024]-[0025]). Mine teaches a pair of transfer mechanisms for conveying workpieces to be worked upon, wherein the transfer mechanisms are roller conveyors [0024]-[0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cell of Automated Gluestream with roll conveyors for the panel assembly ready table and rectangular assembly bed as taught by Mine, for the benefit of supplying the layers to be disposed on the assembly structures.
Regarding claim 12-13, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1, wherein the first and second lifters appear to be vacuum lifters.
Automated Gluestream does not explicitly teach the lifters are vacuum lifters.
Mine teaches an application system comprising a holding unit configured to hold and move a workpiece to a desired station (Figure 6-8, and 11 and [0056]-[0057]). Mine teaches the holding unit is operated with a vacuum [0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lifters of Automated Gluestream with suction as taught by Mine, a known suitable mechanism for engaging, holding, and moving workpieces to different stations, to yield the predictable result of providing lifters that transport workpiece as desired by Automated Gluestream.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Automated Gluestream, as applied to claim 1, in further view of “Gluestream 2” (“Budget SIP Sandwich Panel fabrication line with automatic glue applicator 1-C Polyurethane adhesive”, Video, Publicly available August 9, 2021) and Douglas (PG-PUB 2021/0140175).
Regarding claim 11, Automated Gluestream teaches the cell as applied to claim 1.
Automated Gluestream does not explicitly teach the adhesive gantry includes water misters configured to spray a mist to activate the extruded adhesive.
Gluestream 2 teaches a fabrication line including an automatic glue application for applying a one-component polyurethane adhesive (Title). Gluestream 2 teaches an adhesive gantry comprising adhesive nozzles to apply a polyurethane adhesive along a panel material and misters (see below).
Douglas teaches a process of assembly using composite panels comprising a layer of foam [00256]-[00260] and water-activated polyurethane adhesive [00261]. Dougals teaches suitable adhesives comprise heat-activated adhesives, water-activated polyurethane adhesives, two component polyurethanes or epoxy type adhesives of any kind [0261].
Both Automated Gluestream and Gluestream 2 disclose using a polyurethane adhesive, but are silent to the particular polyurethane adhesive. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Automated Gluestream with water-activated polyurethane adhesive applied by the adhesive gantry, a known suitable adhesive in composite panels used for building materials as taught by Douglas. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the water misters to the adhesive gantry as taught by Gluestream 2 for the purpose of activating the extruded polyurethane adhesive, as exhibited in Gluestream 2.
Conclusion
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/HANA C PAGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1745