DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, FIGs. 1-3, and claims 1-10 and 13-16 in the reply filed on 08/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 11 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 12/07/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10-2022-0170018 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 10/24/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it’s not clear what’s intended by “a first coil…having one end and the other end being a first lead-out portion and a first connection portion, respectively” as recited in lines 4-7. Specifically, it’s not clear if “the other end” is both a first lead-out portion and a first connection portion, or if the “one end” being “a first lead-out portion” and “the other end” being “a first connection portion” or else. For examining purpose, the limitation in question is interpreted as the “one end” being “a first lead-out portion” and “the other end” being “a first connection portion.” Similar clarification is needed regarding “a second coil portion having one end and the other end being a second lead-out portion and a second connection portion, respectively” limitation.
Similar rejection is applied to claim 13.
Claims 2-10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as being directly or indirectly dependent from claims 1 or 13 and therefore inheriting the indefiniteness thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0090784 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
With respect to claim 1, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Kim teaches a coil component 2000 (FIGs. 11 and 12) comprising:
a body 100;
a support member 210 disposed within the body;
a first coil 320 including a first coil portion (spiral portion) disposed on one surface (back main surface) of the support member and having one end 420 and the other end (inner end) being a first lead-out portion and a first connection portion, respectively, a sub-lead-out portion 620 disposed on an opposite surface of the support member, and at least one first via 720 connecting the first lead-out portion and the sub-lead-out portion;
a second coil 310 disposed on an opposite surface (front main surface) of the support member and including a second coil portion (spiral portion) having one end 410 and the other end (inner end) being a second lead-out portion and a second connection portion, respectively;
a first external electrode 810 or 820 and a second external electrode (the other of electrode 810 or 820) connected to the first and second coils, respectively; and
at least one second via 120 connecting the first and second connection portions,
wherein the first via has a diameter greater than a diameter of the second via (paras. [0034], [0044], [0062] and [0095]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0013143 A1, hereinafter “Kim’143”).
With respect to claim 2, Kim teaches the coil component of claim 1. Kim does not expressly teach the first coil includes a plurality of the first vias.
Kim’143 teaches a coil component (FIG. 3), wherein the first coil 131 includes a plurality of the first vias 121a-121c (paras.[0020] and [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of the first vias as taught by Kim’143 to the coil component of Kim to improve mechanical strength of the connection between the first lead-out portion and the sub-lead-out portion.
With respect to claim 4, Kim in view of Kim’143 teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein the plurality of the first vias are arranged in a direction, perpendicular to a direction in which the first lead-out portion extends outwardly of the body (Kim’143, para. [0022]).
With respect to claim 5, Kim in view of Kim’143 teaches the coil component of claim 2, wherein all of the plurality of the first vias have a diameter greater than the diameter of the second via (Kim, para. [0095] and Kim’143, para. [0022]). The combination would result in the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 6, Kim in view of Kim’143 teaches the coil component of claim 2. Kim in view of Kim’143 does not expressly teach adjacent vias of the plurality of the first vias contact each other. However, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to provide the via contacting each other to provide a desired electrical/mechanical characteristics. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the via contacting each other as claimed to provide the required mechanical strength.
With respect to claim 7, Kim in view of Kim’143 teaches the coil component of claim 6, wherein in the plurality of the first vias, at least two adjacent vias connect with each other. Claim 7 would be obvious over Kim in view of Kim’143 with the same reason as above.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kim’143, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0402700 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
With respect to claim 3, Kim in view of Kim’143 teaches the coil component of claim 2. Kim in view of Kim’143 does not expressly teach the plurality of the first vias are arranged in a direction in which the first lead-out portion extends outwardly of the body.
Lee teaches a coil component (FIG. 2), wherein the plurality of the first vias 413 are arranged in a direction (L axis direction) in which the first lead-out portion extends outwardly of the body (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of vias arrangement as taught by Lee to the coil component of Kim in view of Kim’143 to improve mechanical stability.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0118729 A1, hereinafter “Lim”).
With respect to claim 8, Kim teaches the coil component of claim 1. Kim does not expressly teach the body includes first and second recesses on which the first and second external electrodes respectively are disposed.
Lim teaches a coil component 2000’ (FIG. 13), wherein the body 100 includes first and second recesses R on which the first and second external electrodes 300 and 400 respectively are disposed (para. [0034]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the recesses as taught by Lim to the coil component of Kim to reduce weight (para. [0007]).
With respect to claim 9, Kim in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 8, wherein the sub-lead-out portion 232 extends into the first recess and is connected to the first external electrode 400, and
the second lead-out portion 231 extends into the second recess and is connected to the second external electrode 300 (Lim, paras. [0058]).
With respect to claim 10, Kim in view of Lim teaches the coil component of claim 9, wherein an area extending from the sub-lead-out portion to the first recess has a thickness thinner than a thickness of other areas of the sub-lead-out portion, or
an area extending from the second lead-out portion to the second recess has a thickness thinner than a thickness of other areas of the second lead-out portion (Lim, paras. [0058]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Kim.
With respect to claim 13, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Lim teaches a coil component 2000’ (FIG. 13) comprising:
a body 100;
a support member IL disposed within the body;
a first coil 212 including a first coil portion (spiral portion) disposed on one surface (upper main surface) of the support member and having one end 242 and the other end (inner end) being a first lead-out portion and a first connection portion, respectively;
a second coil 211 including a second coil portion (spiral portion) disposed on an opposite surface (lower main surface) of the support member and having one end 231 and the other end (inner end) being a second lead-out portion and a second connection portion, respectively;
a first external electrode 400 and a second external electrode 300 respectively connected to the first and second coils;
a sub-lead-out portion 232 disposed on the opposite surface of the support member and connected to the first lead-out portion;
at least one second via 221 connecting the first and second connection portions; and
at least one first via 232 connecting the first lead-out portion and the sub-lead-out portion,
wherein the body includes a first recess (left side R) and a second recess (right side R) in which the first and second external electrodes are respectively disposed,
the sub-lead-out portion extends into the first recess and is connected to the first external electrode,
the second lead-out portion extends into the second recess and is connected to the second external electrode (paras. [0100], [0105], [0108] and [0103]).
Lim does not expressly teach a cross-sectional area of the first via is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second via in a cross-section perpendicular to a thickness direction of the support member.
Kim teaches a coil component 2000 (FIGs. 11 and 12) comprising:
a cross-sectional area of the first via 720 is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second via 120 in a cross-section perpendicular to a thickness direction of the support member 210 (paras. [0041], [0044] and [0095]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the cross-sectional area of the vias as taught by Kim to the coil component of Lim to increase surface contact area, thereby increasing mechanical connection between the first lead-out portion and the sub-lead-out portion.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Kim, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kim’143.
With respect to claim 14, Lim in view of Kim teaches the coil component of claim 13. Lim in view of Kim does not expressly teach a number of the first via is greater than a number of the second via.
Kim’143 teaches a coil component (FIG. 3), wherein a number of the first via 122 is greater than a number of the second via (via connecting inner ends of coils 131 and 132) (paras.[0020] and [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of the first vias as taught by Kim’143 to the coil component of Lim in view of Kim to improve mechanical strength of the connection between the first lead-out portion and the sub-lead-out portion.
With respect to claim 15, Lim in view of Kim teaches the coil component of claim 13. Lim in view of Kim does not expressly teach the coil component comprises a plurality of the first vias.
Kim’143 teaches a coil component (FIG. 3), wherein the coil component comprises a plurality of the first vias 122a-122c (para. [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of the first vias as taught by Kim’143 to the coil component of Lim in view of Kim to improve mechanical strength of the connection between the first lead-out portion and the sub-lead-out portion.
With respect to claim 16, Lim in view of Kim and Kim’143 teaches the coil component of claim 15, wherein all of the plurality of first vias have a diameter greater than a diameter of the second via (Kim, para. [0095] and Kim’143, para. [0022]). The combination would result in the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837