DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application filed on 10/24/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "…selecting a different cell from one or more cells formed by one or more of the plurality of satellite beams" in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2024/0357460, hereinafter Cho) in view of Hsieh et al. (WO 2021/032453, hereinafter Hsieh).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a method of a base station of a satellite network managing a connection of a wireless device to the satellite network [Cho Figures 1-2 and 4-5 disclose various examples of a satellite network comprising various nodes cush as a satellite, terminal, base station, etc. (see Figure 5)], comprising: broadcasting, by the base station, location information of a satellite associated with the base station [Cho discloses that a terminal may acquire, from a base station, system information (SI), which may include ephemeris information of a satellite (i.e. location information of a satellite) (Cho paragraph 0023). The SI information is broadcasted by the base station (Cho paragraphs 0020, 0106)];
Broadcasting, by the base station, an effective communication range for wireless communications between the base station and the wireless device of a satellite beam associated with the base station [Cho discloses that SI may include information on a threshold distance, a reference location, and ephemeris information of the satellite (Cho paragraphs 0021 and 0023). Threshold distance is similar to an effective communication range between base station and device of a satellite beam because a service coverage may be determined by the threshold distance provided (see Cho paragraph 0231 and Figures 13A and 13B)];
Wherein the wireless device calculates a distance between the wireless device and a reference point associated with the satellite based on the broadcast location information of the satellite and a location of the wireless device [Cho discloses that the information on satellite location and reference location is received in the SI (Cho paragraphs 0021 and 0023). Cho discloses that the terminal, in response to the SI indicating an earth moving cell, determines a first distance between a location of the terminal and a reference location (Cho paragraphs 0023 and 0024). In another example, Cho discloses that the terminal may also know the current time and its own location (Cho paragraph 0235). Cho further discloses that the terminal may calculate a distance between the reference location and its location (Cho paragraph 0235)];
Wherein the wireless device compares the calculated distance with the broadcast effective communication range, and determines a wireless signaling procedure to establish or maintain a wireless connection with the satellite network based on the comparison [Cho discloses that the terminal may check whether the calculated distance between the reference location and the terminal ais greater than or equal to the threshold distance (i.e. compare the calculated distance with the effective communication range) (Cho paragraph 0235). If the calculated distance is greater than or equal to the threshold distance, the terminal may determine whether to initiate measurement for TN cell reselection based on the satellite’s ephemeris information (similar to determining a signaling procedure, such as cell reselection, to establish or maintain a connection with the satellite network based on the comparison) (Cho paragraph 0236)].
As Cho discloses that the terminal may determine whether to initiate measurement for cell reselection (see above), which would imply sending signaling to the base station; Cho does not expressly disclose the feature of receiving, by the base station, the wireless signaling procedure from the wireless device.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Hsieh discloses an example of UE performing a random access with a non-terrestrial network’s gNB (Hsieh Figure 6), where in case of cell reselection/handover, the UE may use the same sync area ID and sync location ID stored in the UE’s memory to look up the sync information from the new beam’s SIB. The UE may initiate a random access in the random access time-frequency occasion of the stored sync area ID and sync location ID, applying the sync information for TA and Doppler shift correction (Hsieh paragraphs 0072-0073). This is similar to a base station receiving a signaling procedure from the wireless device.
As Cho already discloses regarding determining a signaling procedure, such as cell reselection, to establish or maintain a connection with the satellite network based on the comparison (see above); it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho and Hsieh to have the feature of receiving, by the base station, the wireless signaling procedure from the wireless device. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide enhanced operations of non-terrestrial network; provide TA and Doppler shift correction without frequent user specific signaling, prevent additional overhead for large TA adjustment in RAR and TA update command (Hsieh paragraph 0090).
Regarding claim 3, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose wherein the wireless device compares the calculated distance with the broadcast effective communication range and determines cell selection decisions including initiating a connection to a new cell, maintaining a connection to a current cell, or initiating a connection to a different cell [Cho discloses that the terminal may check whether the calculated distance between the reference location and the terminal ais greater than or equal to the threshold distance (Cho paragraph 0235). If the calculated distance is greater than or equal to the threshold distance, the terminal may determine whether to initiate measurement for TN cell reselection based on the satellite’s ephemeris information (Cho paragraph 0236). Hsieh discloses that in case of cell reselection/handover, the UE may use the same sync area ID and sync location ID stored in the UE’s memory to look up the sync information from the new beam’s SIB. The UE may initiate a random access in the random access time-frequency occasion of the stored sync area ID and sync location ID, applying the sync information for TA and Doppler shift correction (Hsieh paragraphs 0072-0073). Above teachings of Cho and Hsieh indicate determining cell selection decisions including initiating a connection to a new cell, or initiating a connection to a different cell]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose wherein the effective communication range comprises a distance that the wireless device utilizes to make cell selection decisions [Cho discloses that SI may include information on a threshold distance, a reference location, and ephemeris information of the satellite (Cho paragraphs 0021 and 0023). Determination of whether to perform measurement for cell reselection is based on comparison of first distance and the threshold distance (Cho paragraphs 0011-0012)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose regarding broadcasting, by the base station, the reference point in combination with the effective communication range, wherein the reference point is an offset relative to a position of the satellite [Cho discloses that SI may include information on a threshold distance, a reference location, and ephemeris information of the satellite (Cho paragraphs 0021 and 0023). The reference location may be a specific location within the cell covered by the satellite (i.e. similar to an offset relative to a satellite position) (Cho paragraph 0109, Figures 7B, 7C)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose wherein the reference point is defined as a distance relative to the satellite that is based on and corresponds with coverage areas corresponding with cells generated by beams of the satellite [Cho discloses that the reference location may be a specific location within the cell covered by the satellite (Cho paragraph 0109, Figures 7B, 7C). A reference numeral (733 in the Figures 7B, 7C) may indicate a cell coverage of the satellite, and the cell coverage 733 may include a service coverage within the preset threshold distance from the reference location 731 (Cho paragraph 0110 and Figures 7B, 7C)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose wherein the effective communication range is a radius that the wireless device uses to prioritize an associated cell [Cho discloses that in the example of Fig. 7A, a service coverage may have a form of a circle whose radius is a distance threshold value from the reference location of the cell (Cho paragraph 0106). The terminal may initiate measurement when its distance to the reference location exceeds a threshold (i.e. the device uses the effective communication range to prioritize the cell) (Cho paragraph 0107)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose wherein the wireless signaling procedure comprises selecting a different cell from one or more cells formed by one or more of the plurality of satellite beams [Cho discloses that the terminal may initiate measurement on cells based on the information on neighboring cells (Cho paragraph 0209); indicating selecting a different cell. Hsieh also discloses that in case of cell reselection/handover, a new beam may come from a different satellite of the NTN (Hsieh paragraph 0073); which also indicates that a different cell may be selected]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Cho discloses a system for managing a connection of a wireless device to a satellite network, comprising: the wireless device; a base station, the base station configured to [Cho Figures 1-2 and 4-5 disclose various examples of a satellite network comprising various nodes cush as a satellite, terminal, base station, etc. (see Figure 5)]:
Broadcast location information of a satellite associated with the base station [Cho discloses that a terminal may acquire, from a base station, system information (SI), which may include ephemeris information of a satellite (i.e. location information of a satellite) (Cho paragraph 0023). The SI information is broadcasted by the base station (Cho paragraphs 0020, 0106)];
Broadcast an effective communication range for wireless communications between the base station and the wireless device of a satellite beam associated with the base station [Cho discloses that SI may include information on a threshold distance, a reference location, and ephemeris information of the satellite (Cho paragraphs 0021 and 0023). Threshold distance is similar to an effective communication range between base station and device of a satellite beam because a service coverage may be determined by the threshold distance provided (see Cho paragraph 0231 and Figures 13A and 13B)];
Wherein the wireless device calculates a distance between the wireless device and a reference point associated with the satellite, based on the broadcast location information of the satellite and a location of the wireless device [Cho discloses that the information on satellite location and reference location is received in the SI (Cho paragraphs 0021 and 0023). Cho discloses that the terminal, in response to the SI indicating an earth moving cell, determines a first distance between a location of the terminal and a reference location (Cho paragraphs 0023 and 0024). In another example, Cho discloses that the terminal may also know the current time and its own location (Cho paragraph 0235). Cho further discloses that the terminal may calculate a distance between the reference location and its location (Cho paragraph 0235)];
Wherein the wireless device compares the calculated distance with the broadcast effective communication range, and determines a wireless signaling procedure to establish or maintain a wireless connection with the satellite network based on the comparison [Cho discloses that the terminal may check whether the calculated distance between the reference location and the terminal ais greater than or equal to the threshold distance (i.e. compare the calculated distance with the effective communication range) (Cho paragraph 0235). If the calculated distance is greater than or equal to the threshold distance, the terminal may determine whether to initiate measurement for TN cell reselection based on the satellite’s ephemeris information (similar to determining a signaling procedure, such as cell reselection, to establish or maintain a connection with the satellite network based on the comparison) (Cho paragraph 0236)].
As Cho discloses that the terminal may determine whether to initiate measurement for cell reselection (see above), which would imply sending signaling to the base station; Cho does not expressly disclose the feature of wherein the base station is further configured to receive the wireless signaling procedure from the wireless device.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Hsieh discloses an example of UE performing a random access with a non-terrestrial network’s gNB (Hsieh Figure 6), where in case of cell reselection/handover, the UE may use the same sync area ID and sync location ID stored in the UE’s memory to look up the sync information from the new beam’s SIB. The UE may initiate a random access in the random access time-frequency occasion of the stored sync area ID and sync location ID, applying the sync information for TA and Doppler shift correction (Hsieh paragraphs 0072-0073). This is similar to a base station receiving a signaling procedure from the wireless device.
As Cho already discloses regarding determining a signaling procedure, such as cell reselection, to establish or maintain a connection with the satellite network based on the comparison (see above); it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho and Hsieh to have the feature of wherein the base station is further configured to receive the wireless signaling procedure from the wireless device. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide enhanced operations of non-terrestrial network; provide TA and Doppler shift correction without frequent user specific signaling, prevent additional overhead for large TA adjustment in RAR and TA update command (Hsieh paragraph 0090).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Hsieh, and further in view of Matsuda et al. (US 2021/0099933; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 10/24/2023, hereinafter Matsuda).
Regarding claim 2, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose regarding scheduling, by the base station, frequency and time resources for downlink wireless communications with the wireless device after receiving the wireless signaling procedure from the wireless device [Hsieh discloses that UE may initiate a random access in the random access time-frequency occasion of the stored sync area ID and sync location ID, applying the sync information for TA and Doppler shift correction (Hsieh paragraphs 0072-0073). The network may transmit a timing advance for a coverage area of a broadcast and a plurality of synchronization areas to the UE, and may send a random access response with the indication of synchronization locations (Hsieh paragraph 0078).
Although sending a random access response would imply scheduling time/frequency resources for communication with the UE; Cho and Hsieh do not expressly disclose regarding scheduling, by the base station, frequency and time resources for downlink wireless communications with the wireless device.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Matsuda discloses that a random access response is transmitted using downlink shared channel, and scheduled using downlink control channel. The transmission resources of PRACH are time and frequency resources (Matsuda paragraph 0184). Thus, random access process corresponds to the base station scheduling time and frequency resources for transmission with the wireless device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho, Hsieh and Matsuda to have the features of scheduling, by the base station, frequency and time resources for downlink wireless communications with the wireless device. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for reducing overhead and achieve high quality communication in the network (Matsuda paragraphs 0008 and 0147).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Hsieh, and further in view of Casamayon Anton et al. (US 2021/0352559, hereinafter Anton).
Regarding claim 4, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose wherein the wireless device further compares the calculated distance with the broadcast effective communication range and determines cell selection decisions [Cho discloses that the terminal may check whether the calculated distance between the reference location and the terminal ais greater than or equal to the threshold distance (Cho paragraph 0235). If the calculated distance is greater than or equal to the threshold distance, the terminal may determine whether to initiate measurement for TN cell reselection based on the satellite’s ephemeris information (Cho paragraph 0236)].
Cho and Hsieh do not expressly disclose the features of wherein the cell selection decisions include initiating a scan and maintaining connection with a current serving cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Anton discloses that a beam of the antenna array pointing towards the selected base station is kept in order to maintain the connection, while a search process is performed continuously to find next possible best cell and scanning is performed using a group of beams while the previous established link is kept (i.e. initiating a scan and maintaining connection with a current serving cell) (Anton paragraph 0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho, Hsieh and Anton to have the features of wherein the wireless device further compares the calculated distance with the broadcast effective communication range and determines cell selection decisions including initiating a scan and maintaining connection with a current serving cell. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for selection of the most appropriated base station for connection, maximize the signal quality, and reduce interference (Anton paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 5, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh further disclose wherein the wireless device compares the calculated distance with the broadcast effective communication range and determines cell selection decisions [Cho discloses that the terminal may check whether the calculated distance between the reference location and the terminal ais greater than or equal to the threshold distance (Cho paragraph 0235). If the calculated distance is greater than or equal to the threshold distance, the terminal may determine whether to initiate measurement for TN cell reselection based on the satellite’s ephemeris information (Cho paragraph 0236)].
Cho and Hsieh do not expressly disclose the features of wherein cell selection decisions include initiating a scan for a cell of a terrestrial network.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Anton discloses that a beam of the antenna array pointing towards the selected base station is kept in order to maintain the connection, while a search process is performed continuously to find next possible best cell and scanning is performed using a group of beams while the previous established link is kept (i.e. initiating a scan and maintaining connection with a current serving cell) (Anton paragraph 0074). Anton further discloses that the scanning may correspond to terrestrial network (Anton paragraphs 0072-0073); and the new base station may belong to the terrestrial network (Anton paragraph 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho, Hsieh and Anton to have the features of wherein the wireless device compares the calculated distance with the broadcast effective communication range and determines cell selection decisions including initiating a scan for a cell of a terrestrial network. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for selection of the most appropriated base station for connection, maximize the signal quality, and reduce interference (Anton paragraph 0101).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Hsieh, and further in view of Hong (US 2024/0163754).
Regarding claim 11, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh do not expressly disclose regarding adaptively selecting, by the base station, the effective communication range.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Hong discloses that signal coverage area of a cell may be adaptively adjusted according to the transmit power of the satellite of the cell (i.e. the effective communication range can be adaptively selected) (Hong paragraph 0136).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho, Hsieh and Hong to have the feature of adaptively selecting, by the base station, the effective communication range. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a more reliable handover method and to improve mobility performance of the terminal (Hong paragraph 0107).
Regarding claim 12, Cho, Hsieh and Hong disclose the method of claim 11. Cho, Hsieh and Hong further disclose wherein the effective communication range is adaptively selected based on a beam coverage location of a beam formed by the satellite [Hong discloses that a threshold range may be determined according to signal coverage range (i.e. beam coverage) of the cell; and can be adaptively adjusted according to the signal coverage range (i.e. effective communication range may be adaptively selected based on beam coverage location) (Hong paragraph 0106)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Cho, Hsieh and Hong disclose the method of claim 11. Cho, Hsieh and Hong further disclose wherein the reference point is adaptively selected based on a beam coverage location of a beam formed by the satellite [Hong discloses that a threshold range may be adaptively adjusted according to the signal coverage range of the cell (Hong paragraph 0137). Further, The call reselection may be based on the reference position being within or outside the threshold range (Hong paragraphs 0205-0209). Thus, the reference position also corresponds to a signal coverage (i.e. a beam coverage location) and may be adaptively selected based on the signal coverage]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Hsieh, and further in view of Leng et al. (US 2023/0354138, hereinafter Leng).
Regarding claim 14, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh do not expressly disclose wherein the effective communication range comprises an effective elevation angle, and wherein the distance calculated by the wireless device comprises an angular distance.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Leng Figure 7 discloses a UE method for a location based cell reselection where the UE may measure/rank/select cell based on the distance to the serving and/or neighbor cell, and/or the elevation angle(s) to satellite(s) (Leng Figure 7, paragraph 0098). Also see the example of Leng Figure 10 and Leng paragraph 0113.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho, Hsieh and Leng to have the features of wherein the effective communication range comprises an effective elevation angle, and wherein the distance calculated by the wireless device comprises an angular distance. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide enhanced location-based trigger event and elevation angle based trigger event to support handover to the NTN earth moving cells (Leng paragraph 0080).
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Hsieh, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2025/0274822, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 16, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh do not expressly disclose wherein the wireless signaling procedure comprises selecting an initial cell from one or more cells formed by one or more of a plurality of satellite beams.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang discloses that the terminal may receive information from network to perform reselection. In one example the information may indicate a time period which me be a serving time period of a current serving network device; and the terminal may determine to perform serving network device reselection (i.e. selecting an initial cell) (Wang paragraph 0130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho, Hsieh and Wang to have the feature of wherein the wireless signaling procedure comprises selecting an initial cell from one or more cells formed by one or more of a plurality of satellite beams. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve communication reliability of a terminal (Wang paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 19, Cho and Hsieh disclose the method of claim 1. Cho and Hsieh do not expressly disclose wherein each satellite beam of a plurality of satellite beams of the satellite network broadcasts cell selection information.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang Figures 6A and 6B disclose examples of cells of satellites where a satellite may broadcast a plurality of beams (beams 1, 2, 3, etc.). Each beam group, which may include a plurality of beams, may further include information such as ephemeris information and reference point position information for cell handover or reselection (Wang paragraph 0154).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cho, Hsieh and Wang to have the features of wherein each satellite beam of a plurality of satellite beams of the satellite network broadcasts cell selection information. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve communication reliability of a terminal (Wang paragraph 0008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the base station broadcasts multiple effective communication radii and reference points of neighboring cells of the base station, or neighboring cells of one or more other base stations; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the effective communication range comprises a function based on a set of angles from the reference point, and wherein the calculated distance is based on a set of angles to the reference point from a position of the wireless device; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414