DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (“Zhou”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0051791).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses a method of monitoring a passive optical network that includes a plurality of waypoint devices, the method comprising: transmitting a probe signal into the passive optical network (fig. 4 element 4062 and paragraph 0058); reflecting, by each waypoint device of the plurality of waypoint devices, one or more reflected signals each including a portion of the probe signal, the one or more reflected signals embedding an address of the waypoint device in a return signal (fig. 4 elements IDn and paragraphs 0058 and 0062, where the CFBG string reflecting a particular wavelength-based “address code”, used for “determining a unique segment address”, reads on embedding an address); receiving the return signal from the passive optical network (fig. 4 element 4066 and paragraph 0058); and for each waypoint device: extracting the address of the waypoint device from the return signal, and identifying a network waypoint in the passive optical network associated with the waypoint device based at least in part on the address of the waypoint device (fig. 4 elements 4070 and 4072 and paragraph 0058, where extracting a frequency component from the return signal of a wavelength used for “determining a unique segment address” reads on extracting the address).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou discloses the method of claim 12, wherein extracting the address of the waypoint device from the return signal comprises: identifying the one or more reflected signals that are associated with the waypoint device, and determining the address of the waypoint device based at least in part on one or more of a number of the one or more reflected signals, one or more spacings between the one or more reflected signals, one or more wavelengths of the one or more reflected signals, and one or more amplitudes of the one or more reflected signals (paragraph 0062, where the distance between CFBGs forms the up to 64 ID address codes of the optical ID, which inherently results in corresponding distances for the up to 64 ID address codes between the plural reflections that make up the reflected ID).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses a waypoint device for monitoring a passive optical network (figs. 3 and 4 each element IDn), comprising: a first optical interface, a second optical interface and an optical path operatively coupling the first optical interface to the second optical interface (figs. 3 and 4, IDn in light of paragraph 0061-0062, where each pass-through FP device inherently has some kind of internal optical path and respective physical interfaces to each side of the external fiber path); the optical path including one or more reflective elements configured to: pass traffic signals, and reflect one or more reflected signals each including a portion of a probe signal such that the reflected signals embed an address of the waypoint device in a return signal (fig. 4 elements IDn and paragraphs 0058 and 0062, where the CFBG string reflecting a particular wavelength-based “address code”, used for “determining a unique segment address”, reads on embedding an address).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou discloses the waypoint device of claim 18, wherein the address is embedded in the return signal by at least one of a number of the reflected signals, one or more spacings between the reflected signals, one or more wavelengths of the reflected signals, and one or more amplitudes of the reflected signals (paragraphs 0058 and 0062).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou discloses the waypoint device of claim 18, wherein at least one of the one or more reflective elements includes a reflective characteristic that changes in response to a perturbation (paragraph 0058, where various inherent characteristics the reflected signal, e.g. amplitude, polarization, would inherently be affected by, i.e., change in response to, various perturbations such as fiber bend, fiber break, temperature fluctuations, etc.). The claim is further limiting the apparatus. The recitation of “a perturbation” is not particular and is not limiting the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (“Zhou”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0051791).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a system for monitoring a passive optical network, comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit a probe signal into the passive optical network (fig. 4 element 4062 and paragraph 0058); a receiver configured to receive a return signal from the passive optical network (fig. 4 element 4066 and paragraph 0058); a plurality of waypoint devices each including one or more reflective elements configured to embed an address of the waypoint device in the return signal (fig. 4 elements IDn and paragraphs 0058 and 0062, where the CFBG string reflecting a particular wavelength-based “address code”, used for “determining a unique segment address”, reads on embedding an address); one or more processors operatively coupled to the transmitter and the receiver (fig. 4 elements 4070 and 4072), wherein each waypoint device is located in one or more optical paths of the passive optical network (fig. 4 elements IDn), and the one or more processors cause the system to, for each waypoint device: extract the address of the waypoint device from the return signal, and identify a network waypoint in the passive optical network associated with the waypoint device based at least in part on the address of the waypoint device (fig. 4 elements 4070 and 4072 and paragraph 0058, where extracting a frequency component from the return signal of a wavelength used for “determining a unique segment address” reads on extracting the address). Zhou does not disclose that the one or more processors are coupled to a memory, the memory including program code that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the system to, for each waypoint device, perform the extracting and identifying. However, a processor executing code from memory is generic computer architecture. Implementing a known function on a generic computer has been deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if such automation of the known function is nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Zhou processor use a generic computer architecture of the processor executing code from memory, since doing so is nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the program code further causes the system to: identify the network waypoint in the passive optical network associated with the waypoint device based on both the address of the waypoint device (paragraph 0058). Zhou does not combine the waypoint identification approach with determining an optical path distance to the waypoint device based on the return signal and identifying the waypoint based also on the optical path distance to the waypoint device. Zhou’s solution has an advantage over conventional OTDR in that it can identify waypoint past splitters (paragraphs 0013 and 0070). However, the conventional OTDR approach does not then become patentable; a known or obvious teaching does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other teaching for the same use (MPEP § 2145(X)(D)(1)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the distance measuring function of conventional OTDR with the waypoint identification approach of Zhou, to include a distance reference measurement for the waypoint identification function.
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the program code causes the system to extract the address of each waypoint device from the return signal by: identifying a plurality of reflected signals that are associated with the waypoint device, determining one or more spacings between the plurality of reflected signals, and determining the address of the waypoint device based at least in part on the one or more spacings between the plurality of reflected signals (paragraph 0062, where the distance between CFBGs forms the up to 64 ID address codes of the optical ID, which inherently results in corresponding distances for the up to 64 ID address codes between the plural reflections that make up the reflected ID).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the program code causes the system to extract the address of each waypoint device from the return signal by: identifying one or more reflected signals that are associated with the waypoint device, determining a wavelength of each of the one or more reflected signals, and determining the address of the waypoint device based at least in part on the wavelength of each of the one or more reflected signals (paragraph 0058, where sending a certain wavelength and getting it reflected back from a particular waypoint reads on determining a wavelength of the reflected signal).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses the system of claim 1, wherein at least one reflective element of at least one of the waypoint devices includes a reflective characteristic that changes in response to a perturbation (paragraph 0058, where various inherent characteristics the reflected signal, e.g. amplitude, polarization, would inherently be affected by, i.e., change in response to, various types of perturbations such as fiber bend, fiber break, temperature fluctuations, etc.). The claim is further limiting the apparatus. The recitation of “a perturbation” is not particular and is not limiting the apparatus.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: identifying the network waypoint in the passive optical network associated with the waypoint device based on both the address of the waypoint device (paragraph 0058). Zhou does not combine the waypoint identification approach with determining an optical path distance to the waypoint device based on the return signal and identifying the waypoint based also on the optical path distance to the waypoint device. Zhou’s solution has an advantage over conventional OTDR in that it can identify waypoint past splitters (paragraphs 0013 and 0070). However, the conventional OTDR approach does not then become patentable; a known or obvious teaching does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other teaching for the same use (MPEP § 2145(X)(D)(1)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the distance measuring function of conventional OTDR with the waypoint identification approach of Zhou, to include a distance reference measurement for the waypoint identification function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Related reflection-based optical path markers and/or fault/segment detection: US Patent No. 7289729; US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0025676, 2002/0075534.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634