DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 7, 12-15, and 18-21 have been amended; and claims 4-5, 9-11, and 16-17 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-15, and 18-21 are examined herein.
Status of the Rejection
All claim objections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The rejection for claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) is maintained.
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are substantially maintained and modified in response to amendment as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites “wherein a maximum absorbance of the [Symbol font/0x67]-globulin in the sample is equal to or greater than 6.31”, which is not supported by the specification. Tables 1-3 in the instant specification discloses a maximum absorbance variation of the [Symbol font/0x67]-globulin, but does not disclose that it is equal to or greater than 6.31. Furthermore, a maximum absorbance variation of the [Symbol font/0x67]-globulin in Tables 1-3 has a unit of mAbs/s. Therefore, claim 15 is a new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma (US20200011850A1), and in view of Onuma (US20140202858A1, hereinafter Onuma ’858).
Regarding claim 1, Onuma teaches a sample analysis method (an analysis method using a microchip for separating components such as albumin and γ-globulin contained in blood by capillary electrophoresis [abstract; para. 0036, 0041, 0046]), comprising:
separating components from a sample comprising the components, in an alkaline solution by capillary electrophoresis (the analysis method is used for analysis of components in a sample by capillary electrophoresis [para. 0041]; examples of a components which is contained in the blood and to be analyzed by the analysis method include hemoglobin (Hb), albumin (A1b), globulin (α1, α2, β, and γ globulins), and fibrinogen [para. 0046]; in the CE separation process , a voltage may be applied after the cathode is brought into contact with the second liquid stored in the sample reservoir 1, and the anode is brought into contact with the first liquid stored in the electrophoresis liquid reservoir 3, and in this case it is preferable to use an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer for the first liquid and the second liquid [para. 0068]; the components in the sample contained in the second liquid [para. 0062]),
wherein the sample comprises a non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine (a diluent comprising 500 mM NDSB-201, and the sample was diluted 41-fold with the diluent to prepare a second liquid [para. 0105-0106]), and
the alkaline solution comprises a cationic polymer (an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer [para. 0068]).
Onuma teaches the components to be analyzed/separated by capillary electrophoresis include hemoglobin (Hb), albumin (A1b), globulin (α1, α2, β, and γ globulins), and fibrinogen [para. 0046], thus does not explicitly teach wherein the sample comprising albumin and γ-globulin to be separated.
Since the disclosed sample analysis method can be used to separate a sample containing components including hemoglobin (Hb), albumin (A1b), globulin (α1, α2, β, and γ globulins), and fibrinogen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the sample analysis method that can separate components including hemoglobin (Hb), albumin (A1b), globulin (α1, α2, β, and γ globulins), and fibrinogen to separate a sample containing albumin and γ globulin. Choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2143(E).
Onuma teaches the sample was diluted with the diluent comprising 500 mM NDSB-201 to prepare the second liquid [para. 0105-0106], but does not explicitly teach wherein a content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample is from 0.1 mass % to 30 mass %.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Furthermore, “a content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample is from 0.1 mass % to 30 mass %” is rejected in view of Onuma ’858 in the following.
Onuma teaches the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine is NDSB-201, and does not teach wherein the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine comprises at least one selected type from the group consisting of the following compounds:
Onuma ’858 teaches a similar sample analysis method includes separating and/or detecting a substance to be analyzed in a sample through capillary electrophoresis (abstract), and further teaches the sample to be placed in the sample holding tank 4 can be prepared by diluting whole blood serving as a sample raw material with the solution for capillary electrophoresis of the present disclosure. The dilution ratio of the sample raw material is for example 1.2 to 100 times, 2 to 30 times, or 3 to 15 times. Further, in the case where the sample raw material contains ion components to such a degree as to influence resolution, the dilution ratio of the sample raw material is for example 2 to 1,000 times, 5 to 300 times, or 10 to 200 times [para. 0087]. Thus, the dilution ratio affects the capillary electrophoresis separation resolution. Onuma ’858 further teaches in one or a plurality of non-limiting embodiments, as the NDSB, there is given a substance represented by any of the following formulae [para. 0033]:
In the above, the second and fifth components are in the claimed NDSB list, and they are suitable alternative to the first component of NDSB-201.
Given the teachings of Onuma ’858 regarding the dilution ratio affects the capillary electrophoresis separation resolution, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the dilution ratio of the sample in Onuma would also affect the CE separation resolution. Thus, the dilution ratio and accordingly a content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample affects the CE separation resolution since the sample is diluted with the diluent comprising the NDSB.
As the CE separation resolution is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample through adjusting the dilution ratio, the precise content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample being from 0.1 mass % to 30 mass% cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the dilution ratio and accordingly the content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample in Onuma to obtain the desired content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample in order to achieve the desired CE separation resolution. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Furthermore, since Onuma ’858 teaches other NDSBs that are alternative to NDSB-201 for solution of capillary electrophoresis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute NDSB-201 in Onuma with NDSB comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of the following compounds:
and
,
as taught by Onuma ’858, since Onuma ’858 teaches they are suitable alternative NDSBs to NDSB-201 for the solution of capillary electrophoresis [para. 0033]. Choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of DNSBs, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person if ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(E)).
Regarding claim 2, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, wherein the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine comprises a quaternary ammonium cation group (as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, the disclosed 3-(N,N,N-trimethylammonio)propane-1-sulfonate and 1-(3-sulfopropyl)-1-methylpiperidinium each comprises a quaternary ammonium cation group).
Regarding claim 3, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, wherein a molecular weight of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine is in a range from 100 to 500 (the molecular weight of 3-(N,N,N-trimethylammonio)propane-1-sulfonate is 181.26 g/mol, and the molecular weight of 1-(3-sulfopropyl)-1-methylpiperidinium is 221.32 g/mol, falling within the claimed range).
Regarding claims 12-14, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and Onuma is silent to: (1) wherein the content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to the total mass of the sample is in a range from 0.5 mass% to 20 mass% (of claim 12); (2) wherein the content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to the total mass of the sample is in a range from 1 mass% to 15 mass% (of claim 13); and (3) wherein the content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to the total mass of the sample is in a range from 1 mass% to 9 mass% (of claim 14).
As outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Furthermore, as the CE separation resolution is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample through adjusting the dilution ratio, the precise content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample being in a range from 0.5 mass % to 20 mass% (claim 12), in a range from 1 mass % to 15 mass% (claim 13), or in a range from 1 mass % to 9 mass% (claim 14) cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the dilution ratio and accordingly the content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample in modified Onuma to obtain the desired content ratio of the non-surfactant-type sulfobetaine with respect to a total mass of the sample in order to achieve the desired CE separation resolution. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Regarding claim 15, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and the limitation “wherein a maximum absorbance of the [Symbol font/0x67]-globulin in the sample is equal to or greater than 6.31” is an intended result of a positively recited step. The court noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). MPEP 2111.04(I).
Claims 6-8 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma and Onuma ’858, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Onuma et al. (JP2016136135A, English translation, hereinafter Onuma’135).
Regarding claim 6, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and Onuma further teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064]. Note that Onuma’135 corresponds to the disclosure of JP 6052927 cited in Onuma.
Onuma is silent to wherein a weight average molecular weight of the cationic polymer is in a range from 15,000 g/mol to 150,000 g/mol.
Onuma’135 teaches a sample analysis method that includes separating hemoglobin in a sample in an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer by capillary electrophoresis (abstract and claim 1). As the cationic polymer, from the viewpoint of improving analytical accuracy and shortening measurement time, polyethyleneimine, polyallylamine, polylysine, and combinations thereof are preferred, and polyallylamine is more preferred [para. 0017]. The weight-average molecular weight of the cationic polymer is 10000 or more from the viewpoint of improving the accuracy of analysis, and 500000 or less, or 300000 or less from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity [para. 0018]. 1.0% (W/V) polyethyleneimine (manufactured by Wako Pure Chemical Industries, Ltd., weight-average molecular weight: 70000) [para. 0060].
Since Onuma teaches a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064], and Onuma’135 of the Japanese Patent No. 6052927 teaches the use of polyethyleneimine with a weight-average molecular weight of 70000 as the cationic polymer [para. 0017, 0060], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use polyethyleneimine with a weight-average molecular weight of 70,000 as the cationic polymer, as taught by Onuma’135, since it would improve the accuracy of analysis and prevent an increase in solution viscosity [para. 0018 in Onuma’135]. The weight average molecular weight of the cationic polymer of polyethyleneimine falls within the claimed range from 15,000 to 150,000.
Regarding claim 7, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and Onuma further teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064]. Note that Onuma’135 corresponds to the disclosure of JP 6052927 cited in Onuma.
Onuma is silent to wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.01 mass % to 10 mass %.
Onuma’135 teaches a sample analysis method that includes separating hemoglobin in a sample in an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer by capillary electrophoresis (abstract and claim 1). In one or more embodiments, the content of the cationic polymer in the alkaline solution is 0.01% (W/V) or more, 0.05% (W/V) or more, or 0.1% (W/V) or more from the viewpoint of improving the accuracy of analysis, and 10.0% (W/V) or less, 8.0% (W/V) or less, or 5.0% (W/V) or less from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity [para. 0021]. Thus, Onuma’135 teaches wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.01 mass % to 10 mass % from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity and improving the accuracy of analysis.
Since Onuma teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064], and Onuma’135 of the Japanese Patent No. 6052927 teaches wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.01 mass % to 10 mass % from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity and improving the accuracy of analysis [para. 0021], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution being in a range from 0.01 mass % to 10 mass % since it would improve the accuracy of analysis and also prevent an increase in solution viscosity, as taught by Onuma’135.
Regarding claim 8, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and is silent to wherein a pH of the alkaline solution is in a range from 8.5 to 12.0.
Onuma’135 teaches a sample analysis method that includes separating hemoglobin in a sample in an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer by capillary electrophoresis (abstract and claim 1). The pH of the alkaline solution is preferably 8.5 or higher, or 9.5 or higher from the viewpoint of improving the accuracy of analysis and shortening the measurement time. It is preferably 12.0 or lower, or 11.0 or lower from the viewpoint of preventing denaturation of hemoglobin [para. 0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pH of the alkaline solution in a range from 8.5 to 12.0, as taught by Onuma’135, since it would improve the accuracy of analysis; shorten the measurement time; and prevent denaturation of hemoglobin [para. 0020 in Onuma’135].
Regarding claim 18, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and is silent to wherein a pH of the alkaline solution is in a range from 9.0 to 10.0.
Onuma’135 teaches a sample analysis method that includes separating hemoglobin in a sample in an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer by capillary electrophoresis (abstract and claim 1). The pH of the alkaline solution is preferably 8.5 or higher, or 9.5 or higher from the viewpoint of improving the accuracy of analysis and shortening the measurement time. It is preferably 12.0 or lower, or 11.0 or lower from the viewpoint of preventing denaturation of hemoglobin [para. 0020]. Thus, Onuma’135 teaches wherein a pH of the alkaline solution is in a range from 9.5 to 11.0.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pH of the alkaline solution in a range from 9.5 to 11.0, as taught by Onuma’135, since it would improve the accuracy of analysis; shorten the measurement time; and prevent denaturation of hemoglobin [para. 0020 in Onuma’135]. The disclosed pH range of from 9.5 to 11.0 overlaps with the claimed range from 9.0 to 10.0.
It would have been obvious to have selected and utilized a pH of the alkaline solution within the disclosed range of 9.5 to 11.0, as taught by Onuma’135, including those amounts that overlap within the claimed range, since one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect any value within the taught range to be suitable given that Onuma’135 specifically teaches the pH range to be suitable for the alkaline solution for improving the accuracy of analysis and shortening the measurement time. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 19, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and Onuma further teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064]. Note that Onuma’135 corresponds to the disclosure of JP 6052927 cited in Onuma.
Onuma is silent to wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.05 mass % to 8.0 mass %.
Onuma’135 teaches a sample analysis method that includes separating hemoglobin in a sample in an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer by capillary electrophoresis (abstract and claim 1). In one or more embodiments, the content of the cationic polymer in the alkaline solution is 0.01% (W/V) or more, 0.05% (W/V) or more, or 0.1% (W/V) or more from the viewpoint of improving the accuracy of analysis, and 10.0% (W/V) or less, 8.0% (W/V) or less, or 5.0% (W/V) or less from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity [para. 0021]. Thus, Onuma’135 teaches wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.05 mass % to 8.0 mass % from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity and improving the accuracy of analysis .
Since Onuma teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064], and Onuma’135 of the Japanese Patent No. 6052927 teaches wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.05 mass % to 8.0 mass % from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity and improving the accuracy of analysis [para. 0021], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution being in a range from 0.05 mass % to 8.0 mass % since it would improve the accuracy of analysis and also prevent an increase in solution viscosity, as taught by Onuma’135.
Regarding claim 20, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and Onuma further teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064]. Note that Onuma’135 corresponds to the disclosure of JP 6052927 cited in Onuma.
Onuma is silent to wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass %.
Onuma’135 teaches a sample analysis method that includes separating hemoglobin in a sample in an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer by capillary electrophoresis (abstract and claim 1). In one or more embodiments, the content of the cationic polymer in the alkaline solution is 0.01% (W/V) or more, 0.05% (W/V) or more, or 0.1% (W/V) or more from the viewpoint of improving the accuracy of analysis, and 10.0% (W/V) or less, 8.0% (W/V) or less, or 5.0% (W/V) or less from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity [para. 0021]. Thus, Onuma’135 teaches wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass % from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity and improving the accuracy of analysis.
Since Onuma teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064], and Onuma’135 of the Japanese Patent No. 6052927 teaches wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass % from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity and improving the accuracy of analysis [para. 0021], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution being in a range from 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass % since it would improve the accuracy of analysis and also prevent an increase in solution viscosity, as taught by Onuma’135.
Regarding claim 21, modified Onuma teaches the sample analysis method according to claim 1, and Onuma further teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064]. Note that Onuma’135 corresponds to the disclosure of JP 6052927 cited in Onuma.
Onuma is silent to wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 1.0 mass % to 3.0 mass %.
Onuma’135 teaches a sample analysis method that includes separating hemoglobin in a sample in an alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer by capillary electrophoresis (abstract and claim 1). In one or more embodiments, the content of the cationic polymer in the alkaline solution is 0.01% (W/V) or more, 0.05% (W/V) or more, or 0.1% (W/V) or more from the viewpoint of improving the accuracy of analysis, and 10.0% (W/V) or less, 8.0% (W/V) or less, or 5.0% (W/V) or less from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity [para. 0021]. Thus, Onuma’135 teaches wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass % from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity and improving the accuracy of analysis.
Since Onuma teaches the alkaline solution containing a cationic polymer described in Japanese Patent No. 6052927 may be used [para. 0064], and Onuma’135 of the Japanese Patent No. 6052927 teaches wherein a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution is in a range from 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass % from the viewpoint of preventing an increase in solution viscosity and improving the accuracy of analysis [para. 0021], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution being in a range from 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass % since it would improve the accuracy of analysis and also prevent an increase in solution viscosity, as taught by Onuma’135.
The disclosed content ratio in a range from 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass % overlaps with the claimed content ratio in a range of 1 mass % to 3.0 mass %.
It would have been obvious to have selected and utilized a content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution within the disclosed range of 0.1 mass % to 5.0 mass %, as taught by Onuma’135, including those amounts that overlap within the claimed range, since one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect any value within the taught range to be suitable given that Onuma’135 specifically teaches the content ratio of the cationic polymer with respect to a total mass of the alkaline solution to be suitable for improving the accuracy of analysis and preventing an increase in solution viscosity. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks Pgs. 5-6, filed 6/11/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 103 rejections have been fully considered.
Applicant’s Argument #1:
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) rejections for claims 13-14, Applicant argues at page 5 that applicant has cancelled claims 13-14, which are now listed as claims 15-16, rendering this rejection moot.
Examiner’s Response #1
Applicant only cancelled the previous claim 14 and did not cancel the previous claim 13. The new claim 15 (which was the previous claim 13) is still rejected under 112(a).
Applicant’s Argument #2:
Regarding the 103 rejections, Applicant argues at page 5 that applicant has amended calim 1, on which other rejected claims depend. The cited references fail to teach or suggest each and every feature of the pending claims.
Examiner’s Response #2:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the updated rejection for the amended claim 1 above.
Conclusion
/SHIZHI QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795