DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 16 March 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 17-19, 21, 22, and 25 are currently amended; claims 14-16, 23, 24, and 26-34 are cancelled; claims 2, 4-13, and 20 are previously presented; no claims have been added. Claims 1-13, 17-22, and 25 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13, filed 16 March 2026, with respect to “Claim Objections” have been fully considered and the examiner notes the applicant has made the appropriate corrections to overcome the objection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on applications filed as KR 10-2022-0137766 on 24 October 2022 and KR 10-2023-0003513 on 10 January 2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 17-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0217694 A1), hereafter referred Kim, in view of Moon et al. (US 2020/0367242 A1), hereafter referred Moon. Kim was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 26 June 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an operating method of a terminal to communicate with a base station, the operating method comprising:
detecting at least one overlapped third control channel element (CCE) in a plurality of first CCEs included in first search spaces corresponding to a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) received from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) of the base station, and in a plurality of second CCEs included in second search spaces corresponding to a second PDCCH received from the first TRP and a second TRP of the base station (Kim, [0326]-[0327]; when collision/overlapping occurs between CORESETs configured different Type-D RSs as QCL sources, a monitoring CORESET may be selected among a CORESET in which MTRP PDCCH repeated transmission is configured, where a method in which two TRPs repeatedly transmit a PDCCH by FDM/TDM (ie. SS sets associated with each of the two CORESETs are configured to be linked for PDCCH repeated transmission and each PDCCH candidate of the two linked SS sets is TDMed or FDMed and used for the same DCI repeated transmission and a method in which two TRPs transmit a PDCCH by SFN (ie. two TCI states are configured/activated in one CORESET and a UE performs channel estimation of a PDCCH DMRS using two QCL RSs corresponding to the two TCI states through a PDCCH of an SS set associated with the CORESET);
determining, based on the at least one overlapped third CCE, object CCEs from the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0326]-[0331]; the CORESET in which TDM/FDM PDCCH repeated transmission is configured has a priority and can be compared with the priority of the CORESET in which SFN PDCCH transmission is configured).
While Kim teaches performing channel estimation (Kim, [0326]-[0331] and [0412]; a UE performs channel estimation where a processor may control to store channel information in a memory), Kim does not expressly teach allocating a first memory based on the object CCEs; and
performing channel estimation of the object CCEs by using the first memory.
However, Moon teaches allocating a first memory based on the object CCEs (Moon, [0218]-[0224]; the first control resource set may be a terminal-specific search space based on narrowband DMRS and the second control resource set may be a common search space based on wideband DMRS, where when the CCE #0 is allocated to the second control resource set, the REGs constituting the CCE #0 of the second control resource set are distributed in REG units in the frequency domain so that the REGs constituting the CCE #0 of the second control resource set may be overlapped with the 6 CCEs of the first control resource set); and
performing channel estimation of the object CCEs by using the first memory (Moon, [0157]; the terminal may estimate a channel using all the DMRSs received in the REG bundle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Kim to include the above recited limitations as taught by Moon in order to improve the channel estimation performance (Moon, [0157]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches an operating method of a terminal, the operating method comprising:
detecting an overlapped third control channel element (CCE) in a plurality of first CCEs included in common search spaces and based on a single transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, and in a plurality of second CCEs included in user specific search spaces and based on multiple TCI states (Kim, [0326]-[0327]; when collision/overlapping occurs between CORESETs configured different Type-D RSs as QCL sources, a monitoring CORESET may be selected among a CORESET in which MTRP PDCCH repeated transmission is configured, where a method in which two TRPs repeatedly transmit a PDCCH by FDM/TDM (ie. SS sets associated with each of the two CORESETs are configured to be linked for PDCCH repeated transmission and each PDCCH candidate of the two linked SS sets is TDMed or FDMed and used for the same DCI repeated transmission and a method in which two TRPs transmit a PDCCH by SFN (ie. two TCI states are configured/activated in one CORESET and a UE performs channel estimation of a PDCCH DMRS using two QCL RSs corresponding to the two TCI states through a PDCCH of an SS set associated with the CORESET);
counting a number of non-overlapped CCEs based on the overlapped third CCE (Kim, [0245]-[0250]; determining the number of non-overlapped CCEs is defined according to the UE counting the number of CCEs when the PDCCH is transmitted repeatedly or dividedly).
Kim does not expressly teach allocating a first memory based on the number of non-overlapped CCEs; and
performing, using the first memory, channel estimation of the object CCEs by using the first memory.
However, Moon teaches allocating a first memory based on the number of non-overlapped CCEs (Moon, [0218]-[0224]; the first control resource set may be a terminal-specific search space based on narrowband DMRS and the second control resource set may be a common search space based on wideband DMRS, where when the CCE #0 is allocated to the second control resource set, the REGs constituting the CCE #0 of the second control resource set are distributed in REG units in the frequency domain so that the REGs constituting the CCE #0 of the second control resource set may be overlapped with the 6 CCEs of the first control resource set, while the PDCCH may not be allocated to the 6 CCEs of the first control resource set); and
performing, using the first memory, channel estimation of the object CCEs by using the first memory (Moon, [0157]; the terminal may estimate a channel using all the DMRSs received in the REG bundle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Kim to include the above recited limitations as taught by Moon in order to improve the channel estimation performance (Moon, [0157]).
Regarding claim 25, Kim teaches an operating method of a terminal, the operating method comprising:
detecting, based on system information received from a base station, an overlapped third control channel element (CCE) in a plurality of first CCEs included in common search spaces and based on a single transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, and in a plurality of second CCEs included in user specific search spaces and based on multiple TCI states (Kim, [0326]-[0327]; when collision/overlapping occurs between CORESETs configured different Type-D RSs as QCL sources, a monitoring CORESET may be selected among a CORESET in which MTRP PDCCH repeated transmission is configured, where a method in which two TRPs repeatedly transmit a PDCCH by FDM/TDM (ie. SS sets associated with each of the two CORESETs are configured to be linked for PDCCH repeated transmission and each PDCCH candidate of the two linked SS sets is TDMed or FDMed and used for the same DCI repeated transmission and a method in which two TRPs transmit a PDCCH by SFN (ie. two TCI states are configured/activated in one CORESET and a UE performs channel estimation of a PDCCH DMRS using two QCL RSs corresponding to the two TCI states through a PDCCH of an SS set associated with the CORESET);
identifying whether a first memory allocated to channel estimation of the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs is sufficient, based on a number of non-overlapped CCEs in the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0244]-[0253]; a UE may count PDCCH BDs and the number of CCE channel estimations for a specific time unit and determine whether a PDCCH is overbooked by comparing it with the limit of the UE).
While Kim teaches performing a channel estimation based on the multiple TCI states (Kim, [0326]-[0327]; a UE performs channel estimation of a PDCCH DMRS using two QCL RSs corresponding to the two TCI states through a PDCCH of an SS set associated with the CORESET), Kim does not expressly teach allocating a second memory based on identifying that the first memory is not sufficient; and
performing, based on a result of the identifying, a channel estimation of the overlapped third CCE based on the common and user specific search spaces.
However, Moon teaches allocating a second memory based on identifying that the first memory is not sufficient (Moon, [0218]-[0224]; the first control resource set may be a terminal-specific search space based on narrowband DMRS and the second control resource set may be a common search space based on wideband DMRS, where when the CCE #0 is allocated to the second control resource set, the REGs constituting the CCE #0 of the second control resource set are distributed in REG units in the frequency domain so that the REGs constituting the CCE #0 of the second control resource set may be overlapped with the 6 CCEs of the first control resource set, while the PDCCH may not be allocated to the 6 CCEs of the first control resource set); and
performing, based on a result of the identifying, a second channel estimation of the overlapped third CCE based on the common and user specific search spaces (Moon, [0157] and [0218]-[0224]; the terminal may estimate a channel using all the DMRSs received in the REG bundle, where a terminal-specific search space is associated with the narrowband DMRS and a common search space is associated with the wideband DMRS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Kim to include the above recited limitations as taught by Moon in order to improve the channel estimation performance (Moon, [0157]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the determining the object CCEs comprises:
dropping the at least one overlapped third CCE from the object CCEs among any one of the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0249]-[0255]; A UE may count the number of CCE channel estimations for a specific time unit and determine whether a PDCCH is overbooked by comparing it with the limit of the UE, where if the sum of the number of CCEs of a SS set of a CORESET in which 2 TCI states are configured and the number of CCEs of the previously checked SS set exceeds the CCE limit, the SS set of the corresponding CORESET is dropped and not monitored).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 2 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the dropping the at least one overlapped third CCE comprises:
based on a number of non-overlapped CCEs in the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs exceeding a maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs per slot, dropping the at least one overlapped third CCE from the object CCEs among any one of the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0249]-[0255]; A UE may count the number of CCE channel estimations for a specific time unit and determine whether a PDCCH is overbooked by comparing it with the limit of the UE, where if the sum of the number of CCEs of a SS set of a CORESET in which 2 TCI states are configured and the number of CCEs of the previously checked SS set exceeds the CCE limit, the SS set of the corresponding CORESET is dropped and not monitored).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 3 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the dropping the at least one overlapped third CCE comprises:
counting non-overlapped CCEs in each of the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs to be included in the number of non-overlapped CCEs (Kim, [0249]-[0255]; a UE counting the number of CCEs, where the number CCE channel estimations is referred to as the number of CCEs or the number of non-overlapped CCEs of each SS set is sequentially added and compared with the CCE limit in determining whether to drop the SS set of the corresponding CORESET).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the determining the object CCEs comprises:
comparing a first priority of the first search spaces with a second priority of the second search spaces (Kim, [0328]-[0331]; a CORESET in which TDM/FDM PDCCH repeated transmission is configured may have higher priority than a CORESET in which SFN PDCCH transmission is configured or vice versa);
selecting, based on a result of the comparing, any one of the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0307] and [0326]-[0331]; a UE may select the highest priority CORESET by reusing the priority rule defined in the current Rel-16 standard); and
dropping, from the object CCEs, the at least one overlapped third CCE from among the selected any one of the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0249]-[0255]; A UE may count the number of CCE channel estimations for a specific time unit and determine whether a PDCCH is overbooked by comparing it with the limit of the UE, where if the sum of the number of CCEs of a SS set of a CORESET in which 2 TCI states are configured and the number of CCEs of the previously checked SS set exceeds the CCE limit, the SS set of the corresponding CORESET is dropped and not monitored).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 5 above. Further, Kim teaches further comprising:
determining the first priority of the first search spaces based on a first search space type of the first search spaces and a first PDCCH type of the first PDCCH arranged in the first search spaces; and determining the second priority of the second search spaces based on a second search space type of the second search spaces and a second PDCCH type of the second PDCCH arranged in the second search spaces (Kim, [0328]-[0331]; the priority between a CORESET in which repeated transmission is configured and a CORESET in which repeated transmission is not configured may be used by adding it to the existing priority of SS type>cell index>SS set ID (ie. a CSS has priority over a USS, a cell of lower cell index in the same S type has higher priority, and a lower SS set ID has higher priority in the same cell).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the determining the object CCEs comprises:
increasing a maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs per slot; and determining, based on the at least one overlapped third CCE and the increased maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs per slot, the object CCEs from the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0253]-[0255]; the number of non-overlapped CCEs of each SS set is sequentially added and compared with the CCE limit to determine which SS set of the corresponding CORESET to monitor).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the determining the object CCEs comprises:
increasing a maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs per slot; and allocating a second memory to the first memory, based on the increased maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs per slot (Kim, [0253]-[0255]; the number of non-overlapped CCEs of each SS set is sequentially added and compared with the CCE limit to determine which SS set of the corresponding CORESET to monitor, where the CORESET is monitored using only a representative TCI).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the determining the object CCEs comprises:
selecting at least one first candidate from among first PDCCH candidates corresponding to the first search spaces and at least one second candidate from among second PDCCH candidates corresponding to the second search spaces (Kim, [0398]-[0403]; a UE may receive a PDCCH for the same DCI in a first monitoring occasion of a first search space set and in a second monitoring occasion of a second search space set where the monitoring occasions may overlap in a first CORESET, a second CORESET, and a third CORESET in which case the UE may monitor/receive a PDCCH according to the CORESET with the higher priority);
dropping at least one PDCCH candidate included in the at least one overlapped third CCE from among the at least one selected first candidate and the at least one selected second candidate; and determining the object CCEs from among first remaining PDCCH candidates corresponding to the first search spaces and second remaining PDCCH candidates corresponding to the second search spaces excluding the at least one dropped PDCCH candidate (Kim, [0249]-[0255]; A UE may count the number of CCE channel estimations for a specific time unit and determine whether a PDCCH is overbooked by comparing it with the limit of the UE, where if the sum of the number of CCEs of a SS set of a CORESET in which 2 TCI states are configured and the number of CCEs of the previously checked SS set exceeds the CCE limit, the SS set of the corresponding CORESET is dropped and not monitored).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the first TRP, the first PDCCH and the second PDCCH that have been transmitted based on a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; and receiving, from the second TRP, the second PDCCH that has been transmitted based on a second TCI state (Kim, [0248]; when a PDCCH is SFN transmitted (using a plurality of TCI states), the UE performs channel estimation for each of the PDCCH received from TRP 1 (with the first TCI state) and the PDCCH received from TRP 2 (with the second TCI state)).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the object CCEs comprise the at least one overlapped third CCE included in the plurality of first CCEs and the at least one overlapped third CCE included in the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0326]-[0331]; the CORESET in which TDM/FDM PDCCH repeated transmission is configured has a priority and can be compared with the priority of the CORESET in which SFN PDCCH transmission is configured), and the performing the channel estimation of the object CCEs further comprises:
performing a first channel estimation of the at least one overlapped third CCE included in the plurality of first CCEs based on the first TCI state; performing a second channel estimation of the at least one overlapped third CCE included in the plurality of second CCEs based on the first TCI state and the second TCI state (Kim, [0248]; when a PDCCH is SFN transmitted (using a plurality of TCI states), the UE performs channel estimation for each of the PDCCH received from TRP 1 (with the first TCI state) and the PDCCH received from TRP 2 (with the second TCI state)); and
storing, in the first memory, a first result of the first channel estimation and a second result of the second channel estimation (Kim, [0326]-[0331] and [0412]; a UE performs channel estimation where a processor may control to store channel information in a memory).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the first search spaces are common search spaces, and the second search spaces are user specific search spaces (Kim, [0307]; a CORESET corresponding to a CSS set may be selected. Otherwise, a CORESET corresponding to a USS set may be selected).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 1 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the first search spaces are included in a first control resource set (CORESET) configured by a master information block (MIB), and the second search spaces are included in a second CORESET configured by the MIB, the second CORESET being different from the first CORESET (Kim, Table 9 and [0327]; CORESETs using the two different methods of PDCCH repetition transmission, where CORESET#0 is configured in MIB and in a serving cell common configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 17 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the counting of the number of non-overlapped CCEs comprises:
counting the overlapped third CCE as a non-overlapped CCE in the plurality of first CCEs and the plurality of second CCEs (Kim, [0249]-[0255]; a UE counting the number of CCEs, where the number CCE channel estimations is referred to as the number of CCEs or the number of non-overlapped CCEs of each SS set is sequentially added and compared with the CCE limit in determining whether to drop the SS set of the corresponding CORESET).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 17 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the performing the channel estimation of the overlapped third CCE comprises:
determining whether the result of the counting exceeds a maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs per slot; selecting, according to a result of the determining, the overlapped third CCE based on at least one of the plurality of first CCEs based on the single TCI state and the plurality of second CCEs based on the multiple TCI states (Kim, [0249]-[0255]; A UE may count the number of CCE channel estimations for a specific time unit and determine whether a PDCCH is overbooked by comparing it with the limit of the UE, where if the sum of the number of CCEs of a SS set of a CORESET in which 2 TCI states are configured and the number of CCEs of the previously checked SS set exceeds the CCE limit, the SS set of the corresponding CORESET is dropped and not monitored).
Kim does not expressly teach performing the channel estimation of the selected overlapped third CCE.
However, Moon teaches performing the channel estimation of the selected overlapped third CCE (Moon, [0157]; the terminal may estimate a channel using all the DMRSs received in the REG bundle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Kim to include the above recited limitations as taught by Moon in order to improve the channel estimation performance (Moon, [0157]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 19 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the selecting of the overlapped third CCE comprises:
comparing a first priority of the common search spaces with a second priority of the user specific search spaces (Kim, [0328]-[0331]; a CORESET in which TDM/FDM PDCCH repeated transmission is configured may have higher priority than a CORESET in which SFN PDCCH transmission is configured or vice versa, where a CSS may have priority over a USS); and
selecting, according to the result of the determining, the overlapped third CCE based on a result of the comparing (Kim, [0307] and [0326]-[0331]; a UE may select the highest priority CORESET by reusing the priority rule defined in the current Rel-16 standard).
Regarding claim 21, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 19 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the performing the channel estimation of the selected overlapped third CCE comprises:
storing, in the first memory, a result of the channel estimation of the selected overlapped third CCE (Kim, [0326]-[0331] and [0412]; a UE performs channel estimation where a processor may control to store channel information in a memory).
Regarding claim 22, Kim in view of Moon teaches the operating method of claim 17 above. Further, Kim teaches wherein the performing the channel estimation of the overlapped third CCE comprises:
based on the result of the counting exceeding a maximum number of non-overlapped CCEs per slot, allocating additional memory to a channel estimation memory (Kim, [0253]-[0255]; the number of non-overlapped CCEs of each SS set is sequentially added and compared with the CCE limit to determine which SS set of the corresponding CORESET to monitor, where the CORESET is monitored using only a representative TCI); and
storing a first result of the first channel estimation and a second result of the second channel estimation in the channel estimation memory (Kim, [0326]-[0331] and [0412]; a UE performs channel estimation where a processor may control to store channel information in a memory).
While Kim teaches performing channel estimation based on the single TCI state or the multiple TCI states (Kim, [0248]; when a PDCCH is SFN transmitted (using a plurality of TCI states), the UE performs channel estimation for each of the PDCCH received from TRP 1 (with the first TCI state) and the PDCCH received from TRP 2 (with the second TCI state)), Kim does not expressly teach performing a first channel estimation of the overlapped third CCE based on the common search space and a second channel estimation of the overlapped third CCE based on the user specific search space.
However, Moon teaches performing a first channel estimation of the overlapped third CCE based on the common search space and a second channel estimation of the overlapped third CCE based on the user specific search space (Moon, [0157] and [0218]-[0224]; the terminal may estimate a channel using all the DMRSs received in the REG bundle, where a terminal-specific search space is associated with the narrowband DMRS and a common search space is associated with the wideband DMRS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Kim to include the above recited limitations as taught by Moon in order to improve the channel estimation performance (Moon, [0157]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/KENNY S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416