DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This is a final rejection in response to the Applicant's remarks and amendment filed on 03/10/2026. Claim 1 is cancelled, claim 16 is currently amended, claims 3-15 and 17-21 are previously presented and claim 22 is new. Accordingly claims 2-22 are examined herein.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that claims 2-15 and 22 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details). For apparatuses, the claim limitations will define structural limitations (See MPEP 2114-2115) or functional limitations properly recited (See MPEP 2173.05 (g)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-7 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101430582 - With English Machine Translation attached) in view of Guo (US 2019/0047099 – of record) and Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0347115 – of record ).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches a system for 3d-printing (a three-dimensional printer) (see Fig.1;[0001] of English Machine Translation attached), comprising a passive nozzle (nozzle (30a)) comprising an entry point for filament material at a top end, a nozzle fixation interface and a nozzle tip at a bottom end (see annotated Fig. 4 below).
Park does not explicitly teach that the nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper. In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Guo teaches a 3D printer (100) comprising a base station 130) for holding a plurality of passive nozzles (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4A; [0031]); and a print head unit comprising a extruder hand (200) includes an extruder tool holder (204); see Fig. 2B;[0027]) for picking said passive nozzle (extruder tool holder (204) comprising a pair of claws capable of picking and gripping a passive extruder (124); see Fig. 5; [0029], [0035-0036]); thus, extruder tool holder (204) reads on the claimed print tool gripper. Guo teaches a nozzle fixation interface (226) configured to mate with a print tool gripper (204) (see Fig. 2B;[0030]) for the benefits of keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park with a nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Guo above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005] of Guo).
Park in view of Guo further teaches a heating element is configured to heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle (see Figs. 1-3; [0041 -0042] and [0046-0047] of English Translation attached of Park). However, Park does not teach wherein the heating element is configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle, and a heat sensor is configured to contactless measure the temperature of the passive nozzle.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Fetfatsidis teaches 3D printing system suitable for fused filament fabrication (FFF) printing (see Fig. 3A;[0105]), comprises a printer head (800) including a heating mechanism (325), wherein the heat source is arranged/configured for contactless heating (see [0031], [0109], [0111], [0137] and [0146]); and wherein said heating mechanism further comprises a contactless heat sensor (see [0118]). Fetfatsidis teaches that the heat source to be easily coupled to a printer head without providing obstruction to the printing process (see [0111]) and also in order to direct energy or heat over a distance without needing to contact the material being heated (see [0137] of Fetfatsidis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park and Guo with heating element is configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle, and a heat sensor is configured to contactless measure the temperature of the passive nozzle as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Fetfatsidis above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for the heat source to be easily coupled to a printer head without providing obstruction to the printing process and also in order to direct energy or heat over a distance without needing to contact the material being heated (see [0111] and [0137] of Fetfatsidis).
Regarding claim 5, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the system for 3d-printing, wherein the heat sensor is an infrared sensor (see [0015] and [0017-0018] of Fetfatsidis).
`Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the system for 3d-printing, wherein the nozzle fixation interface is configured to function in a multi-material 3D-printer with a plurality of passive nozzles (30a-30d) (see Figs. 1-3, annotated Fig. 4 above; [0023-0024],[0036] and [0042] of English machine translation of Park).
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the system for 3d-printing, wherein the multi-material 3D- printer is configured with one passive nozzle (30a-30d) for each material (see annotated Fig. 4 above; [0029-0030],[0032] and [0042] of English machine translation of Park).
Regarding claim 11, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the system for 3d-printing, wherein the system comprises a control unit having a feedback loop with input from the heat sensor for controlling the temperature of the passive nozzle (see [0016],[0018],[0109],[0120] and [0128] of Fetfatsidis).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches a passive nozzle (30a-30d) for use in a system (a three-dimensional printer) (see Fig.1;[0001], of English Machine Translation attached), said nozzle (30a) comprising an entry point for filament material at a top; a nozzle fixation interface and a nozzle tip at a bottom end (see annotated Fig. 4 above). Park does not explicitly teach that the nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Guo teaches a 3D printer (100) comprising a base station 130) for holding a plurality of passive nozzles (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4A; [0031; and a print head unit (an extruder hand 200: Fig. 2B; [0027]) comprising a extruder hand (200) includes an extruder tool holder (204); see Fig. 2B) for picking said passive nozzle (extruder tool holder (204) comprising a pair of claws capable of picking and gripping a passive extruder (124); (see Fig. 5; [0029], [0035-0036]); thus, extruder tool holder (204) reads on the claimed print tool gripper. Guo teaches a nozzle fixation interface (226) configured to mate with a print tool gripper (204) (see Fig. 2B;[0030]) for the benefits of keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park with a nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Guo above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005] of Guo).
Park in view of Guo further teaches a heating element is configured to heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle (see Figs. 1-3; [0041 -0042] and [0046-0047] of English Translation attached of Park). However, Park does not teach wherein said nozzle is configured to be contactless heated by a heating element, and said nozzle comprises a measuring surface positioned to allow temperature sensing with a contactless sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Fetfatsidis teaches 3D printing system suitable for fused filament fabrication (FFF) printing (see Fig. 3A;[0105]), comprises a printer head (800) including a heating mechanism (325), wherein the heat source is arranged/configured for contactless heating (see [0031], [0109], [0111], [0137] and [0146]); and wherein said heating mechanism further comprises a measuring surface positioned to allow temperature sensing with a contactless sensor (see Fig. 3A;[0118]). Fetfatsidis teaches that the heat source to be easily coupled to a printer head without providing obstruction to the printing process (see [0111]) and also in order to direct energy or heat over a distance without needing to contact the material being heated (see [0137] of Fetfatsidis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park and Guo with heating element is configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle, and a measuring surface positioned to allow temperature sensing with a contactless sensor configured to contactless measure the temperature of the passive nozzle as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Fetfatsidis above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for the heat source to be easily coupled to a printer head without providing obstruction to the printing process and also in order to direct energy or heat over a distance without needing to contact the material being heated (see [0111] and [0137] of Fetfatsidis).
Regarding claim 13, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the passive nozzle, wherein the measuring surface is substantially flat (see Fig. 3A;[0118] ,[0155-0156] of Fetfatsidis).
Regarding claim 14, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the passive nozzle (30a), wherein the nozzle fixation interface is configured to function in a multi-material 3D-printer (see annotated Fig. 4 above; [0023-0024],[0036] and [0042] of English machine translation of Park).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101430582 - With English Machine Translation attached) in view of Guo (US 2019/0047099 – of record) and Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0347115 – of record) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of VAN PELT (US 2016/0194233 – of record).
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis teaches the system for 3d-printing as discussed in claim 2 above.
The combination of Park, Guo and Fetfatsidis does not teach wherein the heating element is an induction heating element.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, VAN PELT teaches printer head for 3D printing of glass (Abstract, Fig. 1) comprises an induction coil (11) is arranged at a distance from an outer surface of a nozzle (5) (i.e. the induction coil not be in contact with a heated nozzle) (see Fig. 2; [0015] and [0041]). Van Pelt further teaches that if the induction coil is arranged at a distance from the heating body, the risk of unwanted physical (and electrical) contact is minimized (see [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park, Guo and Fetfatsidis with the heating element is an induction heating element as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of VAN PELT above; and doing so is simple substitution of one Know element for another to obtain predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would avoid the risk of unwanted physical (and electrical) contact is minimized (see [0015] and [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Guo, Fetfatsidis and VAN PELT further teaches the system for 3d-printing, wherein the induction heating element is an open coil induction heating coil configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle (see Fig. 2;[0015] and [0041] of Van Pelt).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101430582 - With English Machine Translation attached) in view of Guo (US 2019/0047099 – of record) and Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0347115 – of record) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Mark (US 2017/0232674 – of record).
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis teaches as discussed in claim 2 above.
The combination of Park, Guo and Fetfatsidis does not explicitly teach, wherein the nozzle tip comprises a material having an inductive response.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Mark teaches a three dimensional printer (1800) (see Fig. 1B), comprises an extrusion nozzle (1802), a nozzle tip selected from the group of inductive material and metallic material (see [0217], [0220] and [0225-0226]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified three dimensional apparatus as taught by Park, Guo and Fettfatsidis with said nozzle tip is made from a material having an inductive response as taught by Mark in order to provide nozzle’s material to resist wear from sliding contact of the nozzle tip with the previously deposited lines of the material (see abstract; [0217]).
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Guo, Fetfatsidis and Mark further teaches the system for 3d-printing, wherein the material of the nozzle tip is a metallic material (see [0217],[0220] and [0225-0226] of Mark).
Regarding claim 10, Park in view of Guo, Fetfatsidis and Mark further teaches the system for 3d-printing, wherein the metallic material is magnetic (see [0217],[0220] and [0225-0226] of Mark) .
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101430582 - With English Machine Translation attached) in view of Guo (US 2019/0047099 - of record) and Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0347115 - of record) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Mark (US 2017/0232674 - of record).
Regarding claim 15, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis teaches the passive nozzle as discussed in claim 12 above.
The combination of Park, Guo and Fetfatsidis does not teach, wherein the nozzle tip is made of a material having an inductive response. In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Mark teaches a three dimensional printer (1800) (see Fig. 1B), comprises an extrusion nozzle (1802), a nozzle tip selected from the group of inductive material and metallic material (see [0217],[0220] and [0225-0226]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified three dimensional apparatus as taught by Park, Guo and Fettfatsidis with said nozzle tip is made from a material having an inductive response as taught by Mark in order to provide nozzle’s material to resist wear from sliding contact of the nozzle tip with the previously deposited lines of the material (see abstract; [0217]).
Claim(s) 16 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101430582 - With English Machine Translation attached) in view of Guo (US 2019/0047099 – of record) and Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0347115 – of record).
Regarding claim 16, Park teaches a method for a system for 3d-printing (see Fig.1;[0001], of English Translation attached), comprising steps of
Providing a passive nozzle (30a) at a fixation interface (see annotated Fig. 4 above);
feeding a filament material into an entry point in the passive nozzle (see annotated Fig. 4 above ; [0020-0021] and [0027-0031] of English Machine Translation attached)
Park does not explicitly teach gripping the passive nozzle at a fixation interface with a print tool gripper.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices/methods, Guo teaches three dimensional printing method comprises, providing a 3D printer (100) comprising a base station 130) for holding a plurality of passive nozzles (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4A; [0031]); and a print head unit (an extruder hand 200: Fig. 2B; [0027]) comprising a extruder hand (200) includes an extruder tool holder (204); see Fig. 2B) for picking said passive nozzle (extruder tool holder (204) comprising a pair of claws capable of picking and gripping a passive extruder (124); (see Fig. 5; [0029], [0035-0036]); thus, extruder tool holder (204) reads on the claimed print tool gripper. Guo teaches a nozzle fixation interface (226) configured to mate with a print tool gripper (204) (see Fig. 2B; [0030]) for the benefits of keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park with a nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Guo above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005] of Guo).
Park in view of Guo further teaches providing a heating element is configured to heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament inside the nozzle and ejecting melted filament through a nozzle tip at a bottom end of the passive nozzle (see Figs. 1-3 and annotated Fig. 4 above; [0041 -0042] and [0046-0047] of English Machine Translation attached of Park). However, Park does not teach contactless heating the passive nozzle with the heating element, wherein the melting filament inside the nozzle heated with the contactless heating and contactless sensing a temperature of the nozzle with a heat sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing systems /methods, Fetfatsidis teaches 3D printing system/method suitable for fused filament fabrication (FFF) printing (see Fig. 3A;[0105]), comprises providing a printer head (800) including a heating mechanism (325), wherein the heat source is arranged/configured for contactless heating for melting the tape/filament (see [0031], [0109], [0111], [0137],[0144], [0146] and [0441]); and wherein said heating mechanism further comprises a contactless heat sensor for contactless sensing a temperature of the nozzle with the heat sensor (see [0118]). Fetfatsidis teaches that the heat source to be easily coupled to a printer head without providing obstruction to the printing process (see [0111]) and also in order to direct energy or heat over a distance without needing to contact the material being heated (see [0137] of Fetfatsidis). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park and Guo with heating element is configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle, and a heat sensor is configured to contactless measure the temperature of the passive nozzle as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Fetfatsidis above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for the heat source to be easily coupled to a printer head without providing obstruction to the printing process and also in order to direct energy or heat over a distance without needing to contact the material being heated (see [0111] and [0137] of Fetfatsidis).
Regarding claim 18, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the method, wherein the step of contactless sensing a temperature is carried out with an infrared sensor (see [0015] and [0017-0018] of Fetfatsidis).
Regarding claim 19, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the method, wherein the passive nozzle is a first passive nozzle (30a) with a first filament material, and the method includes a second passive nozzle (30b) with a second filament material and includes a step of changing from the first passive nozzle to the second passive nozzle in order to print three-dimensional objects of different materials using at least said first and second passive nozzles (see annotated Fig. 4 above; [0010-0018], [0024],[0030-0033] and [0045] English Machine Translation attached of Park).
Regarding claim 20, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis teaches the method as discussed in claim 19 above.
Park does not teach wherein the method comprises the step of placing said first passive nozzle to a rack arrangement and picking up the second passive nozzle from the rack arrangement.
However, Guo teaches the 3D printer (100) comprising a rack arrangement (base station 130) for holding a plurality of passive nozzles (base station 130 reads on the claimed rack arrangement as base station 130 has the structure of a rack arrangement and the capability of holding/storing a plurality of extruders 124 having small-sized nozzles not in-use (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4A; [0031]) and a extruder hand (200) includes an extruder tool holder (204); see Fig. 2B) for picking said passive nozzle (extruder tool holder (204) comprising a pair of claws capable of picking and gripping a passive extruder (124); (see Fig. 5; [0029], [0035-0036]); thus, extruder tool holder (204) reads on the claimed print tool gripper. Guo teaches a nozzle fixation interface (226) configured to mate with a print tool gripper (204) (see Fig. 2B;[0030]) for the benefits of keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park with the step of placing said first passive nozzle to a rack arrangement and picking up the second passive nozzle from the rack arrangement as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Guo above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005] of Guo).
Regarding claim 21, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis further teaches the method, wherein the method comprises a step of controlling the temperature of the passive nozzle with a feedback loop with input from the heat sensor (see [0016],[0018],[0109],[0120] and [0128] of Fetfatsidis).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101430582 - With English Machine Translation attached) in view of Guo (US 2019/0047099 – of record) and Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0347115 – of record ) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of VAN PELT (US 2016/0194233 – of record).
Regarding claim 17, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis teaches the method as discussed in claim 16 above.
The combination of Park, Guo and Fetfatsidis does not teach wherein the contactless heating is carried out with an inductive heating element.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, VAN PELT teaches a method of 3D printing of glass (Abstract, Fig. 1) comprises an induction coil (11) is arranged at a distance from an outer surface of a nozzle (5) (i.e. the induction coil not be in contact with a heated nozzle) (see Fig. 2; [0015] and [0041]). VAN PELT further teaches that if the induction coil is arranged at a distance from the heating body, the risk of unwanted physical (and electrical) contact is minimized (see [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park, Guo and Fetfatsidis with the heating element is an induction heating element as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of VAN PELT above; and doing so is simple substitution of one Know element for another to obtain predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would avoid the risk of unwanted physical (and electrical) contact is minimized (see [0015] and [0041]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 101430582 - With English Machine Translation attached) in view of Guo (US 2019/0047099 - of record), Mark (US 2017/0232674 - of record), Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0347115 - of record) and VAN PELT (US 2016/0194233 - of record).
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches a system for 3d-printing (a three-dimensional printer) (see Fig.1; [0001] of English Machine Translation attached), comprising a passive nozzle (nozzle (30a)) comprising an entry point for filament material at a top end, a nozzle fixation interface and a nozzle tip at a bottom end, wherein the nozzle tip comprises a material having an inductive response (see annotated Fig. 4 above).
Park does not explicitly teach that the nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Guo teaches a 3D printer (100) comprising a base station 130) for holding a plurality of passive nozzles (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4A; [0031]); and a print head unit comprising a extruder hand (200) includes an extruder tool holder (204); see Fig. 2B;[0027]) for picking said passive nozzle (extruder tool holder (204) comprising a pair of claws capable of picking and gripping a passive extruder (124); see Fig. 5; [0029], [0035-0036]); thus, extruder tool holder (204) reads on the claimed print tool gripper. Guo teaches a nozzle fixation interface (226) configured to mate with a print tool gripper (204) (see Fig. 2B; [0030]) for the benefits of keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park with a nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Guo above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for keeping the print head unit/platform less crowded and using a large number of extruders without being limited to the space available at the print head unit/platform (see [0005] of Guo).
Park in view of Guo does not explicitly teach that the nozzle tip comprises a material having an inductive response.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Mark teaches a three dimensional printer (1800) (see Fig. 1B), comprises an extrusion nozzle (1802), a nozzle tip selected from the group of inductive material and metallic material (see [0217], [0220] and [0225-0226]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified three dimensional apparatus as taught by Park and Guo in view of Mark with the nozzle’s tip comprises a material having an inductive response as taught by Mark in order to provide nozzle’s material to resist wear from sliding contact of the nozzle tip with the previously deposited lines of the material (see abstract; [0217]). In addition, it has been held that to be within the ordinary skill of worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. One would have been motivated to have the nozzle’s tip comprises a material having an inductive response in order to provide nozzle’s material to resist wear. (Please see MPEP 2144.07 for further details)
Park in view of Guo and Mark further teaches a heating element is configured to heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle (see Figs. 1-3; [0041 -0042] and [0046-0047] of English Translation attached of Park). However, Park does not teach wherein the heating element is configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle, and a heat sensor is configured to contactless measure the temperature of the passive nozzle.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Fetfatsidis teaches 3D printing system suitable for fused filament fabrication (FFF) printing (see Fig. 3A;[0105]), comprises a printer head (800) including a heating mechanism (325), wherein the heat source is arranged/configured for contactless heating (see [0031], [0109], [0111], [0137] and [0146]); and wherein said heating mechanism further comprises a contactless heat sensor capable to be configured to contactless measure the temperature of the passive nozzle (see [0109], [0111], [0118] and [0246]).
Fetfatsidis teaches that the heat source to be easily coupled to a printer head without providing obstruction to the printing process (see [0111]) and also in order to direct energy or heat over a distance without needing to contact the material being heated (see [0137] of Fetfatsidis).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park and Guo with heating element is configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle for melting a filament in the nozzle, and a heat sensor is configured to contactless measure the temperature of the passive nozzle as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Fetfatsidis above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so allow for the heat source to be easily coupled to a printer head without providing obstruction to the printing process and also in order to direct energy or heat over a distance without needing to contact the material being heated (see [0111] and [0137] of Fetfatsidis).
Fetfatsidis further teaches that the heating mechanism includes different types of heating elements such as infrared lamp and electrical resistance coil (see [0146], [0246] and [0264]). However, Park in view of Guo and Fetfatsidis does not explicitly teach that and the heating element is an open coil induction heating coil configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, VAN PELT teaches a method of 3D printing of glass (Abstract, Fig. 1) comprises an induction coil (11) is arranged at a distance from an outer surface of a nozzle (5) (i.e. the induction coil not be in contact with a heated nozzle) (see Fig. 2; [0015] and [0041]). Van Pelt further teaches that if the induction coil is arranged at a distance from the heating body, the risk of unwanted physical (and electrical) contact is minimized (see [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Park, Guo and Fetfatsidis in view of Van Pelt with the heating element is an induction heating coil configured to contactless heat the passive nozzle as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Van Pelt above; and doing so is simple substitution of one Know element for another to obtain predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would avoid the risk of unwanted physical (and electrical) contact is minimized (see [0015] and [0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that one skilled in the art, based on the teachings in Park, would look to improve the rotary turret and it is unreasonable to conclude that one skilled in the art would be motivated by Park to instead implement a different mechanism of a print tool gripper that picks up and places individual separate nozzle, this argument is not found persuasive
Examiner respectfully submits that the nozzle as disclosed by Park does not preclude the possibility of adopting it for detachable use. Park discloses a nozzle fixation interface has threaded connection (see annotated Fig. 4 above) could be modified to allow gripper engagement without undermining the operation of the printing device. The secondary reference’s gripper is designed to pick up and place nozzles, and a POSITA would understand that such gripper could be adapted to work with the primary reference’s nozzle by using a compatible fixation interface (e.g., a standard mount). Furthermore, adapting the primary reference’s nozzle for use with a gripper is predictable variation in the field of 3D printing, where modularity is well-known goal.
With respect to Applicant argument that Guo not teach or suggest a nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Guo discloses an extruder hand (200) includes an extruder tool holder (204) for picking a nozzle, comprising a pair of claws capable of picking and gripping a passive extruder (124) (see Fig. 5; [0029], [0035-0036]); thus, extruder tool holder (204) reads on the claimed print tool gripper. Guo teaches a matching magnets (226) attached to extruder’s walls capable of being a nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper (204) (see Fig. 2B; [0030]). Therefore, Guo teaches a configuration of extruder tool holder and matching magnets attached to extruder’s walls reads on the claimed a nozzle fixation interface configured to mate with a print tool gripper.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to Applicant argument that Fetfatsidis uses the contactless heating to heat the composite tape and substrate at the "nip region (tape head)" for consolidation and bonding and the heating device in Fetfatsidis was to be re-engineered to be used in a 3d- filament melting application, such re-engineering would render the invention according to Fetfatsidis inoperable for its intended purpose, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner respectfully submits that applicant assertation that the contactless heating mechanism of Fetfatsidis could not melt a filament in the nozzle is incorrect. Fetfatsidis teaches 3D printing system suitable for fused filament fabrication (FFF) printing (see Fig. 3A; [0105]), comprises a printer head (800) including a heating mechanism (325), wherein the heat source is arranged/configured for contactless heating (see [0031], [0109], [0111], [0137] and [0146]). Paragraphs [0144], [0146] and [0441] explicitly discloses a heating mechanism is a contactless heat source configured to heat filament to a melting temperature, thus, the mechanism is fully operable for its intended purpose for melting filament.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743 /GALEN H HAUTH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743