DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (CN 113863807) (hereinafter Jin).
Regarding claim 1, Jin discloses a refrigerator comprising: a main body (11) having a storage compartment; a door (12) rotatably coupled to the main body to open or close the storage compartment; a slider (21) provided on the main body, configured to be movable in a front-rear direction to open or close the door, the slider comprising a contact part (23) ; and a magnetic force part (24) installed to a rear surface of the door, configured to be magnetically attachable to or detachable to the contact part by a movement of the slider, wherein the door is configured to be opened or closed by the slider while the magnetic force part is magnetically attached to the contact part, and wherein at least one of the contact part and a part of the magnetic force part is configured to be rotatable so that an attachment of the magnetic force part and the contact part is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 2 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Lee et al. (US patent application publication 2019/0330909) (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Jin discloses a refrigerator wherein the slider further comprises: a housing (231) provided at a front end of the slider, and having an opening (Fig. 5).
Jin does not disclose a rack gear to allow the slider to be movable in the front-rear direction. Lee teaches a rack gear (29) to allow a slider to movable in a front-rear direction. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jin to include a slider in view of Lee’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known component with another known component yielding a predictable result.
Regarding claim 15, Jin discloses the refrigerator as claimed. Jin does not disclose a refrigerator wherein the door comprises: a first door and a second door provided on a left side and a right side of the main body, respectively, and the slider and the magnetic force part are provided as a pair to each of the first door and the second door. Lee teaches a refrigerator wherein the door comprises: a first door and a second door provided on a left side and a right side of the main body (Fig. 1), respectively, and the slider and the magnetic force part are provided as a pair to each of the first door and the second door. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jin wherein the door comprises: a first door and a second door provided on a left side and a right side of the main body, respectively, and the slider and the magnetic force part are provided as a pair to each of the first door and the second door in view of Lee’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known arrangement with another known arrangement yielding a predictable result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637