Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 04/26/2026. Claims 1-46 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2024, 03/28/2024, 06/05/2024, and 03/10/2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 19, 30, 33-35, 45, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US-20200341124-A1; hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses A laser device for providing light to a light ranging and detection (LiDAR) system, the device comprising: (see at least Figure 1A and [0005]; "FIGS. 1A and 1B illustrate an automobile having a driver assistance system or anautonomous driving system that includes a vehicle-mounted LIDAR system by using fiber laser sources.") a plurality of seed lasers configured to provide multiple seed light beams, at least two of the seed light beams having different wavelengths; (see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm).") a first light coupling unit optically coupled to the plurality of seed lasers and configured to receive the multiple seed light beams; an amplifier optically coupled to the first light coupling unit to receive the multiple seed light beams; a power pump configured to provide pump power to the amplifier, wherein the amplifier amplifies the multiple seed light beams using the pump power to obtain amplified light beams; and (see at least Figure 5A and [0022]; "In addition to placing the optical booster amplifier in the remote laser module 11, the example in FIG. 3 further selectively places a booster pump laser module and its electronic driver in the base laser module 12 so that they are protected from extreme vehicle exterior conditions. Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions.") a second light coupling unit configured to demultiplex the amplified light beams to obtain a plurality of output light beams, at least two of the output light beams having wavelengths corresponding to the wavelengths of the at least two seed light beams. (see at least [0017]; "The produced probe laser light is split into different probe laser beams at different output ports of the base laser module 12 for distribution to the remote laser modules 11. LIDAR fiber links are used to optically couple the remote laser modules I to the base laser module 12 and to deliver the probe laser pulses from the base laser module 12 to the remote laser modules 11 at desired locations on the vehicle such as the example shown in FIG. 1 A." and see at least [0030]; "An optical splitter 36 can be included in the base laser module 12 to split the output of the optical pre-amplifier 121 into multiple seed probe laser beams that are guided (e.g., by fibers) to the base laser output ports 1201 as the base seed probe laser outputs that are paired with corresponding booster pump laser outputs from the booster pump laser modules in the base laser module 12.").
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the first light coupling unit is configured to multiplex the multiple seed light beams. (see at least [0022]; "Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions.").
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses The device of claim 1, further comprising a housing, wherein the plurality of seed lasers is included in the housing. (see at least [0033]; "FIG. 6 illustrates an implementation example of the design in FIG. 4. in this example, the seed laser 31, the pump laser 32 for the optical pre-amplifier 121, the optical booster pump lasers and their driver electronics are all housed inside the base laser module 12." and see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12.").
Regarding claim 5, Yu discloses The device of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of optical fibers or free-space optics configured to couple the plurality of seed lasers to the first light coupling unit. (see at least Figure 5A and [0022]; "In addition to placing the optical booster amplifier in the remote laser module 11, the example in FIG. 3 further selectively places a booster pump laser module and its electronic driver in the base laser module 12 so that they are protected from extreme vehicle exterior conditions. Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions." and see at least [0017]; "The base laser module 12 contains electronics that receives electrical power from a power supply to electrically energize one or more seed diode lasers to produce the probe laser light that is modulated based on a control signal for the LIDAR operations. The produced probe laser light is split into different probe laser beams at different output ports of the base laser module 12 for distribution to the remote laser modules 11. LIDAR fiber links are used to optically couple the remote laser modules I to the base laser module 12 and to deliver the probe laser pulses from the base laser module 12 to the remote laser modules 11 at desired locations on the vehicle such as the example shown in FIG. 1 A.").
Regarding claim 7, Yu discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the amplifier is a single-stage amplifier. (see at least [0037]; "FIG. 9A shows a single- stage optical pre-amplifier 121.").
Regarding claim 19, Yu discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the amplifier is a fiber-based amplifier. (see at least [0021]; "This design of a remote optical booster amplifier 111 in the remote laser module 11 is based on the consideration that the laser remote module is at the output end of the LiDAR system and thus high peak power optical probe light pulses produced at the laser remote module will no longer be subject to additional fiber dispersion or fiber nonlinear optical effects while managing the dispersion- induced pulse distortion by properly designing the spatial fiber dispersion property profile in the fiber laser system.").
Regarding claim 30, Yu discloses The device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of seed lasers is a pulsed seed laser. (see at least [0026]; "Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g.,1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as "multi mode pump lasers 33" to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm).").
Regarding claim 33, Yu discloses A light ranging and detection (LiDAR) system comprising: one or more optical scanners; and (see at least Figure 1A and [0005]; "FIGS. 1A and 1B illustrate an automobile having a driver assistance system or an autonomous driving system that includes a vehicle-mounted LIDAR system by using fiber laser sources." and see at least [0034]; "Probe fiber links 151 are coupled to the base laser output ports 1201 to respectively receive the different probe laser outputs at the probe laser wavelength so that each probe fiber link 151 is coupled to carry a probe laser output to a corresponding remote laser module 11 which includes an optical scanner that scans a received probe laser output as a scanning output probe laser beam for LIDAR sensing.") a fiber-based laser device comprising: a plurality of seed lasers configured to provide multiple seed light beams, at least two of the seed light beams having different wavelengths; (see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm).") a first light coupling unit optically coupled to the plurality of seed lasers and configured to receive the multiple seed light beams; an amplifier optically coupled to the first light coupling unit to receive the multiple seed light beams; a power pump configured to provide pump power to the amplifier, wherein the amplifier amplifies the multiple seed light beams using the pump power to obtain amplified light beams; and (see at least Figure 5A and [0022]; "In addition to placing the optical booster amplifier in the remote laser module 11, the example in FIG. 3 further selectively places a booster pump laser module and its electronic driver in the base laser module 12 so that they are protected from extreme vehicle exterior conditions. Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions.") a second light coupling unit configured to demultiplex the amplified light beams to obtain a plurality of output light beams, at least two of the output light beams having wavelengths corresponding to the wavelengths of the at least two seed light beams, the fiber-based laser device being configured to provide the plurality of output light beams to the one or more optical scanners. (see at least [0017]; "The produced probe laser light is split into different probe laser beams at different output ports of the base laser module 12 for distribution to the remote laser modules 11. LIDAR fiber links are used to optically couple the remote laser modules I to the base laser module 12 and to deliver the probe laser pulses from the base laser module 12 to the remote laser modules 11 at desired locations on the vehicle such as the example shown in FIG. 1 A." and see at least [0030]; "An optical splitter 36 can be included in the base laser module 12 to split the output of the optical pre-amplifier 121 into multiple seed probe laser beams that are guided (e.g., by fibers) to the base laser output ports 1201 as the base seed probe laser outputs that are paired with corresponding booster pump laser outputs from the booster pump laser modules in the base laser module 12.").
Regarding claim 34, Yu discloses The system of claim 33, wherein each of the plurality of output light beams is provided to a respective optical scanner of one or more optical scanners, each optical scanner of the one or more optical scanners comprising one or more light steering optics configured to scan one or both of horizontal and vertical directions of a field-of-view (FOV). (see at least Figure 5A and [0022]; "In addition to placing the optical booster amplifier in the remote laser module 11, the example in FIG. 3 further selectively places a booster pump laser module and its electronic driver in the base laser module 12 so that they are protected from extreme vehicle exterior conditions. Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions.").
Regarding claim 35, Yu discloses The system of claim 33, wherein at least two different optical scanners of the one or more optical scanners are configured to scan different FOVs using different output light beams of the plurality of output light beams. (see at least Figure 1 and 2 and [0034]; "Probe fiber links 151 are coupled to the base laser output ports 1201 to respectively receive the different probe laser outputs at the probe laser wavelength so that each probe fiber link 151 is coupled to carry a probe laser output to a corresponding remote laser module 11 which includes an optical scanner that scans a received probe laser output as a scanning output probe laser beam for LIDAR sensing.").
Regarding claim 45, Yu discloses A vehicle comprising a light range and detection (LiDAR) system of claim 33. (see at least Figure 1).
Regarding claim 46, Yu discloses A method of providing laser light to a light ranging and detection (LiDAR) system, the device comprising: receiving, from a plurality of seed lasers at a first light coupling unit, multiple seed light beams, at least two of the seed light beams having different wavelengths; (see at least Figure 1A and [0005]; "FIGS. 1A and 1B illustrate an automobile having a driver assistance system or an autonomous driving system that includes a vehicle-mounted LIDAR system by using fiber laser sources." and see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm).") generating, by a power pump, pump laser light to provide pump power; amplifying, by an amplifier optically coupled to the first light coupling unit and the power pump, the multiple seed light beams using the pump power to obtain amplified light beams; (see at least Figure 5A and [0022]; "In addition to placing the optical booster amplifier in the remote laser module 11, the example in FIG. 3 further selectively places a booster pump laser module and its electronic driver in the base laser module 12 so that they are protected from extreme vehicle exterior conditions. Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions.") demultiplexing, by a second light coupling unit optically coupled to the amplifier, the amplified light beams to obtain a plurality of output light beams, at least two of the output light beams having wavelengths corresponding to the wavelengths of the at least two seed light beams; and (see at least [0017]; "The produced probe laser light is split into different probe laser beams at different output ports of the base laser module 12 for distribution to the remote laser modules 11. LIDAR fiber links are used to optically couple the remote laser modules I to the base laser module 12 and to deliver the probe laser pulses from the base laser module 12 to the remote laser modules 11 at desired locations on the vehicle such as the example shown in FIG. 1 A." and see at least [0030]; "An optical splitter 36 can be included in the base laser module 12 to split the output of the optical pre-amplifier 121 into multiple seed probe laser beams that are guided (e.g., by fibers) to the base laser output ports 1201 as the base seed probe laser outputs that are paired with corresponding booster pump laser outputs from the booster pump laser modules in the base laser module 12.") providing the plurality of output light beams to one or more optical scanners. (see at least [0034]; "Probe fiber links 151 are coupled to the base laser output ports 1201 to respectively receive the different probe laser outputs at the probe laser wavelength so that each probe fiber link 151 is coupled to carry a probe laser output to a corresponding remote laser module 11 which includes an optical scanner that scans a received probe laser output as a scanning output probe laser beam for LIDAR sensing.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and in view of Park et al. (US-6452716-B1; hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 31, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] (see at least Figure 5A and [0022]; "In addition to placing the optical booster amplifier in the remote laser module 11, the example in FIG. 3 further selectively places a booster pump laser module and its electronic driver in the base laser module 12 so that they are protected from extreme vehicle exterior conditions. Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach a Power pump or a controlled open loop manner. Instead, Yu teaches a pump laser.
Yu discloses a method to use a pump laser module and Park is directed at controlling a pump through a pump power controller. Park teaches:
Power pump and predetermined pump level (see at least [Page 11, lines 12-14]; "Based on the gain determined in step 308 and a predetermined desired gain, the pump power controller 206 may adjust the value of pump power provided to the pump power supply 104.").
Open loop manner (see at least [Page 10, lines 4-7]; "This controlling current is received by the pump laser 102 from the pump power supply 104 under control of a pump power controller 106. This is an open loop process with control provided by the Raman amplifier control system 101 for the pump power but not for the gain of the distributed Raman amplifier 100.").
Both Yu and Park can utilize pump lasers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include hardware as taught by Park. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a power pump controller and a Raman amplifier control system both as taught by Park in the base laser module as taught by Yu to have a Power pump be available and have a preset pump level and open loop style process for the system taught by Yu. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by adding hardware taught by Park into the system taught by Yu with slight modification.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and in view of Smith et al. (US-20200200875-B1; hereinafter Smith).
Regarding claim 32, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] (see at least Figure 1A and [0005]; "FIGS. 1A and 1B illustrate an automobile having a driver assistance system or an autonomous driving system that includes a vehicle-mounted LIDAR system by using fiber laser sources.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach a Thermal Electric Cooler. Instead, Yu teaches vehicle-mounted LiDAR system.
Yu discloses a method to use LiDAR on a vehicle and Smith is directed at using a Thermal electric cooler for fine tuning. Smith teaches:
Thermal Electric Cooler (see at least [0033]; "With the disclosed LIDAR system, the filter structure 10, 10′, 10″ blocks out certain wavelengths of light associated with background radiation sources, e.g., sunlight, prior to being received by the photodetector array 28, and a feedback loop is employed to actively tune the narrow band optical filter structure 10, 10′, 10″ by changing optical filtering thereof (e.g., by heating or by rotating) to compensate for drifting or broadening of the transmitter wavelength in different ambient temperatures. Also, with the use of the Thermal Electric Cooler (TEC) under the laser source, the emitter can be further tuned.").
Both Yu and Smith can use LiDAR hardware and components. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include the hardware as taught by Smith. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a thermal electric cooler as taught by Smith into the vehicle-mounted lidar system by properly accommodating the size and shape of the cooler underneath the vehicle-mounted lidar. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by adding a thermal electric cooler as taught by Smith to the vehicle-mounted lidar device system taught by Yu.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and in view of Hinderling et al. (US-20200158826-B1; hereinafter Hinderling).
Regarding claim 41, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The system of claim 33, wherein each of the plurality of output light beams is provided to a "base laser module." (see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm).").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach transmitter channels sharing a single optical scanner. Instead, Yu teaches plurality of output light beams.
Yu discloses a method to produce laser light and Hinderling is directed at modulating distance measurement beams. Hinderling teaches:
Optical scanner with plurality of transmitter channels (see at least [Page 29, Lines 26-31]; "The profiler comprises an optical transmitter channel with a transmitter unit 7 for transmitting laser measurement radiation. In the illustrated embodiment, the transmitter unit 7 is configured to produce a multiplicity of transmitter channels for emitting modulated, more particularly pulsed, distance measurement beams." and see at least [Page 21, lines 18-24]; "The laser scanner comprises an optical transmitter channel with a transmitter unit 7 for transmitting laser measurement radiation. In the illustrated embodiment, the laser measurement radiation in the interior of the laser scanner reaches a beam splitter 9 through a collimated objective lens 8.").
Both Yu and Hinderling can utilize seed lasers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include a transmitter unit as taught by Hinderling. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a transmitter unit as taught by Hinderling to the base laser module taught by Yu thus the base laser module would be able to function with a plurality of transmitter channels. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by adding the transmitter unit from Hinderling to the base laser module of Yu with little modification granting a more robust transmissive property to the overall system.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and in view of Fermann et al. (US-20110080580-B1; hereinafter Fermann).
Regarding claim 43, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] (see at least Figure 1A and [0005]; "FIGS. 1A and 1B illustrate an automobile having a driver assistance system or an autonomous driving system that includes a vehicle-mounted LIDAR system by using fiber laser sources." and see at least [0034]; "Probe fiber links 151 are coupled to the base laser output ports 1201 to respectively receive the different probe laser outputs at the probe laser wavelength so that each probe fiber link 151 is coupled to carry a probe laser output to a corresponding remote laser module 11 which includes an optical scanner that scans a received probe laser output as a scanning output probe laser beam for LIDAR sensing.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach a bandpass filter to reduce optical interference between optical scanners. Instead, Yu teaches an optical scanner.
Yu discloses a method to utilize an optical scanner and Fermann is directed at reducing optical interference. Fermann teaches:
Bandpass filter to reduce optical interference (see at least [0092]; "Pulses propagating in the upper propagation path are then directed through a narrow bandpass filter F1 to reduce the pulse bandwidth. Ideally the bandpass filter temporally broadens the pulses to a width of about 1-100 ps. The broadened pulses can further be amplified in another amplifier (not shown). In this example the broadened pulses are then directed through an optical scanner and focused via a microscope objective MO onto a sample, which induces spectral emission in the sample." and see at least [0093]; "In effect, the short oscillator pulses sample the long lasting spectral emission emitted from the sample as a function of time. The output of detectors D1 and D2 corresponds to the optical interference signal between the sample emission and the output from oscillators O1 and O2 respectively." and see at least [0096]; "A CDSL for the measurement of coherent anti-Stokes Raman scattering microscopy (CARS) is shown in FIG. 10. Oscillators O1 and O2 are conditioned to produce a broad spectral output with a spectral width corresponding to the width of the Raman spectra of the sample. Using optical scanners and appropriate imaging devices, the construction of a CARS microscope is further possible.").
Both Yu and Fermann can utilize optical scanners. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to add a bandpass filter as taught by Fermann. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to add a bandpass filter taught by Fermann to the remote laser module taught by Yu to grant the remote laser module the ability to filter bandwidth light properly and therefore reduce optical interference between optical scanners in the system of Yu. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by adding the filter from Fermann to the remote laser module of Yu to further increase the module’s effectiveness of the LiDAR system and improve system performance.
Claims 20 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and in view of Li et al. (US-20220373655-A1; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 20, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of seed lasers are configured to emit the multiple seed light beams. (see at least Figure 5A and [0022]; "In addition to placing the optical booster amplifier in the remote laser module 11, the example in FIG. 3 further selectively places a booster pump laser module and its electronic driver in the base laser module 12 so that they are protected from extreme vehicle exterior conditions. Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach a synchronized manner or reducing interference. Instead, Yu teaches plurality of seed lasers.
Yu discloses a method to utilize the seed lasers and their location and Li is directed at synchronizing emitted lasers and reducing interference between at least two seed light beams. Claim 20 states “The device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of seed lasers are configured to emit the multiple seed light beams in a synchronized manner to obtain at least one of a substantially stable pump power distribution or reducing interference between the at least two seed light beams having different wavelengths.” The examiner will only evaluate the latter half of the options between “to obtain at least one of a substantially stable pump power distribution” and “reducing interference between the at least two seed light beams having different wavelengths” as by the claim language either would satisfy the claim. Li teaches:
Synchronized manner (see at least [0094]; "Thus, this example demonstrates that, if the system cannot correctly correlate return signals that arrive out of order, increasing the repetition rate from 500 kHz to 1 MHz (and thus improving the density of points of the system) may reduce the detection range of the system. Various techniques are used to mitigate the tradeoff between higher PRR and limited detection range. For example, multiple wavelengths can be used for detecting objects in different ranges. Optical and/or signal processing techniques are also used to correlate between transmitted and return light signals.")
Reducing interference between at least two light beams having different wavelengths (see at least [0066]; "In some embodiments, laser source 310 comprises a master oscillator (also referred to as a seed laser) and power amplifier (MOPA). The power amplifier amplifies the output power of the seed laser. The power amplifier can be a fiber amplifier, a bulk amplifier, or a semiconductor optical amplifier. The seed laser can be a diode laser (e.g., a Fabry-Perot cavity laser, a distributed feedback laser), a solid-state bulk laser, or a tunable external-cavity diode laser." and see at least [0076]; "Coherent detection allows for detecting amplitude and phase information of the received light by interfering the received light with a local oscillator." and see at least [0073]; "A light detector may be characterized by its detection sensitivity, quantum efficiency, detector bandwidth, linearity, signal to noise ratio (SNR), overload resistance, interference immunity, etc. Based on the applications, the light detector can be configured or customized to have any desired characteristics.").
Both Yu and Li can utilize seed lasers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include programming as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the programming of optical and range processing techniques as taught by Li in the programming for Yu to allow for the seed lasers to be emitted in a synchronized manner. The Coherent detection and further customization of the interference immunity for the light detector from Li into the programming of Yu will reduce interference between at least two different wavelengths. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the programming from Li into the programming from Yu to create a more robust programming structure.
Regarding claim 44, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The system of claim 33, further comprising a processor configured to process (see at least Figure 1A and [0005]; "FIGS. 1A and 1B illustrate an automobile having a driver assistance system or an autonomous driving system that includes a vehicle-mounted LIDAR system by using fiber laser sources." and see at least [0034]; "Probe fiber links 151 are coupled to the base laser output ports 1201 to respectively receive the different probe laser outputs at the probe laser wavelength so that each probe fiber link 151 is coupled to carry a probe laser output to a corresponding remote laser module 11 which includes an optical scanner that scans a received probe laser output as a scanning output probe laser beam for LIDAR sensing.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach generating a point cloud. Instead, Yu teaches an optical scanner.
Yu discloses a method to utilize an optical scanner and Li is directed at generating a point cloud. The claim as evaluated by the examiner will be interpreted as referring to a single optical scanner as the claim describes “data provided by the one or more optical scanners.” Li teaches:
Point cloud data output (see at least [0078]; "Steering mechanism 340 can be used with the transceiver (e.g., transmitter 320 and optical receiver and light detector 330) to scan the FOV for generating an image or a 3D point cloud. As an example, to implement steering mechanism 340, a two-dimensional mechanical scanner can be used with a single-point or several single-point transceivers." and see at least [0073]; "A light detector may be characterized by its detection sensitivity, quantum efficiency, detector bandwidth, linearity, signal to noise ratio (SNR), overload resistance, interference immunity, etc. Based on the applications, the light detector can be configured or customized to have any desired characteristics.").
Both Yu and Li can evaluate data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include programming as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include programming from Li which allows for the scanning of the FOV to generate a point cloud into the programming of Yu in its optical scanner in its remote laser module. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the programming from Li into the programming from Yu to create a more robust programming structure.
Claims 4, 6, 8-11, 13, 14, 16-18, 21, 25-27, 29, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and in view of Wan et al. (US-20220337019-A1; hereinafter Wan).
Regarding claim 4, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of seed lasers comprises a first seed laser and a second seed laser, the first seed laser being configured to provide a first seed light beam having a wavelength centered at 1550nm, the second seed laser being configured to provide a second seed light beam having a wavelength of centered at "a lower value." (see at least [0021]; "FiG. 3 shows one example for selective partition of components or devices of such an LIDAR system in the base laser module 12 and the remote laser modules 11. In this example, a seed laser diode for producing the seed probe laser light pulses and the seed laser driver electronics are placed in the base laser module 12 located in an interior of the vehicle, such as a location within the driver-passenger compartment of the vehicle. The base laser module 12 in this example further includes electronic interface components or devices for operating the seed laser diode, an pre-optical amplifier module 102 with an optical gain medium (e.g., a doped fiber gain section 94) for optically amplifying the seed laser light, one or more pump laser diodes to produce desired pump light at a pump laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm) shorter than the seed probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm) to optically pump the optical gain medium and associated pump laser electronics.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach a seed laser with 1535nm. Instead, Yu teaches a seed laser with 1550nm.
Yu discloses a method to utilize seed lasers of different wavelengths and Wan is directed at wider range of wavelengths. Wan teaches:
1535nm wavelength (see at least [00106]; "It is understood that power amplification stages 814 and 816 can include any type of doped medium to produce output light having any desired wavelengths (e.g., 1030nm, 1064nm, 1530nm, 1550nm, 2pm, or the like).").
Both Yu and Wan can output light at different wavelengths. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include a wider range as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to specify the wavelengths within the range in Yu like the range of Wan and therefore have a seed laser with 1550nm and another at 1535nm. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including a wider range of wavelengths specified in Yu like in Wan to achieve what is claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 1, wherein the first light coupling unit comprises "an optical combiner." (see at least Figure 5A and [0022]; "In addition to placing the optical booster amplifier in the remote laser module 11, the example in FIG. 3 further selectively places a booster pump laser module and its electronic driver in the base laser module 12 so that they are protected from extreme vehicle exterior conditions. Under this design, the pump light for the remote optical booster amplifier 111 is generated in the base laser module 12 and is delivered via fiber to the remote laser module 11 so that the remote optical booster laser in the remote laser module 11 contains an optical combiner for coupling the pump light into the optical gain medium and contains no electronics or electronic power supply. Accordingly, in this specific design example, all seed and pump lasers and their electronic drivers are located in the base laser module 12 and are protected from the extreme exterior vehicle conditions.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach a wavelength division multiplexer. Instead, Yu teaches a coupling unit.
Yu discloses a method to utilize a coupling unit and Wan is directed at using a wavelength division multiplexer. Wan teaches:
Wavelength division multiplexer (see at least [0036]; "In a typical optical amplifier, a seed laser generates the optical signals to-be-amplified. An optical power pump may be a pump laser (e.g., laser diodes) that provides optical pump power. The optical signals to-be-amplified and the pump laser are multiplexed by, for example, a wavelength division multiplexer (WDM) into a doped optical fiber.").
Both Yu and Wan can utilize optical components for a light coupling unit. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include specific hardware as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a wavelength division multiplexer from Wan into the remote laser module taught by Yu. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by adding a wavelength division multiplexer taught by Wan into the remote sensor module from Yu.
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 1, wherein the amplifier is a "single" amplification stage (see at least [0037]; "FIG. 9A shows a single-stage optical pre-amplifier 121.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach a multiple-stage optical amplifier. Instead, Yu teaches a single-stage optical amplifier.
Yu discloses a method to utilize a single-stage pre-amplifier and Wan is directed at utilizing a multi-stage amplifier. Wan teaches:
Multi-stage amplifier (see at least [0038]; "To reduce the impact of the ASE, multi-stage optical amplifiers are used in laser systems. A multi-stage optical amplifier comprises multiple optical power pumps." and see at least [0040]; "Systems and methods described in this disclosure provide embodiments of optical amplifiers having multiple amplification stages using a single optical power pump. The disclosed optical amplifiers make more efficient use of the pump power and reduces energy waste by delivering the portion of the pump power that is unused by the second amplification stage to the first amplification stage.")
Both Yu and Wan can utilize amplifiers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to use the same hardware as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to utilize multi-stage optical amplifiers as taught by Wan to have a first and second amplification stages available to the teachings of Yu. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by utilizing multi-stage optical amplifiers as taught by Wan in the teachings of Yu.
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 8, wherein the power pump is configured to provide a first portion of the pump power to the first amplification stage and a second portion of the pump power to the second amplification stage. (see at least [0037]; "FIG. 9B shows a two-stage optical pre-amplifier that includes two fiber gain sections in two amplification stages connected in series where an optical pump power bypass stage 95 is coupled between the two stages to (1) filter the amplified probe laser light produced by the first stage and (2) redirect the unused pump laser 32 via a bypass route to optically pump the fiber gain medium in the second stage so that the two stages share a common pump laser source.").
Regarding claim 10, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 9, wherein the first portion of the pump power is (see at least [0037]; "FIG. 9B shows a two-stage optical pre-amplifier that includes two fiber gain sections in two amplification stages connected in series where an optical pump power bypass stage 95 is coupled between the two stages to (1) filter the amplified probe laser light produced by the first stage and (2) redirect the unused pump laser 32 via a bypass route to optically pump the fiber gain medium in the second stage so that the two stages share a common pump laser source.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach the first portion of pump power being less than the second portion of pump power. Instead, Yu teaches two different pump powers.
Yu discloses a method to use a stock of pump power for two different stages and Wan is directed at specifying how much pump power at each stage. Wan teaches:
First portion of pump power being less than the second portion of pump power (see at least [00111]; "It is understood that device 800 may be configured such that more or less of pump power can be delivered to the first power amplification stage (e.g., stage 814) and therefore, the output power of the first amplification stage and the second amplification stage may vary from those shown in Table 1.").
Both Yu and Wan can provide different amounts of pump power. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to have the same configurations as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to configure the common pump laser source as taught by Yu to provide more power to the first amplification stage as taught by Wan and therefore give less power to the second amplification stage. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by configuring the common pump laser source taught by Yu with similar settings as taught by Wan.
Regarding claim 11, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 9, wherein the first amplification stage comprises:a first optical combiner configured to combine the first portion of the pump power with the multiplexed seed light beams; and a first amplification medium configured to amplify, using the first portion of the pump power, the multiplexed seed light beams to obtain first amplified light beams. (see at least [0023]; "In the example in FIG. 3, each remote laser module 11 contains its own booster amplifier gain medium and the pump-seed light combiner and two fiber links are needed to guide the separately produced seed probe laser light beam and the booster pump laser beam from the base laser module 12 to the remote laser module 11. In a different design in FIG. 4, the base laser module 12 is structured to include not only seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and their electronics drivers but also the optical gain medium for the optical booster amplifier that produces a sufficient optical gain to generate the high optical power for the output probe laser light pulses to be sent out at the remote laser modules 11 while the laser remote modules contain no optical amplification gain media.").
Regarding claim 13, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 11, wherein the first amplification stage "is connected to an optical pump power bypass." (see at least [0037]; "FIG. 9B shows a two-stage optical pre-amplifier that includes two fiber gain sections in two amplification stages connected in series where an optical pump power bypass stage 95 is coupled between the two stages to (1) filter the amplified probe laser light produced by the first stage and (2) redirect the unused pump laser 32 via a bypass route to optically pump the fiber gain medium in the second stage so that the two stages share a common pump laser source.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach an optical isolator or reducing Amplified Spontaneous Emission (ASE). Instead, Yu teaches an amplification stage.
Yu discloses a method to utilize amplification stages and Wan is directed at utilizing optical isolators and reducing ASE. Wan teaches:
Optical Isolator (see at least [00113]; "In one configuration of device 800, each of light coupling units 802, 804, and 806 includes one or more optical isolators. As a result, the seed laser signal, the first amplified laser light generated by power amplification stage 814, and the second amplified laser light generated by power amplification stage 816 may only propagate forward, but not backward. It is understood that light coupling units shown in FIG. 13 are for illustrations only.").
Filtering and reducing ASE (see at least [0072]; "The optical receiver can include optics (e.g., lens, fibers, mirrors, etc.) for receiving, redirecting, focus, amplifying, and/or filtering return light from the FOV." and see at least [00111]; "An amplification stage having a smaller power gain facilitates reducing ASE and improves the signal-to-noise ratio of amplification device 800. It is understood that device 800 may be configured such that more or less of pump power can be delivered to the first power amplification stage (e.g., stage 814) and therefore, the output power of the first amplification stage and the second amplification stage may vary from those shown in Table 1.").
Both Yu and Wan can utilize optical components. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include hardware as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include optical isolators and filters as taught by Wan to control the laser output in the amplification stages of Yu. Further, being able to control the strength of the power gain in the amplification stages in Yu through filters taught by Wan will allow the amplification stages of Yu to reduce or remove portions of ASE from the first amplification stage. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by adding filters and optical isolators from Wan into the structure and amplification stages taught by Yu.
Regarding claim 14, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 11, wherein the second amplification stage comprises: a second optical combiner configured to combine the second portion of the pump power with the first amplified light beams; and a second amplification medium configured to amplify, using the second portion of the pump power, the first amplified light beams to obtain second amplified light beams. (see at least [0023]; "In the example in FIG. 3, each remote laser module 11 contains its own booster amplifier gain medium and the pump-seed light combiner and two fiber links are needed to guide the separately produced seed probe laser light beam and the booster pump laser beam from the base laser module 12 to the remote laser module 11. In a different design in FIG. 4, the base laser module 12 is structured to include not only seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and their electronics drivers but also the optical gain medium for the optical booster amplifier that produces a sufficient optical gain to generate the high optical power for the output probe laser light pulses to be sent out at the remote laser modules 11 while the laser remote modules contain no optical amplification gain media.").
Regarding claim 16, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 14, wherein the second amplification stage "is connected to an optical pump power bypass."(see at least [0037]; "FIG. 9B shows a two-stage optical pre-amplifier that includes two fiber gain sections in two amplification stages connected in series where an optical pump power bypass stage 95 is coupled between the two stages to (1) filter the amplified probe laser light produced by the first stage and (2) redirect the unused pump laser 32 via a bypass route to optically pump the fiber gain medium in the second stage so that the two stages share a common pump laser source.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach an optical isolator, optical mode stripper, or reducing Amplified Spontaneous Emission (ASE). Instead, Yu teaches an amplification stage.
Yu discloses a method to utilize amplification stages and Wan is directed at utilizing optical isolators, an optical mode stripper, and reducing ASE. Wan teaches:
Optical Isolator (see at least [00113]; "In one configuration of device 800, each of light coupling units 802, 804, and 806 includes one or more optical isolators. As a result, the seed laser signal, the first amplified laser light generated by power amplification stage 814, and the second amplified laser light generated by power amplification stage 816 may only propagate forward, but not backward. It is understood that light coupling units shown in FIG. 13 are for illustrations only.").
Optical mode stripper (see at least [00168]; "Device 1200 also does not require to use a laser light splitter for splitting the pump laser light to be used in two amplification stages, thereby reducing the number of required optical components. Device 1200 also does not require other additional optical components (e.g., pump power strippers), therefore enhancing the hardware integration.").
Filtering and reducing ASE (see at least [0072]; "The optical receiver can include optics (e.g., lens, fibers, mirrors, etc.) for receiving, redirecting, focus, amplifying, and/or filtering return light from the FOV." and see at least [00111]; "An amplification stage having a smaller power gain facilitates reducing ASE and improves the signal-to-noise ratio of amplification device 800. It is understood that device 800 may be configured such that more or less of pump power can be delivered to the first power amplification stage (e.g., stage 814) and therefore, the output power of the first amplification stage and the second amplification stage may vary from those shown in Table 1.").
Both Yu and Wan can utilize optical components. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include hardware as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include optical isolators, optical mode stripper, and filters as taught by Wan to control the laser output in the amplification stages of Yu. Further, being able to control the strength of the power gain in the amplification stages in Yu through filters taught by Wan will allow the amplification stages of Yu to reduce or remove portions of ASE from the second amplification stage. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by adding filters and optical isolators from Wan into the structure and amplification stages taught by Yu.
Regarding claim 17, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 8, wherein the first amplification stage has a higher power gain than that of the second amplification stage. (see at least [0030]; "An optical pre-amplifier can be included in the base laser module 12 by using a pre-amplifier pump laser (e.g., at 980 nm) to amplify the seed probe laser light pules from the seed laser 3 1 to a moderately higher power level.").
Regarding claim 18, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 8, wherein the amplifier comprises one or more additional power amplification stages and (see at least [0037]; "In the above examples for the laser systems in vehicle-mounted LIDAR systems 141, the optical pre-amplifier 121 can be implemented in different configurations based on the needs of specific systems or applications. FIGS. 9A, 9B and 9C show three examples for having different optical amplification stages for the optical pre-amplifier 121.") wherein the power pump is configured to provide one or more portions of the pump power to the corresponding one or more additional power amplification stages. (see at least [0037]; "FIG. 9B shows a two-stage optical pre-amplifier that includes two fiber gain sections in two amplification stages connected in series where an optical pump power bypass stage 95 is coupled between the two stages to (1) filter the amplified probe laser light produced by the first stage and (2) redirect the unused pump laser 32 via a bypass route to optically pump the fiber gain medium in the second stage so that the two stages share a common pump laser source.").
Regarding claim 21, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of seed lasers comprises a first seed laser and a second seed laser, the first seed laser and the second seed laser being configured to emit light pulses (see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm).").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach emitting light pulses in an alternating manner. Instead, Yu teaches seed lasers.
Yu discloses a method to utilize different seed laser strengths and Wan is directed at utilizing different laser emitting patterns. Wan teaches:
Alternating manner (see at least [0090]; "In FIG. SB, light pulses 502, 522, 526, and 530 can be transmitted in any order, serially, in parallel, or based on other timings with respect to each other.").
Both Yu and Wan can utilize emitting lasers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include a transmission pattern as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a transmission pattern taught by Wan into the base laser module of Yu to impart a configuration of laser emission which can alternate between the first seed laser and the second seed laser. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by adding a laser transmission pattern for laser emission as taught by Wan into the teachings of Yu.
Regarding claim 25, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of seed lasers comprises: a first seed laser configured to emit light pulses (see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm).").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach different repetition rates. Instead, Yu teaches seed lasers.
Yu discloses a method to utilize different seed lasers and Wan is directed at having a light source generate a higher pulse repetition rate. Wan teaches:
Different pulse repetition rates (see at least [0030]; "Although the following description uses terms "first," "second," etc. to describe various elements, these elements should not be limited by the terms. These terms are only used to distinguish one element from another. For example, a first sensor could be termed a second sensor and, similarly, a second sensor could be termed a first sensor, without departing from the scope of the various described examples. The first sensor and the second sensor can both be sensors and, in some cases, can be separate and different sensors." and see at least [0091]; "The density of points in a point cloud or image generated by a LiDAR system is equal to the number of pulses divided by the field of view. In some embodiments, the field of view can be fixed. Therefore, to increase the density of points generated by one set of transmission-receiving optics (or transceiver optics), the LiDAR system may need to generate a pulse more frequently. In other words, a light source with a higher pulse repetition rate (PRR) is needed." and see at least [0090]; "In FIG. SB, light pulses 502, 522, 526, and 530 can be transmitted in any order, serially, in parallel, or based on other timings with respect to each other.").
Both Yu and Wan can emit lasers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include more precise programming as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include programming taught by Wan to allow the seed lasers in Yu to transmit at different pulse repetition rates dependent on light source and have those light sources transmitted “based on other timings with respect to each other.” Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by introducing programming from Wan into the programming of Yu and making it more robust to handle seed lasers that have different pulse repetition rates.
Regarding claim 26, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 25, wherein the first seed laser and the second seed laser "have different wavelengths." are synchronized such that when the second seed laser emits light pulses, the first seed laser does not emit light pulses. (see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm).").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach different pulse rates. Instead, Yu teaches having seed lasers at different wavelengths.
Yu discloses a method to utilize different seed lasers and Wan is directed at having light sources generate different pulse rates. Wan teaches:
Different pulse rates (see at least [0030]; "Although the following description uses terms "first," "second," etc. to describe various elements, these elements should not be limited by the terms. These terms are only used to distinguish one element from another. For example, a first sensor could be termed a second sensor and, similarly, a second sensor could be termed a first sensor, without departing from the scope of the various described examples. The first sensor and the second sensor can both be sensors and, in some cases, can be separate and different sensors." and see at least [0091]; "The density of points in a point cloud or image generated by a LiDAR system is equal to the number of pulses divided by the field of view. In some embodiments, the field of view can be fixed. Therefore, to increase the density of points generated by one set of transmission-receiving optics (or transceiver optics), the LiDAR system may need to generate a pulse more frequently. In other words, a light source with a higher pulse repetition rate (PRR) is needed." and see at least [0090]; "In FIG. SB, light pulses 502, 522, 526, and 530 can be transmitted in any order, serially, in parallel, or based on other timings with respect to each other.").
Both Yu and Wan can emit lasers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include more precise programming as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include programming taught by Wan to allow the seed lasers in Yu to transmit at different pulse rates dependent on light source and have those light sources transmitted “based on other timings with respect to each other.” Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by introducing programming from Wan into the programming of Yu and making it more robust to handle seed lasers that have different pulse rates.
Claim 27 contains analogous limitations to claim 25 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 42, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The system of claim 33, further comprising one or more of: (see at least [0014]; "Therefore, each remote laser module is a remote LIDAR transceiver." and see at least [0037]; "FIG. 9A shows a single- stage optical pre-amplifier 121 where a photodetector monitor PD 1 92 is provided to monitor the received probe laser light power from the seed laser prior to amplification by the optical pre-amplifier 121 and a photodetector monitor PD2 93 is provided to monitor the output probe laser light power by the optical pre-amplifier.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach having a window, detector, or an optic. Instead, Yu teaches having a transceiver.
Yu discloses a method to utilize hardware and Wan is directed at adding more specialized hardware. Wan teaches:
Window (see at least [0083]; "As another example, housing(s), enclosure(s), and/or window can be used in LiDAR system 300 for providing desired characteristics such as hardness, ingress protection (IP) rating, self-cleaning capability, resistance to chemical and resistance to impact, or the like.").
transceiver (see at least [0077]; "Steering mechanism 340 can be used with the transceiver (e.g., transmitter 320 and optical receiver and light detector 330) to scan the FOV for generating an image or a 3D point cloud.")
detector (see at least [0062]; "FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an exemplary LiDAR system 300. LiDAR system 300 can be used to implement LiDAR system 110, 120A-F, and/or 210 shown in FIGs. 1 and 2. In one embodiment, LiDAR system 300 comprises a laser source 310, a transmitter 320, an optical receiver and light detector 330, a steering system 340, and a control circuitry 350.").
Optics (see at least [0083]; "Therefore, in some embodiments, optical and/or electronic components of LiDAR system 300 (e.g., optics in transmitter 320, optical receiver and light detector 330, and steering mechanism 340) are disposed or configured in such a manner to maintain long term mechanical and optical stability." and see at least [0091]; "Therefore, to increase the density of points generated by one set of transmission-receiving optics (or transceiver optics), the LiDAR system may need to generate a pulse more frequently.").
Both Yu and Wan can utilize hardware. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include more specialized hardware as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a more specialized housing for the remote laser module in Yu to include the transceiver it teaches but also include the addition hardware taught by Wan in the module. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by expanding upon the hardware module of Yu to include further hardware taught by Wan.
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Wan, and in further view of Lin et al. (US-20220196814-A1; hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 12, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 11, wherein the first optical combiner is "part of" a (Yu teaches see at least [0023]; "In the example in FIG. 3, each remote laser module 11 contains its own booster amplifier gain medium and the pump-seed light combiner and two fiber links are needed to guide the separately produced seed probe laser light beam and the booster pump laser beam from the base laser module 12 to the remote laser module 11. In a different design in FIG. 4, the base laser module 12 is structured to include not only seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and their electronics drivers but also the optical gain medium for the optical booster amplifier that produces a sufficient optical gain to generate the high optical power for the output probe laser light pulses to be sent out at the remote laser modules 11 while the laser remote modules contain no optical amplification gain media." and Wan teaches see at least [0038]; "To reduce the impact of the ASE, multi-stage optical amplifiers are used in laser systems. A multi-stage optical amplifier comprises multiple optical power pumps." and Wan teaches see at least [0040]; "Systems and methods described in this disclosure provide embodiments of optical amplifiers having multiple amplification stages using a single optical power pump. The disclosed optical amplifiers make more efficient use of the pump power and reduces energy waste by delivering the portion of the pump power that is unused by the second amplification stage to the first amplification stage.").
However, Yu and Wan together do not explicitly teach a polarization combiner. Instead, Yu and Wan teach an optical combiner.
Together Yu and Wan disclose a method to utilize an optical combiner and Lin is directed at combining polarized transmissions. Lin teaches:
Polarization combiner (see at least [0065]; "Polarization splitting antenna 210 couples an orthogonal polarization (e.g., TE) into an antenna output port 213 (e.g., a waveguide) and sends the orthogonal polarization return signal directly to optical combiner 201. In this implementation, the return signal received by polarization splitting antenna 210 is not further divided by any additional splitters or a “pseudo-circulator.” and see at least [0079]; "If reflected beam of light 809 maintained its circular polarization, then transmitted beam 810 will have a TM polarization (with respect to the originating transmitting and receiving coherent pixel 813).").
Collectively, Yu, Wan, and Lin can combine transmitted signals. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Yu and Wan to include specialize hardware as taught by Lin. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a polarization splitting antenna as taught by Lin to send a polarized return signal to the optical combiner as taught by Yu and have that signal be guided through the base laser module’s fiber links to the remote laser module. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining elements from Yu, Wan, and Lin with Lin’s polarization splitting antenna and Yu and Wan’s optical combiner and accompanying fiber links.
Claim 15 contains analogous limitations to claim 12 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Wan, and Li.
Regarding claim 28, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 27, wherein the one or more (Yu teaches see at least [0091]; "A point cloud density relates to the LiDAR scanning resolution. Typically, a larger point cloud density, and therefore a higher resolution, is desired at least for the region of interest (ROI)." and Wan teaches see at least [0030]; "Although the following description uses terms "first," "second," etc. to describe various elements, these elements should not be limited by the terms. These terms are only used to distinguish one element from another. For example, a first sensor could be termed a second sensor and, similarly, a second sensor could be termed a first sensor, without departing from the scope of the various described examples. The first sensor and the second sensor can both be sensors and, in some cases, can be separate and different sensors." and Wan teaches see at least [0091]; "The density of a point cloud refers to the number of measurements (data points) per area performed by the LiDAR system. A point cloud density relates to the LiDAR scanning resolution. Typically, a larger point cloud density, and therefore a higher resolution, is desired at least for the region of interest (ROI). The density of points in a point cloud or image generated by a LiDAR system is equal to the number of pulses divided by the field of view. In some embodiments, the field of view can be fixed. Therefore, to increase the density of points generated by one set of transmission-receiving optics (or transceiver optics), the LiDAR system may need to generate a pulse more frequently. In other words, a light source with a higher pulse repetition rate (PRR) is needed.").
However, Yu and Wan together do not explicitly teach time intervals. Instead, Yu and Wan teach Regions of Interest(ROI).
Together Yu and Wan disclose a method to utilize point clouds for ROI and Li is directed at utilizing time intervals. Li teaches:
Time intervals based on ROI (see at least [00134]; "The one or more movement profiles 1102A-C can be generated based on one or more parameters associated with the scanning requirements, using one or more signal processing operations. Such parameters include, for example, the LiDAR scanning frame rate (e.g., 15 Hz), the light steering device rotational speed (e.g., 6300 rpm), a time step (denoted as At) for each horizontal scan performed by the light steering device, one or more base galvanometer mirror angular speeds (denoted as Sn) and their corresponding time intervals (denoted as Tn,), and a galvanometer mirror starting angular position (e.g., -10.8 degrees). Each horizontal scan performed by the light steering device uses one facet of the light steering device. As an example, if the light steering device is a 5-facet polygon mirror, each horizontal scan is performed when the polygon mirror rotates about 72 degrees (e.g., across one facet). The one or more base galvanometer mirror angular speeds can be used to determine galvanometer's angular speeds for scanning different regions. For example, the base speed Si represents the galvanometer mirror angular speed for scanning outside an ROI. One example of the base speed Si is about 0.47 degrees/ms, which corresponds to a target scanline pitch of about 0.9 degrees. As another example, the base speed S2 is the galvanometer mirror angular speed for scanning inside an ROI.").
Collectively, Yu, Wan, and Li can specify ROIs. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Yu and Wan to include hardware as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a galvanometer as taught by Li with the LiDAR hardware as taught by Yu to measure ROIs via timed intervals. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including a galvanometer taught by Li into the hardware taught by Yu.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Wan, and in further view of Burkert et al. (US-20090080478-A1; hereinafter Burkert).
Regarding claim 22, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 21, wherein a power ratio between the first seed laser and second seed laser is "emitting different wavelengths." (Yu teaches see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm)." and Wan teaches see at least [0090]; "In FIG. SB, light pulses 502, 522, 526, and 530 can be transmitted in any order, serially, in parallel, or based on other timings with respect to each other.").
However, Yu and Wan together do not explicitly teach a power ratio. Instead, Yu and Wan teach a first and second seed laser emitting seed lasers at different wavelengths.
Together Yu and Wan disclose a method to utilize seed lasers and Burkert is directed at a power ratio between seed lasers. Burkert teaches:
Power ratio between first and second seed lasers (see at least [0015]; "The beam splitter has a ratio of the reflected radiation to the transmitted radiation, which quantitatively determines the intensity ratio of the first partial pulse to the second partial pulse. The fraction of the total radiation that is transmitted by the beam splitter usually amounts to between 20% and 80%, especially 30% and 70%, but 40% .+-.5% and/or .+-.2% is especially preferred. The delaying travel path section according to the invention has at least one correcting element for correction of beam displacement caused by the beam splitter. The correcting element is movable between a correcting position K and a neutral position P.").
Collectively, Yu, Wan, and Burkert can emit light. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Yu and Wan to include specialized hardware as taught by Burkert. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a beam splitter configuration as taught by Burkert into the seed lasers taught by Yu and doing so would enable the power ratio between the seed lasers to be directly controlled. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by utilizing the beam splitter hardware and/or configuration taught by Burkert to directly control the power ratio between seed lasers taught by Yu.
Regarding claim 23, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 22, wherein the time delay is optimized to reduce one or more non- linear effects associated with the first seed laser or the second seed laser. (see at least [0019]; "In addition to the pulse peak power, the optical pulse distortion is also dependent on the fiber dispersion property in the fiber where different spectral components travel at different speeds to cause different delays in time in a particular fiber segment to be stretched out or compressed in the pulse width depending whether that fiber segment exhibits positive or negative chromatic dispersion. Therefore, in designing a fiber laser system to reduce the undesired pulse distortion, the fiber can be designed or selected with appropriate dispersion to counter-act the pulse distortion caused by the fiber non-linear optical effects, e.g., by designing the normal and abnormal dispersion properties and spatial distribution in the fiber laser.").
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Wan, and in further view of Bekal et al. (US-20170307443-A1; hereinafter Bekal).
Regarding claim 24, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 21, wherein (Yu teaches see at least [0026]; "FIG. 5A shows an example of a fiber laser system of an LIDAR system implementing the design in FIG. 3. In FIG. 5A, the fiber laser system provides optical booster amplification in the remote laser modules 11 while placing seed lasers 31 and pump lasers 32 and associated laser driver electronics in the base laser module 12. Specifically, the base laser module 12 includes a seed probe laser module which may include one seed laser diode to produce pulsed seed probe laser light at a probe laser wavelength (e.g., 1550 nm), and different booster pump laser modules 33 marked as “multi mode pump lasers 33” to produce booster pump laser light at a booster pump laser wavelength shorter than the probe laser wavelength (e.g., 980 nm)." and Wan teaches see at least [0090]; "In FIG. SB, light pulses 502, 522, 526, and 530 can be transmitted in any order, serially, in parallel, or based on other timings with respect to each other.").
However, Yu and Wan together do not explicitly teach a jitter threshold value. Instead, Yu and Wan teach a first and second seed laser.
Together Yu and Wan disclose a method to utilize seed lasers and Bekal is directed at evaluating jitter. Bekal teaches:
Jitter value threshold (see at least [0021]; "If the jitter value exceeds a predetermined threshold, the controller causes the first laser and the second laser to correct for the calculated jitter of the L1 pulses and the L2 pulses, respectively.").
Collectively, Yu, Wan, and Bekal can analyze data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Yu and Wan to include programming as taught by Bekal. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include programming referring to jitter from Bekal into the programming from Yu. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including jitter programming taught by Bekal in the programming of Yu.
Claims 36 through 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and in view of Nakatsu, Haruhiko (US-20070273747-A1; hereinafter Nakatsu).
Regarding claim 36, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The system of claim 33 wherein the one or more optical scanners comprise a first optical scanner and a second optical scanner "that scan received probe laser output.”(see at least Figure 1 and 2 and [0034]; "Probe fiber links 151 are coupled to the base laser output ports 1201 to respectively receive the different probe laser outputs at the probe laser wavelength so that each probe fiber link 151 is coupled to carry a probe laser output to a corresponding remote laser module 11 which includes an optical scanner that scans a received probe laser output as a scanning output probe laser beam for LIDAR sensing.") (see at least [0035]; "As an example, referring to FIG. 1A, the front remote laser module 11 that performs LIDAR sensing in front of the vehicle tends to require a longer sensing range at a higher laser power level than the rear remote laser module 11 since the vehicle tends to move at a faster speed going forward than in the reverse direction. As such, the pump laser and the optical booster amplifier for the front remote laser module 11 can be configured to produce a higher optical amplification than a pump laser and an optical booster amplifier for a rear remote laser module 11. The separation of pump lasers 32 and optical booster amplifiers in FIG. 7 can facilitate this.").
However, Yu does not explicitly teach polygon mirrors or their different comparative sizes. Instead, Yu teaches an optical scanner.
Yu discloses a method to utilize an optical scanner and Nakatsu is directed at polygon mirrors. Nakatsu teaches:
Polygon mirrors and comparative sizes (see at least Claim 4. (Original); "The image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the number of faces of said second rotary polygon mirror is smaller than the number of faces of said first rotary polygon mirror.").
Both Yu and Nakatsu can utilize different optical components with an optical scanner. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Yu to include specificity of their optical scanner composition as taught by Nakatsu. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the composition of the optical scanners as taught by Yu and their polygon mirrors and include optical scanners which have different polygon sizes comparative to each other that are larger and smaller as taught by Nakatsu. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including other optical scanners with variable polygon sizes at taught by Nakatsu in the teachings of Yu.
Claim 37 contains analogous limitations to claim 36 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 38, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The system of claim 36, wherein the first optical scanner is configured to scan a first FOV to generate a first scanning data, and the second optical scanner is configured to scan a second FOV to generate a second scanning data, the resolution of the second scanning data being greater than the resolution of the first scanning data. (see at least [0014]; "Different remote laser modules 11 are optically coupled to the base laser module 12 to receive the pulsed probe laser light generated by the base laser module 12 and are distributed at certain locations of the movable platform to scan the pulsed probe laser light out to the surrounding area as different probe beams for optically sensing different segments or directions in the surrounding area. Each remote laser module also serves as an optical receiver for receiving optical reflection of its output scanned probe light for detecting presence of any object in the light path of its output scanned probe light. Therefore, each remote laser module is a remote LIDAR transceiver. As illustrated in FIG. 1A, three different LIDAR remote transceivers are shown: a front LIDAR remote transceiver located in the front of the automobile to perform LIDAR sensing in the front direction of the automobile; a rear LIDAR remote transceiver located at the rear part of the automobile to perform LIDAR sensing in the rear direction of the automobile; and a rooftop LIDAR remote transceiver located on the rooftop of the automobile to perform LIDAR sensing in other directions that may not be covered by the front and rear LIDAR remote transceivers.").
Claims 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Nakatsu and in further view of Wan.
Regarding claim 39, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] (Yu teaches see at least [0014]; "Different remote laser modules 11 are optically coupled to the base laser module 12 to receive the pulsed probe laser light generated by the base laser module 12 and are distributed at certain locations of the movable platform to scan the pulsed probe laser light out to the surrounding area as different probe beams for optically sensing different segments or directions in the surrounding area. Each remote laser module also serves as an optical receiver for receiving optical reflection of its output scanned probe light for detecting presence of any object in the light path of its output scanned probe light. Therefore, each remote laser module is a remote LIDAR transceiver. As illustrated in FIG. 1A, three different LIDAR remote transceivers are shown: a front LIDAR remote transceiver located in the front of the automobile to perform LIDAR sensing in the front direction of the automobile; a rear LIDAR remote transceiver located at the rear part of the automobile to perform LIDAR sensing in the rear direction of the automobile; and a rooftop LIDAR remote transceiver located on the rooftop of the automobile to perform LIDAR sensing in other directions that may not be covered by the front and rear LIDAR remote transceivers." and Nakatsu teaches see at least [0035]; "The first optical scanning device writes image data in a range of an angle 01 while light beam is deflected and scanned, and the scanning area at this time is a range 320 mm in which the cutting marks (mark to be attached for cutting, book making or multi-color printing) can be formed.").
However, Yu and Nakatsu together do not explicitly teach a field of view and ROI specifics. Instead, Yu and Nakatsu teach scanning an area.
Together Yu and Nakatsu disclose a method to scan areas in a range and Wan is directed at specifying a field of view and a ROI. Wan teaches:
Field of view and ROI (see at least [0078]; "As another example, to implement steering mechanism 340, a one-dimensional mechanical scanner can be used with an array or a large number of single-point transceivers. Specifically, the transceiver array can be mounted on a rotating platform to achieve 360-degree horizontal field of view." and see at least [0091]; "The density of a point cloud refers to the number of measurements (data points) per area performed by the LiDAR system. A point cloud density relates to the LiDAR scanning resolution. Typically, a larger point cloud density, and therefore a higher resolution, is desired at least for the region of interest (ROI). The density of points in a point cloud or image generated by a LiDAR system is equal to the number of pulses divided by the field of view.").
Collectively, Yu, Nakatsu, and Wan can scan areas. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Yu and Nakatsu to include programming as taught by Wan. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to program the transceivers taught by Yu so they would act as an array to scan an area to evaluate a field of view and further identify the area with dense data points as a ROI as taught by Wan. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including programming from Wan into the programming of Yu to create a more robust scanning program to identify ROIs within a field of view.
Claims 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Nakatsu and in view of Ohmura et al. (US-20200054211-A1; hereinafter Ohmura) and in further view of Hanson et al. (US-4537465-A; hereinafter Hanson).
Regarding claim 40, Yu discloses [Note: what Yu fails to disclose is strike-through] The system of claim 36, wherein the first optical scanner "scans received probe laser output and" (Yu teaches see at least Figure 1 and 2 and [0034]; "Probe fiber links 151 are coupled to the base laser output ports 1201 to respectively receive the different probe laser outputs at the probe laser wavelength so that each probe fiber link 151 is coupled to carry a probe laser output to a corresponding remote laser module 11 which includes an optical scanner that scans a received probe laser output as a scanning output probe laser beam for LIDAR sensing." and Yu teaches see at least [0035]; "As an example, referring to FIG. 1A, the front remote laser module 11 that performs LIDAR sensing in front of the vehicle tends to require a longer sensing range at a higher laser power level than the rear remote laser module 11 since the vehicle tends to move at a faster speed going forward than in the reverse direction. As such, the pump laser and the optical booster amplifier for the front remote laser module 11 can be configured to produce a higher optical amplification than a pump laser and an optical booster amplifier for a rear remote laser module 11. The separation of pump lasers 32 and optical booster amplifiers in FIG. 7 can facilitate this." and Nakatsu teaches see at least Claim 4. (Original); "The image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the number of faces of said second rotary polygon mirror is smaller than the number of faces of said first rotary polygon mirror.").
However, Yu and Nakatsu together do not explicitly teach mirror position and an oscillating mirror. Instead, Yu and Nakatsu teach an optical scanner.
Together Yu and Nakatsu disclose a method to utilize an optical scanner and Ohmura is directed at mirror position and Hanson is directed at oscillating mirror usage. Ohmura and Hanson teach:
Ohmura teaches Mirror position (see at least [Page 4, Lines 12-16]; "FIGS. 19A and B represent perspective views of a dual mirror embodiment of the optical scanner which includes an optical beam pulse generator for sequentially directing a single input signal onto the facets of an upper polygon mirror and a lower polygon mirror.").
Hanson teaches an Oscillating mirror (see at least [0207]; "In the exemplary embodiments described above, polygon mirrors and mirror galvanometers are mentioned as examples of the first optical scanner 22, the second optical scanner 24 and the third optical scanner 29, but this is not limiting. For example, alternative optical elements that are capable of scanning scanned light in the Y direction may be employed. For example, micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) mirrors, rotating mirrors, prisms and oscillating mirrors can be mentioned.").
Collectively, Yu, Nakatsu, Ohmura, and Hanson can optical component usage. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Yu and Nakatsu to include the hardware taught by Ohmura and Hanson, Respectively. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to add the oscillating mirror taught by Hanson to some of the optical scanners taught by Yu have them be different sizes taught by Nakatsu and position them accordingly as taught by Ohmura. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by combining the hardware elements from Yu, Nakatsu, Ohmura, and Hanson.
Conclusion
/MARK ANTHONY FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648