Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. In claim 1, it is recited that “said slide is configured with a magnet”, which must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para. [0035], line 1, “81 slide body” is unclear, where slide (51) has been defined and element 81 refers to slide keeper (80). Consider changing “81 slide body” to “81 slide keeper body”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 recites “wherein lower jaw”, where lower jaw is missing an article. Consider – wherein said lower jaw --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein said plurality of teeth are ACME shaped”. Applicant has not defined geometry associated with “ACME shaped” and it is unclear whether applicant intends to claim the teeth being specifically ACME threads or generally trapezoidal shaped teeth. Therefore, in the interest of compact prosecution and for the purposes of this Office action “ACME shaped” will be interpreted in claim 7, line 2 as the teeth being “generally trapezoidal shaped”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, 15-17 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrubb (US 1990137 A) in view of Lin (US 6666114 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Schrubb discloses a quick adjust wrench (no reference # given for assembly) comprising:
a wrench body (element 5, fig. 1; note, handle includes wrench body) having a lower jaw (element 8, fig. 1);
said wrench body having an opening (element 14, fig. 2) whereby an upper jaw (element 9, fig. 1) on a slide (element 10, fig. 1) is configured to pass therethrough (p. 1, col. 1, line 33-38; “the shank 10… being partly operable at the rear of the shank slideway 13 and partly within the traverse channelway 14 in the handle 5”);
said slide is configured with a plurality of teeth (element 11, fig. 1);
a slide keeper (element 12, fig. 1) having a mating plurality of teeth (p. 1, col. 1, line 33-35; “the shank 10 having teeth 11 with which the internal threads of the adjusting nut 12 are engageable”) that are configured to temporally engage on said plurality of teeth on said slide (fig. 3, 4; p. 1, col. 1, line 33-35; “the shank 10 having teeth 11 with which the internal threads of the adjusting nut 12 are engageable”);
said slide keeper is configured to slide from said wrench body (fig. 4; p. 1, col. 1, line 44-47; “the spring 15 serves to urge the knurled nut 12 outwardly so that its internal threads will mesh with the teeth 11 of the outer jaw shank 10”; note, slide keeper is equivalent to reference nut, nut slides in slot 14, to and from wrench body) to disengage said plurality of teeth whereby allowing said slide to freely move within said opening (fig. 4; p. 1, col. 2, line 13-17; “when adjustment is required, of the outer jaw, the nut 12 can be forced inwardly of the transverse channel 14, so that the internal threads thereof will disengage from the teeth 11”).
Schrubb further teaches:
said slide (In the interest of compact prosecution and for the purposes of this Office action, “said slide” will be interpreted as “said slide keeper”, as supported by the specification, particularly fig. 1 & 3 of the instant application) is configured with a spring to continuously bias said slide keeper from said wrench body to engage said teeth
Schrubb teaches leaf springs (element 15, fig. 1), which urge the slide keeper (nut, element 12) away from the wrench body (handle, element 5) (p. 1, col. 1, line 44-47).
However, Schrubb fails to explicitly teach:
said slide (In the interest of compact prosecution and for the purposes of this Office action, “said slide” will be interpreted as “said slide keeper”, as supported by the specification, particularly fig. 1 & 3 of the instant application) is configured with a magnet to continuously bias said slide keeper toward said wrench body to engage said teeth
Lin teaches a magnetic connecting tube (no reference # given for assembly) for a screwdriver head (element 80, fig. 4), comprising a main body (element 20, fig. 2), a push element (element 30, fig. 2), and an engaging element (element 70, fig. 2). Lin teaches the equivalent function of the disclosed magnets (element 26 & 27, fig. 3A & 3B) and the spring (element 17, fig. 6) taught by the prior art (col. 1, line 16-26; note, “conventional magnetic connecting tube”, interpreted as “conventional connecting tube”, as Lin is describing prior art, not disclosed invention). Lin teaches that same-polarity magnets can be positioned opposite each other to impart a pushing force (fig. 3A & 3B; col. 2, line 37-40). That is, the magnets are used to separate the drive-end and the screwdriver head, in place of a compression spring (col. 2, line 44-48). Further, Lin teaches that magnet (element 26) is used to draw in and retain the screwdriver head (col. 2, line 49-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lin into the slide keeper of Schrubb to provide said slide keeper configured with a magnet to continuously bias said slide keeper toward said wrench body to engage said teeth. Per Schrubb’s disclosure and teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the arrangement of the slide keeper and spring could be reversed, so that the slide keeper is continuously biased toward the wrench body. According to MPEP 2144.04(VI), the reversal (direction of spring bias), duplication, or rearrangement of parts require only ordinary skill in the art and therefore do not rise above obviousness. Further, per Lin’s disclosure and teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a magnet for imparting a biasing force is a known, functional equivalent to a spring for the same purpose. According to MPEP 2143(I)(B), a simple substitution of one known element (magnet) for another (spring) to obtain predictable results (biasing force) does not rise above obviousness. One of ordinary skill would understand that substituting the spring of Schrubb for a magnet would achieve the same function of urging the slide keeper toward the wrench body to engage the teeth of slide keeper with the teeth of the slide.
Regarding claim 2, Schrubb, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein said magnet is secured in said slide keeper.
Lin teaches two magnets, one which is stationary on the drive-end (element 27, fig. 2), the other which affixes itself to the bit and is movable relative to the stationary magnet (element 26, fig. 2). Further, Lin teaches that magnet (element 26) is used to draw in and retain the screwdriver head (col. 2, line 49-52). Through both instances, Lin teaches that magnets can be used to pull together or push apart parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lin into the slide keeper of Schrubb to provide a magnet secured in said slide keeper. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that there are various arrangements of the magnet that would achieve the function of biasing the slide keeper toward the wrench body.
Regarding claim 3, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a second magnet is secured in said wrench body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lin into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb to provide a second magnet secured in said wrench body. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that there are various arrangements of magnets that would achieve the function of biasing the slide keeper toward the wrench body. According to MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A), the duplication of parts (two magnets attracted to one another, in place of a singular magnet secured in the slide keeper attracted to the ferric wrench body) has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate a second magnet to enhance the biasing on the slide keeper toward the wrench body.
Regarding claim 4, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein said magnet is secured in said wrench body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lin into the slide keeper of Schrubb to provide a magnet secured in said wrench body. According to MPEP 2144.04(VI), the reversal of parts (magnet in wrench body attracting (biasing force) slide keeper, instead of magnet in slide keeper attracting wrench body) to obtain predictable results (biasing force between slide keeper and wrench body) does not rise above obviousness. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that there are various arrangements of the magnet that would achieve the function of biasing the slide keeper toward the wrench body.
Regarding claim 8, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein said slide keeper has at least one side grip.
Schrubb teaches the slide keeper (nut, element 12) as knurled (col. 1, line 45).
Regarding claim 10, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein said quick adjust wrench is a pipe wrench (capable of being used on a pipe).
Regarding claim 15, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein said plurality of teeth are angled.
Schrubb teaches the slide keeper (nut, element 12) as having internal threads (col. 1, line 31-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Schrubb modified such that said plurality of teeth are angled. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that threads have pitch and are therefore angled. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit in having threaded teeth to allow for fine adjustment of the slide with the slide keeper.
Regarding claim 16, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein said plurality of teeth are on only one inside wall of said slider keeper.
Schrubb teaches the slide keeper (nut, element 12) having a slot which interrupts the continuity of the teeth (internal threads) of the slide keeper (see annotated fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 17, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein a distance between said lower jaw and said upper jaw is configurable to accept a pipe or a nut therein between.
Schrubb teaches that, when adjustment of the upper jaw (outer jaw, element 9) is required, the slide keeper (nut, element 12) is slid inwardly in the opening (traverse channel, element 14), so that the internal teeth (internal threads, element 11) disengage from the teeth of the slide (shank, element 10), allowing the slide to be automatically thrust upward, creating a space or opening (col. 2, line 14-20), capable of accepting a pipe or nut.
Regarding claim 19, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein said wrench body is configured as an elongated handle
(element 5, fig. 1).
Claims 5, 9, 11, 13, 14, 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrubb, as modified by Lin, as applied to claims 1 and 2, further in view of Howard (US 4903555 A).
Regarding claim 5, Schrubb, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach:
wherein said plurality of teeth are sawtooth shaped (note, “sawtooth shaped” interpreted as structure shown in instant application fig. 5, teeth appear to be triangular with one side flat and one side angled).
Howard teaches a quick adjust wrench (element 11, fig. 1) comprising a wrench body (element 13, fig. 1), a lower jaw (element 15, fig. 1), an upper jaw (element 17, fig. 1) connected to a slide (element 19, fig. 1), and a slide keeper (element 29, fig. 1),
wherein said plurality of teeth (element 21, fig. 2b; element 53, fig. 6a) are sawtooth shaped.
Howard teaches “’rack-like’ stem teeth” which have a generally sawtooth or triangular shape to facilitate holding a desired attained position between the upper and lower jaws (note, teeth shown in Howard, fig. 6a, consistent with sawtooth shaped teeth of instant application; col. 3, line 49-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Howard into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb modified to provide the plurality of teeth are sawtooth shaped. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit in having teeth which positively engage to hold a desired position and prevent slipping between the slide and the slide keeper.
Regarding claim 9, Schrubb, as modified by Lin teaches the limitations of claim 2, but fails to teach:
wherein said slide keeper is configured to replace an existing nut on a pipe wrench.
Howard teaches a quick adjust wrench (element 11, fig. 1) comprising a wrench body (element 13, fig. 1), a lower jaw (element 15, fig. 1), an upper jaw (element 17, fig. 1) connected to a slide (element 19, fig. 1), and a slide keeper (element 29, fig. 1),
wherein said slide keeper is configured to replace an existing nut on a pipe wrench.
Howard teaches that the disclosed slide (stem, element 19) and slide keeper (second portion, element 29) can be fitted onto an existing, conventional pipe wrench. Howard teaches, the conventional pipe wrench must have an opening (sleeve portion, element 23) and side supports (shoulders, element 25) (col. 3, line 63 - col. 4, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Howard into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb modified to provide the slide keeper is configured to replace an existing nut on a pipe wrench. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to modify a conventional pipe wrench to make usable to structure and teachings of Schrubb, such as, by rearranging the parts to have the biasing implement fixed to the slide keeper to replace the nut on an existing wrench. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality offered by being able to retrofit an existing, conventional pipe wrench with the components of Schrubb such that a user can operate the wrench as a quick adjust wrench.
Regarding claim 11, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 but does not teach :
wherein said wrench body is a ferric material.
Howard teaches a quick adjust wrench (element 11, fig. 1) comprising a wrench body (element 13, fig. 1), a lower jaw (element 15, fig. 1), an upper jaw (element 17, fig. 1) connected to a slide (element 19, fig. 1), and a slide keeper (element 29, fig. 1),
wherein said wrench body is a ferric material.
Howard teaches that the wrench handle (element 13) should be made of any suitable material, typically iron-containing metals, such as pig-iron or steel (col. 1, line 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Howard into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb modified to provide the wrench body is a ferric material. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit in having the wrench body constructed of a suitably strong material. Further, in light of the teachings of claim 2, one of ordinary skill would understand the benefit of having the handle constructed of a material to which the magnet of the slide keeper is attracted.
Regarding claim 13, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach:
wherein said lower jaw is replaceable.
Howard teaches a quick adjust wrench (element 11, fig. 1) comprising a wrench body (element 13, fig. 1), a lower jaw (element 15, fig. 1), an upper jaw (element 17, fig. 1) connected to a slide (element 19, fig. 1), and a slide keeper (element 29, fig. 1),
wherein said lower jaw is replaceable.
Howard teaches that the lower jaw (element 15) may be a separate detachable element (col. 1, line 16-20) and could be replaced.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Howard into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb modified to provide the lower jaw is replaceable. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality of a replaceable lower jaw. One of ordinary skill would understand that a replaceable lower jaw could allow for different jaws for different materials, to allow use of non-mar inserts, or to replace a jaw damaged during use.
Regarding claim 14, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, but fails to teach:
wherein lower jaw is retained in said wrench body with a pin.
Howard teaches a quick adjust wrench (element 11, fig. 1) comprising a wrench body (element 13, fig. 1), a lower jaw (element 15, fig. 1), an upper jaw (element 17, fig. 1) connected to a slide (element 19, fig. 1), and a slide keeper (element 29, fig. 1),
wherein lower jaw is retained in said wrench body with a pin.
Howard teaches affixing the replaceable or separable lower jaw with a screw or the like (col. 1, line 20-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Howard into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb modified to provide the lower jaw is retained in said wrench body with a pin. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the disclosed screw of Howard and the equivalents suggested, would include a pin, as either fastener would accomplish the function of removably attaching the lower jaw to the wrench body. As previously described, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality of a replaceable lower jaw for the aforementioned reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach:
wherein said upper jaw is configured to be completely removed from said wrench body.
Howard teaches a quick adjust wrench (element 11, fig. 1) comprising a wrench body (element 13, fig. 1), a lower jaw (element 15, fig. 1), an upper jaw (element 17, fig. 1) connected to a slide (element 19, fig. 1), and a slide keeper (element 29, fig. 1),
wherein said upper jaw is configured to be completely removed from said wrench body.
Howard teaches retrofitting the disclosed invention on a conventional pipe wrench. Shown in Fig. 2a, b, c are the conventional wrench body, slide, and slide keeper respectively. A skilled artisan would understand that the conventional wrench would be disassembled to some extent (including removing the upper jaw) to permit the wrench body to receive the slide and slide keeper.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Howard into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb to provide the upper jaw is configured to be completely removed from said wrench body. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that either through disassembly or through modification to appreciate a more similar form to the wrench of Howard, the slide of Schrubb is configured to be removed from the wrench body. As previously described, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to modify a conventional pipe wrench to make usable to structure and teachings of Schrubb, including removing the upper jaw and slide from the wrench body for reassembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality offered by being able to retrofit an existing, conventional pipe wrench with the components of Schrubb such that a user can operate the wrench as a quick adjust wrench.
Regarding claim 20, Schrubb modified teaches the limitations of claim 19, but fails to teach:
wherein said elongated handle further includes a handle opening.
Howard teaches a quick adjust wrench (element 11, fig. 1) comprising a wrench body (element 13, fig. 1), a lower jaw (element 15, fig. 1), an upper jaw (element 17, fig. 1) connected to a slide (element 19, fig. 1), and a slide keeper (element 29, fig. 1),
wherein said elongated handle further includes a handle opening (see annotated fig. 1).
Howard teaches a conventional wrench handle (element 13) having an opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Howard into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb to provide the elongated handle further includes a handle opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit in having an opening in the handle to securely attach a lanyard or to hang the tool when it is not in use.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrubb, as modified by Lin, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Johnson (US 0737847 A).
Regarding claim 6, Schrubb, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach:
wherein said plurality of teeth are square shaped.
Johnson teaches a pipe wrench (no reference # given for assembly) comprising a swinging jaw (element 16, fig. 1), a moveable jaw (element 19, fig. 1) on a threaded extension (element 20, fig. 1), and a handle (element 10, fig. 1),
wherein said plurality of teeth are square shaped.
Johnson teaches that square teeth (square threads) are preferable, as they provide guidance for the extension, while reducing detriment on the threads themselves (line 54-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Johnson into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb modified to provide the plurality of teeth are square shaped.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrubb, as modified by Lin, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Small (US 3211030 A).
Regarding claim 7, Schrubb, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach:
wherein said plurality of teeth are ACME shaped (In the interest of compact prosecution and for the purposes of this Office action “ACME shaped” will be interpreted in claim 7, line 2 as the teeth being “generally trapezoidal shaped”.)
Small teaches pipe wrench (no reference # given for assembly) comprising a lower jaw seat (element 13, fig. 1), a moveable jaw (element 25d, fig. 1) on a shank (element 25, fig. 1), and a handle (element 10, fig. 1),
wherein said plurality of teeth are ACME shaped (In the interest of compact prosecution and for the purposes of this Office action “ACME shaped” will be interpreted in claim 7, line 2 as the teeth being “generally trapezoidal shaped”; col. 1, line 34-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Small into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb modified to provide the plurality of teeth are ACME shaped. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the functionality of ACME threads on the shank of the movable jaw as they allow for adjustment of the jaw spacing.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrubb, as modified by Lin, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yguain (US 1368089 A).
Regarding claim 12, Schrubb, as modified by Lin, teaches the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach:
wherein said slide keeper is a ferric material.
Yguain teaches a multiple adjustment wrench (no reference # given for assembly) comprising a fixed jaw (element e, fig. 1), a moveable jaw (element d, fig. 1) on a shank (element h, fig. 1), and a handle (element n, fig. 1),
wherein said slide keeper is a ferric material (line 31-33; knurled steel adjustment nut).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yguain into the quick adjust wrench of Schrubb modified to provide the slide keeper is a ferric material. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of having a slide keeper constructed of a suitably strong material so as not to degrade or deteriorate under repeated use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SU (US 20220241933 A1) teaches a quick adjust wrench having a slide and a slide keeper. The slide keeper has teeth on one side and is biased against the wrench body toward the slide. When the slide keeper is push in, its teeth disengage from the teeth of the slide, allowing for quick adjustments.
Tuell (US 3996820 A) teaches a self-adjusting pipe wrench. The wrench has a slidably mounted upper jaw having a spring that automatically closes the jaw toward the handle when a mechanism is actuated.
McLain (US 4309924 A) teaches a nut and spring retainer for a quick adjust wrench. The mechanism can be fit on a conventional pipe wrench and allow for quick and fine adjustments of the movable upper jaw.
/KEEGAN T MARTIN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723