DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s remarks submitted April 8, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-1-6, 8-17, and 19-22 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Chang fails to disclose “transport stations” and therefore an “arbitrator cannot be provided” (Remarks, pp. 9-10). Examiner has carefully considered this argument, but respectfully disagrees. For instance, Chang teaches implementing sources and/or access points that connect to routers (see, e.g., p. 196, section 4.1; p. 201, section 5.3.2) Further, Venkata substantially overlaps this teaching (see, e.g., section 4.2, 4.2.1; note flits are received from the core before routing). Still further, both Chang and Venkata teach implementing arbitration functionality (see, e.g., Chang 4.4; and/or Venkata section 1-2).
For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
7. Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by the non-patent literature document titled CMP Network-on-Chip Overlaid With Multi-Band RF-Interconnect (hereinafter “Chang”) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chang, in view of the non-patent literature document titled Memory-Aware Circuit Overlay NoCs for Latency Optimized GPGPU Architectures (hereinafter “Venkata”).
Regarding claim 1: Chang teaches a computing system, comprising: a plurality of routers, configured to transport data to nodes; a plurality of transport stations, configured to transport the data to the nodes through the routers; a plurality of first paths, provided between adjacent ones of the routers; a plurality of second paths, provided between adjacent ones of the transport stations (see, e.g., pp. 196-198, figures 3a, 3b; note access points and/or sources transmit via routers to destination(s); note also, e.g., first paths over RC wires and second paths over RF transmission lines);
wherein the computing system operates in a first mode, which transmits the data from a first target device to a second target device via the first paths and the second paths during a first time interval; wherein the first target device is one of the routers or one of the nodes, and the second target device is one of the routers or one of the nodes (see, e.g., 4.2-4.4; packets are routed over multiple paths, note fabric architecture); wherein the computing system further comprises: at least one arbiter, provided between the transport stations and the routers, configured to allocate the data from the transport stations to the routers (see, e.g., section 4.4).
Chang does not explicitly state the terms “first mode” and “first time interval.” To the extent these features are not inherent to Change (for instance, both sets of paths are implemented in varying ratios, including “modes” where both are used, as well as modes when either one is used solely, note 5.3.2, some packets use the RF; all occurring over time periods), these features are nevertheless taught by Venkata (see, e.g., 4.1 and 4.2; note particular mode implementation, such as bypass mode, and the delineation over time windows; note also overlapping teachings with respect to NoC architecture and routing over multiple paths, as well as arbitration functionality). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Venkata, such as the router and signaling functionalities, within the system of Chang, in order to reduce latency and/or energy consumption.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 1 is applicable to the system of claim 12.
Regarding claims 2 and 13: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata further teaches [wherein] the computing system further operates in a second mode, which transmits the data from the first target device to the second target device via the first paths without the second paths during a second time interval; and the first time interval is larger than the second time interval (see, e.g., Chang 4.1, 4.2, 5.3.2, some packets use either the RF or XY-YX, each time period individually smaller than when both are used; note also Venkata 4.1 and 4.2). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 2 is applicable to the system of claim 13.
Regarding claims 3 and 14: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata further teaches wherein the computing system further selectively operates in a third mode, which transmits the data from the first target device to the second target device via the second paths without the first paths (see, e.g., Chang 4.1, 4.2, 5.3.2, some packets use either the RF or XY-YX; note also Venkata 4.1 and 4.2). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 3 is applicable to the system of claim 14.
Regarding claims 4 and 15: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata further teaches wherein bandwidths of the second paths are larger than bandwidths of the first paths (see, e.g., Chang 4.3, 4.4 note bandwidth due to, e.g., deadlock; note also Venkata 4.1 and 4.2). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 3 is applicable to the system of claim 15.
Regarding claims 5 and 16: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata further teaches wherein the routers are classified into a plurality of system groups according to locations of the routers or the nodes, wherein the computing system operates in the first mode or in the second mode according to the system group which the first target device and the second target device are located in (see, e.g., Chang 4.1, 4.2, 5.3.2, some packets use either the RF or XY-YX; note also Venkata figure 1, 4.1 and 4.2). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 5.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 5 is applicable to the system of claim 16.
Regarding claims 6 and 17: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata further teaches at least one crossbar switch, provided between the transport stations and the routers, configured to transport the data from the routers to the transport stations; and at least one buffer, provided between the transport stations and the routers, configured to buffer the data from the routers to the transport stations (see, e.g., Chang 4.3; and/or Venkata figure 4, 3.2, 4.1; note buffer and crossbar functionality). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 6.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 6 is applicable to the system of claim 17.
Regarding claims 8 and 19: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata further teaches wherein the computing system transmits the data from one of the nodes to another one of the nodes via at least one physical channel, and transmits the data from one of the router to another one of the router via at least one virtual channel (see, e.g., Chang figure 3, sections 3, 4.3, 5.2, 6; and/or Venkata section 2, 3.1, 5.4; note physical and virtual channel implementation). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 8.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 8 is applicable to the system of claim 19.
Regarding claims 9 and 20: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata further teaches wherein the computing system is an NoC (Network on Chip) system, wherein the routers, the transport stations, the first paths and the second paths are provided in a single chip (see, e.g., Chang abstract, sections 1, 4; and/or Venkata abstract, sections 1, 4.2). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 9.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 9 is applicable to the system of claim 20.
8. Claims 10, 11, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang, alternatively in view of Venkata, and in further view of either U.S. Publication No. 2023/0187407 A1 (hereinafter “Molnar”) or U.S. Publication No. 2009/0070549 A1 (hereinafter “Solomon”).
Regarding claims 10 and 21: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata wherein the transport stations are provided in different chips. However, this feature is taught by Molnar (see, e.g., [0100], [0128], [0158]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Molnar, such as the processing architectures, within the system of Chang alternatively modified by Venkata, in order to improve processing efficiency.
Alternatively, the said feature is taught by Solomon (see, e.g., [0048], [0103], [0200]). Similarly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Solomon, such as the processing architectures, within the system of Chang alternatively modified by Venkata, in order to improve processing efficiency.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 10 is applicable to the system of claim 21.
Regarding claims 11 and 22: Chang alternatively modified by Venkata, and further Molnar or Solomon, further teaches wherein the computing system is a computer system wherein the chips are provided in at least two computers (see, e.g., Molnar [0050], [0056], [0096], [0128], [0230]; note alternatively Solomon [0005], [0023], [0200]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 10 is applicable to claim 11.
The rationale set forth above regarding the system of claim 11 is applicable to the system of claim 22.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476