DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 05/24/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the grounds that the amendment to claim 8 makes the process claim require the limitations of the masks of claim 1. Specifically, the amendment now requires the clearance areas to be in a shape of a circle and polygon. Therefore, the Election/Restriction requirement is no longer proper.
This is not found persuasive because the masks of claim 1 may be made by a different process from that of claim 8. For example, the masks of claim 1 may be formed such the vias and openings may be formed only from a single etching surface on a first or second surface rather than having an etching portion on both surfaces communicating with each other as required by claim 8.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitations "the first clearance region" in lines 1-2 and “the plurality of etched grooves” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first clearance region" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first clearance region and the second clearance region" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (CN 114107895).
Regarding claim 1, Ding teaches a fine metal mask and an electroluminescent display panel (“a mask, comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface”) (Paragraph [0004]). The masks include a plurality of independent vapor-deposition regions which are arranged along a meshing direction of the mask (“a total etching area; the mask having a plurality of vias in the total etching area, and each of the vias communicating the first surface with the second surface”) (Paragraph [0039]; Figs. 2-3). As shown in figures 9-11, an alignment hole is provided at the edge of the vapor-deposition regions such that the holes formed from the mesh is not provided in an area where the alignment holes are located in order to avoid and improve recognition accuracy (“a plurality of clearance areas; the plurality of clearance areas being arranged in the total etching area”) (Paragraphs [0054]-[0057]). As shown in figure 11, the areas where the alignment holes are provided are surrounded by the holes formed by the mesh (“the plurality of vias of the total etching area surrounding each of the clearance areas”). The alignment holes are further taught to fully penetrate the mask and the shape of the area they are provided in is a square (“wherein each clearance area further has a through hole therein, and the through hole communicates the first surface with the second surface; each of the clearance areas is in a shape of a circle or a polygon”) (Paragraph [0057]; Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Ding teaches the masks as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As illustrated in figure 11, the areas with the alignment holes are in the shape of a square and the white region of the area E may be considered the first region and the dark section may be considered the second region.
Regarding claim 5, Ding teaches the masks as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, there are multiple vapor-deposition regions and the alignment hole areas are arranged on the edges of the working area.
Regarding claim 6, Ding teaches the masks as discussed above with respect to claim 6. As discussed above, there are multiple vapor-deposition regions and the alignment hole areas are arranged on the edges of the working area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 114107895) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ikenaga et al. (JP 2014-133934).
Regarding claim 2, Ding teaches the masks as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As illustrated in figure 11, the areas with the alignment holes are in the shape of a square and the white region of area E may be considered the first region and the dark section may be considered the second region. As shown in the figure, the white region surrounds the dark region and comprises a majority of area E which would overlap with the first region being at least 5% of the clearance region.
Ding is silent with respect to this white region having a plurality of etched grooves.
Ikenaga teaches a vapor deposition mask which can prevent the formation of wrinkles (Paragraph [0001]). The masks include various areas which include a plurality of effective regions with through holes and stress relaxation regions having stress relaxation recesses (Paragraph [0012]). The recesses are provided such that an area which has a small cross-sectional area can be enlarged allowing for a reduction in rigidity (Paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the white areas of the area E to further include recesses which enlarge areas with a small cross-sectional area, thereby reducing rigidity, and assisting in the prevention of the formation of wrinkles.
Regarding claim 16, Ding teaches the masks as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As illustrated in figure 11, the areas with the alignment holes are in the shape of a square and the white region of area E may be considered the first region and the dark section may be considered the second region. As shown in the figure, the white region surrounds the dark region.
Ding is silent with respect to this white region having a plurality of etched grooves.
Ikenaga teaches a vapor deposition mask which can prevent the formation of wrinkles (Paragraph [0001]). The masks include various areas which include a plurality of effective regions with through holes and stress relaxation regions having stress relaxation recesses (Paragraph [0012]). The recesses are provided such that an area which has a small cross-sectional area can be enlarged allowing for a reduction in rigidity (Paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the white areas of the area E to further include recesses which enlarge areas with a small cross-sectional area, thereby reducing rigidity, and assisting in the prevention of the formation of wrinkles.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 114107895) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Ding teaches the masks as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As illustrated in figure 11, the areas with the alignment holes are in the shape of a square and the white region of the area E may be considered the first region and the dark section may be considered the second region. As shown in the figure the white region surrounds the dark region and comprises a majority of the area E which would overlap with the first region being at least 10% of the clearance region.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 114107895) in view of Ikenaga et al. (JP 2014-133934).
Regarding claim 1, Ding teaches a fine metal mask and an electroluminescent display panel (“a mask, comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface”) (Paragraph [0004]). The masks include a plurality of independent vapor-deposition regions which are arranged along a meshing direction of the mask (“a total etching area; the mask having a plurality of vias in the total etching area, and each of the vias communicating the first surface with the second surface”) (Paragraph [0039]; Figs. 2-3). As shown in figures 9-11, an alignment hole is provided at the edge of the vapor-deposition regions such that the holes formed from the mesh is not provided in an area where the alignment holes are located in order to avoid and improve recognition accuracy (“a plurality of clearance areas; the plurality of clearance areas being arranged in the total etching area”) (Paragraphs [0054]-[0057]). As shown in figure 11, the areas where the alignment holes are provided are surrounded by the holes formed by the mesh (“the plurality of vias of the total etching area surrounding each of the clearance areas”). The alignment holes are further taught to fully penetrate the mask (“wherein each clearance area further has a through hole therein, and the through hole communicates the first surface with the second surface”) (Paragraph [0057]; Fig. 11).
As illustrated in figure 11, the areas with the alignment holes are in the shape of a square and the white region of area E may be considered the first region and the dark section/alignment hole may be considered the second region. As shown in the figure, the white region surrounds the dark region and comprises a majority of area E which would overlap with the first region being at least 5% of the clearance region.
Ding is silent with respect to this white region having a plurality of etched grooves.
Ikenaga teaches a vapor deposition mask which can prevent the formation of wrinkles (Paragraph [0001]). The masks include various areas which include a plurality of effective regions with through holes and stress relaxation regions having stress relaxation recesses (Paragraph [0012]). The recesses are provided such that an area which has a small cross-sectional area can be enlarged allowing for a reduction in rigidity (Paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the white areas of the area E to further include recesses which enlarge areas with a small cross-sectional area, thereby reducing rigidity, and assisting in the prevention of the formation of wrinkles.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783