Response to Arguments
The 101 rejection is overcome.
The examiner believes that Yan (Multicamera pedestrian detection using logic minimization) teaches the newly amended claim features. See section 3, which teaches in equation 1, the plane at height homography and ground plane homography which reads on plane parallel to the ground plane and at a height of H.
Section 4 of Yan, teaches that ground plane homography and using the plane at the average height ha to map to the top of the head. Changing the height plane changes where the point lands on the image coordinates. This reads on the shifting.
As such this rejection is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hoffman (202000364883).
Regarding claim 1, Hoffman teaches an object detection device for detecting a position of an object on an imaging plane imaged by a camera, the object detection device comprising (abstract):
a processor to acquire image data generated by image capturing by the camera and perform coordinate transformation, with respect to a position of the object, from first coordinates associated with an image indicated by the image data to second coordinates associated with the imaging plane (pars. 131-134);
and a memory to store setting information used for the coordinate transformation, wherein the setting information includes a set value indicating a height from the imaging plane for each type of object among a plurality of types of objects (pars. 61, 33 and 141), and
the processor acquires a position of the object in the first coordinates and a type of the object based on the image data and calculates a position of the object in the second coordinates by performing the coordinate transformation using the set value corresponding to the type of the object (pars. 129-134 and par. 61).
Yan teaches in section 3, which teaches in equation 1, the plane at height homography and ground plane homography which reads on plane parallel to the ground plane and at a height of H.
Section 4 of Yan, teaches that ground plane homography and using the plane at the average height ha to map to the top of the head. Changing the height plane changes where the point lands on the image coordinates. This reads on the shifting.
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Hoffman the ability to shift height information as taught by Yan. The reason is to store plane heights and shift them to a specified location. Note that Hoffman already teaches class heights in par. 61 and 141.
Regarding claim 2, Yan teaches the object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of types include a type indicating a whole of a first object and a type indicating a part of the first object, and the setting information includes different set values for each type of the type of whole and the type of part (see section 4, “Occupancey likelihood maps”, teaches parallel planes for each object where certain planes only have part of the object).
Regarding claim 5, see pars. 24-25 and 59-65.
Regarding claim 6, see pars. 69-70 and 142.
Regarding claim 7, see Yan section titled “Joint occupancy likelihoods”.
Regarding claim 8, see Hoffman par. 7.
Regarding claim 9, see pars. 23-25 and 59-65.
Regarding claims 10-12, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman (20200364883) in view of Yan and in further view of Koivisto (20190258878).
Regarding claim 3, Hoffman teaches detecting objects in pars. 145.
Koivisto teaches wherein the processor inputs the acquired image data to an object detection model to output a detection result, the object detection model detecting objects of the plurality of types, and the object detection model is generated by machine learning using grand truth data in which image data from the camera is associated with a label indicating each of the plurality of types (see prs. 146-148, training).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Hoffman and Yan the ability to train as taught by Koivisto. The reason is to use machine learning and ground truths to improve accuracy the more the model is trained.
Regarding claim 4, see pars. 171-173 of Koivisto.
Regarding claim 12, see pars. 171-173 of Koivisto and the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HADI AKHAVANNIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676