DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinch (US PG Pub. 20160274362) in view of Rasch et al. (US Pat. 5802222) in view of Miller (US PG Pub. 20190346679).
Regarding claim 1, Tinch discloses a laser module (apparatus of fig. 4) comprising:
a laser light source (lasers 404, 406 408 of fig. 4);
a package (planar waveguide substrate 400 of fig. 4) in which the laser light source is housed and a light transmission window through which laser light output from the laser light source can be optically transmitted is provided on a wall portion (illustrated in fig. 4 and explicitly disclosed in para. 0037; The embedded planar waveguides may be similar in performance when compared to optical fibers but are fabricated on a flat substrate. Advantageously, the flat substrate on which the waveguides are fabricated is more durable then fiber-based combiners. The layout of the waveguide substrate may be designed such that three discrete inputs may be combined into a single output. It should be appreciated that the three discrete inputs may be any compatible light source, including laser diodes, LED's and/or optical fibers. The embodiments described herein include laser diodes); and
an output light aperture (output channel 416 of fig. 4) provided inside or outside of the package and arranged in a traveling direction of the laser light to adjust an area of a passage port of the laser light (para. 0044; the embedded waveguide 402 and the single-mode output fiber 420 may be designed such that they both have substantially the same mode field diameter and numerical aperture (e.g., a few percent).
Tinch fails to teach the output light aperture having an adjustable area of a passage port of the laser light and being configured to allow a user to adjust the area during operation.
Rasch discloses output light aperture (casing 20 of fig. 1 has an exit light aperture 21) having an adjustable area of a passage port (col. 8 lines 12-13; modulation by radiation attenuators, such as controllable apertures) of the laser light and being configured to allow a user to adjust the area during operation (cols. 9-10 discuss the use of beam shaping (i.e. electro-optical aperture that is controllable)), and the blocking region blocks the stray light from leaking outside of the laser module (illustrated in fig. 1 the aperture is located on the casing; therefore, based on its location it will prevent stray light from leaking out).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser module of Tinch with the intensity modulator of Rasch in order to provide intensity modulation and beam shaping (Rasch; col. 2 lines 33-36)
Tinch as modified by Rasch fails to explicitly teach wherein the output light aperture includes a blocking region other than the passage port, the adjustable area has a size that is adjusted by the user to selectively pass a desired portion of the transmitted laser light while suppressing stray light, and the blocking region blocks the stray light from leaking outside of the laser module.
Miller discloses wherein the output light aperture (aperture 605 of fig. 6) includes a blocking region (para. 0037; The aperture structure 605 is configured with light blocking and light passing portions) other than the passage port (shown in fig. 6), the adjustable area has a size that is adjusted by the user to selectively pass a desired portion of the transmitted laser light while suppressing stray light (shown in fig. 7; and further is the definition of an aperture).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser module of Tinch and Rasch with the aperture of Miller in order to provide additional dynamic range and/or contrast ratio (Miller; para. 0038).
Regarding claim 2, Tinch discloses wherein the laser light source is a plurality of visible laser light sources each having a wavelength of 380 nm to 800 nm (para. 0039; FIG. 4, separate laser light beams are emitted from a red laser 404, a green laser 406 and a blue laser 408).
Regarding claim 7, Tinch discloses wherein an optical waveguide layer (embedded planar waveguide 402 of fig. 4) including an optical waveguide that guides laser light output from the laser light source is provided in the package (illustrated in fig. 4).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Tinch discloses a laser module (apparatus of fig. 4) comprising: combining multiple optical channels (input 414a, 414b, 414c of fig. 4) that are output at a numerical aperture (416).
Tinch fails to teach an optical scanning mirror configured to scan light output from the laser module.
Rasch discloses color image generation device wherein an optical scanning mirror (beam deflection 4 by means of a movable reflector (scanner) of fig. 29) configured to scan light output from the laser module (illustrated in fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify laser module of Tinch with the movable reflector of Rasch in order to generate a real image on a projection surface.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Tinch discloses XR glasses (augmented reality system 58 of figs. 2A and 2B) comprising the optical engine (illustrated in fig. 4; the optical engine apparatus of fig. 4 is within the AR system 58).
Claim(s) 3-5, 11-13 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinch (US PG Pub. 20160274362), Rasch et al. (US Pat. 5802222) and Miller (US PG Pub. 20190346679) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US PG Pub. 20220196805).
Regarding claim 3, Tinch as modified by Rasch and Miller discloses a laser module (apparatus of fig. 4) comprising combining multiple optical channels (input 414a, 414b, 414c of fig. 4) that are output at a numerical aperture (416).
Tinch as modified by Rasch and Miller fails to teach wherein the output light aperture has a plurality of aperture blades.
Wang discloses an adjustable iris for a laser emitting device wherein the light aperture (iris 216 of fig. 3A and 3B) has a plurality of aperture blades (para. 0033; iris 216 includes four blades 310-1, 310-2, 310-3, and 310-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the numerical aperture of Tinch, Rasch and Miller with the iris of Wang in order to adjust the quantity of light the laser module emits.
Regarding claim 4, Tinch as modified by Rasch and Miller discloses a laser module (apparatus of fig. 4) comprising: combining multiple optical channels (input 414a, 414b, 414c of fig. 4) that are output at a numerical aperture (416).
Tinch as modified by Rasch and Miller fails to teach wherein the output light aperture has an adjustment knob that moves the aperture blades to adjust an aperture size.
Wang discloses an adjustable iris (216) for a laser emitting device wherein the output light aperture has an adjustment knob (pivot (e.g., pivots 332-339) of fig. 4) that moves the aperture blades to adjust an aperture size (illustrated in figs. 3A and 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the numerical aperture of Tinch, Rasch and Miller with the iris of Wang in order to adjust the quantity of light the laser module emits.
Regarding claim 5, Tinch as modified by Rasch and Miller discloses a laser module (apparatus of fig. 4) comprising combining multiple optical channels (input 414a, 414b, 414c of fig. 4) that are output at a numerical aperture (416).
Tinch as modified by Rasch and Miller fails to teach comprising a positioning mechanism configured to position the adjustment knob.
Wang discloses an adjustable iris (216) for a laser emitting device wherein a positioning mechanism (para. 0038; the anchors 401, 402, 411, and 412 drive each individual blade illustrated in fig. 3A and 3B noted in paras. 0041-0042) configured to position the adjustment knob (pivot (e.g., pivots 332-339) of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the numerical aperture of Tinch, Rasch and Miller with the iris of Wang in order to adjust the quantity of light the laser module emits.
Regarding claims 11-13, Tinch discloses a laser module (apparatus of fig. 4) comprising combining multiple optical channels (input 414a, 414b, 414c of fig. 4) that are output at a numerical aperture (416).
Tinch fails to teach an optical scanning mirror configured to scan light output from the laser module.
Rasch discloses color image generation device wherein an optical scanning mirror (beam deflection 4 by means of a movable reflector (scanner) of fig. 29) configured to scan light output from the laser module (illustrated in fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify laser module of Tinch with the movable reflector of Rasch in order to generate a real image on a projection surface.
Regarding claims 17-19, Tinch as modified by Rasch discloses XR glasses (augmented reality system 58 of figs. 2A and 2B) comprising the optical engine (illustrated in fig. 4; the optical engine apparatus of fig. 4 is within the AR system 58).
Claim(s) 6, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinch (US PG Pub. 20160274362), Rasch et al. (US Pat. 5802222), Miller (US PG Pub. 20190346679) and Wang et al. (US PG Pub. 20220196805) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 100826591 B).
Regarding claim 6, Tinch as modified by Rasch, Miller and Wang discloses a plurality of aperture blades (blades (para. 0033; iris 216 includes four blades 310-1, 310-2, 310-3, and 310-4).
Tinch as modified by Rasch, Miller and Wang fails to teach wherein the plurality of aperture blades are made of paper or plastic.
Lee discloses an apparatus for compensation of center axis alignment of a cylindrical waveguide in a laser beam wherein the plurality of aperture blades are made of paper or plastic (pg. 4 2nd para.; the diaphragm blades may be manufactured of a plastic that contains a translucent plastic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the plurality of aperture blades of Tinch, Rasch, Miller and Wang making the blades of plastic as shown in Lee in order to reduce the manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 14, Tinch as modified by Miller, Wang and Lee discloses a laser module (apparatus of fig. 4) comprising combining multiple optical channels (input 414a, 414b, 414c of fig. 4) that are output at a numerical aperture (416).
Tinch as modified by Miller, Wang and Lee fails to teach an optical scanning mirror configured to scan light output from the laser module.
Rasch discloses color image generation device wherein an optical scanning mirror (beam deflection 4 by means of a movable reflector (scanner) of fig. 29) configured to scan light output from the laser module (illustrated in fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify laser module of Tinch, Miller, Wang and Lee with the movable reflector of Rasch in order to generate a real image on a projection surface.
Regarding claim 20, Tinch discloses XR glasses (augmented reality system 58 of figs. 2A and 2B) comprising the optical engine (illustrated in fig. 4; the optical engine apparatus of fig. 4 is within the AR system 58).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinch (US PG Pub. 20160274362), Rasch et al. (US Pat. 5802222) and Miller (US PG Pub. 20190346679) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyata (JP 2019165120 A).
Regarding claim 8, Tinch as modified by Rasch and Miller discloses a laser module (apparatus of fig. 4) comprising combining multiple optical channels (input 414a, 414b, 414c of fig. 4) that are output at a numerical aperture (416).
Tinch as modified by Rasch and Miller fails to teach wherein a subcarrier on which the laser light source is placed and a substrate on which an optical waveguide layer is formed are metal- bonded, integrated, and housed in the package.
Miyata discloses an optical module wherein a subcarrier on which the laser light source is placed and a substrate on which an optical waveguide layer is formed are metal- bonded, integrated, and housed in the package (pg. 6 4th para. semiconductor laser element 4 and the submount 8 and the light source substrate 6 are connected by metal bonding layers 36 and 38 including solder.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify optical waveguide and laser light source of Tinch, Rasch and Miller with the bonding technique of Miyata in order to increase heat dissipation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 /TOAN TON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882