DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6, “slot” should be change to -the slot-.
Claim 13, line 11, “slot” should be change to -the slot-. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (US 7,544,081)
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses, an electrical connector 2 comprising: a terminal housing 3 including one or more terminal cavities 42 and a slot 6 (fig. 2A); and a terminal position assurance 10 including a base 10c, two sliders 10A, 10B that extend from the base in an assurance direction, and a lock arm 10D that extends from the base in the assurance direction; wherein the terminal position assurance 10 is supported on the slot by the sliders for movement relative to the terminal housing 3.
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses, the lock arm 10D is located between the two sliders 10A, 10B.
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses, the terminal position assurance 10 including a terminal stop TS (see annotated fig.) on one of the sliders 10A, 10B that is located in the terminal cavity 42 when then terminal position assurance 10 is in a locked position relative to the terminal housing.
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses, the lock arm 10D including two catches C (see annotated fig) that engage the terminal housing 3 to retain the terminal position assurance 10 in a pre-lock position and a locked position relative to the terminal housing 3.
Regarding claim 5, Lim discloses, the terminal housing including two stops that engage the lock arm 10D to retain the terminal position assurance in a pre-lock position and a locked position relative to the terminal housing.
Regarding claim 6, Lim discloses, the lock arm 10D including two catches C that engage the stops to retain the terminal position assurance 10 in the pre-lock position and the locked position relative to the terminal housing.
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses, the terminal position assurance including a terminal stop TS on one of the sliders that is located in the terminal cavity 42 when then terminal position assurance 10 is in a locked position relative to the terminal housing 3.
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses, the terminal position assurance including a terminal stop TS on one of the sliders that is located in the terminal cavity 4B when then terminal position assurance 10 is in a locked position relative to the terminal housing.
Regarding claim 9, Lim discloses, an electrical connector 2 comprising: a connector housing 3, 4, 5 that includes a connector seat (outer peripheral surface of) 4; and a terminal housing 3,5 including one or more terminal cavities 42, the terminal housing 3-5 having a peripheral seal seat 4A defined on an outer surface thereof, the terminal housing 3-5 having a retained portion 11 that extends from an insertion end of the terminal housing to the seal seat 4A, wherein the retained portion 11 has substantially uniform outer surface from the insertion end to the seal seat 4A; wherein the retained portion of the terminal housing is held in the connector seat (outer peripheral surface of) 4 (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses, a seal 9 located on the seal seat 42 , wherein an end of the connector seat (outer peripheral surface of) 4 is located adjacent to the seal.
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses, an end of the connector seat (outer peripheral portion of inner housing 4) is located adjacent to the seal seat (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses, the retained portion 11 has a substantially consistent outer geometry between the insertion end and the seal seat.
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses, an electrical connector 2 comprising: a connector housing that includes a connector seat (outer peripheral surface of) 4; a terminal housing 3-4 including one or more terminal cavities 4B and a slot 6 (see fig. 2A), the terminal housing 4 a peripheral seal seat 4A (end portion of inner housing 4) defined on an outer surface thereof, the terminal housing 3-4 having a retained portion 5 that extends from an insertion end of the terminal housing 3-4 to the seal seat 4A, wherein the retained portion1 has substantially uniform outer surface from the insertion end to the seal seat 4A; and a terminal position assurance 10 including a base 10c, two sliders 10A, 10B that extend from the base in an assurance direction, and a lock arm 10D that extends from the base in the assurance direction; wherein the terminal position assurance 10 is supported on the slot by the sliders for movement relative to the terminal housing 3-5 wherein the retained portion 11 of the terminal housing 3 is held in the connector seat (outer peripheral surface of) 4.
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses, the lock arm 10D including two catches C that engage the terminal housing 3 to retain the terminal position assurance 10 in a pre-lock position and a locked position relative to the terminal housing 3.
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses, terminal housing including 3-5 two stops S that engage the lock arm 10D to retain the terminal position assurance 10 in a pre-lock position and a locked position relative to the terminal housing.
Regarding claim 16, Lim discloses, the lock arm 10D including two catches C that engage the stops to retain the terminal position assurance 10 in the pre-lock position and the locked position relative to the terminal housing.
Regarding claim 17, Lim discloses, the terminal position assurance 10 including a terminal stop S on one of the sliders 10A, 10B that is located in the terminal cavity 42, when then terminal position assurance is in a locked position relative to the terminal housing.
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses, a seal 9 located on the seal seat 4A (at outer surface of 4), wherein an end of the connector seat (outer peripheral surface of) is located adjacent to the seal.
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses, an end of the connector seat (outer peripheral surface of) 4 is located adjacent to the seal seat 4A.
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses, the retained portion 11 has a substantially consistent outer geometry between the insertion end and the seal seat 14 (see fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831