Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 12, 14, and 17 are currently amended.
Claim 21 is new.
Claims 4 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (KR 20050094235 A) in view of Gill (US Patent No. 2926934 A).
Regarding claim 1, Suh in view of Gill discloses a quick connect, rapid fluid transfer connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) fluidly associated with a first bag (Suh, umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag 100), and a second connector(Suh, transport conduit 252) fluidly associated with a second bag (Suh, transplantation bag 300).
Suh does not expressly disclose the first connector including a check valve, a first plunger, and a first spring, the first plunger and the first spring together movable between a first position and a second position; and the second connector including a second plunger and a second spring that are together movable between a third position and a fourth position, the check valve being in line with the first and second plungers.
Gill teaches the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) including a check valve, a first plunger (filter 74), and a first spring (spring 44), the first plunger and the first spring together movable between a first position (Fig. 1) and a second position (Fig. 2); and the second connector (coupling member B, Fig. 1) including a second plunger (shaft-like insert 110) and a second spring (spring 44) that are together movable between a third position (Fig. 1) and a fourth position (Fig. 2), the check valve (check valve 10) being in line with the first and second plungers (See annotated Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include the first connector including a check valve, a first plunger, and a first spring, the first plunger and the first spring together movable between a first position and a second position; and the second connector including a second plunger and a second spring that are together movable between a third position and a fourth position, the check valve being in line with the first and second plungers as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 2, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) further includes a cavity (Suh, inside branch pipe 212) having a first portion (Suh, portion receiving spring 218a) with a first average diameter (Suh, diameter of portion receiving spring 218a) and a second portion (Suh, portion closed by ball 218b) with a second average diameter (Suh, diameter of portion closed by ball 218b), and the check valve (Suh, pressure valve 218) includes a ball (Suh, ball 218b) movable within the cavity (Suh, inside branch pipe 212), the ball (Suh, ball 218b) having a third average diameter (Suh, diameter of ball 218b) that is smaller than (Suh, as shown in Fig. 3) the first average diameter (Suh, diameter of portion receiving spring 218a) and greater than (Suh, as shown in Fig. 3) the second average diameter (Suh, diameter of portion closed by ball 218b).
Regarding claim 3, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) further includes a retention component Suh, (Fig. 3 showing a portion of branch pipe 212 retaining an end of transport conduit 252) disposed within and extending along at least a portion (Suh, Fig. 3) of the cavity (Suh, inside branch pipe 212).
Regarding claim 5, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the first plunger is disposed upstream of the check valve.
Gill teaches that the first plunger is disposed upstream (Fig. 1) of the check valve (check valve 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include that the first plunger is disposed upstream of the check valve as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 6, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the second plunger is configured to engage with the first plunger and to move the first plunger from the first position to the second position when joined to the first connector to form the connection.
Gill teaches that the second plunger (shaft-like insert 110, Fig. 1) is configured to engage with the first plunger (filter 74) and to move the first plunger from the first position (Fig. 1) to the second position (Fig. 2) when joined (as shown in Fig. 2) to the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) to form the connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include that the second plunger is configured to engage with the first plunger and to move the first plunger from the first position to the second position when joined to the first connector to form the connection as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 7, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) includes a first end (Suh, top end of branch pipe 212) and an opposing second end (Suh, bottom end of branch pipe 212), the first end (Suh, top end of branch pipe 212) of the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) being fluidly associated with the first bag (Suh, umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag 100), the second connector (Suh, transport conduit 252) including a first end (Suh, bottom end of transport conduit 252) and an opposing second end (Suh, top end of transport conduit 252), the first end of the second connector (Suh, bottom end of transport conduit 252) being fluidly associated with (Suh, as shown in Fig. 1) the second bag (Suh, transplantation bag 300).
Suh does not expressly disclose the second end of the second connector configured to receive at least a portion of the second end of the first connector.
Gill teaches the second end (left end of coupling member B, Fig. 1) of the second connector (coupling member B) configured to receive at least a portion (at front socket portion 17) of the second end of the first connector (coupling member A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include the second end of the second connector configured to receive at least a portion of the second end of the first connector as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 8, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the first connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector.
Gill teaches that the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) includes a first hub (end fitting 14) and a second hub (socket body 16), the first (end fitting 14) and second hubs (socket body 16) including one or more guide components (at threads 30) to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first (end fitting 14) and second hubs (socket body 16) when joined to define the first connector. (coupling member A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include that the first connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 9, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the second connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector.
Gill teaches that the second connector (coupling member B, Fig. 1) includes a first hub (end fitting 20) and a second hub (externally threaded body 22), the first and second hubs including one or more guide components (Fig. 1 showing threads at externally threaded body 22) to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first (end fitting 20) and second hubs (externally threaded body 22) when joined to define the first connector (coupling member B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include that the second connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 10, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
the first bag (Suh, umbilical cord blood cell freezing bad 100, Fig. 1) includes a blood component, and the second bag (Suh, transplantation bag 300) includes an aqueous solution (Suh, “… thawing fluid in the transplant bag …” – Page 5, Col. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Suh in view of Gill discloses a quick connect, rapid fluid transfer connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a first connector (branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) having a first end (top end of branch pipe 212) and an opposing second end (bottom end of branch pipe 212), the first connector (branch pipe 212) including a cavity (inside branch pipe 212) and a ball (ball 218b) movable therewithin (as shown in Fig. 3), the cavity having a first portion (portion receiving spring 218a) with a first average diameter (diameter of portion receiving spring 218a) and a second portion (portion closed by ball 218b) with a second average diameter (diameter of portion closed ball 218b), and the ball having a third average diameter (diameter of call 218b) that is smaller (as shown Fig. 3) than the first average diameter and greater than (as shown in Fig. 3) the second average diameter; and a second connector (transport conduit 252)having a first end (bottom end of transport conduit 252) and an opposing second end (top end of transport conduit 252).
Suh does not expressly disclose the first connector including a first plunger and a first spring that are together movable between a first position and a second position and the second end of the second connector configured to receive at least a portion of the second end of the first connector, the second connector including a second plunger and a second spring that are together movable between a third position and a fourth position, the ball being in line with the first and second plungers.
Gill teaches the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) including a first plunger (filter 74) and a first spring (spring 44) that are together movable between a first position (Fig. 1) and a second position (Fig. 2) and the second end of the second connector (right end of coupling member A) configured to receive at least a portion of the second end of the first connector (left end of coupling member B, Fig. 1), the second connector (coupling member B) including a second plunger (shaft-like insert 110) and a second spring (spring 44) that are together movable between a third position (Fig. 1) and a fourth position (Fig. 2), the ball (ball or check valve 10, Fig. 1) being in line (See annotated Fig. 2) with the first (filter 74) and second plungers (shaft-like insert 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include the first connector including a first plunger and a first spring that are together movable between a first position and a second position and the second end of the second connector configured to receive at least a portion of the second end of the first connector, the second connector including a second plunger and a second spring that are together movable between a third position and a fourth position, the ball being in line with the first and second plungers as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 12, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the second plunger is configured to engage with the first plunger and to move the first plunger from the first position to the second position when joined to the first connector to form the connection.
Gill teaches that the second plunger (shaft-like insert 110, Fig. 1) is configured to engage with the first plunger (filter 74) and to move the first plunger from its first position (Fig. 1) to its second position (Fig. 2) when joined (as shown in Fig. 2) to the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) to form the connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include that the second plunger is configured to engage with the first plunger and to move the first plunger from the first position to the second position when joined to the first connector to form the connection as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 13, Suh in view of Gill discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the first connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector; and the second connector includes a third hub and a fourth hub, the third and fourth hubs including one or more second guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the third and fourth hubs when joined to define the first connector.
Gill teaches that the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) includes a first hub (end fitting 14) and a second hub (socket body 16), the first (end fitting 14) and second hubs (socket body 16) including one or more guide components (at threads 30) to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first (end fitting 14) and second hubs (socket body 16) when joined to define the first connector (coupling member A); and the second connector (coupling member B) includes a third hub (end fitting 20) and a fourth hub (externally threaded body 22), the third and fourth hubs including one or more second guide components (Fig. 1 showing threads at externally threaded body 22) to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the third (end fitting 20) and fourth hubs (externally threaded body 22) when joined to define the first connector (coupling member A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include that the first connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector; and the second connector includes a third hub and a fourth hub, the third and fourth hubs including one or more second guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the third and fourth hubs when joined to define the first connector as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 14, Suh in view of Gill disclose a method for reconstituting a blood component (Suh, “regarding thawing of an umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag using a branch pipe …” – Abstract), the method comprising:
joining a first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 1) and a second connector (Suh, transport conduit 252), the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 1) fluidly associated with a first bag (Suh, umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag 100), and the second connector (Suh, transport conduit 252) fluidly associated with a second bag (Suh, transplantation bag 300), and the second bag (Suh, transplantation bag 300).
Suh does not expressly disclose the first connector including a check valve, a first plunger, and a first spring, the first plunger and the first spring together movable between a first position and a second position, the second bag including a second plunger and a second spring that are together movable between a third position and a fourth position, the check valve being in line with the first and second plungers.
Gill teaches the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) including a check valve (check valve 10), a first plunger (filter 74), and a first spring (spring 44), the first plunger and the first spring together movable between a first position (Fig. 1) and a second position (Fig. 2), the second bag including a second plunger (shaft-like insert 110) and a second spring (spring 44) that are together movable between a third position (Fig. 1) and a fourth position (Fig. 2), the check valve (check valve 10) being in line with the first and second plungers (See annotated Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Suh to include the first connector including a check valve, a first plunger, and a first spring, the first plunger and the first spring together movable between a first position and a second position, the second bag including a second plunger and a second spring that are together movable between a third position and a fourth position, the check valve being in line with the first and second plungers as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 15, Suh in view of Gill disclose the method(Suh, “regarding thawing of an umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag using a branch pipe …” – Abstract) as recited above, wherein
the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) further includes a cavity (Suh, inside branch pipe 212) having a first portion (Suh, portion receiving spring 218a) with a first average diameter (Suh, diameter of portion receiving spring 218a) and a second portion (Suh, portion closed by ball 218b) with a second average diameter (Suh, diameter of portion closed by ball 218b), and the check valve (Suh, pressure valve 218) includes a ball (Suh, ball 218b) movable within the cavity (Suh, inside branch pipe 212), the ball (Suh, ball 218b) having a third average diameter (Suh, diameter of ball 218b) that is smaller than (Suh, as shown in Fig. 3) the first average diameter (Suh, diameter of portion receiving spring 218a) and greater than (Suh, as shown in Fig. 3) the second average diameter (Suh, diameter of portion closed by ball 218b).
Regarding claim 16, Suh in view of Gill disclose the method(Suh, “regarding thawing of an umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag using a branch pipe …” – Abstract) as recited above, wherein
the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) further includes a retention component Suh, (Fig. 3 showing a portion of branch pipe 212 retaining an end of transport conduit 252) disposed within and extending along at least a portion (Suh, Fig. 3) of the cavity (Suh, inside branch pipe 212).
Regarding claim 17, Suh in view of Gill disclose the method(Suh, “regarding thawing of an umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag using a branch pipe …” – Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the second plunger is configured to engage with the first plunger and to move the first plunger from its first position to its second position when joined to the first connector to form the connection.
Gill teaches that the second plunger (shaft-like insert 110, Fig. 1) is configured to engage with the first plunger (filter 74) and to move the first plunger from its first position (Fig. 1) to its second position (Fig. 2) when joined (as shown in Fig. 2) to the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) to form the connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Suh to include that the second plunger is configured to engage with the first plunger and to move the first plunger from its first position to its second position when joined to the first connector to form the connection as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 18, Suh in view of Gill disclose the method(Suh, “regarding thawing of an umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag using a branch pipe …” – Abstract) as recited above, wherein
the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) includes a first end (Suh, top end of branch pipe 212) and an opposing second end (Suh, bottom end of branch pipe 212), the first end (Suh, top end of branch pipe 212) of the first connector (Suh, branch pipe 212, Fig. 3) being fluidly associated with the first bag (Suh, umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag 100), the second connector (Suh, transport conduit 252) including a first end (Suh, bottom end of transport conduit 252) and an opposing second end (Suh, top end of transport conduit 252), the first end of the second connector (Suh, bottom end of transport conduit 252) being fluidly associated with (Suh, as shown in Fig. 1) the second bag (Suh, transplantation bag 300).
Suh does not expressly disclose the second end of the second connector configured to receive at least a portion of the second end of the first connector.
Gill teaches the second end (left end of coupling member B, Fig. 1) of the second connector (coupling member B) configured to receive at least a portion (at front socket portion 17) of the second end of the first connector (coupling member A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Suh to include the second end of the second connector configured to receive at least a portion of the second end of the first connector as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 19, Suh in view of Gill disclose the method(Suh, “regarding thawing of an umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag using a branch pipe …” – Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the first connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector.
Gill teaches that the first connector (coupling member A, Fig. 1) includes a first hub (end fitting 14) and a second hub (socket body 16), the first (end fitting 14) and second hubs (socket body 16) including one or more guide components (at threads 30) to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first (end fitting 14) and second hubs (socket body 16) when joined to define the first connector. (coupling member A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Suh to include that the first connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Regarding claim 20, Suh in view of Gill disclose the method(Suh, “regarding thawing of an umbilical cord blood cell freezing bag using a branch pipe …” – Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the second connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector.
Gill teaches that the second connector (coupling member B, Fig. 1) includes a first hub (end fitting 20) and a second hub (externally threaded body 22), the first and second hubs including one or more guide components (Fig. 1 showing threads at externally threaded body 22) to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first (end fitting 20) and second hubs (externally threaded body 22) when joined to define the first connector (coupling member B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Suh to include that the second connector includes a first hub and a second hub, the first and second hubs including one or more guide components to assist in and ensure proper alignment of the first and second hubs when joined to define the first connector as taught by Gill for simplifying the process of connecting together the fluid lines (Gill, Col. 1 Line 35 and Col. 6 Line 52).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (KR 20050094235 A) in view of Gill (US Patent No. 2926934 A) and in further view of Di Capua Jr. et al. (US Pub No. 20240390663 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Suh in view of Gill and Di Capua Jr. discloses the connection (Suh, Figs. 1-3) as recited above, wherein
Suh does not expressly disclose that the second connector includes a seal disposed around at least a portion of the second plunger.
Di Capua Jr. teaches that the second connector (second coupling 610, Fig. 26B) includes a seal (valve seal 635, Fig. 26B) disposed around at least a portion of the second plunger (second piston 658, Fig. 26B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection of Suh to include that the second connector includes a seal disposed around at least a portion of the second plunger as taught by Di Capua allowing fluid to flow through the second coupling passageway (Di Capua, Para [0101]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 6/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 and 5-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Suh in view of Gill.
Applicant argues that Suh and Gill, considered along or in combination are silent with regard to the check valve or ball being in line with first and second plungers. In contrast, as illustrated in FIGS. 3-5 of Gill the as-alleged check valve is on a different plane than the as-alleged first and second plungers.
Examiner interprets that Gill teaches a check valve or ball being in line with the first and second plungers as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above.
With respect to applicant’s argument the rejection above teaches the claimed limitation.
Examiner further relies on Di Capua Jr. teach the newly added claim 21 as recited above.
The rejection above is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783