DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are under examination.
Claim 2 is withdrawn.
Claim 15 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (U.S. Patent US 10,974,965 B2), hereinafter Moon, in view of Lee et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2023/0238517 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of January 25th, 2022 as previously cited), hereinafter Lee, in view of Jo et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0269519 A1), hereinafter Jo.
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses a negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising:
a silicon-carbon composite (i.e., at least silicon composite comprising as disclosed in C1:L60-67 and C2:L1-15, also see C2:L16-20, Figs. 1-2, C6:L22-45, C7:L10-24, ) in which crystalline carbon (i.e., at least carbonaceous coating layer may further include crystalline carbon, etc., as disclosed in C8:L55-62, C12:L1-16, Figs. 5-6, C34:L62-67),
silicon particles (i.e., at least porous silicon composite secondary particle as disclosed in C1:L60-67, whereby as disclosed in C2:L4-11 the porous silicon secondary particle comprises an aggregate of silicon primary particles, each comprising silicon, etc., also see C5:L22-30, C6:L10-44, Fig. 1), and
amorphous carbon (i.e., at least as disclosed in C6:L45-54 whereby the silicon-containing structure ref. 10 may include the silicon composite and carbonaceous coating layer ref. 15 including a first amorphous carbon ref. 14, the silicon-containing structure may also include a second amorphous carbon ref. 14, for example, the silicon composite may include the second amorphous carbon ref. 14, and more specifically, pores in the porous silicon secondary particle may include the second amorphous carbon ref. 14, etc., also see C1:L62-67, C2:L1-14, C5:L22-32, C6:L22-44, etc.), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Moon further discloses in C8:L55-62 the carbonaceous coating layer may further include crystalline carbon, etc., and the crystalline carbon may include natural graphite, artificial graphite, carbon nanotubes, etc., or a combination thereof.
Since Moon discloses in C6:L21-54 referring to Fig. 1, a silicon-containing structure ref. 10 according to an embodiment may include at least one porous silicon secondary particle, and the porous silicon secondary particle may include an aggregate of silicon composite primary particles, the silicon composite primary particles may include silicon ref. 11, etc., and further discloses in C6:L45-54 whereby the silicon-containing structure ref. 10 may include the silicon composite and carbonaceous coating layer ref. 15 including a first amorphous carbon ref. 14, the silicon-containing structure may also include a second amorphous carbon ref. 14, for example, the silicon composite may include the second amorphous carbon ref. 14, and more specifically, pores in the porous silicon secondary particle may include the second amorphous carbon ref. 14, etc., (also see C1:L62-67, C2:L1-14, C5:L22-32, C6:L22-44, C12:L1-16, etc.), and further discloses in C8:L55-62 the carbonaceous coating layer may further include crystalline carbon, etc., and the crystalline carbon may include natural graphite, artificial graphite, carbon nanotubes, etc., or a combination thereof, this at least provides said silicon-carbon composite are agglomerated so as to be aggregated and sequentially stacked, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
Moon further discloses in C8:L55-62 the carbonaceous coating layer may further include crystalline carbon, etc., and the crystalline carbon may include natural graphite, artificial graphite, carbon nanotubes, etc., or a combination thereof, which at least provides carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite, such that since said carbonaceous coating layer may include carbon nanotubes this at least provides said carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Moon further discloses in C1:L60-67 porous silicon composite secondary particle, whereby as disclosed in C2:L4-11 the porous silicon secondary particle comprises an aggregate of silicon primary particles, each comprising silicon, etc., (also see C5:L22-30, C6:L10-44, Fig. 1), which at least provides the silicon particles are agglomerated primary particles of a secondary silicon particle.
Moon further discloses in C8:L55-62 the carbonaceous coating layer may further include crystalline carbon, etc., and the crystalline carbon may include natural graphite, artificial graphite, carbon nanotubes, etc., or a combination thereof, etc., and further discloses in C5:L21-30 a carbonaceous coating layer on the silicon composite, etc., (also see C6:L22-54 and Fig. 1 with regards to said carbonaceous layer coated on the secondary silicon particle), which at least provides the crystalline carbon is coated on the secondary silicon particle, lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Moon is silent as to single-walled carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite. Furthermore, Moon is silent as to the silicon particles are included in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 9 wt%, based on a total 100 wt% of the silicon-carbon composite.
Lee teaches a bilayer-structured silicon carbon composite anode material, preparation method thereof and secondary battery comprising the same (Title). Lee further teaches a negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising:
a silicon-carbon composite in which crystalline carbon (i.e., at least flake graphite such as natural and/or synthetic graphite as disclosed in [0107], and as evidenced by the instant specification in [0032], lacking any further chemical distinction thereof as to said crystalline carbon, also see [0028]-[0029], [0037], [0041], [0171], [0089], [0303], Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 4b),
silicon particles (i.e., at least nano-silicon (Si), etc., as disclosed in [0303], whereby as disclosed in [0088] the nano-silicon may have an average particle diameter of 90 nm to 110 nm, thereby necessitating silicon particles, also see [0073], [0078], [0548]),
and amorphous carbon (i.e., at least amorphous hard carbon ref. 14; a soft coating layer ref. 30 formed on an outer circumferential surface of the hard coating layer ref. 20, etc., as discussed in [0303] and shown in Fig. 1, and lacking any further chemical distinction thereof as to said amorphous carbon, also see [0018], [0022], [0028]-[0029], [0031], [0037]-[0038], [0040]-[0041], [0303], [0313]) are agglomerated (i.e., at least anode material ref. 100 that includes a core ref. 10 including nano-silicon (Si) ref. 12 and amorphous hard carbon ref. 14, and flake graphite ref. 16 dispersed in the porous matrix, etc., as discussed in [0303] and shown in Fig. 1, etc., which is at least agglomerated so as to provide an anode material ref. 100 that has a spherical shape as disclosed in [0306], as well as a core that, for example, has a spherical shape as disclosed in [0315], and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said agglomerated, also see [0313], [0554] and Fig. 3 of a surface of the anode material of Example 1, as well as [0556] and Figs. 4A-B regarding spherical shape of said anode material).
Lee further teaches single-walled carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite (i.e., at least at least carbon nanotube layer ref. 40 formed on an outer circumferential surface of the soft coating layer ref. 30 as disclosed in [0303] and shown in Fig. 1, whereby as disclosed in [0343] the carbon nanotubes may include at least one type selected from among single-walled carbon nanotubes, etc., such that said carbon nanotube layer formed by depositing a solution containing carbon nanotubes on the outer circumferential surface of the soft coating layer, etc., as discussed in [0121] at least necessitates nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite, and lacking any further distinction thereof).
Lee further teaches in [0341] the carbon nanotube layer serves to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Moon with the teachings of Lee, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite as disclosed by Moon further includes single-walled carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite as taught by Lee so as to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Moon and Lee are silent as to the silicon particles are included in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 9 wt%, based on a total 100 wt% of the silicon-carbon composite.
Jo teaches method of preparing negative electrode active material for lithium secondary battery and lithium secondary battery using the same (Title). Jo further teaches in [0100] a negative electrode active material ref. 10 for a lithium secondary battery including a silicon composite, etc., whereby as taught in [0104] the amorphous silicon particles may be included in an amount of 1 wt% to 95 wt%, etc., based on a total weight of the negative electrode active material, etc., which at least provides a range that overlaps the claimed range of the silicon particles are included in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 9 wt%, based on a total 100 wt% of the silicon-carbon composite, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see [0101]-[0125]). Although Jo teaches a method of preparing a negative electrode active material including the silicon composite, this necessitates said silicon composite is present so as to achieve said method.
Jo further teaches in [0048] according to a method of the present invention, oxidation may be prevented during the preparation of silicon nanoparticles, and amorphous silicon particles for a negative electrode active material having controlled crystallinity may be prepared, and as a negative electrode active material, in which an electrode thickness expansion phenomenon is reduced in comparison to a case of using crystalline silicon particles by including these amorphous silicon particles, and a negative electrode including the negative electrode active material may be prepared, whereby a lithium secondary battery, in which initial efficiency, reversible capacity, and life characteristics are improved by including the above negative electrode, may be prepared.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Moon and Lee with the teachings of Jo, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the silicon-carbon composite, crystalline carbon, amorphous carbon, silicon particles, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Moon and Lee further include the wt% range of the silicon particles as taught by Jo so that oxidation may be prevented during the preparation of silicon nanoparticles, and amorphous silicon particles for a negative electrode active material having controlled crystallinity may be prepared, and as a negative electrode active material, in which an electrode thickness expansion phenomenon is reduced in comparison to a case of using crystalline silicon particles by including these amorphous silicon particles, and a negative electrode including the negative electrode active material may be prepared, whereby a lithium secondary battery, in which initial efficiency, reversible capacity, and life characteristics are improved by including the above negative electrode, etc.
Regarding claim 3, Moon discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Moon is silent as to the single-walled carbon nanotubes discontinuously coat the surface of the silicon-carbon composite.
The combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose single-walled carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite as discussed above in claim 1. Lee further teaches in [0342] the carbon nanotube layer maybe formed in a structure in which the carbon nanotubes are inserted into pores formed on the core and the outermost surface of the soft coating layer or in some regions thereof, or in which the carbon nanotubes are irregularly dispersed on the outer circumferential surface of powder, etc., which at least provides the single-walled carbon nanotubes discontinuously coat the surface of the silicon-carbon composite, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that irregularly dispersed carbon nanotubes on the outer circumferential surface at least necessitates said nanotubes discontinuously coat the surface of the silicon-carbon composite, lacking any further structural and/or chemical distinction thereof as to said surface.
Lee further teaches in [0341] the carbon nanotube layer serves to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite as disclosed by Moon further includes single-walled carbon nanotubes coated discontinuously on the silicon-carbon composite as taught by Lee so as to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Regarding claims 4-7, Moon discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1.
However, with regards to claim 4, Moon is silent as to the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes is about 0.01 wt% to about 0.5 wt% based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material. Furthermore, with regards to claim 5, Moon is silent as to the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes is about 0.02 wt% to about 0.5 wt% based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material. Furthermore, with regards to claim 6, Moon is silent as to the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes is about 0.05 wt% to about 0.5 wt% based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material. Furthermore, with regards to claim 7, the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes is about 0.05 wt% to about 0.3 wt% based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material.
The combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose the single-walled carbon nanotubes as discussed above in claim 1. Lee further teaches in [0344] the carbon nanotube layer may be present in an amount of 0.2 wt%, (based on the total weight of the anode material), etc., which at least provides a range of the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material that is within the claimed range of the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes is about 0.01 wt% to about 0.5 wt% based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material (with regards to claim 4), the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes is about 0.02 wt% to about 0.5 wt% based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material (with regards to claim 5), the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes is about 0.05 wt% to about 0.5 wt% based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material (with regards to claim 6), the amount of single-walled carbon nanotubes is about 0.05 wt% to about 0.3 wt% based on 100 wt% of the total weight of the negative active material (with regards to claim 7), thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.) (also see [0395], [0520]).
Lee further teaches in [0341] the carbon nanotube layer serves to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo with the teachings of Lee, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite as disclosed by the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo further includes single-walled carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite and in the quantities as taught by Lee so as to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Regarding claims 8-10, Moon discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1.
However, with regards to claim 8, Moon is silent as to the single-walled carbon nanotubes have an average length of about 0.5 µm to about 10 µm. Furthermore, with regards to claim 9, the single-walled carbon nanotubes have an average length of about 0.5 µm to about 5 µm. Furthermore, with regards to claim 10, the single-walled carbon nanotubes have an average length of about 0.5 µm to about 3 µm.
The combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose the single-walled carbon nanotubes as discussed above in claim 1. Lee further teaches in [0346] the carbon nanotubes may have a length of 0.5 µm to 50 µm, which at least provides an average length range that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of the single-walled carbon nanotubes have an average length of about 0.5 µm to about 10 µm (with regards to claim 8), the single-walled carbon nanotubes have an average length of about 0.5 µm to about 5 µm (with regards to claim 9), the single-walled carbon nanotubes have an average length of about 0.5 µm to about 3 µm (with regards to claim 10), thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see [0346], [0350], [0394], [0435], [0477], [0522]).
Lee further teaches in [0341] the carbon nanotube layer serves to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite as disclosed by the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo further includes single-walled carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite including the dimensions of said carbon nanotubes as taught by Lee so as to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Regarding claims 11-14, Moon discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Moon is silent as to the singled-walled carbon nanotubes are coated on a surface of the silicon-carbon composite at a thickness of about 0.2 µm to about 10 µm.
The combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose the single-walled carbon nanotubes as discussed above in claim 1. Lee further teaches in [0476] the carbon nanotube layer may have a thickness of 1 µm to 10 µm, etc., which at least provides a range of thickness that are within the claimed range of the single-walled carbon nanotubes are coated on a surface of the silicon-carbon composite at a thickness of about 0.2 µm to about 10 µm (with regards to claim 11), thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.) (also see [0030], [0039], [0042], [0305], [0345], [0393], [0521]).
Lee further teaches in [0476] the carbon nanotube layer may have a thickness of 1 µm to 10 µm, etc., which at least provides a range of thicknesses that overlap and/or encompass the claimed range of the single-walled carbon nanotubes are coated on a surface of the silicon-carbon composite at a thickness of about 0.2 µm to about 8 µm (with regards to claim 12), the single-walled carbon nanotubes are coated on a surface of the silicon-carbon composite at a thickness of about 0.2 µm to about 6 µm (with regards to claim 13), the single-walled carbon nanotubes are coated on a surface of the silicon-carbon composite at a thickness of about 0.2 µm to about 4 µm (with regards to claim 14), thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see [0030], [0039], [0042], [0305], [0345], [0393], [0521]).
Lee further teaches in [0341] the carbon nanotube layer serves to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite as disclosed by the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo further includes single-walled carbon nanotubes coated on the silicon-carbon composite including the thickness of said carbon nanotubes as taught by Lee so as to improve electrical conductivity of the anode material while securing good high capacity/high output characteristics thereof.
Regarding claim 16, Moon discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1. Moon appears silent as to the amorphous carbon is about 20 wt% to about 60 wt% based on the total 100 wt% of the silicon-carbon composite.
The combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1.
Jo further teaches in [0111] the amorphous carbon may be included in an amount of 0.1 wt % to 50 wt % based on the total weight of the negative electrode active material, etc., which at least provides a range that overlaps the claimed range of the amorphous carbon is about 20 wt% to about 60 wt% based on the total 100 wt% of the silicon-carbon composite, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see [0101]-[0125]).
Jo further teaches in [0048] according to a method of the present invention, oxidation may be prevented during the preparation of silicon nanoparticles, and amorphous silicon particles for a negative electrode active material having controlled crystallinity may be prepared, and as a negative electrode active material, in which an electrode thickness expansion phenomenon is reduced in comparison to a case of using crystalline silicon particles by including these amorphous silicon particles, and a negative electrode including the negative electrode active material may be prepared, whereby a lithium secondary battery, in which initial efficiency, reversible capacity, and life characteristics are improved by including the above negative electrode, may be prepared.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Moon and Lee with the teachings of Jo, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the silicon-carbon composite, crystalline carbon, amorphous carbon, silicon particles, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Moon and Lee further include the wt% range of the amorphous carbon as taught by Jo so that oxidation may be prevented during the preparation of silicon nanoparticles, and amorphous silicon particles for a negative electrode active material having controlled crystallinity may be prepared, and as a negative electrode active material, in which an electrode thickness expansion phenomenon is reduced in comparison to a case of using crystalline silicon particles by including these amorphous silicon particles, and a negative electrode including the negative electrode active material may be prepared, whereby a lithium secondary battery, in which initial efficiency, reversible capacity, and life characteristics are improved by including the above negative electrode, etc.
Regarding claim 17, Moon discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Moon appears silent as to the crystalline carbon composite is about 20 wt% to about 60 wt% based on the total 100 wt% of the silicon-carbon composite.
The combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1.
Jo further teaches in [0118] the crystalline carbon may be included in an amount of 10 wt % to 90 wt % based on the total weight of the negative electrode active material, etc., which at least provides a range that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of the crystalline carbon composite is about 20 wt% to about 60 wt% based on the total 100 wt% of the silicon-carbon composite, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see [0101]-[0125]).
Jo further teaches in [0048] according to a method of the present invention, oxidation may be prevented during the preparation of silicon nanoparticles, and amorphous silicon particles for a negative electrode active material having controlled crystallinity may be prepared, and as a negative electrode active material, in which an electrode thickness expansion phenomenon is reduced in comparison to a case of using crystalline silicon particles by including these amorphous silicon particles, and a negative electrode including the negative electrode active material may be prepared, whereby a lithium secondary battery, in which initial efficiency, reversible capacity, and life characteristics are improved by including the above negative electrode, may be prepared.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Moon and Lee with the teachings of Jo, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the silicon-carbon composite, crystalline carbon, amorphous carbon, silicon particles, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Moon and Lee further include the wt% range of the crystalline carbon as taught by Jo so that oxidation may be prevented during the preparation of silicon nanoparticles, and amorphous silicon particles for a negative electrode active material having controlled crystallinity may be prepared, and as a negative electrode active material, in which an electrode thickness expansion phenomenon is reduced in comparison to a case of using crystalline silicon particles by including these amorphous silicon particles, and a negative electrode including the negative electrode active material may be prepared, whereby a lithium secondary battery, in which initial efficiency, reversible capacity, and life characteristics are improved by including the above negative electrode, etc.
Regarding claim 18, Moon discloses the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1. Since Moon discloses in C6:L21-54 referring to Fig. 1, a silicon-containing structure ref. 10 according to an embodiment may include at least one porous silicon secondary particle, and the porous silicon secondary particle may include an aggregate of silicon composite primary particles, the silicon composite primary particles may include silicon ref. 11, etc., and further discloses in C6:L45-54 whereby the silicon-containing structure ref. 10 may include the silicon composite and carbonaceous coating layer ref. 15 including a first amorphous carbon ref. 14, the silicon-containing structure may also include a second amorphous carbon ref. 14, for example, the silicon composite may include the second amorphous carbon ref. 14, and more specifically, pores in the porous silicon secondary particle may include the second amorphous carbon ref. 14, etc., (also see C1:L62-67, C2:L1-14, C5:L22-32, C6:L22-44, C12:L1-16, etc.), and further discloses in C8:L55-62 the carbonaceous coating layer may further include crystalline carbon, etc., and the crystalline carbon may include natural graphite, artificial graphite, carbon nanotubes, etc., or a combination thereof, this at least provides the silicon-carbon composite includes agglomerated products in which the crystalline carbon and the silicon particles are agglomerated and the amorphous carbon is between the agglomerated products, covers the surface of the agglomerated products, or is both between the agglomerated products and covering the agglomerated products, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
In the alternative, the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1. Lee teaches the amorphous carbon (i.e., at least amorphous hard carbon ref. 14; soft coating layer ref. 30 formed on an outer circumferential surface of the hard coating layer ref. 20, etc., as discussed above in claim 1). Lee further discloses in [0303] referring to Fig. 1, an anode material ref. 100 includes a core ref. 10 including a porous matrix containing nano-silicon (Si) ref. 12 and amorphous hard carbon ref. 14, and flake graphite ref. 16 dispersed in the porous matrix; a hard coating layer ref. 20 formed on an outer circumferential surface of the core ref. 10 and containing amorphous hard ref. 14; a soft coating layer ref. 30 formed on an outer circumferential surface of the hard coating layer ref. 20, etc., which at least provides the silicon-carbon composite includes agglomerated products in which the crystalline carbon and the silicon particles are agglomerated (i.e., at least nano-silicon (Si) and flake graphite are at least agglomerated so as to form a core) and the amorphous carbon covers the surface of the agglomerated products (i.e., at least covers the surface so as to be formed on an outer circumferential surface of the core, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Lee further teaches in [0012] an aspect relates to a method of preparing a bilayer-structure silicon carbon composite anode material that has durability and structural stability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery including the crystalline carbon, silicon particles, amorphous carbon, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo further includes the silicon-carbon composite includes agglomerated products in which the crystalline carbon and the silicon particles are agglomerated and flake graphite are at least agglomerated so as to form a core) and the amorphous carbon covers the surface of the agglomerated products as taught by Lee so as to provide a bilayer-structure silicon carbon composite anode material that has durability and structural stability.
Regarding claims 19, The combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose the negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery as discussed above in claim 1. Moon further discloses a negative active material layer including the negative active material and a binder (i.e., at least as disclosed in C23:L20-25 whereby an electrode includes a silicon-containing structure or carbon composite including the silicon-containing structure, according to any of the above-described embodiments, whereby the electrode may be an electrode for a lithium battery, and the electrode may be a negative electrode, etc., such that as disclosed in C23:L44-51 the negative electrode may be formed by molding, into a predetermined shape, a negative active material composition which may include, for example, a silicon-containing structure or a carbon composite as a negative active material, a binder, etc., or may be formed by coating the negative active material composition on a current collector, such as a copper foil (Cu), etc., so as to form a negative electrode plate as disclosed in C23:L55-67, and such that a plate is a least a layer, lacking any further distinction thereof);
And a current collector supporting the negative active material layer (i.e., at least formed by coating the negative active material composition on a current collector, such as a copper foil (Cu), etc., so as to form a negative electrode plate as disclosed in C23:L55-67, etc.).
Regarding claim 20, The combined teachings of Moon and Lee and Jo disclose the rechargeable lithium battery, comprising: the negative electrode as discussed above in claim 19. Moon further discloses the negative electrode as discussed above in claim 19. Moon further discloses a positive electrode (i.e., at least positive electrode as disclosed in C24:L42-52, C26:L11-15); and an electrolyte (i.e., at least electrolyte as disclosed in C26:L44-67, C27:L31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-14 and 16-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Moon and Lee and Park have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, a new grounds of rejection 35 U.S.C 103 for claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 in view of Moon and Lee and Jo is made. See the current rejection of record for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ko (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0123356 A1) discloses electrode for rechargeable lithium battery and rechargeable lithium battery including the same (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0059] the negative active material including the silicon may be for example a silicon-carbon composite including crystalline carbon and a silicon particle, etc.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727