This action is responding to the amendment filed on 10/15/2025.
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Per claim 2, “to be executed the RPA bot” is not clear in scope. Interpretation: to be executed by the RAP robot.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the optimal RPA engine package” on line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Interpretation: an optimal RPA engine package for the optimal RAP engine version.
Claims 3-5 and 9 are rejected because of dependency on claims 2 and 8 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (CN 113885911, hereafter Song) and Luft et al. (WO 2015103560, hereafter Luft).
Per claim 1:
Song teaches: A robotic process automation (RPA) bot execution optimization method executed by a computing system, comprising:
performing an installation of an RPA solution on the computing system, the installation comprising installing an RPA agent and a default RPA engine (Song, see at least page 2, the RPA robot control end is stored with a plurality of RPA robot client version, wherein the plurality of RPA robot belongs to the same target object of the client version of the RPA robot is the same version; based on the RPA robot client version information, performing version updating operation to the client of the RPA robot … the starting the RPA robot client version updating program; Note that the control end corresponds to the RPA agent and the RPA client version to the engine);
acquiring, by the installed RPA agent, an execution request for an RPA bot (Song, see at least page 2 , the RPA robot control end obtains the RPA robot client version information… based on the check update request … wherein the version update prompt information includes an option control for whether to update; responding to the triggering operation of the user to update the option control, starting the client version updating program of the RPA robot; page 3, the user triggers the update option control operation, starting the client version update program of the RPA robot; Note that the RPA robot control end obtains the update request (i.e. an execution request));
determining, by the installed RPA agent, a representative version of an RPA scenario for the RPA bot; identifying, by the installed RPA agent, an optimal RPA engine version for executing the RPA scenario representative version, from among a plurality of RAP engine versions compatible with the RPA scenario representative version (Song, see at least page 1, the RPA robot control end is stored with a plurality of RPA robot client version, wherein the plurality of RPA robot belongs to the same target object of the client version of the RPA robot is the same version; based on the RPA robot client version information, performing version updating operation to the client of the RPA robot; page 2, , wherein the plurality of RPA robot belongs to the same target object of the client version of the RPA robot is the same version; based on the RPA robot client version information, performing version updating operation to the client of the RPA robot… t can obtain the RPA robot client version information from the RPA robot control end, and based on the obtained version information for version updating operation of the RPA robot client, realizing the uniform management of the plurality of RPA robot client version under the same target object, …the RPA robot control end obtains the RPA robot client version information, comprising: responding to the opening operation of the user to the client, reading the configuration file of the RPA robot; based on the updated address in the configuration file, sending an inspection update request to the RPA robot control end corresponding to the update address; page 6, the term version repair description information refers to the new version of the RPA robot client relative to the existing version of the vulnerability, or adding new application function and other specific update description information; note that the new version is the optimal RPA engine version that execute the RPA instruction (scenario));
provisioning, by the installed RPA agent, the identified optimal RPA engine version for execution of the RPA scenario by the RPA bot (Song, see at least page 5, In the description of the present application, the term "RPA robot control end" refers to the foreground display of the service provided by the RPA robot background service end, providing monitoring of one or more RPA robot client belonging to the control end, planning task management, user and authority management, authorization permission management and other functions. wherein the updated address of the RPA robot can be configured by the flow designer, wherein the process designer and the RPA robot client through authorization authentication or authorization login (i.e., connected with the RPA robot control end), automatically filling the updated address of the private deployment in the configuration file, When starting next time, the filled updating address is used as the checking basis; Note that user and authority, authorization permission controls for granting access are provisioning).
Song does not explicitly teach the identifying the optimal version from a plurality of versions is based on multiple priority-based criteria that differentially prioritize the plurality of RPA engine versions. However, utilizing multi-priority options is known in the art. Particularly, Luft teaches identifying the optimal version from a plurality of versions based on multiple priority-based criteria that differentially prioritize the plurality of the versions (Luft, see at least [0032] Where multiple versions of a component are available, selection or priority criteria, possibly specified by the user, may be used to select among the possible components. The selection criteria may specify desirable attributes such as cost, performance, manufacturer/vendor, delivery time and/or means, and so forth, which may guide in the selection of the components; [0184]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Luft’s multiple priority criteria with Song’s RPA update system to modify Song’s system to combine the priority criteria as taught by Luft, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to an update. Combining Luft’s functionality with that of Song results in a system that allows prioritize versions based on different criteria. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to provide the efficiently prioritized version (Luft, see at least [0032] Where multiple versions of a component are available, selection or priority criteria, possibly specified by the user, may be used to select among the possible components. The selection criteria may specify desirable attributes such as cost, performance, manufacturer/vendor, delivery time and/or means, and so forth, which may guide in the selection of the components; [0184]).
6. The RPA bot execution optimization method of claim 1, wherein the identifying the optimal RPA engine version comprises, if there exists a first RPA engine of a same version as the RPA scenario representative version among multiple different RPA engine versions installed on the computing system, and choosing the first RPA engine as the optimal RPA engine version, and the multiple different RPA engine versions include a default engine and additional RPA engine versions additionally installed on a computing device by the RPA agent (Song, see at least abstract, the RPA robot control end is stored with a plurality of client versions of RPA robot, wherein the plurality of RPA robots belong to the same target object of the RPA robot client version is the same version; … page 2, wherein the plurality of RPA robot belongs to the same target object of the client version of the RPA robot is the same version; based on the RPA robot client version information, performing version updating operation to the client of the RPA robot… realizing the uniform management of the plurality of RPA robot client version under the same target object).
7. The RPA bot execution optimization method of claim 6, wherein the identifying the optimal RPA engine version, further comprises sending a request for an update package for the first RPA engine to an RPA agent service server and downloading the update package for the first RPA engine (Song, see at least abstract, the RPA robot control end is stored with a plurality of client versions of RPA robot, wherein the plurality of RPA robots belong to the same target object of the RPA robot client version is the same version; … page 2, wherein the plurality of RPA robot belongs to the same target object of the client version of the RPA robot is the same version; based on the RPA robot client version information, performing version updating operation to the client of the RPA robot… realizing the uniform management of the plurality of RPA robot client version under the same target object).
13. A robotic process automation (RPA) solution recorded on a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, the RPA solution being executed by a computing system to execute installing an RPA agent on the computing system; installing a default RPA engine on the computing system (Song, see at least page 2, the RPA robot control end is stored with a plurality of RPA robot client version, wherein the plurality of RPA robot belongs to the same target object of the client version of the RPA robot is the same version; based on the RPA robot client version information, performing version updating operation to the client of the RPA robot … the starting the RPA robot client version updating program; Note that the control end corresponds to the RPA agent and the RPA client version to the engine);
consistently executing the RPA agent in a background mode (Song, see at least page 10, Step S405: in response to the RPA robot currently in the maintenance mode, and the first client version number is not consistent with the current client version number, reporting the updated state to the RPA robot control end, and updating the version of the RPA robot client end in a silence update mode. wherein the silence update refers to the non-disturbing user (e.g., not displaying the update program interface), updating program automatically finish the updating according to the updated set value)
wherein the RPA agent acquires an execution request for an RPA bot (Song, see at least page 2 , the RPA robot control end obtains the RPA robot client version information… based on the check update request … wherein the version update prompt information includes an option control for whether to update; responding to the triggering operation of the user to update the option control, starting the client version updating program of the RPA robot; page 3, the user triggers the update option control operation, starting the client version update program of the RPA robot; Note that the RPA robot control end obtains the update request (i.e. an execution request));
determines a representative version of an RPA scenario for the RPA bot, identifies an optimal RPA engine version for executing the RPA scenario representative version, from among a plurality of RAP engine versions compatible with the RPA scenario representative version (Song, see at least page 1, the RPA robot control end is stored with a plurality of RPA robot client version, wherein the plurality of RPA robot belongs to the same target object of the client version of the RPA robot is the same version; based on the RPA robot client version information, performing version updating operation to the client of the RPA robot; page 2, , wherein the plurality of RPA robot belongs to the same target object of the client version of the RPA robot is the same version; based on the RPA robot client version information, performing version updating operation to the client of the RPA robot… t can obtain the RPA robot client version information from the RPA robot control end, and based on the obtained version information for version updating operation of the RPA robot client, realizing the uniform management of the plurality of RPA robot client version under the same target object, …the RPA robot control end obtains the RPA robot client version information, comprising: responding to the opening operation of the user to the client, reading the configuration file of the RPA robot; based on the updated address in the configuration file, sending an inspection update request to the RPA robot control end corresponding to the update address; page 6, the term version repair description information refers to the new version of the RPA robot client relative to the existing version of the vulnerability, or adding new application function and other specific update description information; note that the new version is the optimal RPA engine version that execute the RPA instruction (scenario));
provisions the identified optimal RPA engine version for execution of the RPA scenario by the RPA bot (Song, see at least page 5, In the description of the present application, the term "RPA robot control end" refers to the foreground display of the service provided by the RPA robot background service end, providing monitoring of one or more RPA robot client belonging to the control end, planning task management, user and authority management, authorization permission management and other functions. wherein the updated address of the RPA robot can be configured by the flow designer, wherein the process designer and the RPA robot client through authorization authentication or authorization login (i.e., connected with the RPA robot control end), automatically filling the updated address of the private deployment in the configuration file, When starting next time, the filled updating address is used as the checking basis; Note that user and authority, authorization permission controls for granting access are provisioning).
Song does not explicitly teach the identifying the optimal version from a plurality of versions is based on multiple priority-based criteria that differentially prioritize the plurality of RPA engine versions. However, utilizing multi-priority options is known in the art. Particularly, Luft teaches identifying the optimal version from a plurality of versions based on multiple priority-based criteria that differentially prioritize the plurality of the versions (Luft, see at least [0032] Where multiple versions of a component are available, selection or priority criteria, possibly specified by the user, may be used to select among the possible components. The selection criteria may specify desirable attributes such as cost, performance, manufacturer/vendor, delivery time and/or means, and so forth, which may guide in the selection of the components; [0184]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Luft’s multiple priority criteria with Song’s RPA update system to modify Song’s system to combine the priority criteria as taught by Luft, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to an update. Combining Luft’s functionality with that of Song results in a system that allows prioritize versions based on different criteria. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to provide the efficiently prioritized version (Luft, see at least [0032] Where multiple versions of a component are available, selection or priority criteria, possibly specified by the user, may be used to select among the possible components. The selection criteria may specify desirable attributes such as cost, performance, manufacturer/vendor, delivery time and/or means, and so forth, which may guide in the selection of the components; [0184]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Luft and Damodaran et al. (US20240111524, hereafter Damodaran).
Per claim 10:
Song teaches monitoring, by the installed RPA agent, whether the execution of the RPA scenario by RPA bot is completed (Song, see at least page 3, In one implementation, the current client version data of the RPA robot can be backed up; when monitoring the client version update failure of the RPA robot, based on the backup of the current client version data for version rollback; page 5, In the description of the present application, the term "RPA robot control end" refers to the foreground display of the service provided by the RPA robot background service end, providing monitoring of one or more RPA robot client belonging to the control end, planning task management, user and authority management, authorization permission management and other functions; page 10, , before updating the RPA robot client, the current client version data of the RPA robot for backup, when monitoring the client version update failure of the RPA robot, based on the backup data of the current client version for version rollback).
Song does not explicitly teach upon completion, generating RPA bot execution report data containing one or more metrics associated with the execution of the RPA bot and transmitting, by the installed RPA agent, the RPA bot execution report data to an RPA agent service server. Damodaran teaches upon completion, generating RPA bot execution report data containing one or more metrics associated with the execution of the RPA bot and transmitting, by the installed RPA agent, the RPA bot execution report data to an RPA agent service server (Damodaran, see at least [0151] a remote network management platform may assign tasks to bots, and control when the bots carry out these tasks. Further, the bots may report telemetry data and other performance metrics to the remote network management platform during and/or after their execution). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Damodaran’s execution metrics report to a server with Song’s RPA update system and Luft’s priority criteria to modify Song’s system to combine the reporting function as taught by Damodaran, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to an update. Combining Damodaran’s functionality with that of Song and Luft results in a system that allows report execution metrics to a server. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to provide execution telemetry data for further evaluation or optimization (Damodaran, see at least [0151] a remote network management platform may assign tasks to bots, and control when the bots carry out these tasks. Further, the bots may report telemetry data and other performance metrics to the remote network management platform during and/or after their execution).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record, taken alone or in combination, do not teach the combinations recited in the claims.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) s 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s remark that Song does not teach the amended limitations, Song teaches provisioning including user and authority, authorization permission controls for granting access (Song, see at least page 5, user and authority management, authorization permission management … authorization authentication or authorization login). The new reference Luft teaches multiple priority-based criteria that differentially prioritize a plurality of the versions as has shown above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20160266888 is related to prioritizing more desirable update types.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/INSUN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193