DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending and are examined on their merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 based on the date of the provisional application 63/419,049 filed on October 25th 2022.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 7, 12, and 14 are directed towards the compound of claim 1, 8, and 13, respectively, disposed in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. As this is not a common term of art, each of these claims will be interpreted as “A pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of claim ___ and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamenecka (US 2012/0309757 A1).
Claims 1-6 are directed towards a compound of the structure:
.
Kamenecka teaches the compound,
(Kamenecka, pg. 240, claim 13).
This compound is anticipatory of claims 1-6.
Kamenecka additionally teaches the compound in a pharmaceutical composition (Kamenecka, pg. 272, claim 14), anticipating claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamenecka (US 2012/0309757 A1) in view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 8-11 and 13 are directed towards a compound of the structure,
.
Kamenecka teaches the compound,
(Kamenecka, pg. 240, claim 13),
which differs from applicant’s in just 2 locations:
.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in developing applicant’s compound from Kamenecka’s compound because each of these substitutions are known bioisosteric replacements in the field of drug design. See Brown (Brown, pg. 17) who teaches the commonality both of the replacement of hydrogen with methyl and the replacement of hydroxides with OR groups such as OCH3. As one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in performing these replacements on Kamenecka’s compound to form applicant’s compound, claims 8-11 and 13 are prima facie obvious.
Kamenecka additionally teaches the compound in a pharmaceutical composition (Kamenecka, pg. 272, claim 14), rendering claims 12 and 14 prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629