DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 newly recites the controller controls the driver according to the sun’s position (lines 14-16) making the recitation in the alternative (that the controller is configured to control the driver according to either a traveling speed OR light energy) on lines 10-12 indefinite and unclear because the recited limitation would not follow if the controller acted only based on traveling speed. For the purposes of examination on the merits, the “or” on line 11 will be taken to be an “and” (narrowing the scope of the claim) such that the controller must be capable of performing both tasks for clarity.
Claim 16 recites “solar cell modules” in line 2 and “respective solar cell modules” in line 3 both of which lack antecedent basis because “a solar cell module” was previously recited in claim 1, line 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 13, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 637 in view of JP 2007-180484.
For claim 1, KR 2012-0134637 (KR 637) discloses a system for harvesting energy of a mobility vehicle, the system comprising:
a spoiler (11,110) provided on an outer surface of the mobility vehicle (10), wherein an angle (operation angle, Abstract) of the spoiler is adjusted so as to adjust an air flow;
a driver (118) installed on the mobility vehicle for mounting the spoiler,
the driver configured to generate a driving force (as an adjustment, Abstract) when operating such that the spoiler is tilted in at least one direction, thereby changing the angle of the spoiler;
a solar cell module (solar panel 120) installed on the spoiler so as to convert light energy into electric energy; and
a controller (155) configured to control the driver according to a traveling speed of the mobility vehicle and according to whether light energy is input (the controller (155) controls the position of the solar cell module to be “perpendicular to sunlight” based on “sunlight measuring signals” (Abstract) such as photovoltaic measurement signals (PV measurement S210 to electric signal S220); specifically, the system provides solar “tracking sensors” (130) to accomplish this), thereby determining the angle of the spoiler.
KR 637 does not anticipate the need for obstacle detection per se but does disclose adjusting the angle of the spoiler if the signal value received is above or below a threshold. That is, should an obstacle block the spoiler, the resulting signal value would be lower than a set value and therefore the spoiler would be adjusted accordingly. In this way, KR 637 anticipates obstacle detection (which would amount to a low photovoltaic measurement signal).
KR 637 therefore lacks only providing the spoiler in “an initial position” when the sun is blocked by an obstacle (“adjusts the spoiler to an initial position when the sun’s position identified through the sunlight sensing portion matches with the obstacle”).
JP 2007-180484 teaches a sun tracking system having a solar panel (panel assembly) which is positioned at an initial position when it is “cloudy or when the sun is not shining”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the system of KR 637 at an initial position when cloudy or when the sun is not shining (blocked by an obstacle) as taught by JP 484 for efficiency (so that efficient solar tracking and efficient use of sunlight are possible).
For claim 18, KR 637, as modified, discloses the sunlight sensing portion identifies the sun's position over time ([0013]), and the controller adjusts the position of the spoiler such that the solar cell module follows the sun's position if the controller confirmed that light is incident onto the mobility vehicle as a result of a change in the sun's position over time.
For claim 2, the spoiler is configured to be tilted in the at least one direction being forwards or backwards ([0013]).
For claim 9, the controller controls the driver, if the mobility vehicle travels at a preset speed or higher ([0012]), such that the spoiler is tilted so as to slope downwards while facing forwards.
For claim 10, the controller controls the driver such that the tilting angle of the spoiler, which slopes downwards while facing forwards, increases ([0007]) according to the traveling velocity of the mobility vehicle, which increases beyond the preset speed.
For claim 13, the controller (155) adjusts the position of the spoiler according to the sun’s position input through the sunlight sensing portion (130) ([0016]) when the mobility vehicle is stationary.
For claim 15, the sunlight sensing portion comprises photosensor modules (sun tracker sensor (130)) configured to sense the amount of solar radiation such that the sun's position is identified according to the intensity of solar radiation input to respective photosensor modules.
For claim 20, KR 637, as modified, discloses a mobility vehicle (10) comprising the system of claim 1.
Claims 3, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 637 as modified and applied above to claim 1 and in view of KR 576.
KR 637 fails to provide multiple spoilers or the controller capable of controlling the driver based on a braking sensing speed.
KR 101561576 (KR 576) teaches these features, where multiple spoilers (100, 200) are configured on the outer surface of the mobility vehicle (FIGS. 2 and 5), each of the multiple spoilers being equipped with a respective driver (left and right dive units), and the respective drivers configured to operate individually (“independently”, Abstract) under the control of the controller to allow angles of the respective spoilers to be differently adjusted.
KR 576 further provides a controller that controls the driver such that the spoiler is tilted so as to slope downwards while facing backwards if the mobility vehicle is decelerated below a braking sensing speed within a preset time (a braking sensor (700) measures the braking force of the vehicle and the inclination angle of the left and right spoilers (100,200) “may be increased or decreased in proportion to the generated braking force”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have adapted the singular spoiler of KR 637 to encompass multiple spoilers as taught by KR 576 and further to have included a braking sensor with corresponding control as taught by KR 576 in order to better control/stabilize the overall balance of the vehicle, especially when braking.
For claim 16, KR 576 teaches, as set forth above, the use of multiple spoilers and a control unit (300) but KR 637, as modified above, fails to provide multiple controllers each being configured to individually control one respective spoiler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided a second controller to control the second spoiler for it is a mere duplication of part having no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced which is not the case in this instance. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Moreover, it has been held that mere duplication of an essential working part of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (B).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 637 as modified and applied above to claim 1 and further in view of DE 10201086536 (DE 536).
KR 637 discloses the driver (118) comprises a housing (115) and further specifies that a gear transmission device, a belt transmission device, a friction transmission device, a final reduction gear, and the like may be installed inside the housing (115) (not shown) ([0030]).
KR 637 fails to set forth the specifics of the driving portions as recited.
For claim 4, DE 536 teaches a solar cell device for a vehicle having a driver comprising a housing, a first driving portion (oppositely positioned 18c, FIG.2), and a second driving portion (oppositely positioned 18c, FIG.2),
the first driving portion is configured such that the spoiler is tilted forwards/backwards, and the second driving portion is configured such that the spoiler is tilted leftwards/rightwards.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided four distinct driving portions as provided by DE 536 for use within distinct housings (115) of KR 637 in order to allow for forward/backward and lateral movement of the spoiler to optimize the use of the solar cell module.
Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 637 as modified and applied to claim 4 and further in view of KR 100956360 (KR 360).
KR 637, as modified, fails to set forth the specifics of the housing and does not provide the driving portions housed within a housing comprising a lower cover and an upper cover, the lower cover is fixedly installed on the mobility vehicle, the upper cover is provided above the lower cover such that the angle thereof is changed.
This feature is known from KR 360 which shows a solar cell module (FIG.1) having a driver comprising a housing (lower cover 210; and upper cover 262) with driving portions contained therein (FIGS.7-10). A PHOSITA understands a housing for the driving components offers protection from debris, elements, and wear.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the driver of KR 637, as modified, within a housing having upper and lower covers as taught by KR 360 in order to enclose and protect the drive portions from undue damage or wear.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 637, as modified and applied above with respect to claim 6, and further in view of DE 102008023549 (DE 549).
For claim 21, KR 637 discloses the driver (118) comprising a support (115) and further specifies that a gear transmission device, a belt transmission device, a friction transmission device, a final reduction gear, and the like may be installed inside the housing (115) (not shown) ([0030]).
KR 637 lacks only the driver comprising
first and second actuators and corresponding first and second links as recited including the specifics of the first and second motor portions and first and second gear portions.
DE 549 teaches a solar cell module (FIG.1) having a driver comprising first and second driving portions (see generally cogwheel segments 6, FIGS.1-2) which move a universal joint (3),
the first driving portion is configured such that the spoiler is tilted forwards/backwards, and the second driving portion is configured such that the spoiler is tilted leftwards/rightwards (corresponding to claim 8 of the current invention).
DE 549 further teaches the first driving portion includes a first actuator (gear 16/17) and a first link (segment 6),
the first actuator is installed on a lower portion so as to generate a driving force,
the first link is connected to the upper panel so as to receive the driving force from the first actuator and to move accordingly.
DE 549 further teaches the second driving portion comprises a second actuator (gear, not numbered in FIG.1) and a second link (cogwheel segment, not numbered, FIG.1),
the second actuator is installed on the lower cover so as to generate a driving force, and
the second link is connected to the upper panel so as to receive the driving force from the second actuator and to move in a different direction from the first link.
The first actuator comprises a first motor portion (16,17 to communicate with motor 15) and a first gear portion (gear/cogwheel) configured to receive power from the first motor portion and to rotate accordingly,
the first gear portion is configured to mesh with an inner peripheral surface (see where the inner arcuate segment meshes on an inner surface, FIG.1) of the first link,
the second actuator comprises a second motor portion and a second gear portion configured to receive power from the second motor portion and to rotate accordingly, and
the second gear portion is configured to mesh with an inner peripheral surface (inner arcuate segment surface) of the second link.
The first link is disposed to rotate forwards/backwards, and the second link is disposed to rotate leftwards/rightwards (as seen in FIG.1, above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided in place of the driver for KR 637 a system as shown in DE 549 in order to allow for forward/backward and lateral movement of the spoiler to optimize the use of the solar cell module.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 637 as modified and applied above to claim 1 and further in view of Cooley.
For claim 14, the sunlight sensing portion identifies the sun's position in current position of the mobility vehicle by aggregating the current position of the mobility vehicle (when stopped) and time ([0013]) but fails to include weather information.
Cooley (2024/0424900) teaches a control system (1216) configured to communicate with a vehicle computer (1334) and to receive input as well as additional data ([0087]). The vehicle computer sends input (from sensors and input devices) as well as the additional data, which can include vehicle velocity (from accelerometer 1338) and weather data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have included for the aggregation of information for the sunlight sensing portion of KR 637 additional data as weather information as taught by Cooley in order to better inform the positioning of the spoiler.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 637, as modified and applied above to claim 1 and further in view of either KR 300 or Ward.
KR 637 makes no mention that the solar cell module is detachably installed on the spoiler.
This feature is found in KR 300 (KR 2016-0141300) or alternatively, Ward (2008/0143292).
KR 300 teaches a solar power generation device including a solar tracker which controls the rotation angle and alignment of a solar cell (panel 100). The solar panel (100) is provided on a frame (200) and is detachable from the frame.
Alternatively, Ward (2008/0143292) teaches a vehicle having solar panels directed toward the sun. The solar panels are modular and can be easily removable ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have made the solar module of KR 637 detachable as taught by either of KR 300 or Ward in order to allow the module to be removable for replacement or theft prevention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112(b) rejection, claim 16 still lacks antecedent basis because where only one solar cell module (“a solar cell module”) is recited in claim 1 from which claim 16 depends, the claim recites a plurality (“modules”).
On page 10 of 11 of the remarks, applicant reiterates what is taught from JP 484. Applicant then goes on to state that even if the reference is combined with KR 637 the proposed combination would not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. Applicant provides no additional comments as to why applicant believes this to be so. Applicant then states “In summary” the proposed combination does not teach the limitations of the claim but again provides no additional comments as to the reasoning behind this statement.
Regarding the 103 prior art rejections, applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 763 teaches a sensing unit (110) sensing an object based on a shadow captured on the surface of a solar panel (200), and a controller (control unit 140) that analyzes information on the object based on the shadow sensed. An image sensor (a camera) captures the shadow/obstacle on the solar panel and the control unit (140) analyzes the information to determine the type of object based on the shape.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B