DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 C.F.R. § 1.84 because they include halftones instead of solid black lines. See Figs. 1-5. Halftone images are not the equivalent to black and white line drawings for the subject matter of the figures. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(a)(1). Halftones are more similar to photographs than to drawings which use only solid black lines; photographs are normally not permitted, unless they are the “only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention.” 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(b)(1). Halftone images do not give the drawings satisfactory reproduction characteristics, 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(l), at least because the lines defining the features of the device are neither clean nor sufficiently dense and dark. Id. To the extent that the use of halftones in the instant drawings may qualify as “shading” within the meaning of 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(m), they detract, rather than aid in, an understanding of the invention and also reduce legibility of the drawings.
The record evidence, including patent publications disclosing subject matter similar to that disclosed in this application, demonstrates that neither photographs nor illustrations including halftones are the “only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention.” Accordingly, new drawings are required for the above-identified figures which do not include the use of halftones.
Specification
The Abstract of the Disclosure (“Abstract”) is objected to because it is too long (186 words) and includes legal phraseology (“said”).
A corrected Abstract is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Any replacement Abstract must commence on a separate sheet, apart from any other text, 37 C.F.R. §§ 1.52(b)(4), 1.72(b), and include markings to show added and deleted text, 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(b)(2).
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 3, line 2, Claim 5, lines 2 and 3, and Claim 6, lines 2 and 3, the claims recite “the longitudinal slot,” while the antecedent basis for the slot is “at least one longitudinal slot” from Claim 1, at line 11. Because the broadest reasonable interpretation of “at least one longitudinal slot” is “one longitudinal slot” the claims’ scopes are reasonably clear; however, Applicant should rectify this problem.
In Claim 5, line 2, “protrudes” should be “protrude.”
While the foregoing issues with the claims do not, in the current view of the Examiner, rise to a level necessitating a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), if Applicant asserts that the accused terms and phrases of the claim(s) are entirely unobjectionable and the Examiner disagrees, the objection may be changed to a rejection under sec. 112(b) because Applicant’s and the Examiner’s interpretations of the claims may therefore be at issue, and the scope of the claim would thus be unclear.
Appropriate correction is thus required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of Claim 14 references the “shielding system of Claim 11,” which instead is directed to a “syringe assembly,” while Claim 12 is directed to a “shielding system;” thus, the scope of the claim is indefinite, because either the “shielding system” lacks a positive antecedent basis, or the dependency of the claim is in question. The claim has been treated as depending from Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 4,923,447, by Morgan (“Morgan”).
Morgan describes a syringe assembly as claimed by Applicant, as follows.
Claim 1: A syringe assembly for use in medication delivery (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
- a syringe barrel (11) having a needle (12) at a distal end of the barrel;
- a tubular body (18) defining an enclosure (hollow interior), said barrel extending at least partially within said enclosure (Fig. 1);
- a safety shield (19) for the needle, longitudinally movable with respect to the tubular body between a retracted position and an activated position (shown with phantom lines in Figs. 1-3);
- a spring (28) urging said safety shield towards said activated position (note the two positions of the shield and the compression of the spring);
- a first locking mechanism (notch 26) for locking the safety shield in the retracted position, wherein the first locking mechanism is manually releasable by a user so as to let the safety shield reach the activated position (see col. 4, lines 10-17);
- the tubular body including at least one longitudinal slot (23), and the safety shield including at least radial pin (24) engaging the longitudinal slot such that the radial pin moves from a proximal part (at notch 26) of the longitudinal slot to a distal part (where notch 27 is located, shown in Fig. 1) of the longitudinal slot when the safety shield moves from the retracted position towards the activated position;
- the first locking mechanism being configured to hold the radial pin at the proximal part of the longitudinal slot (holds at least a de minimus amount).
Claim 9: (The syringe assembly of claim 1,) wherein the needle is covered by the safety shield in the activated position (Fig. 3, in phantom line) and the needle is not covered by the safety shield in the retracted position (Fig. 3, in solid line).
Claim 11: (The syringe assembly of claim 1,) comprising a prefilled syringe (15, filled when used) comprising said barrel, said needle, a stopper (14) and a plunger rod (16).
Claim 12: A shielding system (Figs. 1-4) for a syringe for use in medication delivery comprising a barrel and a needle at a distal end of the barrel, said shielding system comprising:
- a tubular body (18) defining an enclosure (its hollow interior), said barrel extending at least partially within said enclosure (Figs. 1-4);
- a safety shield (19) for the needle, longitudinally movable with respect to the tubular body between a retracted position and an activated position (see Figs. 1 and 3, showing the extended position in phantom lines);
- a spring (28; id.) urging said safety shield towards said activated position;
- a first locking mechanism (notch 26) for locking the safety shield in the retracted position (Fig. 1), wherein the first locking mechanism is manually releasable by a user so as to let the safety shield reach the activated position (col. 3, 48-59);
- the tubular body comprising a longitudinal slot (23), and the safety shield comprising a radial pin (24) engaging the longitudinal slot such that the radial pin moves from a proximal part of the longitudinal slot to a distal part of the longitudinal slot when the safety shield moves from the retracted position towards the activated position (id.);
- the first locking mechanism being configured to hold the radial pin at the proximal part of the longitudinal slot (holds at least a de minimus amount against longitudinal motion).
Claim 13: A method for operating the syringe assembly of claim 1, comprising a step of triggering release of the radial pin by the first locking mechanism so that the spring moves the safety shield from the retracted position towards the activated position (col. 4, lines 5-27).
Claim 14: A method for operating the shielding system of claim 11 (note treatment above), comprising a step of triggering release of the radial pin by the first locking mechanism so that the spring moves the safety shield from the retracted position towards the activated position (id.) (the structures of Claim 11 not manipulated by a process step in Claim 14 have no effect on the scope of the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0319832, by Chun (“Chun”).
Morgan describes an assembly substantially as claimed by Applicant; see above. It does not, however, describe that:
the syringe assembly further includes a second locking mechanism for permanently and non-reversingly locking the safety shield in the activated position after the first locking mechanism is released (Claim 2);
the second locking mechanism is configured to receive and then hold the radial pin at the distal part of the longitudinal slot (Claim 3);
the second locking mechanism comprises a locking leg which is forcedly deflected by the radial pin when the safety shield moves from the retracted position towards the activated position (Claim 4); and
the locking leg includes at a distal end thereof a cut configured and sized to receive the radial pin (Claim 7); and
the distal part of the longitudinal slot comprises a curved portion where the radial pin sits when the safety shield is in its activated position (Claim 8); and
the first locking mechanism is a bayonet mount (Claim 10).
Chun relates to telescoping syringe needle tip safety covers, which include a radial pin and a longitudinal track for the pin, and is therefore from an art which is the same as, or very closely analogous to, those of Applicant’s claims. Chun teaches that the ends of the longitudinal track (46) can be provided with locking mechanisms (58, 60, in Fig. 5) to permanently and non-reversibly secure the pin, and therefore the needle shield, in the extended position, to further protect the user from needle stick injury. More specifically, Chun describes:
the syringe assembly further includes a second locking mechanism (58, 60) for permanently and non-reversingly locking the safety shield in the activated position after the first locking mechanism is released ([0036]: “This creates a one-way gate which immobilizes the projection 24 and hence the protective sleeve 14 in the deployed position covering the point 56 of the needle 44 . . . ,” [0041]) (Claim 2);
the second locking mechanism is configured to receive and then hold the radial pin at the distal part of the longitudinal slot (id.) (Claim 3);
the second locking mechanism comprises a locking leg (60) which is forcedly deflected by the radial pin when the safety shield moves from the retracted position towards the activated position (id. and Fig. 6) (Claim 4);
the locking leg includes at a distal end thereof a cut configured and sized to receive the radial pin (cut portion is the part of the leg 60 just proximal of the enlarged portion 64, receives the pin before deflecting the arm) (Claim 7);
the distal part of the longitudinal slot comprises a curved portion (at 58) where the radial pin sits when the safety shield is in its activated position (Claim 8); and
the first locking mechanism is a bayonet mount (66, 68 in Fig. 3) (Claim 10).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to provide Morgan’s assembly with the foregoing additional features of Claims 2-4, 7, 8, and 10, because Chun teaches doing so in a closely related device, in order to better protect the user from needle stick injury.
Concerning Claim 7, a person of ordinary skill in the art may not consider the aforementioned portion of Chun’s arm to be a “cut” as that term is used in this application. Nevertheless, Chun teaches that a locking portion (54, generally) of the same device can include a “cut” (66, 68, and the portion of the lock in which its pin resides in Fig. 3), in order to further inhibit movement of the pin-and-sleeve until desired by the user.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan and Chun as applied to Claims 2 and 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2023/0076974, by Daily et al. (“Daily”)
Morgan and Chun together describe an assembly substantially as claimed by Applicant; see above. They do not, however, describe that:
the pin radially protrudes from the tubular body when it is at the proximal part of the longitudinal slot, and that the pin does not radially protrudes from the tubular body when it is at the distal part of the longitudinal slot (Claim 5); or
the longitudinal slot is provided with a rim enclosing the distal part of the longitudinal slot but not the proximal part of the longitudinal slot (Claim 6).
Daily relates to telescoping syringe needle tip safety covers, which include a radial pin and a longitudinal track for the pin, and is therefore from an art which is the same as, or very closely analogous to, those of Applicant’s claims. Daily teaches that, in order to reduce access to the pin (222, shown in Fig. 4C, in the distal position, to be recessed in the slot relative to its protruding position in Fig. 3C) and thus better ensure that the device telescopes properly in use (as described at [0150]):
the pin radially protrudes from the tubular body when it is at the proximal part of the longitudinal slot (Fig. 3C), and that the pin does not radially protrudes from the tubular body when it is at the distal part of the longitudinal slot (Fig. 4C) (Claim 5); and
the longitudinal slot is provided with a rim enclosing the distal part of the longitudinal slot but not the proximal part of the longitudinal slot (the rim surrounding the widened distal slot, Fig. 3C, is a different rim from that surrounding the proximal portion of the slot, e.g., at 244, and thus does not enclose the proximal slot, as claimed).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to provide Morgan’s assembly with the foregoing additional features of Claims 5 and 6, because Daily teaches doing so in a closely related device, in order to reduce access to the pin and thus inhibit interference with its automatic sliding motion in the slot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 8,128,594 describes bayonet locks for pins.
The balance of the documents cited with this Office Action relate generally to telescoping needle shields.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217.9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800.786.9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571.272.1000.
/ADAM J. CERMAK/
Assistant Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783