DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US Patent Application No. 2009/0162680) in view of Lloyd et al. (US Patent No. 3,455,733).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng et al. teach a composite wood product (page 1, paragraphs [0008]-[0010], page 2, paragraph [0018]) comprising a multiple layer substrate comprising wood strands (page 1, paragraphs [0008]-[0010], page 2, paragraph [0018]), said substrate comprising an upper face (page 1, paragraphs [0008]-[0010], page 2, paragraph [0018]); an overlay affixed to the upper surface (page 5, paragraph [0041]), said overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 5, paragraph [0041]).
Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Lloyd et al. teach a cellulosic substrate impregnated with a butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (col. 1, lines 20-30).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the butylated melamine formaldehyde of Lloyd et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. in order to produce a laminate at low cost and exhibits a high degree of crack and craze resistance (Lloyd et al., col. 1, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 2, Zheng et al. teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component does not comprise methylated melamine formaldehyde resin (entire document).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin comprises 100% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Lloyd et al. teach a cellulosic substrate impregnated with a butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (col. 1, lines 20-30), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises 100% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (col. 1, lines 20-30).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the butylated melamine formaldehyde of Lloyd et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. in order to produce a laminate at low cost and exhibits a high degree of crack and craze resistance (Lloyd et al., col. 1, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin comprises approximately 50% to approximately 100% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Lloyd et al. teach a cellulosic substrate impregnated with a butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (col. 1, lines 20-30), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises 100% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (col. 1, lines 20-30).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the butylated melamine formaldehyde of Lloyd et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. in order to produce a laminate at low cost and exhibits a high degree of crack and craze resistance (Lloyd et al., col. 1, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin comprises approximately 75% to approximately 100% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Lloyd et al. teach a cellulosic substrate impregnated with a butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (col. 1, lines 20-30), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises 100% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (col. 1, lines 20-30).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the butylated melamine formaldehyde of Lloyd et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. in order to produce a laminate at low cost and exhibits a high degree of crack and craze resistance (Lloyd et al., col. 1, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 14, Zheng et al. teach wherein the overlay is a paper overlay (page 5, paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng et al. teach wherein the overlay is not fissured (entire document).
Claims 4-7, 9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US Patent Application No. 2009/0162680) in view of Lloyd et al. (US Patent No. 3,455,733), in further view of Ong et al. (US Patent Application No. 2008/0017307).
Zheng et al. and Lloyd et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 4, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 1% to approximately 10% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Ong et al. teach a laminate comprising an overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
Ong et al. do not disclose wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 1% to approximately 10% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde resin in order to provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde of Ong et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 10% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Ong et al. teach a laminate comprising an overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprising butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
Ong et al. do not disclose wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 10% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde resin in order to provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde of Ong et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 10% to approximately 25% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Ong et al. teach a laminate comprising an overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprising butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
Ong et al. do not disclose wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 10% to approximately 25% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde resin in order to provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde of Ong et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde component comprises approximately 25% to approximately 50% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Ong et al. teach a laminate comprising an overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprising butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
Ong et al. do not disclose wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 25% to approximately 50% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde resin in order to provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde of Ong et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde component comprises approximately 50% to approximately 75% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Ong et al. teach a laminate comprising an overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprising butylated melamine formaldehyde resin (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
Ong et al. do not disclose wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 50% to approximately 75% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde resin in order to provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde of Ong et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde component comprises approximately 50% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and approximately 50% methylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Ong et al. teach a laminate comprising an overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprising butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and methylated melamine formaldehyde resin (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
Ong et al. do not disclose wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprises approximately 50% butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and 50% methylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and methylated melamine formaldehyde resin in order to provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and methylated melamine formaldehyde resin of Ong et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component further comprises methylated melamine formaldehyde resin. However, Ong et al. teach a laminate comprising an overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprising butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and methylated melamine formaldehyde resin (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the methylated melamine formaldehyde resin of Ong et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Zheng et al. fail to teach wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component is a combination of said butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and methylated melamine formaldehyde resin, wherein the percentage amount of each sum to 100%. However, Ong et al. teach a laminate comprising an overlay comprising a melamine formaldehyde resin component (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]), wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component comprising butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and methylated melamine formaldehyde resin (page 1, paragraph [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0023]).
Ong et al. do not disclose wherein the melamine formaldehyde resin component is a combination of said butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and methylated melamine formaldehyde resin, wherein the percentage amount of each sum to 100%. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of butylated melamine formaldehyde resin and methylated melamine formaldehyde resin in order to provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the methylated melamine formaldehyde resin of Ong et al. in the overlay of Zheng et al. provide excellent grease and water resistance and low flammability (Ong et al., page 1, paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 7/31/2025