DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vasic, et al. (EP 1473657).
Regarding claim 1, Vasic discloses “a light emitting diode (LED) array comprising a plurality of LEDs (Fig. 1a, ref.# 4) configured to sequentially (paragraph 0018: sequentially) emit light towards a target object (Fig. 1a, ref.# M), each of said LEDs being configured to emit a differing light wavelength from one another (paragraph 0018: spectrally different light sources); a scanning hood (Fig. 1a, ref.# 3) configured to house said LED array; a luminosity sensor (Fig. 1a, ref.# 5) configured to capture luminosity data of each light emitted by said plurality of LEDs and reflected from said target object; a printed circuit board (POE) (Fig. 1a, ref.# PCB) configured to provide electronic connections for said LED array (Fig. 1a, ref.# 4) and the luminosity sensor (Fig. 1a, ref.# 5); an onboard processor (Fig. 1a, ref.# 7) configured to control activation sequence of said LED array and said luminosity sensor; a housing (Fig. 1a, ref.# 2) configured to encase said POE and said onboard processor and to connect to said luminosity sensor and said scanning hood; and a trigger (Fig. 1A, ref.# R, T; paragraph 0087) configured to control operation of said device and connected to said housing.”
Regarding claim 2, Vasic discloses “wherein said plurality of LEDs includes six LEDs.” (paragraph 0025: four to twelve LEDs)
Regarding claim 3, Vasic discloses “wherein said plurality of LEDs includes seven LEDs.” (paragraph 0025: four to twelve LEDs)
Regarding claim 4, Vasic discloses “wherein said plurality of LEDs includes eight LEDs.” (paragraph 0025: four to twelve LEDs)
Regarding claim 5, Vasic discloses “wherein said plurality of LEDs is configured to emit light when said scanning hood (Fig. 1a, ref.# 3) contacts said target object (Fig. 1a, ref.# M).”
Regarding claim 6, Vasic discloses “a communication circuit configured to perform a short-range communication with a client device.” (paragraph 0036)
Regarding claim 7, Vasic discloses “wherein said short-range communication is wireless communication.” (paragraph 0036)
Regarding claim 8, Vasic discloses “wherein said client device is a computer.” (paragraph 0036)
Regarding claim 9, Vasic discloses “wherein each of said plurality of the LEDs emits light within a 20 nm to 50 nm band around a specified target wavelength.” (paragraph 0026) (Note: LED form Roithner LaserTechnik No. B-5-433-B525 is given by Vasic as an example LED, which has a band within 20nm to 50nm – Data sheet provided as a reference cited but not relied upon)
Roithner LaserTechnic Data Sheet: B5-433-B525 (dated 07/04/2011)
Regarding claim 10, Vasic discloses “wherein one or more artificial intelligence or machine learning algorithms are applied to said luminosity data to determine an origin of said target object.” (paragraph 0016, 0056-0061, 0095-0096)
Regarding claim 11, Vasic discloses “wherein one or more artificial intelligence or machine learning algorithms are applied to said luminosity data to determine an identification of said target object.” (paragraph 0016, 0056-0061, 0095-0096)
Regarding claim 12, Vasic discloses “a power source.” (Fig. 1a, ref.# 70)
Regarding claim 13, Vasic discloses “the multispectral imaging device of claim 1; and a computer communicatively connected to said multispectral imaging device (paragraph 0036), wherein said computer is configured to apply one or more artificial intelligence (AT)or machine learning (ML) algorithms to the luminosity data of the target object for determining an identity and/or origin of the target object (paragraph 0016, 0056-0061, 0095-0096).”
Regarding claim 14, Vasic discloses “positioning a multispectral imaging device for capturing reflectance data of a target object; activating said multispectral imaging device to begin an illumination sequence; capturing said reflectance data of said target object; transmitting said captured reflectance data to a computing device for performing artificial intelligence or machine learning processing to identify said target object.” (paragraph 0042 – 0043)
Regarding claim 15, Vasic discloses “wherein said multispectral imaging device (Fig 1) is positioned to contact said target object (Fig. 1a, ref.# I, M).”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Japanese Document (JP 203532630), Farkas, et al. (US 2022/0268751), Nakamura, et al. (JP 2019180682), Farkas, et al. (US 201901293620), Hwang, et al. (US 2019/0090751), Kido (US 2018/0330490),Mutti, et al. (US 9,959,628), Park, et al. (KR 20160148091), Jang, et al. (KR 20160147586), Park (KR 20160117092), Gareau, et al. (WO 2015/013288),Hirasawa, et al. (WO 2013137145), Korean Document (KR 101261274), Sugano, et al. (JP 2004252600), McQueen, et al. (US 6,069,696) and Henderson, et al. (US 3,910,701) teach a spectrum detection system with a plurality of LEDs with differing wavelengths.
Roithner LaserTechnik, Technical Data Sheet: B5-433-B525, www.roithner-laser.com/datasheets/led_div/b5-433-b525.pdf, 07/04/2011 shows the wavelength and band range for a green LED taught in Vasic, et al. (EP 1473657).
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
January 21, 2026