DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/26, regarding the teachings of Fang, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11, of applicant’s response, applicant notes that the local address table of Fang shows a mapping between an “end point” and addresses, and further recites portions of Fang indicating that the address table may be extended to map end points with APNs (paragraph 238 of Fang).
Fang further discloses that the phrase “end point” is understood as an organizing concept and may include specific devices or groups of devices performing different functionality.
“[0107] An end point, as used herein, should be understood broadly. An end point is an organizing concept for access to a network 104, 106 of the vehicle, and may include a specific device (e.g., an engine controller, a transmission controller, a door controller, an infotainment system, etc.), a group of devices having a single network access (e.g., multiple devices communicating together through a single network access point, where the network 104, 106 and/or the CND 108 may have visibility to the individual devices, or may only have visibility to the communications from the end point as a group). For example, a door controller (not shown) may be an end point for one of the networks 104, 106, with communications for underlying devices (e.g., door position sensor, door lock actuator and position, window actuator and position, etc.) passing to the network 104, 106 through the door controller end point, where the CND 108 may have visibility to the underlying devices (e.g., a message indicating door position, that includes identifiers that the door position sensor is sending the message), or may have visibility only to the door controller end point (e.g., the message indicating the door position is known to be provided by the door controller, but the CND 108 does not know which underlying device may have sent the message).”
Similarly, regarding the service groups, Fang discloses that service group is understood as a broad term, such as “ a related group of applications for the vehicle” and that “any group of local communicating devices may be logically related as a service group.”
“[0110] A service group, as utilized herein, should be understood broadly. An example service group includes a related group of applications for the vehicle. The related group of applications may be entirely positioned on the vehicle (e.g., one or more vehicle systems, functions, or other applications of the vehicle), and/or may include aspects that are positioned on external devices (e.g., with supporting processing, data collection or storage, externally sourced data used by the service group, etc.) which may be a web application, web tool, cloud application, service application, or the like. In certain embodiments, any group of local communicating devices may be logically related as a service group. The utilization of service groups to organize the components and/or applications of the system allows for the same or similar information to be regulated by the CND 108 in a differential manner to support various functions, allowing for improvements in the performance and security of network regulation operations (e.g., reducing unnecessary cross-network traffic, providing information only as needed, and/or regulating communications with external devices), and supports additional functionality relative to previously known systems, such as redundancy support, distributed control, and granular cross-network messaging.”
Thus, Fang’s extended address table mapping of end points with APNs (paragraph 238), constitutes a mapping of “groups of endpoints”, which through similar functionality or local communication are service groups.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not convincing, based on the explicit definitions and usage of “end point” and “service group” as disclosed by Fang.
On page 12, of applicant’s response, applicant further argues that “Fang does not disclose a vehicle controller providing at least two services” and does not disclose or suggest the claimed “service group mapping”.
In response, as indicated above, Fang discloses wherein the “end point” may be a vehicle controller (such as a door controller) providing connection for a plurality of underlying devices/services (door position, door lock, window controls, etc.; paragraph 107). This related devices provided related functionality are a “service group” as defined by Fang (see paragraph 110, “ a related group of applications for the vehicle” and “any group of local communicating devices may be logically related as a service group.”).
In response to applicant’s further arguments on page 12 that Fang “does not suggest a mapping system that distinguishes between (i) service groups associated with multiple APNs and (ii) service groups associated with a single APN”,
It is noted that the claims merely require mapping information between service groups and their corresponding APN/APNs.
Fang discloses a mapping table that maps each service group to its corresponding APNs (Fig. 21, paragraph 238), based upon the “endpoint” reasoning as shown above, with those communications distributed and adjusted across APNs based upon the aggregate amount of communications (paragraph 260).
Thus, every “endpoint” in the mapping table is mapped to one or more APNs as needed based upon communication traffic levels, thus meeting the current claims. It is unclear what applicant intends by the “distinguishes” argument as this is not language recited within the claim.
In response to applicants arguments on pages 12-13, of applicant’s response, that “Fang fails to disclose or suggest at least "deliver data from the first vehicle controller to a determined APN, of the plurality of APNs, that is associated with the first service group, wherein the data is associated with the first dynamic IP address, wherein the determined APN is determined among the plurality of APNs based on a data traffic status of the plurality of APNs," as recited in present claim 1.
See above regarding the association between an endpoint vehicle controller linking to a plurality of additional endpoint devices which are all referenced as a singular “endpoint” and service group within the teachings of Fang.
Finally, Fang specifically discloses wherein distributing data across selected APNs based upon data rates and communication statuses (see paragraph 260-262).
Thus, the “determined” APN to utilize for any particular service group communications is determined and adjusted as needed based upon a “data traffic status” of the APNs. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not convincing.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 11, “a plurality of APNs” should be changed to --the plurality of APNs-- as applicant’s amendment has now introduced this language earlier in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-14, 16-18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang et al. (Fang) (US 2021/0092019) (of record).
As to claim 1, Fang discloses a service processing device of a vehicle (see Fig. 2-3), the service processing device comprising:
a network interface device comprising a plurality of access point names (APNs) configured to communicate with one or more external computing devices (Fig. 21, 41, paragraph 238, 259-260, 262);
a storage configured to store a table, wherein the table indicates mapping information between each service group of a plurality of service groups and at least one of the plurality of APNs (expanded address table including service groups and APNs; Fig. 21, paragraph 236-239); and
a controller (108) configured to:
communicate with one or more vehicle controllers of the vehicle (paragraph 111-112, 183-186);
allocate dynamic internet protocol (IP) addresses for services provided by the one or more vehicle controllers, wherein the dynamic IPE addresses comprise a first dynamic IP address for a first service of at least two services provided by a first vehicle controller of the one or more vehicle controllers (Fig. 21, 38-40; paragraph 107-112, 193, 200, 205, 214-215, 236-239, 254-257),
map each dynamic IP address of the allocated dynamic IP addresses to a service group associated with at least one of the plurality of APNs, wherein the first dynamic IP address for the first service is mapped to a first service group (policy routing rules indicating which APN to use for different service traffic; Fig. 41, paragraph 238, 259-260, 262); and
deliver data from the first vehicle controller to a determined APN, of the plurality of APNs that is associated with the first service group, wherein the data is associated with the first dynamic IP address (Fig. 41, policy routing rule used to deliver data to selected APN and transceiver for external transmission; paragraph 258-262),
wherein the determined APN is determined among the plurality of APNs based on a data traffic status of the plurality of APNs (data distributed across selected APNs based upon data rates and communication statuses; paragraph 260-262),
wherein the mapping information comprises:
first mapping information between a second service group and at least two APNs of the plurality of APNs (paragraph 236-239, 260-262); and
second mapping information between a third service group and one APN of the plurality of APNs (paragraph 236-239, 260-262).
As to claim 3, Fang discloses wherein the controller is configured to:
receive information on the first service from the first vehicle controller (vehicle controller endpoint indicating underlying device services; Fig. 21, paragraph 107, 236-239, 254-257),
determine, based on the table, the first service group corresponding to the first service (Fig. 21, paragraph 236-239, 254-257),
allocate the first dynamic IP address to the first service (Fig. 21, paragraph 236-239, 254-257), and
match the first dynamic IP address to the first service group (Fig. 21, paragraph 236-239, 254-257).
As to claim 4, Fang discloses wherein the first vehicle controller is configured to deliver, during a booting process of the first vehicle controller, the information on the first service to the controller (policy/addressing determined and CND initialization; paragraph 312).
As to claim 5, Fang discloses wherein the plurality of service groups comprises at least one of:
a connected car service group (paragraph 108-110), an over the air (OTA) service group (paragraph 108-110), a streaming service group (paragraph 108-110), or a mobility service group (paragraph 108-110).
As to claim 7, Fang discloses wherein the controller is configured to deliver, based on load statuses of at least two APNs associated with the first service group, the data to the APN of the at least two APNs associated with the first service group (data distributed across plural APNs based upon data rates and communication statuses; paragraph 260-262).
As to claim 8, Fang discloses wherein the controller is configured to detect data traffics associated with the plurality of APNs, and deliver the data to the determined APN, wherein the determined APN has lower data traffic than data traffic of each of the remaining APNs of the at least two APNs associated with the first service group (data redistributed across plural APNs based upon data rates and communication statuses; paragraph 260-262).
As to claim 9, Fang discloses a service processing method of a vehicle (see Fig. 2-3), the service processing method comprising:
storing, in a storage, a table, wherein the table indicates mapping information between each service group of a plurality of service groups and at least one of a plurality of access point names APNs (expanded address table including service groups and APNs; Fig. 21, paragraph 236-239);
communicating, by a controller (108), with at least one vehicle controllers of the vehicle (paragraph 111-112, 183-186);
allocating, by the controller, dynamic internet protocol (IP) addresses for services provided by the one or more vehicle controllers, wherein the dynamic IP addresses comprise a first dynamic IP address for a first service of at least two services provided by a first vehicle controller of the one or more vehicle controllers (Fig. 21, 38-40; paragraph 107-112, 193, 200, 205, 214-215, 236-239, 254-257),
mapping, by the controller, each dynamic IP address of the allocated dynamic IP addresses to a service group associated with at least one of a plurality of APNs, wherein the first dynamic IP address for the first service is mapped to a first service group (policy routing rules indicating which APN to use for different service traffic; Fig. 41, paragraph 238, 259-260, 262); and
delivering, by the controller, data from the first vehicle controller to a determined APN, of the plurality of APNs, that is associated with the first service group, wherein the data is associated with the first dynamic IP address (Fig. 41, policy routing rule used to deliver data to selected APN and transceiver for external transmission; paragraph 258-262).
wherein the determined APN is determined among the plurality of APNs based on a data traffic status of the plurality of APNs (data distributed across selected APNs based upon data rates and communication statuses; paragraph 260-262),
wherein the mapping information comprises:
first mapping information between a second service group and at least two APNs of the plurality of APNs (paragraph 236-239, 260-262); and
second mapping information between a third service group and one APN of the plurality of APNs (paragraph 236-239, 260-262).
As to claim 11, Fang discloses wherein the allocating of the dynamic IP addresses comprises:
receiving, by the controller, information on the first service from the first vehicle controller (vehicle controller endpoint indicating underlying device services; Fig. 21, paragraph 107, 236-239, 254-257),
determining, by the controller and based on the table, the first service group corresponding to the first service (Fig. 21, paragraph 236-239, 254-257), and
allocating, by the controller, the first dynamic IP address to the first service (Fig. 21, paragraph 236-239, 254-257).
As to claim 12, Fang discloses matching, by the controller, the first dynamic IP address to the first service group (Fig. 21, paragraph 236-239, 254-257), wherein the first service group comprises a plurality of services (paragraph 107, 110),
wherein a first service of the plurality of services of the first service group is provided by the first vehicle controller (paragraph 107, 110, 112), and
wherein a second service of the plurality of services of the first service group is provided by a second vehicle controller (paragraph 107, 110, 112, 184).
As to claim 13, Fang discloses wherein the receiving of the information on the first service comprises: during a booting process of the first vehicle controller, receiving, from the first vehicle controller, the information on the first service (policy/addressing determined and CND initialization; paragraph 312).
As to claim 14, Fang discloses wherein the plurality of service groups comprises at least one of: a connected car service group (paragraph 108-110), an over the air (OTA) service group (paragraph 108-110), a streaming service group (paragraph 108-110), or a mobility service group (paragraph 108-110).
As to claim 15, Fang discloses wherein the table indicates:
first mapping information between a second service group and at least two APNs of the plurality of APNs (paragraph 236-239, 260-262); and
second mapping information between a third service group and one APN of the plurality of APNs (paragraph 236-239, 260-262).
As to claim 16, Fang discloses wherein the delivering of the data comprises:
delivering, based on load statuses of at least two APNs associated with the first service group, the data to the determined APN of the at least two APNs associated with the first service group (data distributed across plural APNs based upon data rates and communication statuses; paragraph 260-262).
As to claim 17, Fang discloses wherein the delivering of the data comprises:
detecting data traffics associated with the plurality of APNs (data rates and communication statuses; paragraph 260-262).; and
delivering, by the controller, the data to the determined APN, wherein the determined APN has lower data traffic than data traffic of each of the remaining APNs of the at least two APNs associated with the first service group (data redistributed across plural APNs based upon data rates and communication statuses; paragraph 260-262).
As to claim 18, Fang discloses wherein the vehicle comprises a plurality of vehicle controllers (paragraph 107, 110, 112, 183-185), wherein the first vehicle controller is configured with a first plurality of services, wherein each service of the first plurality of services belongs to at least one service group of the plurality of service groups (devices/services grouped around a vehicle controller endpoint; paragraph 107, 110, 112),
wherein a second vehicle controller of the plurality of vehicle controllers is configured with a second plurality of services, and wherein each service of the second plurality of services belongs to at least one service group of the plurality of service groups (devices/services grouped around a vehicle controller endpoint; paragraph 107, 110, 112).
As to claim 21, Fang discloses wherein the vehicle comprises a plurality of vehicle controllers (paragraph 107, 110, 112, 183-185), wherein the first vehicle controller is configured with a first plurality of services, wherein each service of the first plurality of services belongs to at least one service group of the plurality of service groups (devices/services grouped around a vehicle controller endpoint; paragraph 107, 110, 112), wherein a second vehicle controller of the plurality of vehicle controllers is configured with a second plurality of services, and wherein each service of the second plurality of services belongs to at least one service group of the plurality of service groups (devices/services grouped around a vehicle controller endpoint; paragraph 107, 110, 112).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20, 22-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424