DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 5187486 A (Kolzer).
In re claims 1 and 7, Kolzer discloses an apparatus (Fig. 5, “signal processor 46”, Col 4, lines 24-28, “In a computing unit 46', this signal 50 is subjected to an integral transformation to obtain the aperture illumination of the antenna. The output of the computing device 46' is fed to a controller 51”) and a method for active calibration and/or linearization of an antenna array (Fig. 1, Col 1, lines 24-27, “To be able to satisfy these requirements, the antennas used must be very well calibrated. This applies to both azimuth antennas (AZ antennas) and elevation antennas (EL antennas)”. Col 1, lines 60-63, “It is the object of the invention to provide a method of and an apparatus for calibrating phased-array antennas in a reproducible manner and with an accuracy required to meet safety standards”) comprising: a set of near-field (NF) probes located proximate the antenna array to receive analog antenna array signals transmitted by the antenna array (Fig. 4:40, Col 2, lines 35-45, “Fig. 1 shows part of a phased-array antenna. The radiating elements of the antenna are designated 11. 10 is an integral monitor waveguide into which signal components from each radiating element are coupled through coupling holes” (signals received transmitted by the antenna array 11, implicitly discloses probes for measurement of signals). Col 3, lines 56-58, “From the radiating elements, signals are coupled to the integral monitor waveguide 40”); and a controller (Fig. 5, “controller 51”) for calculating at least one of calibration signals or linearization signals based on digital equivalents of the analog antenna array signals (Col 3, lines 58-67, “The output of the integral monitor waveguide is fed to the mixer 30, which is also supplied with the radio-frequency signal via the coupler 34. The voltage U developed at the output of the low-pass filter 31 is digitized by means of a sample-and-hold circuit 44 and an analog-to-digital converter 45”. Col 4, lines 18-31, “FIG. 5 shows in more detail how the phase-array antenna of FIG. 4 is calibrated. The phase-array antenna with its radiating elements 43 is shown in FIG. 5 as a block 43. The phase shifters appear as a block 42. A signal 50 appearing at the output of the integral monitor waveguide 40 corresponds to the far field of the antenna. In a computing unit 46, this signal 50 is subjected to an integral transformation to obtain the aperture illumination of the antenna. The output of the computing device 46 is fed to a controller 51. Via a line 52 from storage means 56, the desired value for the phase setting of the phase shifter 42 is fed to a summing point 53” (computing unit calculates calibration signals based on digitized equivalents)) and for controlling the antenna array based on the least one of the calibration signals or linearization signals (Col 4, lines 32-59, “The output signal from the controller 51, which is fed to the summing point 53 via a line 54, is subtracted from this desired value. The phase shifter is thus supplied with the difference between the desired value on line 52 and the output signal from the controller 51 on line 54 (showing calibration). The computing device 46', the controller 51, the summing point 53, and the line carrying the desired values 52 may be implemented in software in a signal processor. All the steps necessary to carry out the method may be performed, for example, in the signal processor 46 of FIG. 4. From FIG. 5 it is apparent that an automatic control system as shown in FIG. 5 is associated with each radiating element 43 of the phased-array antenna. To calibrate the antenna, in a first step, a comparison between the desired value and the actual value of the aperture illumination is performed. At the same time, correction values are generated by the controller. If complete agreement between desired and actual values should not be attainable with these correction values, the control parameters are changed (adaptive control system) and the process just described is repeated. The process is repeated until the desired and actual values of the aperture illumination differ only within prescribed tolerance bands” (controlling the antenna array based on the calibration signals)).
In re claims 2 and 8, Kolzer discloses the apparatus of Claim 1 and the method of Claim 7, wherein the method further comprising: a processing unit for processing the analog antenna array signals to generate digital equivalents of the analog antenna array signal and to pass the digital equivalents of the analog antenna array signals to the controller (Fig. 4, “signal processor 46”, Col 4, lines 40-41, “All the steps necessary to carry out the method may be performed, for example, in the signal processor 46 of FIG. 4”. Col 3, lines 58-67, “The output of the integral monitor waveguide is fed to the mixer 30, which is also supplied with the radio-frequency signal via the coupler 34. The voltage U developed at the output of the low-pass filter 31 is digitized by means of a sample-and-hold circuit 44 and an analog-to-digital converter 45”. Col 4, lines 28-29, “The output of the computing device 46 is fed to a controller 51”).
In re claim 6, Kolzer discloses the apparatus of Claim 2, wherein the processing unit comprises: at least one of combiners, dividers, switches, analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) or couplers (Fig. 3, Col 3, lines 44-50, “As in FIG. 3, a mixer 30, a low-pass filter 31, a radio-frequency-signal source 33, and a coupler 34 are provided”. Col 3, lines 67-68, “A time- and value-discrete signal is thus available at the output of the analog-to-digital converter 45”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5187486 A (Kolzer) in view of CN 109167622 A (WU et al.)(hereinafter WU).
In re claims 3 and 9, Kolzer discloses the apparatus of Claim 1 and the method of Claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprising: an analog precoder for receiving calibration signals to control the antenna array.
WU discloses wherein the method further comprising: an analog precoder for receiving calibration signals to control the antenna array (Page 2, lines 19-24, “For the first antenna sub-array, firstly using digital precoder to control amplitude, then using analogue precoder to adjust the phase. After the optimization the first antenna sub array can achieve the capacity, using successive interference cancellation to eliminate the first antenna sub-array contribution to the total capacity, then optimizing the capacity of the second antenna sub-array, repeating this process until the last of the antenna sub-array, the capacity of the whole system solving optimization problem, namely finishing the design and solving the mixed precoder”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolzer with WU to provide a system and method for calibrating an antenna array in wireless communication system based on digital equivalents of the analog antenna array signals and controls the antenna array based on the calibration signals. The advantage of doing so is to mitigate linear distortions within the antenna array and testing the signal paths in a reduced time without changing physical position of the probes.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5187486 A (Kolzer) in view of KR 20100090378 A (Hong) and in further view of CN 109167622 A (WU et al.)(hereinafter WU).
In re claim 4, Kolzer discloses the apparatus of Claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: a digital predistortion module for receiving the linearization signals and for generating at least one predistortion signal based on the linearization signals; wherein the predistortion signal is transmitted to the analog precoder to update the calibration signals.
Hong discloses a digital predistortion module for receiving the linearization signals and for generating at least one predistortion signal based on the linearization signals (Fig. 2: 130, Page 5, lines 26-28, “The digital predistortion linearization unit receives a signal output from the first A / D converter and a signal fed back from the amplifier through a feedback processor to remove the intermodulation signal generated by the nonlinear characteristics of the amplifier”. Page 2, lines 29-38, “a digital linearization apparatus... a D / A converter for converting a digital signal processed by the digital predistortion linearizer into an IF signal, and an IF output from the D / A converter It includes a frequency up-converter for converting the signal into a microwave frequency and transmitting to the amplifier. A feedback processor for converting a feedback signal for input into a digital predistortion linearizer”. Page 3, lines 9-11, “a first narrowband bandpass filter for filtering according to a center frequency and a bandwidth selected to enable the linearization process through the digital predistortion linearization unit among the outputted mixer and the signal output to the mixer”. Page 3, lines 32-35, “The digital predistortion linearization unit receives the feedback signal from the converted digital signal and the amplifier and generates a signal opposite to the nonlinear characteristic by using a crest factor reduction (CFR) function and a digital pre-distortion (DPD) function. To remove the intermodulation signal due to the nonlinear characteristic” (discloses inputting linearization signal into the module to generate a predistortion signal)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolzer and Hong to provide a system and method for calibrating an antenna array in wireless communication system based on digital equivalents of the analog antenna array signals and controls the antenna array based on the calibration signals. The advantage of doing so is to reduce the back-off margin and increase the efficiency.
Kolzer and Hong do not explicitly disclose wherein the predistortion signal is transmitted to the analog precoder to update the calibration signals.
WU discloses wherein the predistortion signal is transmitted to the analog precoder to update the calibration signals (Page 2, lines 19-24, “For the first antenna sub-array, firstly using digital precoder to control amplitude, then using analogue precoder to adjust the phase. After the optimization the first antenna sub array can achieve the capacity, using successive interference cancellation to eliminate the first antenna sub-array contribution to the total capacity, then optimizing the capacity of the second antenna sub-array, repeating this process until the last of the antenna sub-array, the capacity of the whole system solving optimization problem, namely finishing the design and solving the mixed precoder”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolzer and Hong with WU to provide a system and method for calibrating an antenna array in wireless communication system based on digital equivalents of the analog antenna array signals and controls the antenna array based on the calibration signals. The advantage of doing so is to mitigate linear distortions within the antenna array and testing the signal paths in a reduced time without changing physical position of the probes.
In re claim 5, the combination discloses the apparatus of Claim 4, wherein WU discloses the method further comprising: a digital precoder (Page 2, lines 18-19, “For the first antenna sub-array, firstly using digital precoder to control amplitude, then using analogue precoder to adjust the phase”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5187486 A (Kolzer) in view of KR 20100090378 A (Hong).
In re claim 10, Kolzer discloses the method of Claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprising: calculating non-linear antenna array signals based on the linearization signals.
Hong discloses wherein the method further comprising: calculating non-linear antenna array signals based on the linearization signals (Fig. 2: 130, Page 5, lines 26-28, “The digital predistortion linearization unit receives a signal output from the first A / D converter and a signal fed back from the amplifier through a feedback processor to remove the intermodulation signal generated by the nonlinear characteristics of the amplifier”. Page 2, lines 29-38, “a digital linearization apparatus... a D / A converter for converting a digital signal processed by the digital predistortion linearizer into an IF signal, and an IF output from the D / A converter It includes a frequency up-converter for converting the signal into a microwave frequency and transmitting to the amplifier. A feedback processor for converting a feedback signal for input into a digital predistortion linearizer”. Page 3, lines 9-11, “a first narrowband bandpass filter for filtering according to a center frequency and a bandwidth selected to enable the linearization process through the digital predistortion linearization unit among the outputted mixer and the signal output to the mixer”. Page 3, lines 32-35, “The digital predistortion linearization unit receives the feedback signal from the converted digital signal and the amplifier and generates a signal opposite to the nonlinear characteristic by using a crest factor reduction (CFR) function and a digital pre-distortion (DPD) function. To remove the intermodulation signal due to the nonlinear characteristic” (discloses inputting linearization signal into the module to generate nonlinear antenna array signals)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolzer and Hong to provide a system and method for calibrating an antenna array in wireless communication system based on digital equivalents of the analog antenna array signals and controls the antenna array based on the calibration signals. The advantage of doing so is to reduce the back-off margin and increase the efficiency.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5187486 A (Kolzer) in view of KR 20100090378 A (Hong) and in further view of CN 109167622 A (WU et al.)(hereinafter WU).
In re claim 11, the combination of Kolzer and Hong discloses the method of Claim 10 but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: transmitting the non-linear antenna array signals to an analog precoding component to control the antenna array.
WU discloses transmitting the non-linear antenna array signals to an analog precoding component to control the antenna array (Page 2, lines 19-24, “For the first antenna sub-array, firstly using digital precoder to control amplitude, then using analogue precoder to adjust the phase. After the optimization the first antenna sub array can achieve the capacity, using successive interference cancellation to eliminate the first antenna sub-array contribution to the total capacity, then optimizing the capacity of the second antenna sub-array, repeating this process until the last of the antenna sub-array, the capacity of the whole system solving optimization problem, namely finishing the design and solving the mixed precoder”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kolzer and Hong with WU to provide a system and method for calibrating an antenna array in wireless communication system based on digital equivalents of the analog antenna array signals and controls the antenna array based on the calibration signals. The advantage of doing so is to mitigate linear distortions within the antenna array and testing the signal paths in a reduced time without changing physical position of the probes.
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649