CTNF 18/383,998 CTNF 87937 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 12, it is not clear what kind of pattern is included in the first cover layer (i.e., a decorative patter, an embossed pattern, a pattern of electrodes, etc.). Therefore this claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted to include, for example, patterns of electrodes on the first cover layer. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2021/0279440, “Son”) in view of Guo (US 2020/0218873, “Guo”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2022/0091308, “Xu”) . Regarding claim 1, Son teaches an electronic display device ([0058]) comprising a display panel configured to display an image ([0058]) and comprising a module that overlaps the opening on a plane (see Fig. 7A, fingerprint sensing unit FSU, [0067], [0068]). Son further teaches the inclusion of a cover panel below the display comprising a first layer (Fig. 7A, including layer LP, [0145] – [0147]) and a second cover layer (e.g., layer ST1, Fig. 7A, [0105] – [0110]). Son teaches that layers underlying the display may have an opening (see layers ST1, ST2, [0105] – [0110], Fig. 7A). Son teaches the layer LP may be reflective ([0147]) and the reflectance of layer ST1 would be different than that of layer LP (e.g., [0105] – [0110] and see discussion of reflectances below). PNG media_image1.png 772 742 media_image1.png Greyscale Son fails to teach the reflectance layer LP includes an opening so as not to overlap an opening. However, such a construction is known in the prior art in order to permit light to pass through a portion of a display, for example, to place a fingerprint sensor on a section of a display. For example, in the same field of endeavor of display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Guo teaches to include opening in layers under a display (including, e.g., light shielding layers, heat shielding layers, cushion layers and the like, [0117]) in order to permit light transmission to the display screen for a fingerprint sensing area on the screen in order to facilitate fingerprint sensing ([0117], [0118], [0086]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have included an opening in the LP layer of Son in order to retain both its reflection characteristics and to have provided the device with fingerprint sensing functionality on the screen of the device (Guo, [0117], [0118], [0086]). Son fails to teach that the reflectance of the cover panel is a gray reflectance and fails to teach the reflectance of the underlying sheet ST1. However, it is known to adjust the reflectances and colors of layers under a display and over a sensory module. For example, in the same field of endeavor optical components for use in display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Xu teaches that it is known to modify the reflectances and colors (including to be gray or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the reflectances (including to around 50%, [0048]) and the color of the layers over the fingerprint sensor of Son in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Regarding claims 2 and 3, while Son teaches that layer LP may have a high reflectance ([0147]) Son fails to teach the reflectances of layer ST1 and the display. However, Xu teaches that it is known to modify the reflectances and colors (including to be gray or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the reflectances (including to equal to or less than the layer LP, [0048]) of layer ST1 and ST2 over the fingerprint sensor of Son, and for the reflectance of layer LP to be equal to or greater than that of the display panel, in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Regarding claims 4 and 5, Son fails to specifically teach the reflectance colors of layers LP, ST1, and ST2. However, Xu teaches that it is known to modify the colors of these layers (including to be gray or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the colors of these layers (including to be gray or white, [0048]) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Regarding claims 6 and 7, Son additionally teaches that there may be additional layers between the layer LP and layers ST1 or ST2 and that this intervening layer may be transparent (including, e.g., optically clear adhesive layer, [0107] – [0109], [0118]). Regarding claim 8, Son fails to teach that the reflectance of the transparent adhesive or protective layer is greater than that of the second cover layer. However, as described above it is known to adjust the reflectances of layers under a display and over a sensory module. Xu teaches that it is known to modify the reflectances in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]) and it therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the reflectances of the layers as desired (including so that the adhesive or protective layer has a reflectance greater than or equal to the lower cover layer, [0048]). Regarding claim 9, Son additionally teaches that the cover panel may comprise a lower member (e.g., ST2, [0105], Fig. 7A, disposed under layer ST1 which may correspond to second cover layer), wherein the first cover layer (i.e., layer LP, Fig. 7A) may be adhered (and thus have adhesiveness) to the above display (e.g., [0145]) and the underlying adhesive film (corresponding to the claimed protective film, [0105]) and the second cover layer (i.e., layer ST1) may be adhered to protective film (i.e., inclusion of adhesive member above layer ST1, [0105] to adhere to layer LP, Fig. 7A) and the lower member (by direct coupling, and thus have adhesiveness) to film ST2 ([0107]). Regarding claim 10, Son additionally teaches that the second sheet ST2 may be a cushion layer ([0107]) and may be adhesive connected to the first cover layer (e.g., [0105] – [0109], [0118]) which may include an adhesive to be placed on the display panel ([0145]). Regarding claim 11, modified Son teaches that the adhesive layer between layer LP and layer ST1 may be in contact on either side with layers LP and ST1 (e.g., [0105] – [0108]). Regarding claim 12, Son additionally teaches that the cover layer above ST1 may include patterns, for example, conductor patterns and may be located on or adjacent to layer LP (see [0094]) and the layer LP may be between, and bond, the adhesive layer between ST1 and LP to the display panel ([0145], [0105]). Regarding claim 13, Son teaches an electronic display device ([0058]) comprising a display panel configured to display an image ([0058]) and comprising a module that overlaps the opening on a plane (see Fig. 7A, fingerprint sensing unit FSU, [0067], [0068]). Son further teaches the inclusion of a cover panel below the display comprising a first layer (Fig. 7A, including layer LP, [0145] – [0147]) and a second cover layer (e.g., layer ST1, Fig. 7A, [0105] – [0110]). Son teaches that layers underlying the display may have an opening (see layers ST1, ST2, [0105] – [0110], Fig. 7A). Son teaches the layer LP may be reflective ([0147]) and the reflectance of layer ST1 would be different than that of layer LP (e.g., [0105] – [0110] and see discussion of reflectances below). Son additionally teaches that there may be additional layers between the layer LP and layers ST1 or ST2 and that this intervening layer may be transparent (including, e.g., optically clear adhesive layer, [0105] – [0109], [0118], and thus this layer may be considered a “protective film”). Son fails to teach the reflectance layer LP includes an opening so as not to overlap an opening. However, such a construction is known in the prior art in order to permit light to pass through a portion of a display, for example, to place a fingerprint sensor on a section of a display. For example, in the same field of endeavor of display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Guo teaches to include opening in layers under a display (including, e.g., light shielding layers, heat shielding layers, cushion layers and the like, [0117]) in order to permit light transmission to the display screen for a fingerprint sensing area on the screen in order to facilitate fingerprint sensing ([0117], [0118], [0086]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have included an opening in the LP layer of Son in order to retain both its reflection characteristics and to have provided the device with fingerprint sensing functionality on the screen of the device (Guo, [0117], [0118], [0086]). Son fails to teach that the reflectance of the cover panel is a gray reflectance and fails to teach the reflectance of the underlying sheet ST1. However, it is known to adjust the reflectances and colors of layers under a display and over a sensory module. For example, in the same field of endeavor optical components for use in display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Xu teaches that it is known to modify the reflectances and colors (including to be gray or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the reflectances (including to around 50%, [0048]) and the color of the layers over the fingerprint sensor of Son in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Regarding claim 14, Son fails to specifically teach the colors of layers LP and ST1 (corresponding to first and second cover layer, respectively). However, Xu teaches that it is known to modify the colors of these layers (including to be gray or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the colors of these layers (including to be gray or white, [0048]) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Regarding claim 15, Son additionally teaches that the cover panel may comprise a lower member (e.g., ST2, [0105], Fig. 7A, disposed under layer ST1 which may correspond to second cover layer), wherein the first cover layer (i.e., layer LP, Fig. 7A) may be adhered (and thus have adhesiveness) to the above display (e.g., [0145]) and the underlying adhesive film (corresponding to the claimed protective film, [0105]) and the second cover layer (i.e., layer ST1) may be adhered to protective film (i.e., inclusion of adhesive member above layer ST1, [0105] to adhere to layer LP, Fig. 7A) and the lower member (by direct coupling or additional adhesive layer, and thus have adhesiveness) to film ST2 ([0107]). Regarding claims 16 and 17, Son teaches that the adhesive layers may be optically clear (i.e., transparent [0118], [0119]; or may be non-transparent, [0119]). Son fails to specifically teach the colors of the layers in the cover film stack. However, Xu teaches that it is known to modify the colors of these layers (including to be gray or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the colors of these layers (including to be gray or white, [0048]) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Regarding claim 18, Son teaches that the adhesive layers may be optically clear (i.e., transparent [0118], [0119]; or may be non-transparent, [0119]). Son fails to teach that the reflectance of the cover panel is a gray reflectance and fails to teach the reflectance of the underlying sheet ST2. However, it is known to adjust the reflectances and colors of layers under a display and over a sensory module. For example, in the same field of endeavor optical components for use in display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Xu teaches that it is known to modify the reflectances and colors (including to be transparent, gray, or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the reflectances (including to around 50%, [0048]) and the color of the layers over the fingerprint sensor of Son in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Regarding claim 19, Son teaches an electronic display device ([0058]) comprising a display panel configured to display an image ([0058]) and comprising a module that overlaps the opening on a plane (see Fig. 7A, fingerprint sensing unit FSU, [0067], [0068]). Son further teaches the inclusion of a cover panel below the display comprising a first layer (Fig. 7A, including layer LP, [0145] – [0147]) and a second cover layer (e.g., layer ST1, Fig. 7A, [0105] – [0110]). Son teaches that layers underlying the display may have an opening (see layers ST1, ST2, [0105] – [0110], Fig. 7A). Son teaches the layer LP may be reflective ([0147]) and the reflectance of layer ST1 would be different than that of layer LP (e.g., [0105] – [0110] and see discussion of reflectances below). Son additionally teaches that there may be additional layers between the layer LP and layers ST1 or ST2 and that this intervening layer may be transparent (including, e.g., optically clear adhesive layer, [0105] – [0109], [0118], and thus this layer may be considered a “protective film”). Son additionally teaches that the cover panel may comprise a lower member (e.g., ST2, [0105], Fig. 7A, disposed under layer ST1 which may correspond to second cover layer), wherein the first cover layer (i.e., layer LP, Fig. 7A) may be adhered (and thus have adhesiveness) to the above display (e.g., [0145]) and the underlying adhesive film (corresponding to the claimed protective film, [0105]) and the second cover layer (i.e., layer ST1) may be adhered to protective film (i.e., inclusion of adhesive member above layer ST1, [0105] to adhere to layer LP, Fig. 7A) and the lower member (by direct coupling or adhesive layer, and thus have adhesiveness) to film ST2 ([0107]). Son fails to teach the reflectance layer LP includes an opening so as not to overlap an opening. However, such a construction is known in the prior art in order to permit light to pass through a portion of a display, for example, to place a fingerprint sensor on a section of a display. For example, in the same field of endeavor of display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Guo teaches to include opening in layers under a display (including, e.g., light shielding layers, heat shielding layers, cushion layers and the like, [0117]) in order to permit light transmission to the display screen for a fingerprint sensing area on the screen in order to facilitate fingerprint sensing ([0117], [0118], [0086]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have included an opening in the LP layer of Son in order to retain both its reflection characteristics and to have provided the device with fingerprint sensing functionality on the screen of the device (Guo, [0117], [0118], [0086]). Son fails to teach that the reflectance of the cover panel is a gray reflectance and fails to teach the reflectance of the underlying sheet ST1. However, it is known to adjust the reflectances and colors of layers under a display and over a sensory module. For example, in the same field of endeavor optical components for use in display devices ([0003] – [0005]), Xu teaches that it is known to modify the reflectances and colors (including to be gray or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the reflectances (including to around 50%, [0048]) and the color of the layers over the fingerprint sensor of Son in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Regarding claim 20, Son teaches that the adhesive layers may be optically clear (i.e., transparent [0118], [0119]; or may be non-transparent, [0119]). Son fails to specifically teach the colors of layers LP and ST1 (corresponding to first and second cover layer, respectively). However, Xu teaches that it is known to modify the colors of these layers (including to be gray or white) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the colors of these layers (including to be gray or white, [0048]) in order to allow the layers to serve as diffusers or filters to modify the desired appearance or allow optical components to operate at specific wavelengths ([0045] – [0052]) and in order to hide components in the interior of the housing (see, e.g., [0027]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANTHONY J FROST whose telephone number is (571)270-5618. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday, 8:00am to 4:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aaron Austin, can be reached on 571-272-8935. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 2 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 3 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 4 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 5 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 6 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 7 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 8 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 9 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 10 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 11 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 12 Art Unit: 1782 Application/Control Number: 18/383,998 Page 13 Art Unit: 1782