Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12-14, 17-18,27,28,32,40,48,50,59 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7,9-11,15,19,20,22-25,29-31,34,35-39,42-47,51-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20230388979A1 ) in view of Tsai et al. (US20230388155A1) ( hereinafter “Tsai2”)
Regarding Claim1, Tsai teaches, A method for enhancing Downlink (DL) Reciprocity-based MU-MIMO performance in a wireless communication system, comprising the steps of: specifying at least one UE Rx EA (Effective Antenna) candidate; [92]- For the case where the UE determines the precoders, the UE may rely on measuring reference signals sent from the base station and may assume channel reciprocity to obtain channel state information.
transmitting UL signals from the UE to facilitate reciprocity-based DL channel estimation by a base station, wherein the transmission is carried out via said specified at least one UE Rx EA; [92]- UE 704 transmits baseband signals of xn 8×1 , using a precoder(=transmitting UL signals from the UE ) to map the baseband signals.[93]- UE 704 uses a precoder P1,n 2×8 to map the baseband data signals xn 8×1 on the subcarrier n to the 2 transmission antennas(=carried out via said specified at least one UE Rx EA).[99]- The base station can determine the precoders based on measuring sounding reference signal sent by the UE to obtain channel state information (=reciprocity-based DL channel estimation)
estimating a DL channel response at the base station using UL reciprocity; [99]- The base station can determine the precoders based on measuring sounding reference signal sent by the UE to obtain channel state information and can indicate the precoders(=DL channel response) to the UE for UL data transmissions. (=estimating a DL channel response at the base station based on reciprocity using SRS)
selecting at least one of said specified UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception;[91]- In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas.
Tsai does not teach, constructing a DL precoder at the base station based on said estimated DL channel response and the selected UE Rx EA(s); and decoding DL transmission data at the UE using at least one of said specified UE Rx EA(s)
Tsai2 teaches, constructing a DL precoder at the base station based on said estimated DL channel response and the selected UE Rx EA(s); and Fig 14 step 1404 to 1405 [121-At operation 1405, the base station may determine the R precoders and signal them to the UE. The R precoders are determined based on channel state information obtained from the UE or the base station
decoding DL transmission data at the UE using at least one of said specified UE Rx EA(s). Fig 14 step 1414 [114]- At operation 1414, the UE generates R layers of baseband data signals to be carried on N2 subcarriers, where N2 and R are positive integers.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, constructing a DL precoder at the base station based on said estimated DL channel response and the selected UE Rx EA(s); and decoding DL transmission data at the UE using at least one of said specified UE Rx EA(s) as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 2, Tsai teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising specifying at least one UE Rx EA candidate based on at least one of: information received from the base station, estimated DL channel response, past accumulated information or knowledge at UE, random selection, predefined selection, received signal quality, interference level, user mobility status, and historical performance data.[106]- The base station 702 may estimate an equivalent channel response that is formed by precoders used by the UE and a channel between the reception antennas at the base station and the effective antennas at the UE.
Regarding Claim 3, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein said selecting at least one of said specified UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception is based on at least one of: communication related criteria, mix of communication and non-communication parameters, stability criterion, performance in facilitating DL transmission, signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel conditions, network load and information communicated from the UE
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein said selecting at least one of said specified UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception is based on at least one of: communication related criteria, mix of communication and non-communication parameters, stability criterion, performance in facilitating DL transmission, signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel conditions, network load and information communicated from the UE.[113]- The base station 702 may estimate an equivalent channel response that is formed by precoders used by the UE and a channel between the reception antennas at the base station and the effective antennas at the UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 1, wherein said selecting at least one of said specified UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception is based on at least one of: communication related criteria, mix of communication and non-communication parameters, stability criterion, performance in facilitating DL transmission, signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel conditions, network load and information communicated from the UE as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 4, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the base station communicates information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the base station communicates information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA. Fig 14 step 1412
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 1, wherein the base station communicates information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 5, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 4, wherein the information comprising a candidate options list.
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 4, wherein the information comprising a candidate options list.[87]- Hence, the total number of spatial layers in one TTI2 interval is R=Σl=1 LRl, where Rl≤NT for l=1, L.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 4, wherein the information comprising a candidate options list as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 6, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of transmitting an indication from the base station regarding the selected UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of transmitting an indication from the base station regarding the selected UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception.[98]- In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of transmitting an indication from the base station regarding the selected UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 7, Tsai teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the UL signals for channel estimation utilizes Sounding Reference Signals (SRS).[52]- The common UL portion 506 may include additional or alternative information, such as information pertaining to random access channel (RACH) procedures, scheduling requests (SRs), and various other suitable types of information.
Regarding Claim 9, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein UL data transmission is carried out via at least one of said selected at least one UE Rx EA candidate
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein UL data transmission is carried out via at least one of said selected at least one UE Rx EA candidate. Fig 14 step 1412.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 1, wherein UL data transmission is carried out via at least one of said selected at least one UE Rx EA candidate as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 10, The method of claim 1, wherein said estimating a DL channel response is based on decoded UL data transmission.
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein said estimating a DL channel response is based on decoded UL data transmission. Fig 14 step 1414.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 1, wherein said estimating a DL channel response is based on decoded UL data transmission as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 11, Tsai does not teach, the method of claim 1, wherein the construction of the UE TX EAs, representing effective antennas for the uplink, comprises a subset of the UE RX EAs, representing effective antennas for the downlink
Tsai2 teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the construction of the UE TX EAs, representing effective antennas for the uplink, comprises a subset of the UE RX EAs, representing effective antennas for the downlink.[90]- In each TTI1 interval, the UE 704 transmits signals by two antennas. Considering the 4 TTI1 intervals together, the UE 704 appears to be transmitting signals by 8 effective antennas.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, the method of claim 1, wherein the construction of the UE TX EAs, representing effective antennas for the uplink, comprises a subset of the UE RX EAs, representing effective antennas for the downlink as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 15, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 1, where each UE RX EA has interference rejection capabilities, utilizing spatial filtering or other interference mitigation techniques to enhance signal quality
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 1, where each UE RX EA has interference rejection capabilities, utilizing spatial filtering or other interference mitigation techniques to enhance signal quality.[111]- The digital samples are filtered using one or more filters 794 to remove out-of-band interference.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 1, where each UE RX EA has interference rejection capabilities, utilizing spatial filtering or other interference mitigation techniques to enhance signal quality as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 19, Tsai teaches, A method for enhancing Downlink (DL) Reciprocity-based MU-MIMO performance, performed by a base station, comprising the steps of :receiving UL signals from the UE for reciprocity-based DL channel estimation, wherein the UL signals are transmitted by the UE via specified UE Rx EA (Effective Antenna) candidates; [92]- UE 704 transmits baseband signals of xn 8×1 , using a precoder(=transmitting UL signals from the UE ) to map the baseband signals.
estimating the DL channel response based on the received UL signals using UL reciprocity; [99]- The base station can determine the precoders based on measuring sounding reference signal sent by the UE to obtain channel state information (=reciprocity-based DL channel estimation)
selecting at least one UE Rx EA candidate specified by the UE for DL reception based on the estimated DL channel response;.[93]- UE 704 uses a precoder P1,n 2×8 to map the baseband data signals xn 8×1 on the subcarrier n to the 2 transmission antennas(=carried out via said specified at least one UE Rx EA).
Tsai does not teach, constructing a DL precoder based on the estimated DL channel response and the selected UE Rx EA(s); and transmitting DL transmission data to the UE using the DL precoder.
Tsai2 teaches, constructing a DL precoder based on the estimated DL channel response and the selected UE Rx EA(s); and transmitting DL transmission data to the UE using the DL precoder; and Fig 14 step 1404 to 1405 [121-At operation 1405, the base station may determine the R precoders and signal them to the UE. The R precoders are determined based on channel state information obtained from the UE or the base station
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, constructing a DL precoder based on the estimated DL channel response and the selected UE Rx EA(s); and transmitting DL transmission data to the UE using the DL precoder as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 20, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 19, further comprising iteratively refining the selection of UE Rx EA candidates and DL precoder based on changing wireless environment conditions.
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 19, further comprising iteratively refining the selection of UE Rx EA candidates and DL precoder based on changing wireless environment conditions.[87]- is an amplifying matrix describing the mapping from the repeater input to the repeater output, nn is the equivalent noise vector at the base station 702… the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas; however, not all of the effective antennas are guaranteed for supporting coherent transmission.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 19, further comprising iteratively refining the selection of UE Rx EA candidates and DL precoder based on changing wireless environment conditions. as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 22, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 19, further comprising communicating the selection of said UE Rx EA candidate(s) to the UE
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 19, further comprising communicating the selection of said UE Rx EA candidate(s) to the UE. Fig 14 step 1412.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 19, further comprising communicating the selection of said UE Rx EA candidate(s) to the UE as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 23, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 19, wherein the base station communicates to the UE information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 19, wherein the base station communicates to the UE information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA. Fig 14 step 1406.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 19, wherein the base station communicates to the UE information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 24, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 23, where said communicates to the UE information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list.
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 23, where said communicates to the UE information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list. [87]- Hence, the total number of spatial layers in one TTI2 interval is R=Σl=1 LRl, where Rl≤NT for l=1, . . . , L.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 23, where said communicates to the UE information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list. as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 25, Tsai does not teach, the method of claim 19, wherein the base station selects the UE Rx EA based on at least one of: communication related criteria, mix of communication and non- communication parameters, stability criterion, performance in facilitating DL transmission, signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel conditions, network load and information communicated from the UE
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 19, wherein the base station selects the UE Rx EA based on at least one of: communication related criteria, mix of communication and non- communication parameters, stability criterion, performance in facilitating DL transmission, signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel conditions, network load and information communicated from the UE. [113]- The base station 702 may estimate an equivalent channel response that is formed by precoders used by the UE and a channel between the reception antennas at the base station and the effective antennas at the UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 19, wherein the base station selects the UE Rx EA based on at least one of: communication related criteria, mix of communication and non- communication parameters, stability criterion, performance in facilitating DL transmission, signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel conditions, network load and information communicated from the UE. as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 29, Tsai teaches, A base station created to enhance reciprocity-based MU-MIMO performance in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a base station processing unit; and a memory unit that stores instructions for the base station's operations, the instructions causing the base station to;
estimate the DL channel response based on received UL signals in order to construct a DL precoder, while a memory unit stores instructions for the base station's operations; [92]-For the case where the UE determines the precoders, the UE may rely on measuring reference signals sent from the base station and may assume channel reciprocity to obtain channel state information.
while a memory unit stores instructions for the base station's operations, [39]- The memory 260 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium.
Tsai does not teach, configure its precoder for MU-MIMO operation and transmit data encoded using said precoder, wherein the base station processing unit further includes a control unit that oversees the device's operations to enhance reciprocity-based MU- MIMO performance.
Tsai2 teaches, configure its precoder for MU-MIMO operation and transmit data encoded using said precoder, and Fig 14 step 1404 to 1405 [121-At operation 1405, the base station may determine the R precoders and signal them to the UE. The R precoders are determined based on channel state information obtained from the UE or the base station
wherein the base station processing unit further includes a control unit that oversees the device's operations to enhance reciprocity-based MU- MIMO performance. Fig 14 step 1414 [114]- At operation 1414, the UE generates R layers of baseband data signals to be carried on N2 subcarriers, where N2 and R are positive integers.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, configure its precoder for MU-MIMO operation and transmit data encoded using said precoder, wherein the base station processing unit further includes a control unit that oversees the device's operations to enhance reciprocity-based MU- MIMO performance. as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 30, Tsai does not teach, The base station of claim 29, the instructions further causing the base station to select UE EA(a) to be used out of candidates previously defined; and communicates it to the UEs
Tsai2 teaches, The base station of claim 29, the instructions further causing the base station to select UE EA(a) to be used out of candidates previously defined; and communicates it to the UEs. Fig 14 step 1412
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The base station of claim 29, the instructions further causing the base station to select UE EA(a) to be used out of candidates previously defined; and communicates it to the UEs as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 31, Tsai teaches, The base station of claim 30, wherein said selecting at least one of said specified UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception is based on at least one of: communication related criteria, mix of communication and non-communication parameters, stability criterion, performance in facilitating DL transmission, signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel conditions, network load and information communicated from the UE. [113]- The base station 702 may estimate an equivalent channel response that is formed by precoders used by the UE and a channel between the reception antennas at the base station and the effective antennas at the UE.
Regarding Claim 34, Tsai does not teach, The base station of claim 29, wherein the instructions stored in the memory unit further cause the base station to select UE Rx EAs with inherent interference rejection capabilities, utilizing spatial filtering or other interference mitigation techniques to enhance signal quality.
Tsai2 teaches, The base station of claim 29, wherein the instructions stored in the memory unit further cause the base station to select UE Rx EAs with inherent interference rejection capabilities, utilizing spatial filtering or other interference mitigation techniques to enhance signal quality. [111]- The digital samples are filtered using one or more filters 794 to remove out-of-band interference.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The base station of claim 29, wherein the instructions stored in the memory unit further cause the base station to select UE Rx EAs with inherent interference rejection capabilities, utilizing spatial filtering or other interference mitigation techniques to enhance signal quality. as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 35, Tsai does not teach, The base station of claim 29, wherein the base station processing unit is further configured to communicate to the UE information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA.
Tsai2 teaches, The base station of claim 29, wherein the base station processing unit is further configured to communicate to the UE information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA. Fig 14 step 1412
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The base station of claim 29, wherein the base station processing unit is further configured to communicate to the UE information to assist the UE in specifying the UE Rx EA. as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 36, Tsai does not teach, The base station of claim 29, where said communicate to the UE information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list
Tsai2 teaches, The base station of claim 29, where said communicate to the UE information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list. [87]- Hence, the total number of spatial layers in one TTI2 interval is R=Σl=1 LRl, where Rl≤NT for l=1, . . . , L.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The base station of claim 29, where said communicate to the UE information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 37, Tsai does not teach, The base station of claim 29, wherein the control unit is further configured to send an indication to the UE about the selected UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception.
Tsai2 teaches, The base station of claim 29, wherein the control unit is further configured to send an indication to the UE about the selected UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception. .[98]- In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The base station of claim 29, wherein the control unit is further configured to send an indication to the UE about the selected UE Rx EA candidates for DL reception. as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 38, Tsai does not teach, The base station of claim 29, wherein the control unit selects the UE Rx EA based on at least one of signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel feedback, and UE capabilities.
Tsai2 teaches,The base station of claim 29, wherein the control unit selects the UE Rx EA based on at least one of signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel feedback, and UE capabilities. [113]- The base station 702 may estimate an equivalent channel response that is formed by precoders used by the UE and a channel between the reception antennas at the base station and the effective antennas at the UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The base station of claim 29, wherein the control unit selects the UE Rx EA based on at least one of signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel feedback, and UE capabilities. as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 39, Tsai teaches, The base station of claim 29, wherein the transmitted UL signals for channel estimation utilize reference signals, specifically Sounding Reference Signals (SRS). [52]- The common UL portion 506 may include additional or alternative information, such as information pertaining to random access channel (RACH) procedures, scheduling requests (SRs), and various other suitable types of information.
Regarding Claim 42, Tsai teaches, A User Equipment (UE) device for enhancing Downlink (DL) Reciprocity- based MU-MIMO performance in a wireless communication system, comprising:
a memory unit configured to store instructions that, when executed by a processing unit, cause the UE device to: specify at least one UE Rx EA (Effective Antenna) candidate; transmit UL signals to facilitate reciprocity-based DL channel estimation by the base station, wherein the transmission is performed via the UE Rx EA candidates; [92]- UE 704 transmits baseband signals of xn 8×1 , using a precoder(=transmitting UL signals from the UE ) to map the baseband signals.[93]- UE 704 uses a precoder P1,n 2×8 to map the baseband data signals xn 8×1 on the subcarrier n to the 2 transmission antennas(=carried out via said specified at least one UE Rx EA).[99]- The base station can determine the precoders based on measuring sounding reference signal sent by the UE to obtain channel state information (=reciprocity-based DL channel estimation)
a communication interface configured to receive DL signals from a base station to facilitate DL Reciprocity-based MU-MIMO performance improvement; [99]- The base station can determine the precoders based on measuring sounding reference signal sent by the UE to obtain channel state information and can indicate the precoders(=DL channel response) to the UE for UL data transmissions. (=estimating a DL channel response at the base station based on reciprocity using SRS)
select at least one UE Rx EA candidate for DL decoding; decode DL transmission data using the selected UE Rx EA(s); [91]- In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas.
Tsai does not teach, a control unit configured to control operations of the communication interface, processing unit, and memory unit according to the instructions stored in the memory unit, and wherein the UE device is adapted to perform operations to enhance Reciprocity-based MU-MIMO performance in the wireless communication system.
Tsai2 teaches, a control unit configured to control operations of the communication interface, processing unit, and memory unit according to the instructions stored in the memory unit, and wherein the UE device is adapted to perform operations to enhance Reciprocity-based MU-MIMO performance in the wireless communication system. Fig 14 step 1404 to 1405 [121-At operation 1405, the base station may determine the R precoders and signal them to the UE. The R precoders are determined based on channel state information obtained from the UE or the base station. Fig 14 step 1414 [114]- At operation 1414, the UE generates R layers of baseband data signals to be carried on N2 subcarriers, where N2 and R are positive integers.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, ca control unit configured to control operations of the communication interface, processing unit, and memory unit according to the instructions stored in the memory unit, and wherein the UE device is adapted to perform operations to enhance Reciprocity-based MU-MIMO performance in the wireless communication system as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 43, Tsai does not teach, he UE device of claim 42, further comprising receiving an indication from the base station regarding selected UE EAs candidates for DL reception
Tsai2 teaches, The UE device of claim 42, further comprising receiving an indication from the base station regarding selected UE EAs candidates for DL reception. [98]- In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, he UE device of claim 42, further comprising receiving an indication from the base station regarding selected UE EAs candidates for DL reception as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 44, Tsai teaches,The UE device of claim 42, wherein the communication interface is further configured to receive information from the base station to assist in specifying the UE Rx EA. Fig 14
Regarding Claim 45, Tsai does not teach, The UE device of claim 44, wherein said receive information from base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list
Tsai2 teaches, The UE device of claim 44, wherein said receive information from base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list. [87]- Hence, the total number of spatial layers in one TTI2 interval is R=Σl=1 LRl, where Rl≤NT for l=1, . . . , L.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The UE device of claim 44, wherein said receive information from base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 46, Tsai teaches, The UE device of claim 42, wherein the instructions stored in the memory unit further cause the UE to specify the UE Rx EA candidate based on at least one of: information received from the base station. [80]- denotes the frequency-domain baseband signal at the n-th subcarrier for the i-th Tx antenna. In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas; however, not all of the effective antennas are guaranteed for supporting coherent transmission of a spatial layer in the NCJT configuration.
Regarding Claim 47, Tsai teaches, The UE device of claim 42, wherein the UL signals for channel estimation transmitted to the base station utilize reference signals, notably Sounding Reference Signals (SRS). [52]- The common UL portion 506 may include additional or alternative information, such as information pertaining to random access channel (RACH) procedures, scheduling requests (SRs), and various other suitable types of information.
Regarding Claim 51, Tsai teaches, A method for enhancing Downlink (DL) Reciprocity-based MU-MIMO performance in a User Equipment (UE), comprising the steps of: specifying at least one UE Rx EA (Effective Antenna) candidate; 91]- In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas.
transmitting UL signals from the UE to facilitate reciprocity-based DL channel estimation by a base station, wherein the transmission is carried out via said specified at least one UE Rx EA; [92]- UE 704 transmits baseband signals of xn 8×1 , using a precoder(=transmitting UL signals from the UE ) to map the baseband signals.[93]- UE 704 uses a precoder P1,n 2×8 to map the baseband data signals xn 8×1 on the subcarrier n to the 2 transmission antennas(=carried out via said specified at least one UE Rx EA).[99]- The base station can determine the precoders based on measuring sounding reference signal sent by the UE to obtain channel state information (=reciprocity-based DL channel estimation)
wherein the transmission is carried out via said specified at least one UE Rx EA; [91]- In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas.
Tsai does not teach, select at least one UE Rx EA candidate for DL decoding; and decoding DL transmission data at the UE using the selected UE Rx EA(s).
Tsai2 teaches, select at least one UE Rx EA candidate for DL decoding; and decoding DL transmission data at the UE using the selected UE Rx EA(s) Fig 14 step 1404 to 1405 [121-At operation 1405, the base station may determine the R precoders and signal them to the UE. The R precoders are determined based on channel state information obtained from the UE or the base station
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, select at least one UE Rx EA candidate for DL decoding; and decoding DL transmission data at the UE using the selected UE Rx EA(s) as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 52, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 51, further comprising receiving an indication from the base station regarding selected UE RAs and utilizing said indication for DL reception
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 51, further comprising receiving an indication from the base station regarding selected UE RAs and utilizing said indication for DL reception. [98]- In a period of L TTI1 intervals, the UE 704 may be considered as having L·NT effective antennas.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 51, further comprising receiving an indication from the base station regarding selected UE RAs and utilizing said indication for DL reception as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 53, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 51, further comprising the step of receiving information from the base station to assist in specifying the UE Rx EA
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 51, further comprising the step of receiving information from the base station to assist in specifying the UE Rx EA. Fig 14 step 1412
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 51, further comprising the step of receiving information from the base station to assist in specifying the UE Rx EA as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 54, Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 53, wherein said receiving information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list
Tsai2 teaches, The method of claim 53, wherein said receiving information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list. [87]- Hence, the total number of spatial layers in one TTI2 interval is R=Σl=1 LRl, where Rl≤NT for l=1, . . . , L.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, The method of claim 53, wherein said receiving information from the base station holds UE Rx EA candidate options list as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 55,Tsai does not teach, The method of claim 51, wherein the specification of at least one UE Rx EA candidate is based on at least one of: information received from the base station, estimated DL channel response, past accumulated information or knowledge at UE, random selection, predefined selection, received signal quality, interference level, user mobility status and historical performance data.
Tsai2 teaches,The method of claim 51, wherein the specification of at least one UE Rx EA candidate is based on at least one of: information received from the base station, estimated DL channel response, past accumulated information or knowledge at UE, random selection, predefined selection, received signal quality, interference level, user mobility status and historical performance data. [106]- The base station 702 may estimate an equivalent channel response that is formed by precoders used by the UE and a channel between the reception antennas at the base station and the effective antennas at the UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai, constructing a DL precoder at the base station based on said estimated DL channel response and the selected UE Rx EA(s); and decoding DL transmission data at the UE using at least one of said specified UE Rx EA(s) as taught by Tsai2 to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 56, Tsai teaches, The method of claim 51, wherein the transmitted UL signals for channel estimation utilize reference signals, notably Sounding Reference Signals (SRS). [52]- The common UL portion 506 may include additional or alternative information, such as information pertaining to random access channel (RACH) procedures, scheduling requests (SRs), and various other suitable types of information.
Claim(s) 8,16,21,33,41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tsai et al. (US20230388979A1 ) in view of Tsai et al. (US20230388155A1) ( hereinafter “Tsai2”) in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20180019795 A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Tsai in view of Tsai2 does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein reciprocity-based DL channel estimation is facilitated via UL transmission when the number of UE Rx EAs exceeds the number of UE Tx EAs. wherein the UL SRS transmission is segmented into multiple chunks, each chunk holding one or more ports, and the chunks are selected for transmission one after the other.
Zhang teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein reciprocity-based DL channel estimation is facilitated via UL transmission when the number of UE Rx EAs exceeds the number of UE Tx EAs. wherein the UL SRS transmission is segmented into multiple chunks, each chunk holding one or more ports, and the chunks are selected for transmission one after the other. [11] wherein the one or more transmit antennas are fewer than a plurality of receive antennas of the served UE, means for calculating a downlink channel estimate based on the uplink reference signal, means for beamforming data using a precoder selected based on the downlink channel estimate, and means for transmitting the beamformed data to the served UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai in view of Tsai2 , The method of claim 1, wherein reciprocity-based DL channel estimation is facilitated via UL transmission when the number of UE Rx EAs exceeds the number of UE Tx EAs. wherein the UL SRS transmission is segmented into multiple chunks, each chunk holding one or more ports, and the chunks are selected for transmission one after the other.as taught by Zhang to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 16, Tsai in view of Tsai2 does not teach, The method of claim 15, where the number of UE RX EAs is dynamically adjusted, decreasing after interference is learned to accommodate more MU-MIMO users and increasing when the wireless environment changes, increasing when interference needs reassessment, or increasing when the UE determines current EAs are insufficient to address interference, and wherein the EA count for UEs coordinated with the BS
Zhang teaches, The method of claim 15, where the number of UE RX EAs is dynamically adjusted, decreasing after interference is learned to accommodate more MU-MIMO users and increasing when the wireless environment changes, increasing when interference needs reassessment, or increasing when the UE determines current EAs are insufficient to address interference, and wherein the EA count for UEs coordinated with the BS.[68]- Since eNB 105 is not aware of the channel state information on the unmatched r−t antennas, which cannot be sounded, eNB 105 could derive the transmission rate, e.g., the MCS, based on the first t antennas and add an adjustment value to the interference level, as the eNB is aware of the presence of r total receive antennas on the UE from a capability report received from the UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai in view of Tsai2 , The method of claim 15, where the number of UE RX EAs is dynamically adjusted, decreasing after interference is learned to accommodate more MU-MIMO users and increasing when the wireless environment changes, increasing when interference needs reassessment, or increasing when the UE determines current EAs are insufficient to address interference, and wherein the EA count for UEs coordinated with the BS as taught by Zhang to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 21, Tsai in view of Tsai2 does not teach, The method of claim 19, wherein the DL precoder is designed to minimize interference and maximize signal quality.
Zhang teaches, The method of claim 19, wherein the DL precoder is designed to minimize interference and maximize signal quality. [64]- The additional unmatched UE receive antennas, which cannot be sounded, may be used for diversity reception or other cell interference rejection.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai in view of Tsai2, The method of claim 19, wherein the DL precoder is designed to minimize interference and maximize signal quality. as taught by Zhang to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 33, Tsai in view of Tsai2 does not teach, The base station of claim 29, wherein the constructed UE Rx EAs are iteratively refined based on feedback from the UE or performance metrics
Zhang teaches, The base station of claim 29, wherein the constructed UE Rx EAs are iteratively refined based on feedback from the UE or performance metrics.[94]- UEs can feedback the antenna capabilities to eNB 105 and eNB 105 stores the capabilities of each of the served UEs in memory 242 at UE capabilities.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai in view of Tsai2, The base station of claim 29, wherein the constructed UE Rx EAs are iteratively refined based on feedback from the UE or performance metrics as taught by Zhang to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 41, Tsai in view of Tsai2 does not teach, The base station of claim 29, wherein the DL precoder is designed to minimize interference and maximize signal quality.
Zhang teaches, The base station of claim 29, wherein the DL precoder is designed to minimize interference and maximize signal quality. [64]- The additional unmatched UE receive antennas, which cannot be sounded, may be used for diversity reception or other cell interference rejection.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai in view of Tsai2, The base station of claim 29, wherein the DL precoder is designed to minimize interference and maximize signal quality as taught by Zhang to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Claim(s) 26,49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tsai et al. (US20230388979A1 ) in view of Tsai et al. (US20230388155A1) ( hereinafter “Tsai2”) in further view of Hu et al. (US20150305035A1)
Regarding Claim 26, Tsai in view of Tsai2 does not teach, The method of claim 19, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate comprises constructing a set as a result of multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints
Hu teaches, The method of claim 19, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate comprises constructing a set as a result of multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints.[65]- By varying the parameters of the cost function, the performance of the antenna can be adjusted; hence an optimal antenna tuning configuration can be determined. As noted in Equation (1), the cost/gain function can be determined by parameters of the antenna frequency response for a set of two or more antenna tuning configurations {Ai}, a set of active transmit frequencies and/or receive frequencies {F},
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai in view of Tsai2, The method of claim 19, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate comprises constructing a set as a result of multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints as taught by Hu to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 49, Tsai in view of Tsai2 does not teach, The User Equipment device of claim 42, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate involves constructing a set based on multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints.
Hu teaches, The User Equipment device of claim 42, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate involves constructing a set based on multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints.[65]- By varying the parameters of the cost function, the performance of the antenna can be adjusted; hence an optimal antenna tuning configuration can be determined. As noted in Equation (1), the cost/gain function can be determined by parameters of the antenna frequency response for a set of two or more antenna tuning configurations {Ai}, a set of active transmit frequencies and/or receive frequencies {F},
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai in view of Tsai2, The User Equipment device of claim 42, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate involves constructing a set based on multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints as taught by Hu to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Regarding Claim 58, Tsai in view of Tsai2 does not teach, The method of claim 51, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate comprises constructing a set resulting from multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints.
Hu teaches, The method of claim 51, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate comprises constructing a set resulting from multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints.[65]- By varying the parameters of the cost function, the performance of the antenna can be adjusted; hence an optimal antenna tuning configuration can be determined. As noted in Equation (1), the cost/gain function can be determined by parameters of the antenna frequency response for a set of two or more antenna tuning configurations {Ai}, a set of active transmit frequencies and/or receive frequencies {F},
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tsai in view of Tsai2, The method of claim 51, wherein specifying the at least one UE Rx EA candidate comprises constructing a set resulting from multi-criterion optimization of uplink and downlink cost functions and their associated constraints as taught by Hu to add monitoring channel quality to dynamically adjust precoder for UE.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478