DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 07/13/2026 has been entered and fully considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 14, 19 and 20 are amended. Claims 11, 12, 17, and 18 are canceled. Claims 1-10, 11, 13-16, and 19-20 are currently pending in the application with claims 1, 14, and 19 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for pulses with time intervals of 8ms (see FIG. 7) or 4 ms and 6m (in FIG. 17) , does not reasonably provide enablement for all ranges of time intervals (such as 1 ns, 1 ps, etc). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Claims 1-10, 11, 13-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim recites: “a super-regenerative oscillator (SRO) integrated with the MTM LWA comprising a tunable voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO) and two envelope detectors”; it is not clear whether the claim intends to recite that the SRO integrated with the LWA comprises both a VCO and two envelope detectors meaning that there is a unit comprising of a SRO, LWA which includes VCO and two envelope detectors, or that the apparatus in general includes two envelope detectors. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear and the claim is considered to be indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation has been used.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the envelope detectors" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, it is not clear what is the relationship between the recited “the envelope detectors” and “two envelope detectors” recited earlier in the claim.
Claim 1 further recites: “the envelope detectors configured to demodulate target reflected signals from a respective one of the MTM LWA and a receiving antenna proximate to the MTM LWA”. The above cited limitation is entirely unclear and indefinite as to what the limitation intends. Firstly, it is not clear whether there is a receiving antenna as part of the apparatus and the RF sensor? Further, it is not clear whether one of the envelope detectors is assigned to LWA and the other to the receiving antenna or both of them are either receiving from one or the other? As a result, the limitation is unclear and causes the claim to be indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear. For the purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation has been used.
Claims 1, 14 and 19 recite the limitation "the quench signal" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, it is not clear what is the relationship between the recited “the quench signal” and “a sequence of quench cycles” recited earlier in the claim.
Claims 1, 14 and 19 further recite: “human target vital sign information may be retrieved”. However, the claim doesn’t mention that the claim comprises of a human. It is not clear then how can vital signs of a human be retrieved from a target who is not necessarily a human. As a result, the limitation is unclear and causes the claim to be indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear. For the purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation has been used.
The term “approximately” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10, 13, 14, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Yuan et al. (“Multi-target Vital Sign Detection Using Metamaterial Leaky Wave Antenna-Integrated Super-Regenerative Oscillator”, IEEE Xplore, 15 October, 2021) hereinafter “Yuan” in view of Richards et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,466,125) hereinafter Richards.
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a radio frequency (RF) motion sensor [see abstract of Yuan], configured to detect respective vital sign signals for multiple targets at different locations, [see page 1, right column, section under A. 1D MTD LWA design detects multiple targets] comprising:
a metamaterial (MTM) leaky wave antenna (LWA) [see page 1, right column, section under A. one dimensional MTD LWA design] configured to transmit an interrogating RF (2.4 GHZ is within the RF range) signal toward each of a plurality of targets and to correspondingly receive therefrom respective target reflected signal; [see page 1, right column, section under A. 1D MTD LWA design detects multiple targets]; and
a super-regenerative oscillator (SRO) integrated with the MTM LWA [see page 1, right column, first full paragraph discloses that the MTM LWA is integrated with SRO ] and comprising a tunable voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO) [see page 1, right column, section under A. 1D MTD LWA design disclosing: a tunable voltage controlled oscillator (VCO)”] and an envelope detector; [see page 2, right column, first paragraph discloses demodulation of the signal by detecting its envelope; see also FIGH. 1 showing an envelope detector]
the VCO configured to generate for transmission by the MTM LWA an oscillating driver signal in accordance with a sequence of quench cycles, [see page 2, left column, section under B.SRO Radar sensor design] wherein an amplitude of the oscillating signal changes from an initial value to an equilibrium value (Veg) and back to an extinction value during a first portion of each quench cycle; [see page 2, left column, section under B.SRO Radar sensor design, especially last paragraph discloses that during a built-up time, the voltage reaches an equilibrium state and during quench cycle, it dies out ]
Each envelope detector configured to demodulate target reflected signals from a MTM LWA to provide thereby received baseband signals. [see page 2, right column, first paragraph discloses demodulation of the signal by detecting its envelope; see also FIGH. 1 showing an envelope detector]
and human target vital sign information may be retrieved from target reflected signal using fast Fourier transform (FFT) processing [see page 2, right column, first full paragraph disclosing using FFT to determine the vital sign signal from the envelope detector]
Yuan does not disclose that the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information. Yan further fails to discloses that there is another envelope configured to demodulate target reflected signals from and a receiving antenna proximate the MTM LWA to provide thereby respective received baseband signals, wherein target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals,
Richards, directed towards radar detection of multiple persons for vital sign monitoring [see abstract of Richards] further discloses the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval [see FIG. 3 and column 6, lines 45-65] such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information.[see column 7, lines 5-35; the coding provides distinction between persons which each signal including the position and timing information of a different object (i.e. ranging information)] Richards further discloses there is another envelope configured to demodulate target reflected signals from and a receiving antenna proximate the MTM LWA to provide thereby respective received baseband signals, [see column 9, lines 10-33 disclosing a reference signal which is the signal from the direct path directly from the transmitter and (corresponding to the disclosed demodulator of Yuan and another demodulator for path 2 which is received by a receive antenna] wherein target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals [see column 12, lines 5-10 of Richards] to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals,[see column 12, line 60- column 13, line 10 disclosing determining time offsets].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of Yuan such that the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information. And that discloses there is another envelope configured to demodulate target reflected signals from and a receiving antenna proximate the MTM LWA to provide thereby respective received baseband signals; wherein target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals according to the teachings of Richards in order to improve the quality of signal detection for multiple users and overcome signal cancelation and interference [see column 2, lines 1-5 of Richards]
Regarding claim 2, Yuan further discloses that the MTM LWA comprises a one-dimensional (1D) MTM LWA. [see page 1, right column, section under A. one dimensional MTD LWA design]
Regarding claim 4, Yuan further discloses that the VCO has an oscillation band of between approximately 2GHz and 2.5GHz. [see page 1, right column, section under A. one dimensional MTD LWA design discloses that the oscillation is at 2.4 GHz which is in the specified range ]
Regarding claim 10, Yuan further discloses that each target comprises a human and the target reflected signal is configured to enable detection of cardiac activity of each human. [see page 2, right column, paragraph below Fig. 6 disclosing that the reflected signal is off of a human target showing its cardiac activity]
Regarding claim 13, Yuan further discloses that each of the sequence of pulses comprises a 100Hz signal having predefined pulse width and pulse interval of less than 10 ms, [see FIG. ; the signal has a pulse interval of less than 10ms] the signal comprising one of a sinusoidal, a sawtooth, and a triangular waveshape. [see page2, right column, section under III. Experimental Results disclosing a sinusoidal signal of frequency 100 Hz; see also FIG. 4 and caption]
Regarding claim 14, Yuan discloses that a system configured to detect cardiac activity of a plurality of humans [see abstract of Yuan], the system including a radio frequency (RF) motion sensor,[the combination of the Metamaterial leaky wave antenna, the SRO and the demodulator can detect cardiac motion of a person and therefore it is considered to be a motion sensor] comprising:
a metamaterial (MTM) leaky wave antenna (LWA) [see page 1, right column, section under A. one dimensional MTD LWA design] configured to transmit an interrogating RF (2.4 GHZ is within the RF range) signal toward each of a plurality of targets and to correspondingly receive therefrom respective target reflected signal; [see page 1, right column, section under A. 1D MTD LWA design detects multiple targets]
a super-regenerative oscillator (SRO) comprising a tunable voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO) [see page 1, right column, section under A. 1D MTD LWA design disclosing: a tunable voltage controlled oscillator (VCO)”] configured to generate for transmission by the MTM LWA an oscillating driver signal in accordance with a sequence of quench cycles, [see page 2, left column, section under B.SRO Radar sensor design] wherein an amplitude of the oscillating signal changes from an initial value to an equilibrium value (Veg) and back to an extinction value during a first portion of each quench cycle; [see page 2, left column, section under B.SRO Radar sensor design, especially last paragraph discloses that during a built-up time, the voltage reaches an equilibrium state and during quench cycle, it dies out ]
a demodulator configured to demodulate from the MTM LWA received signals to provide thereby respective baseband signals reflected from different targets, [see page 2, right column, first paragraph discloses demodulation of the signal by detecting its envelope; see also FIGH. 1 showing an envelope detector] which includes the target-associated motion information [see page 2, right column, the target cardiac activity (i.e. target associated motion) is determined off of the demodulation] and ranging information. [as it is disclosed in page 2, right column: “the reflected signal modulated by the cardiac activity”; a signal transmitted and reflected off of another object would have a phase delay which inherently includes the target’s ranging information]
Yuan does not disclose that the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information. Yan further fails to discloses that wherein target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals,
Richards, directed towards radar detection of multiple persons for vital sign monitoring [see abstract of Richards] further discloses the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval [see FIG. 3 and column 6, lines 45-65] such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information.[see column 7, lines 5-35; the coding provides distinction between persons which each signal including the position and timing information of a different object (i.e. ranging information)] Richards further discloses target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals [see column 12, lines 5-10 of Richards] to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals,[see column 12, line 60- column 13, line 10 disclosing determining time offsets].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of Yuan such that the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information. And that target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals according to the teachings of Richards in order to improve the quality of signal detection for multiple users and overcome signal cancelation and interference [see column 2, lines 1-5 of Richards]
Regarding claim 16, Yuan further discloses that each target comprises a human and the target reflected signal is configured to enable detection of cardiac activity of each human. [see page 2, right column, paragraph below Fig. 6 disclosing that the reflected signal is off of a human target showing its cardiac activity]
Regarding claim 19, Yuan discloses that a method of sensing motion [see abstract of Yuan], comprising:
generating, using a super-regenerative oscillator (SRO) comprising a tunable voltage- controlled oscillator (VCO), [see page 1, right column, section under A. 1D MTD LWA design disclosing: a tunable voltage controlled oscillator (VCO)”] an oscillating driver signal in accordance with a sequence of quench cycles, [see page 2, left column, section under B.SRO Radar sensor design] wherein an amplitude of the oscillating signal changes from an initial value to an 29equilibrium value (Veq) and back to an extinction value during a first portion of each quench cycle; [see page 2, left column, section under B.SRO Radar sensor design, especially last paragraph discloses that during a built-up time, the voltage reaches an equilibrium state and during quench cycle, it dies out ]
and transmitting, via a metamaterial (MTM) leaky wave antenna (LWA) [see page 1, right column, section under A. one dimensional MTD LWA design] using the generated oscillating driver signal, [see page 1, right column, section under A. 1D MTD LWA design detects multiple targets] a plurality of interrogating RF signals (2.4 GHZ is within the RF range); and
demodulating at least two received target reflected RF signals to provide thereby respective baseband signals reflected from different targets [see page 2, right column, first paragraph discloses demodulation of the signal by detecting its envelope; see also FIGH. 1 showing an envelope detector] which includes the target-associated motion information [see page 2, right column, the target cardiac activity (i.e. target associated motion) is determined off of the demodulation] and ranging information. [as it is disclosed in page 2, right column: “the reflected signal modulated by the cardiac activity”; a signal transmitted and reflected off of another object would have a phase delay which inherently includes the target’s ranging information]
Yuan does not disclose that the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information. Yan further fails to discloses that wherein target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals,
Richards, directed towards radar detection of multiple persons for vital sign monitoring [see abstract of Richards] further discloses the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval [see FIG. 3 and column 6, lines 45-65] such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information.[see column 7, lines 5-35; the coding provides distinction between persons which each signal including the position and timing information of a different object (i.e. ranging information)] Richards further discloses target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals [see column 12, lines 5-10 of Richards] to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals,[see column 12, line 60- column 13, line 10 disclosing determining time offsets].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of Yuan such that the quench cycle is such that that the quench signal is modulated according to a sequence of pulses separated by a pulse interval such that each target reflected signal includes respective target ranging information. And that target ranging information may be retrieved from each target reflected signal using time domain cross-correlation of the received baseband signals to determine a time difference (At) between respective received and transmitted baseband signals according to the teachings of Richards in order to improve the quality of signal detection for multiple users and overcome signal cancelation and interference [see column 2, lines 1-5 of Richards]
Regarding claim 20, Yuan further discloses that each target comprises a human and the target reflected signal is configured to enable detection of cardiac activity of each human; [see page 2, right column, paragraph below Fig. 6 disclosing that the reflected signal is off of a human target showing its cardiac activity]
Claims 3, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (“Multi-target Vital Sign Detection Using Metamaterial Leaky Wave Antenna-Integrated Super-Regenerative Oscillator”, IEEE Xplore, 15 October, 2021) hereinafter “Yuan” in view of Richards et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,466,125) hereinafter Richards as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Li et al. (“Noncontact vital sign detection using 24GHz two-dimensional frequency scanning metamaterial leavy wave antenna array”, IEEE. 2018) hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 3, Yuan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Yuan does not disclose that the MTM LWA comprises a two-dimensional (2D) MTM LWA.
Li, directed towards non-contact vital sign detection using metamaterial leaky wave antennas [see abstract of Li] further discloses that the MTM LWA comprises a two-dimensional (2D) MTM LWA. [see page 256, left column, last paragraph of the page disclosing the 2D MTM LWA]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the leaky wave antenna of Yuan further such that the MTM LWA comprises a two-dimensional (2D) MTM LWA according to the teachings of Li in order to overcome the shortcoming of 1D LWA in detecting multi persons with various heights [see page 255, left column, last 5 lines of the first paragraph]
Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Yuan does not disclose that the MTM LWA generates a main beam having a direction 0(w) expressed as:
(w)=arcsin(
β
(
ω
)
K
0
)
Li further discloses that MTM LWA generates a main beam having a direction 0(w) expressed as:
(w)=arcsin(
β
(
ω
)
K
0
) where ko is the free space wavenumber, and the propagation constant of CRLH LWA β(ω) is a function of the frequency which can be changed from negative to positive value as the frequency increases. [see page 255, right column, section under II. 1D frequence scanning metamaterial LWA and equation 1 continued in page 246; the examiner notes that since β(ω) is a constant which can be varied with frequency, it is evident that it can change from negative to positive values if needed.]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of the leaky wave antenna of Yuan further such that MTM LWA generates a main beam having a direction 0(w) expressed as:
(w)=arcsin(
β
(
ω
)
K
0
) according to the teachings of Li in order to avoid self-resonance issue of the interdigital capacitors and shorted stubs, resulting in the above radiation pattern. [see page 255, right column, last paragraph before formula]. The examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the β(ω) function such that it would go from negative numbers to positive numbers as the frequency increases since it has been held that once the general concept of a claim is disclosed in the prior art, finding the workable or optimum ranges of constants would be obvious to an ordinarily skilled in the art. In re Aller, 105, USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15, Yuan discloses all the limitations of claim 14 [see rejection of claim 14 above]
Yuan does not disclose that the MTM LWA comprises a two-dimensional (2D) MTM LWA, and system is configured to perform frequency-dependent space mapping.
Li further discloses that the MTM LWA comprises a two-dimensional (2D) MTM LWA, [see page 256, left column, last paragraph of the page disclosing the 2D MTM LWA] and system is configured to perform frequency-dependent space mapping. [see FIG. 6 and page 256, right column].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of the leaky wave antenna of Yuan further such that the MTM LWA comprises a two-dimensional (2D) MTM LWA, and system is configured to perform frequency-dependent space mapping according to the teachings of Li in order to overcome the shortcoming of 1D LWA in detecting multi persons with various heights [see page 255, left column, last 5 lines of the first paragraph]
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (“Multi-target Vital Sign Detection Using Metamaterial Leaky Wave Antenna-Integrated Super-Regenerative Oscillator”, IEEE Xplore, 15 October, 2021) hereinafter “Yuan” in view of Richards et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,466,125) hereinafter Richards as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yuan et al. (“Multi-target Concurrent vital sign and location detection using metamaterial integrated self-injection locked quadrature radar sensor, IEEE, 2019) hereinafter “Yuan-2”.
Regarding claim 5, Yuan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Yuan does not disclose that a tuning voltage Vtune for controlling the output oscillation frequency of the VCO is generated using a function generator.
Yuan-2, directed towards a vital sign detection of multi persons [see abstract of Yuan-2] further discloses that a tuning voltage Vtune for controlling the output oscillation frequency of the VCO is generated using a function generator. [see page 5433, right column, lines 9-15 disclosing: “For generating the FSK modulation waveforms, a function generator is employed to create a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal with its duty cycle equal to 50%, which provides two different voltage levels for the VCO]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Yuan further such that a tuning voltage Vtune for controlling the output oscillation frequency of the VCO is generated using a function generator according to the teachings of Yuan-2 in order to provide two different voltage levels for the VCO [see page 5433, right column, lines 9-15]
Claims 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (“Multi-target Vital Sign Detection Using Metamaterial Leaky Wave Antenna-Integrated Super-Regenerative Oscillator”, IEEE Xplore, 15 October, 2021) hereinafter “Yuan” in view of Richards et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,466,125) hereinafter Richards as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yuan et al. (“Super-regenerative oscillator-based high sensitivity radar architecture for motion sensing and vital sign detection”, IEEE, March 2021) hereinafter “Yuan-3”.
Regarding claim 6, Yuan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Yuan does not disclose that a tuning voltage Vtune for controlling the output oscillation frequency of the VCO is generated using a DC power supply.
Yuan-3, directed towards a vital signa detection sensor using radar system [see abstract of Yuan-3] further discloses that a tuning voltage Vtune for controlling the output oscillation frequency of the VCO is generated using a DC power supply. [see FIG. 10, a power supply is used for the powering of the VCO system]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Yuan further such that a tuning voltage Vtune for controlling the output oscillation frequency of the VCO is generated using a DC power supply according to the teachings of Yuan-3 in order to provide a source that can change the voltage value easily based on the demand of the system.
Regarding claim 8, Yuan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Yuan does not disclose that the amplitude of the oscillating driver signal changing during the first portion of each quench cycle exhibits an exponential function in amplitude.
Yuan-3 further discloses that the amplitude of the oscillating driver signal changing during the first portion of each quench cycle exhibits an exponential function in amplitude. [see page 1978, left column, section under D.SRO radar sensing mechanism, and equation 33]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Yuan further such that the amplitude of the oscillating driver signal changing during the first portion of each quench cycle exhibits an exponential function in amplitude according to the teachings of Yuan-3 in order to depict the transient response before reaching the equilibrium [see page 1978, left column, section under. D. SRO radar sensing mechanism]
Regarding claim 9, Yuan discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Yuan does not disclose that the exponential function in amplitude is expressed as Veqk:
Vrek
e
t
k
τ
k
the exponential function in amplitude is expressed as Veqk:
Vrek
e
t
k
τ
k
where Veqk, is the equilibrium value of the output signal and t0k, is the time constant for the oscillation build-up. [see page 1978, left column, section under D.SRO radar sensing mechanism, and equation 33]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Yuan further such that the exponential function in amplitude is expressed as Veqk:
Vrek
e
t
k
τ
k
according to the teachings of Yuan-3 in order to depict the transient response before reaching the equilibrium [see page 1978, left column, section under. D. SRO radar sensing mechanism]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARJAN SABOKTAKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795