DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications regarding the applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed on 10/16/2025.
Claims 1-30, 35-36, 42-43 and 49-50 have been canceled.
Claims 31-34, 37-41, and 44-48 are pending.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s main argument is that Danyluk does not teach the claimed feature “calculating a conversation stickiness score of the first user, wherein the conversation stickiness score is calculated based on an average length of time taken by the first user to move between any two topics across all prior conversations of the first user”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In response to Applicant’s above argument, it is noted that Danyluk teaches claimed feature “calculating a conversation stickiness score of the first user, wherein the conversation stickiness score is calculated based on an average length of time taken by the first user to move between any two topics across all prior conversations of the first user” by using the system keeps track on an average length of time a person stay on a topic in a conversation comprising plurality of topics in par. 0058-0059, 0080 as follow:
“[0058] … In one or more examples, a conversation (or discussion) includes multiple conversation topics. The media retrieval system 110 extracts the one or more topics from the conversation.[0059] In addition to extracting the one or more conversation topics from the conversation (or discussion), the media retrieval system 110 keeps track of one or more attributes and/or metrics for each conversation topic. For example, the media retrieval system 110 keeps track of the amount of time spent discussing a topic and/or the person with whom the user is conversing. The media retrieval system 110 may also keep track of an order of topics in the conversation. The one or more attributes are used to prioritize the conversation topics, in one or more examples…[0080]…The attributes may further include a timestamp corresponding the last time the conversation topic was discussed. Further, the attributes include an amount of time the conversation topic was discussed in each conversation. Alternatively, or in addition, an average amount of time the conversation topic was discussed is listed. The attributes also include a frequency of a conversation topic being used in different conversations of the user. The attributes further include an identity of one or more (other) users with whom the conversation topic was discussed by the user of the media retrieval system 110”
Specifically, the claimed feature is directed toward Specification paragraph 0031, Fig 3 and Fig 4 as followed “"Past Conversation Stickiness Score" may include a length of a time period before a prior conversation (of the user) associated with a first topic becomes associated with a second topic. For example, as shown in the classification table 310, the time between the first topic (class) "Game of Thrones" at time t1 and the second topic (class) "Narcos" at time t6 is the time between time t1 and time t6. A user's "Past Conversation Stickiness Score" may be averaged across all prior conversations of the user, or only certain ones of the prior conversations of the user (e.g., only conversations between the user and another specific user)” . Accordingly, the time between “time t1” and “time t6” is the length of time associated with the first topic, and “Past Conversation Stickiness Score” is the averaged length of time associated with all prior conversations associated with the first topic such as “Game of Thrones”. Danyluk clearly teaches the same feature in at least in par. 0080 “…[0080]…The attributes may further include a timestamp corresponding the last time the conversation topic was discussed. Further, the attributes include an amount of time the conversation topic was discussed in each conversation. Alternatively, or in addition, an average amount of time the conversation topic was discussed is listed”. As such, Danyluk clearly teaches claimed feature “calculating a conversation stickiness score of the first user, wherein the conversation stickiness score is calculated based on an average length of time taken by the first user to move between any two topics across all prior conversations of the first user”
For the above reasons, Examiner believed that rejection of the last Office action was proper and within their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. See MPEP 2111 [R-1] Interpretation of Claims-Broadest Reasonable Interpretation.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisionally withdrawn until the claims have been found to be otherwise allowable.
Claim Interpretation
The claims 45-48 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-34, 38-41, and 45-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200342853 to Ji et al (hereinafter “Ji”), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190087500 to Danyluk et al. (hereinafter “Danyluk”).
As to claim 31, Ji teaches a method comprising (computer implemented method in a system comprising processor and non-transitory computer readable storage medium, Fig. 1, 2, 6A, par. 0013-0015):
determining that a first user is engaged in a conversation about a first topic (Fig. 6A-7, par. 0038-0040, 0053-0056, detect a communication);
identifying a second topic, different from the first topic, that is predicted to be a future topic of the conversation based on the first topic (Fig. 6A-7, par. 0038-0040, 0053-0059, prediction of a topic based on previous communication);
identifying a predicted length of time for the conversation to become about the second topic, wherein the identifying the predicted length of time is based on a plurality of prior conversations of the first user (Fig. 6A-7, par. 0038-0040, 0053-0059, prediction of a topic based on previous communication and elapse time);
the identifying the predicted length of time comprises accessing a conversation stickiness score of the first user (par. 0024, 0044-0047, 0049-0058, predictive metrics for topics of conversation based on history of conversation and duration between topics);
selecting a time offset based on the predicted length of time for the conversation to become about the second topic (Fig. 6A-7, par. 0038-0040, 0053-0059, i.e. “based on the elapsed time since the previous communication. The next topic DS ASR engine is predicted based on the elapsed time since the first communication and historical data of a pattern of communication between the two entities.”);
after the time offset, transmitting a content item related to the second topic for display on a device of the first user (Fig. 6A-7, par. 0038-0040, 0053-0059, content item related to topics for displaying, i.e. “In one example, first entity 304 is a person who comes home from work each day at approximately six o'clock in the evening (i.e., 6 PM). First entity 304 habitually speaks the phrases “hello”, “how was your day?”, and “what should we get for dinner?”. Second entity 306 habitually responds to the series of questions with a greeting, positive adjective, a brief summary of their scientific work, and a restaurant suggestion. Proactively, around 6 PM, at the onset of the habitual conversation, and/or based on GPS 228 location tracking indicating that the first entity has arrived home, processor 205 triggers selection and activation of one or more DS ASR engines 342A-N. DS ASR engines 342A-N have, for example, vocabulary terms that correlate to a greeting response, positive adjectives, and science. Further, in one embodiment, processor 205 executes a device resource that generates restaurant suggestions to display 226. In still another example, second entity 306 leaves the communication and/or location for 30 minutes. In response to detecting the communication between first entity 304 and second entity 306 is restarted (or that a next communication between the two entities begins), processor 205 triggers selection and activation of a next topic DS ASR engine from among the plurality of DS ASR engines within prediction engine 216, in part based on the elapsed time since the previous communication. The next topic DS ASR engine is predicted based on the elapsed time since the first communication and historical data of a pattern of communication between the two entities.”).
Ji teaches the conversation stickiness score is based on a length of a time period before a prior conversation of the first user (Fig. 3-5, par. 0043-0045, 0049-0058, plurality of topics and history of conversations, including duration, transition time between topics; par. 0024, 0044-0047, predictive metrics for topics of conversation based on history of conversation and duration between topics). However, Ji does not explicitly teach calculating a conversation stickiness score of the first user, wherein the conversation stickiness score is calculated based on an average length of time taken by the first user to move between any two topics across all prior conversations of the first user as claimed.
Danyluk teaches calculating a conversation stickiness score of the first user, wherein the conversation stickiness score is calculated based on an average length of time taken by the first user to move between any two topics across all prior conversations of the first user (par. 0058-0059, 0080, average amount of time the conversation topic was discussed. It is noted the length of time for a first topic move to a second topic is the length of time of the first topic. Specifically, the claimed feature is directed toward Specification paragraph 0031, Fig 3 and Fig 4 as followed “"Past Conversation Stickiness Score" may include a length of a time period before a prior conversation (of the user) associated with a first topic becomes associated with a second topic. For example, as shown in the classification table 310, the time between the first topic (class) "Game of Thrones" at time t1 and the second topic (class) "Narcos" at time t6 is the time between time t1 and time t6. A user's "Past Conversation Stickiness Score" may be averaged across all prior conversations of the user, or only certain ones of the prior conversations of the user (e.g., only conversations between the user and another specific user)” . Accordingly, the time between “time t1” and “time t6” is the length of time associated with the first topic, and “Past Conversation Stickiness Score” is the averaged length of time associated with all prior conversations associated with the first topic such as “Game of Thrones”. Danyluk clearly teaches the same feature in at least in par. 0080 “…[0080]…The attributes may further include a timestamp corresponding the last time the conversation topic was discussed. Further, the attributes include an amount of time the conversation topic was discussed in each conversation. Alternatively, or in addition, an average amount of time the conversation topic was discussed is listed”. As such, Danyluk clearly teaches claimed feature “calculating a conversation stickiness score of the first user, wherein the conversation stickiness score is calculated based on an average length of time taken by the first user to move between any two topics across all prior conversations of the first user”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ji with the teaching of Danyluk because they are in the same field of endeavor. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to do so because the teaching of Danyluk would allow Ji to facilitate “… automatic retrieval and playback of media items based on ongoing and/or recent conversations, such as based on analyzing the user's social media posts, text messages, phone calls, instant messenger messages, etc. and further using the microphone on the user's mobile device (or other devices) to monitor the user's conversations. The media retrieval according to the technical solutions herein further extracts media items that match the topics of conversation even when the user is not actively using a device, such as the mobile phone, or the like…” (Danyluk, par. 0047-0050).
As to claim 32, combination of Ji and Danyluk teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the identifying the second topic comprises: accessing a database of information about a plurality of prior conversations between a plurality of users (Fig. 4, par. 0008, 0023, 0034-0035), wherein the information is classified based on at least one of a determined topic or determined subtopics, a source of the determined topic or determined subtopics, and a time that corresponds to when the determined topic or determined subtopics was first introduced in a prior conversation (Fig. 4, par. 0008, 0023, 0034-0035, 0045-0049); and identifying the second topic based on a plurality of prior conversations in the database that are similar to the conversation about the first topic (Fig. 4, par. 0008, 0023, 0034-0035, 0045-0049, identifying second topics, i.e. “The prediction is in part based on the elapsed time since the at least one most previous communication and based on at least one other context. Processor 205 updates CTDB 252 to include second historical data associated with the subsequent communication occurring at the other time of day. The second historical data comprising a timestamp of the other, different time of day and detected prediction metrics 418 related to the prediction of the second topic. For example, ID 420 includes a specified time and date in the field of time of day 412 for two detected topics of discussion, “breakfast and kids” on multiple different days. Processor 205 advantageously stores various combinations of historical data within CTDB 252 to precisely tune triggering and activation of the more precise DS ASR engine and/or device resource.”).
As to claim 33, combination of Ji and Danyluk teaches the method of claim 32, wherein: the database of information comprises information about the plurality of users comprising at least one of sex, age, viewing history, relationships to other users, or a past stickiness score (par. 0041, relationship).
As to claim 34, combination of Ji and Danyluk teaches the method of claim 32, wherein: the information about the plurality of users is based on information automatically compiled by analyzing prior conversations of the plurality of users and at least one of stored profiles of the plurality of users (Fig. 5, par. 0041, 0050-0056, analyzing prior conversations for plurality of users, including relationship as a profile).
As to claim 36, combination of Ji and Danyluk teaches the method of claim 35, wherein: the conversation stickiness score is based on the average length of time it takes the first user to move between topics in prior conversation of the first user (par. 0024, 0044-0047, predictive metrics for topics of conversation based on history of conversation and duration between topics).
Regarding claims 38-41, are essentially the same as claims 31-34, except that it sets forth the claimed invention as a system rather than a method and rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Regarding claims 45-48, are essentially the same as claims 31-34, except that it sets forth the claimed invention as a system rather than a method and rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Claim(s) 37 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ji, Danyluk, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200043479 A1 to Mont-Reynaud et al. (hereinafter “Mont-Reynaud”).
As to claim 37, combination of Ji and Danyluk teaches the method of claim 31. The combination of Ji and Danyluk does not explicitly teach wherein the transmitting the content item related to the second topic to the device of the first user comprises: transmitting a search inquiry associated with the second topic; receiving a response including content matching the inquiry; identifying a content item from the received response wherein the identified content item is one of the identified content itself, a URL of the identified content, or an image of the identified content; and transmitting the identified content item to the device of the first user as claimed.
Mont-Reynaud teaches wherein the transmitting the content item related to the second topic to the device of the first user comprises: transmitting a search inquiry associated with the second topic; receiving a response including content matching the inquiry; identifying a content item from the received response wherein the identified content item is one of the identified content itself, a URL of the identified content, or an image of the identified content; and transmitting the identified content item to the device of the first use (Fig. 7-16, par. 0100-0109, identifying and displaying content associated with topic of conversation. Further in Fig. 1,2, par. 153-154, some information can be displayed globally to all persons, and all information is intercepted by device 108, that is also associated with plurality of users).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of combination of Ji and Danyluk with the teaching of Mont-Reynaud because they are in the same field of endeavor. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to do so because the teaching of Mont-Reynaud would allow combination of Ji and Danyluk to facilitate “automatically visually presenting information relevant to an utterance… Identified relevant information can be visually displayed also essentially in real-time at a device, such as, for example, during a phone call, a video conference, a game, or an augmented reality experience. The relevance of the information can be anticipated and the relevant information presented by providing relevant information, based on the conversation, just in time. Relevant information automatically appears on a display visible to a person”( Mont-Reynaud, par. 0002-0004, 0035-0037.)
Regarding claim 44, is essentially the same as claim 37, except that it sets forth the claimed invention as a system rather than a method and rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ANHTAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168