DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: “L-Band light” in line 5 should be - - L-band light - - . Re claim 3, “said light” in line 1 appears to be - - said generated C-band light - -. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 , 2 , and 8- 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) a s being anticipated by Evans et al. (US 6,310,716) . Re garding claim 1, Evans et al. disclose a n optical amplifier system (10 in Fig. 4 ) , said system comprising: an erbium-doped fiber amplifier comprising a C-band amplified (30A , 31A – The preferred amplifier system 10 of the present invention also utilizes at least one Erbium doped fiber amplifier.) spontaneous emission stage configured to generate C- band light; an L-band amplifier stage (30B , 31B in Fig. 4) configured to generate L-Band light; and a Raman amplifier (14 in Fig. 4) comprising a fiber span (18) , and wherein said Raman amplifier is pumped using a portion of said generated C-band light (Fig. 4 and col. 5, ll. 51+ ) . Regarding claim 2, Evens et al. disclose t he system of claim 1, further comprising a pump amplifier that amplifies said portion of said generated C-band light ( col. 5, line 51 - col. 6, l ine . 9 ) Regarding claim 8, Evens et al. disclose t he system of claim 1, wherein said Raman amplifier is a Distributed Raman amplifier ( col. 5, ll . 51-67) . Regarding claim 9, Evens et al. disclose t he system of claim 1, further comprising a Discrete Raman amplifier fiber span (col. 5, ll. 51 -67). Regarding claim 10, Evens et al. disclose t he system of claim 1, further comprising a Raman pump unit (col. 3, ll. 15-30) . Regarding claim 11, Evens et al. disclose t he system of claim 1 0, wherein said Raman pump unit comprises higher order pumping ( col. 1, ll. 30-40 and col. 4, ll. 18-67) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 3- 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US 6,310,716) . in view of Benjamin et al. (US 20030161031A1). Re claims 3- 5 , teaching of a hybrid amplifier is shown as discussed above. Evans et al. do not explicitly disclose a channel filter, the Raman amplifier is configured to provide its highest gain in the L++ band , is configured to generate a complimentary gain to the gain of the erbium-doped fiber amplifier, such that a combined gain in said optical amplifier system is substantially flat in the C-band, the L-band and the L++-band. However, Benjamin et al. disclose a hybrid Raman-Erbium optical amplifier. The amplifier further comprises , among other things, a WDM (25 or 45 in Figs. 3 and 4). A channel filter is a component used inside a WDM to implement channel selection. Thus, Benjamin et al. disclose a channel filters that is capable of select ing a specific channel from multiple optical channels (different wavelengths). L++ band generally refers to the region that overlaps with U-band (wavelengths >=1625nm). It would be an obvious design variation to include additional L-band components to work with a higher wavelength such as L++ band (U-band). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Evens et al. to incorporate a channel filter to select, isolate, or reject a single wavelength from a group of multiple optical channels and an amplifier that works in different bands for the purpose of gaining the best output from a hybrid optical amplifier. Re claims 6 and 7, teaching of a hybrid amplifier is shown as discussed above. Evans et al. disclose gain flattening filters briefly but do not explicitly disclose the gain flattening filter is configured to shape the gain of said Raman amplifier and/or is configured to shape a combined gain of said erbium-doped fi ber amplifier and said Raman ampli fi er. However, Benjamin et al. disclose a hybrid Raman-Erbium optical amplifier. The amplifier further comprises a gain flattening filter (32 in Fig. 2). The gain flattening filer is to minimize unwanted ripple or non-flatness in the gain of the Raman filter over the spectrum of its transmission wavelengths. Thus, i t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Evens et al. to incorporate one or more gain flattening filters of Benjamin et al. to obtain optimum gain of the Raman filter over the spectrum of its transmission wavelengths. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Islam et al. (US 6574037) discloses a Raman amplifier apparatus. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT STEVEN S PAIK whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2404 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Allana L Bidder can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-5560 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEVEN S PAIK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2876