DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ filing on 10/29/2025. Claims 1-20 were previously pending, of which claims 8-10 and 18 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled or newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending and are being examined below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant's remarks, see pages 9-15, filed 10/29/2025; Applicant’s “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to the claim objections, the amendments have rendered the objections moot. Therefore, the objections to the claims are withdrawn.
With respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), the arguments have been considered, but are not persuasive. The wording of claim 8 includes “a table, including the target pressure recorded according to the stroke distance of the pedal” suggesting that there was a point in which it was recorded. Therefore the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is maintained. An amendment of “a table, including preset target pressures according to the stroke distance of the pedal” would provide the data as described by the arguments and elaborated in [00112-00116] of the instant specification to overcome.
With respect to the claim rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. With respect to Applicant’s argument that Li fails to disclose the adjustment of a magnitude and timing of a current to apply hydraulic force to a braking device, it is maintained that Li does teach the limitations. The hydraulic braking device is a device which applies hydraulic pressure to clamp a brake mechanism on the wheel brake. The cited paragraphs of Li state, at least, that the hydraulic pressure provided by the main pressure building unit and the redundant pressure building unit are both output by the execution control unit to the same pressure regulating module 8, controlling the high-precision break wheel cylinder pressure, see [0068, 0076]. In paragraph [0035], the execution control unit “adjusts the rotation of the motor of the redundant wire-controlled brake unit's pressure-building module and the opening and closing of the solenoid valve,” which can only be adjusted by the variation in electrical current output to power the rotation and time the opening and closing of the solenoid valve to increase the pressure. In [0074-0076] the target pressure and actual pressure is used to determine “whether the brake pressure signal of the brake wheel cylinder fed back by the redundant sensor system has reached the target pressure.” Therefore, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 are maintained, as clarified below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 115123160 A), hereinafter Li.
With respect to claims 1 and 16, Li discloses A redundancy dynamic braking system comprising: a main braking force adjusting device configured to control a hydraulic braking device of a vehicle; (see at least [0022] “The main execution controller can control the main pressure building unit” [0068] “The pressure regulating module 8 receives the control signal from the execution control unit… the brake fluid is compressed and the pressure is transmitted through the hydraulic pipeline.”)
a receiving unit configured to receive driving information of the vehicle; (see at least [0034] “The vehicle control unit with redundant functions receives the upper-level signals of autonomous driving”)
an electronic control braking device configured to be operated electrically to generate braking force; (see at least [0050] “The redundant brake-by-wire unit with multiple pressure-building modules consists of two parts, namely a pressure-building module 7 and a voltage-regulating module 8”)
and an auxiliary braking force adjusting device configured to control the hydraulic braking device and the electronic control braking device, in an event of a failure in the main braking force adjusting device, (see at least [0050] “the redundant pressure building submodule 11 serves as a redundant brake pressure source when the main pressure building submodule 10 of the wire control brake unit fails”)
wherein the auxiliary braking force adjusting device is configured to control the electronic control braking device by adjusting a magnitude and an application time of a current applied to the electronic control braking device based on an estimated target pressure using the driving information. (see at least [0074] “Since the main execution controller 5 has failed, the redundant execution controller 6 receives the target brake pressure signal and the actual brake wheel cylinder pressure signal from the vehicle redundant controller, and sends the deviation value between the two to the redundant pressure building controller and the redundant pressure regulating controller.” [0035] “adjusts the rotation of the motor of the redundant wire-controlled brake unit's pressure-building module and the opening and closing of the solenoid valve… according to the target braking pressure and the actual braking pressure, so as to realize the wheel cylinder pressure control.” [0076] “The pressure regulating module 8 receives the control signal of the redundant execution controller 6… If the wheel cylinder pressure does not reach the target value, the redundant brake motor will continue to rotate and increase the pressure;” Note: It is understood that a wire-controlled motor and solenoid valve are controlled by electrical current and the rotation and solenoid valve can only be adjusted through the current.)
With respect to claim 4, Li discloses the driving information includes at least one of a rotation speed of a wheel provided in the vehicle, a driving speed of the vehicle, and a stroke of a brake pedal provided in the vehicle. (see at least [0014] “the sensing unit is arranged on the wire control brake unit, and the sensing unit includes a brake motor current signal sensor, a brake motor speed signal sensor, a vehicle speed signal sensor, a wheel angle signal sensor, a wheel cylinder brake pressure signal sensor, a brake pedal displacement signal sensor and a yaw angular velocity signal sensor.”)
With respect to claims 6 and 17, Li discloses assuming that the vehicle is braked with the hydraulic braking device, the target pressure is a total braking hydraulic pressure to be generated by the hydraulic braking device. (see at least [0076] “the execution control unit determines whether the brake pressure signal of the brake wheel cylinder fed back by the sensor unit has reached the target pressure. If the wheel cylinder pressure does not reach the target value, the redundant brake motor will continue to rotate and increase the pressure; when the brake pressure reaches the target pressure, the inlet valve will close and the pressure will be maintained.”)
With respect to claim 7, Li discloses the driving information includes stroke information of a brake pedal, (see at least [0014] “a brake pedal displacement signal sensor”)
and wherein the target pressure is determined according to a stroke distance of the brake pedal. (see at least [0054] “the brake pedal and is responsible for monitoring the driver's braking intention, sending braking signals to the control system in a timely manner, and quickly responding to the driver's braking force requirements.”)
With respect to claim 9, Li discloses the auxiliary braking force adjusting device is further configured to start redundancy dynamic braking in response to the target pressure being equal to or greater than a predetermined reference target pressure, a driving speed of the vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined reference driving speed, and a wheel speed sensor and the electronic control braking device are determined to be operating normally. (see at least [0042] “The main fault diagnosis and reconstruction unit 1 receives the brake-by-wire unit status information and determines in real time whether the brake-by-wire unit is faulty” [0071] “If the main module fails, it will immediately switch to the corresponding redundant module.” [0073] The vehicle control unit calculates the deviation between the expected and actual parameters according to the expected longitudinal speed, the actual longitudinal speed measured by the speed signal sensor, the expected yaw rate, the actual yaw rate measured by the yaw rate signal sensor, the expected center of mass sideslip angle and the actual center of mass side slip angle estimation value output by the state estimation unit… and outputs the target braking force of each tire to the execution controller.”)
With respect to claim 10, Li discloses the auxiliary braking force adjusting device is further configured to terminate dynamic braking in response to the target pressure being lower than a predetermined reference target pressure, a driving speed of the vehicle is slower than a predetermined reference driving speed, a wheel speed sensor or the electronic control braking device is determined to have failed, or the vehicle is determined to be driving on a split road surface. (see at least [0076] “If the brake pressure exceeds the target value, the brake redundant motor and the liquid inlet valve are turned off” [0073] “The vehicle control unit calculates the deviation between the expected and actual parameters according to the expected longitudinal speed, the actual longitudinal speed measured by the speed signal sensor, the expected yaw rate, the actual yaw rate measured by the yaw rate signal sensor, the expected center of mass sideslip angle and the actual center of mass side slip angle estimation value output by the state estimation unit”)
With respect to claims 11, Li discloses the auxiliary braking force adjusting device is further configured to operate the electronic control braking device using at least two redundancy dynamic braking modes of adjusting the magnitude and the application time of the current applied to the electronic control braking device. (see at least [0076] “If the wheel cylinder pressure does not reach the target value, the redundant brake motor will continue to rotate and increase the pressure; when the brake pressure reaches the target pressure, the inlet valve will close and the pressure will be maintained. If the brake pressure exceeds the target value, the brake redundant motor and the liquid inlet valve are turned off, and the liquid outlet valve is opened until the brake wheel cylinder pressure drops to the target value. Finally, it returns to the control stage and continues the next round of brake control process.”)
With respect to claim 12, Li discloses the at least two redundancy dynamic braking modes include: a first redundancy dynamic braking mode of continuously applying a current of a predetermined magnitude to the electronic control braking device; (see at least [0076] “If the wheel cylinder pressure does not reach the target value, the redundant brake motor will continue to rotate and increase the pressure;”)
and a second redundancy dynamic braking mode of discontinuously applying a current applied to the electronic control braking device. (see at least [0076] “when the brake pressure reaches the target pressure, the inlet valve will close and the pressure will be maintained. If the brake pressure exceeds the target value, the brake redundant motor and the liquid inlet valve are turned off”)
With respect to claim 13, Li discloses the auxiliary braking force adjusting device is further configured to: in response that the estimated target pressure is lower than a predetermined reference pressure, operate the electronic control braking device in the first redundancy dynamic braking mode, (see at least [0076] “If the wheel cylinder pressure does not reach the target value, the redundant brake motor will continue to rotate and increase the pressure;”)
and in response that the estimated target pressure is equal to or greater than the predetermined reference pressure, operate the electronic control braking device in the second redundancy dynamic braking mode. (see at least [0076] “when the brake pressure reaches the target pressure, the inlet valve will close and the pressure will be maintained. If the brake pressure exceeds the target value, the brake redundant motor and the liquid inlet valve are turned off…Finally, it returns to the control stage and continues the next round of brake control process.”)
With respect to claims 15 and 20, Li discloses the second redundancy dynamic braking mode includes: a first operation of applying a current to the electronic control braking device by a predetermined target current; (see at least [0076] “the redundant pressure building submodule 11 receives the output signal of the redundant execution controller 6, and the braking redundant motor responds to quickly build up pressure.”)
and a second operation of releasing the electronic control braking device during a predetermined release time, (see at least [0052] “The function of the pressure regulating module 8 is to adjust the opening and closing of the high-speed switch valve according to the preset control algorithm under the control of the execution control unit” [0076] “valve are opened and closed at a high frequency”)
wherein the first operation and the second operation are repeatedly performed. (see at least [0076] “The pressure regulating module 8 receives the control signal from the execution control unit, and the electromagnetic liquid inlet valve and the electromagnetic liquid outlet valve are opened and closed at a high frequency and quickly to generate high-precision brake wheel cylinder pressure.”)
With respect to claim 18, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claims 11 and 13, and it has been determined that claim 18 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claims 11 and 13; therefore, claim 18 is also rejected over the same rationale as claims 11 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang (US 2021/0370899 A1), hereinafter Hwang.
With respect to claim 2, Li discloses braking devices on all wheels, but does not explicitly disclose which device is controlled when a failure occurs.
However, Hwang teaches the hydraulic braking device includes: a first hydraulic braking device provided in one of a front wheel and a rear wheel of the vehicle; and a second hydraulic braking device provided in another of the front wheel and the rear wheel of the vehicle, (see at least Fig. 1, [0019] “the main brake assemblies 110, electronic parking brakes (EPBs) 120”)
and wherein the auxiliary braking force adjusting device is further configured to directly control braking hydraulic pressure of the first hydraulic braking device, in the event of the failure in the main braking force adjusting device. (see at least [0042-0043] “When an abnormality is determined to be present in the main control unit 130… The redundancy control unit 140 transmits the braking force to the front and rear wheels”)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the braking devices of Li to include the control of the front and rear disclosed in Hwang, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to distribute the control to the different brakes as needed on the vehicle to reduce installation and save cost, see Hwang [0021].
With respect to claim 3, Li discloses braking devices on all wheels, but does not explicitly disclose which device is controlled when a failure occurs.
However, Hwang teaches the electronic control braking device is provided in another wheel provided with the second hydraulic braking device, (see at least Fig. 1, [0019] “the main brake assemblies 110, electronic parking brakes (EPBs) 120” [0032] “the braking force of the electronic parking brakes 120 for braking the rear wheels”)
and wherein the auxiliary braking force adjusting device is configured to generate a braking force using the first hydraulic braking device and the electronic control braking device, in the event of the failure in the main braking force adjusting device. (see at least [0042-0043] “When an abnormality is determined to be present in the main control unit 130… The redundancy control unit 140 transmits the braking force to the front and rear wheels… and additionally transmits the braking force of the electronic parking brakes 120 to the rear wheels.”)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the braking devices of Li to include the control of the front and rear disclosed in Hwang, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to distribute the control to the different brakes as needed on the vehicle to reduce installation and save cost, see Hwang [0021].
With respect to claim 5, Li discloses brakes on each of the wheels in a brake by wire system, but does not explicitly disclose the brakes including an electronic parking brake.
However, Hwang teaches the electronic control braking device is an electronic parking brake (EPB). (see at least Fig. 1, [0019] “electronic parking brakes (EPBs) 120”)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the braking devices of Li to include the control of the front and rear disclosed in Hwang, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to distribute the control to the different brakes as needed on the vehicle to reduce installation and save cost, see Hwang [0021].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Niino (US 6,439,674 B1), hereinafter Niino.
With respect to claim 8, Li discloses determining a target braking pressure, but does not explicitly disclose the use of a table that stores those pressures in reference to a brake pedal input.
However, Niino teaches a storage unit, in which a table including the target pressure recorded according to the stroke distance of the brake pedal, is stored, wherein the auxiliary braking force adjusting device is further configured to determine the target pressure using the table including the target pressure recorded according to the stroke distance of the brake pedal stored in the storage unit. (see at least [col. 14 lines 26-32] “The brake ECU 40 obtains a target vehicle braking force corresponding to the pedal depression force with reference to a map or a table or an equation stored in a memory (refer to step S10).” [col. 4 lines 15-18] “Furthermore, the “brake pedal input value” is for example a depression force applied on the brake pedal or a stroke length of the brake pedal or a M/C pressure.”)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the target pressure of Li to include the brake pedal stroke table disclosed in Niino, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a reference target pressure that is appropriately indicated by the driver, see Niino [col. 14].
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Leiber (US 2022/0055592 A1), hereinafter Leiber.
With respect to claims 14 and 19, Li discloses the continuous application of a signal to increase pressure, but does not explicitly disclose setting the signal/current based on the target pressure.
However, Leiber teaches the first redundancy dynamic braking mode includes a plurality of operations of differently setting the magnitude of the current applied to the electronic control braking device based on the target pressure. (see at least [0119] “The pressure control can also be carried out by measuring the current by means of the motor current measuring device i/U and the angle sensor α/U and a stored pressure-volume characteristic, since the motor torque is proportional to the pressure in the pressure chamber and also proportional to the motor current i.”)
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the signal of Li to include the proportional current control disclosed in Leiber, with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to use the proportionality to precisely control the pressure change, see Leiber [0010].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669