DETAILED ACTION
Applicant has amended the claims. Support for the amended and new claims is found in the original filing. No new matter is presented.
The amended claims overcome the previous rejections under section 102; however, new and amended grounds of rejection are below set forth under sections 112 and 103.
The remarks filed in conjunction with the amended claims do not overcome the below rejections for the reasons more fully below set forth.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/12/2026, 2/20/2024, 2/20,2024 and 1/23/2024 have previously been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, 10-12, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites: a hydraulic binder and a binder reducing formulation comprising carbon nanotubes, glycerol, silane, nano silica, water and a surfactant, wherein the binder reducing formulation is present in an amount effective to permit…” this claim is interpreted to require to compositions, a hydraulic binder and a binder reducing formulation. The binder reducing formation is interpreted to require carbon nanotubes, glycerol silane nano silica water and a surfactant. The claim goes on to recite the binder reducing formulation is present in an amount effective to permit reduction in hydraulic binder….etc. this “effective” amount is directed solely to the entirety of the binder reducing formula. This claim does not recite any amount of each component of the binder reducing formula or any ratios between its components. The claims do not recite the components of the hydraulic binder nor any amount of the components of the hydraulic binder nor any ratio of the hydraulic binder to the binder reducing formula. Giving the claims the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification, the limitation for the effective amount is indefinite. MPEP 2173.05 The phrase "an effective amount" has been held to be indefinite when the claim fails to state the function which is to be achieved and more than one effect can be implied from the specification or the relevant art. In re Fredericksen, 213 F.2d 547, 102 USPQ 35 (CCPA 1954). (emphasis added by examiner) As below set forth the mixture of the composition which is the binder reducing formulation provides additional functions including surfactant/hydrophobic/hydrophilic, viscosity modification, solvency etc. (see prior art as below cited and as set forth in the Abstract of the prior art teaching the composition provides reinforcement repair and strengthening of materials)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 10-12, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Barrera et al (US 2016/0046823) further in view of Gonzalez Calderon et al (WO 2020201476A1)
CLAIM INTERPRETATION:
The following claim interpretation is incorporated into each and every rejection below as though fully set forth therin.
Claim 6 recites an intended use: “A binder reducing formulation for addition to a cementitious composition comprising a hydraulic binder”
The claim proceeds to recite the binder reducer formulation comprising carbon nanotubes, glycerol, silane, nano silica and surfactant. The preamble does not further limit the claimed composition which is fully recited in the body of the claim.
MPEP 2111.02 If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)
Claim 6 recites: a hydraulic binder and a binder reducing formulation comprising carbon nanotubes, glycerol, silane, nano silica, water and a surfactant, wherein the binder reducing formulation is present in an amount effective to permit…” this claim is interpreted to require to compositions, a hydraulic binder and a binder reducing formulation. The binder reducing formation is interpreted to require carbon nanotubes, glycerol silane nano silica water and a surfactant. The claim goes on to recite the binder reducing formulation is present in an amount effective to permit reduction in hydraulic binder….etc. this “effective” amount is directed solely to the entirety of the binder reducing formula. This claim does not recite any amount of each component of the binder reducing formula or any ratios between its components. The claims do not recite the components of the hyarulic binder nor any amount of the components of the hydraulic binder nor any ratio of the hydraulic binder to the binder reducing formula. Any amount of the binder reducing formula will be interpreted to reduce the hydraulic binder. The prior art at below cited teaches ranges of these compositional components such they will impart a reduced need for hydraulic binder etc. of the instant claims in ranges which meet and/or overlap the claimed “effective amount”
As below set forth Barerra teaches a composition comprising carbon nanotubes, nano silica surfactant etc. of instant clams No cement and no hydraulic binder is required in these claims. Barerra does not require a polycarboxylate based superplasticizer thereby meeting the limitations of claim 26.
Barrera et al teaches a composition comprising:
silica such as nano particles of silica [0110] (meeting the limitations of claim 6 for nano silica)
glycerol lubricant and preservative (See claim 43 reference)(meeting the limitations of claim 6 for glycerol)
multi walled carbon nanotubes (See claim 43 reference)(meeting the limitations of claim 6 for carbon nanotubes and claim 12 and claim 28 for multi walled nanotubes of carbon)
where the nanotubes may have surface modification and functionalized carbon nanotubes (i.e. functionalization [0053]-[0054]) where the nanotubes are treated with acid and functionalized [0088][0105] (meeting claim 12 and 27)
a silane compound [0054] such as 3 glycidyloxypropyltrimethoxysilane [0096] (i.e. meeting the limitation of claim 6 for a surfactant and the limitations of claims 6, and 29-30 )
one or more surfactants [0008] (meeting claim 6)
The composition comprises a binder [0008](meeting claim 6)
The composition is included in cement and concrete, etc. [0015][0093]
The composition comprises surfactants and other additives to adjust strength and offer alternatives to fully water based solutions [0011—0012]a and
Includes additives such as defoamers, surface cleaners, UV blockers, [0014] masking agents, slip agents, adherent agents [0090] the composition may comprise ceramic nanoparticles to enable color change [0009] and may comprise ingredients that affect color such as dye, and multifunctional additives, cleaners, [0089] (meeting claim 11 for colorant)
Berrera discloses:
multi walled carbon nanotubes (See claim 43 reference)(meeting the limitations of claims 6 for carbon nanotubes and claim 12 for multi walled nanotubes and claim 28 for carbon multi wall nanotubes)
where the nanotubes may have surface modification and functionalized carbon nanotubes attaching carboxyl groups to the carbon nanotubes [0105] [0124](i.e. functionalization [0053]-[0054]) where the nanotubes are treated with acid and functionalized [0088][0105] (rendering obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to try carboxylic acid with a reasonable expectation of success claim 27)
The composition may comprise water [0096] (meeting claim 6)
The composition may comprise such as 90-99.99 % water by vol. % [0096] 0.001-10 % vol glycerol, 0.001-10 vol. % 3-glycidyloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, 0.01-10 vol. % isopropyl alcohol solvent, 0.01-10 vol. % SDBS as surfactant, 0.01-5 vol. % acrylic emulsion as a binder and 0.00001-5 vol. % carbon multiwalled nanotubes [0096] (overlapping the claimed range of carbon nanotubes of claim 25) the composition may comprise 1-1500 mg silica particles [0110] At least one embodiment of the composition contains ingredients in the following proportions by volume percent of the composition:
[0062] Base or Carrier Liquid (water or other solvent): 90-99.99% by volume percent
[0063] Hygroscopic lubricant or preservative (humectant): 0.001-10% by volume percent (i.e. glycerol)
[0064] Coupling agent(s): 0.001-10% by volume percent (i.e. silane)
[0065] Solvent(s): 0.001-10% by volume percent
[0066] Surfactant(s): 0.001-5% by volume percent
[0067] Binder(s): 0.001-5% by volume percent
[0068] Nanoparticle(s): 0.00001-5% by volume percent
The composition is sued with cement and concrete [0015]
[0086] In some embodiments, the binder includes, for example, polymers, acrylic emulsion, vinyl acetate monomer, polyvinyl acetate, acrylic polymer, polyurethane, polyurea, polycarbonate, poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA), acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) polymer, cellulose acetate butyrate, acrylic and glycol modified polyethylene terephthalate (PET), epoxide and glass or silica additives in sol gel.
(over lapping the ranges of claim 25 and overlapping and encompassing an effective amount of claim 6)
Further Regarding Claims 6 and 10:
The composition may be cured [0014] [0051-0052][0112] The composition improves strength [0-016] [0092][0100]As such the prior art renders obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to use an effective amount to improve strength. It is known that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would be able to ascertain an effective amount to improve strength. See MPEP 2173.05 c
The reference teaches the claimed composition and teaches the composition improves strength, as such it will necessarily possess the claimed properties including but not limited to mechanical strength after curing as set forth in instant claims 6 and 10 in ranges which meet and/or in the alternative would be expected overlap the claimed property ranges.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir.1990) “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
See MPEP 2144.05(I): "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)"
Assuming carboxylic acid is not obvious to try, Berrera does not expressly disclose the acid functionalizing the multi walled carbon nano tubes to be a carboxylic acid.
Guerrero Gonzales (WO 2020/239919A1) discloses a similar composition to that of Berrera comprising cement and carbon nanotubes. Guerrero discloses the carbon nanotubes are functionalized by carboxyl groups and result in a significant enhancement of compressive strength when used in low dosages (Abstract) and are multi walled carbon nanotubes (P5 L15-30)
The composition may further comprise one or more additives common in the field such as strength enhancers accelerators air entrainers corrosion inhibitors etc. (P14 L30-P15L10)
The composition comprising Portland cement and other hydraulic binders and pozzolana slag flay ash silica etc. and aggregates (P15 L5 – P16 L10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to use a carboxylic acid to functionalize the multi walled carbon nanotubes of Berrera as taught by Guerrero in order to further impart improved compressive strength with a reasonable expectation of success. Since Berrera expressly contemplates improved strength and expressly contemplates acid functionalized carbon multi walled nanotubes doing so amounts to nothing more than use of a known functional izer (carboxylic acid) in a known environment (carbon multi walled nanotube) to achieve an expected result (improved strength of cement compositions) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Barrera et al teaches a composition comprising:
silica such as nano particles of silica [0110] (meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 6 for nano silica)
glycerol lubricant and preservative (See claim 43 reference)(meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 6 for glycerol)
multi walled carbon nanotubes (See claim 43 reference)(meeting the limitations of claims 1 and 6 for carbon nanotubes and claim 12 for multi walled nanotubes)
where the nanotubes may have surface modification and functionalized carbon nanotubes (i.e. functionalization [0053]-[0054]) where the nanotubes are treated with acid and functionalized [0088][0105] (meeting claim 12)
a silane compound [0054] such as 3 glycidyloxypropyltrimethoxysilane [0096] (i.e. meeting the limitation of claims 1 and 6 for a surfactant and the limitations of claims 4-5 )
one or more surfactants [0008]
The composition comprises a binder [0008]
The composition is included in cement and concrete, etc. [0015][0093]
The composition comprises surfactants and other additives to adjust strength and offer alternatives to fully water based solutions [0011—0012]a and
Includes additives such as defoamers, surface cleaners, UV blockers, [0014] masking agents, slip agents, adherent agents [0090] the composition may comprise ceramic nanoparticles to enable color change [0009] and may comprise ingredients that affect color such as dye, and multifunctional additives, cleaners, [0089] (meeting claim 11 for colorant)
The examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would find it obvious to try to use cement with aggregate and a hydraulic binder or in the alternative would find it obvious to try a cement type hydraulic binder in the composition of Barrera
NOTE TEACHINGS OF INSTANT SPECIFICATION WHERE APPLICANT RECOGNIZED CEMENT IS HYDRUALIC BINDER: Applicant recognizes that concrete comprises a cement binder and aggregate [0050] of instant specification. Applicant recognizes hydraulic binder includes cement such as Portland cement [0015] instant specification
Further Regarding Claims 7-8:
Berrera discloses the limitations above set forth.
Berrera does not expressly disclose the composition comprising aggregate or the cement to be Portland cement:
Assuming arguendo one of skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would not readily envisage cement to be or to comprise a hydraulic binder and/or would not find same obvious to try:
Further Regarding the limitations for hydraulic binder, Portland cement, aggregate:
Gonzalez Calderon et al WO 2020201476A1 discloses a composition similar to that of Berrera. Gonzalez et al discloses a container for transporting nano materials and the use of nanomaterials in production of concrete or mortar. (Abstract) The composition comprises nanoparticles such as carbon nanoparticles (:10 L1-8) in the form of a nanotube. (P10 L8-15)
The nanotubes are functionalized (P12 L3-8) such as with a silane and silicic acid (P12 L15-22)
The composition comprises as with silane or siloxane 3-Glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, and combinations thereof (P12 L10-15)
The nanotubes are used in production of concrete and mortar to impart and enhance properties such as compressive strength, tensile strength bond strength ductility, permeably and shrinkage (P10 L30-35)
The composition includes a surface modifier and surfactant including a silicone surfactant and combinations thereof (P11 L17-35)
The composition comprises cement an aggregate the nanomaterial solvent dispersed nanomaterial etc. (P15 L30-P16 L10) The cement is Portland cement as it is typically used in production of concrete or mortar (P16 L30-35)(where Portland cement is acknowledged by applicant as a hydraulic binder per above)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to use the Portland cement and aggregate of Gonzelez in the composition of Berrera as the Portland cement with aggregate will be imbued with greater strength as recognized by both Berrera and Gonzalez. Berrera expressly contemplates the use of cement and concrete so doing so is nothing more than adding a known types of cement Portland cement with an aggregate to a known composition of carbon nanotubes with various nano silica and surfactants to achieve an expected result of concrete composition with improved strength with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant appears to argue unexpected and superior results. Applicant argues the expectation is that strength would be reduced with binder reduction; however, does not show any specific data in support but rather generally refers to the entirety of the specification. "[A]ppellants have the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness." Ex parte Ishizaka, 24 USPQ2d 1621, 1624 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) Also, since the claimed composition in no way defined the binder composition to be enhanced, the applicant’s assertion is without support.
Applicant does not establish the unexpected and superior results are commensurate in scope with the claims. Objective evidence of nonobviousness including commercial success must be commensurate in scope with the claims. In re Tiffin, 448 F.2d 791, 171 USPQ 294 (CCPA 1971) Claim 6 recites: a hydraulic binder and a binder reducing formulation comprising carbon nanotubes, glycerol, silane, nano silica, water and a surfactant, wherein the binder reducing formulation is present in an amount effective to permit…” this claim is interpreted to require to compositions, a hydraulic binder and a binder reducing formulation. The binder reducing formation is interpreted to require carbon nanotubes, glycerol silane nano silica water and a surfactant. The claim goes on to recite the binder reducing formulation is present in an amount effective to permit reduction in hydraulic binder….etc. this “effective” amount is directed solely to the entirety of the binder reducing formula. This claim does not recite any amount of each component of the binder reducing formula or any ratios between its components. The claims do not recite the components of the hydraulic binder nor any amount of the components of the hydraulic binder nor any ratio of the hydraulic binder to the binder reducing formula.
The prior art teaches composition improves strength [0-016] As such the prior art renders obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to use an effective amount to improve strength. It is known that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention would be able to ascertain an effective amount to improve strength. See MPEP 2173.05 c "Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention, just as unexpected results are evidence of unobviousness thereof." In re Gershon, 372 F.2d 535, 538, 152 USPQ 602, 604 (CCPA 1967)
Applicant has not established a nexus between the binder reducing formulation and the amount of hydraulic binder and the property of strength. f the evidence is to be given substantial weight in the determination of obviousness or nonobviousness, evidence of secondary considerations must be relevant to the subject matter as claimed, and therefore the examiner must determine whether there is a nexus between the merits of the claimed invention and the evidence of secondary considerations. Ashland Oil, Inc. v. Delta Resins & Refractories, Inc., 776 F.2d 281, 305 n.42, 227 USPQ 657, 673-674 n. 42 (Fed. Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1017 (1986). The term "nexus" designates a factually and legally sufficient connection between the objective evidence of nonobviousness and the claimed invention so that the evidence is of probative value in the determination of nonobviousness. Demaco Corp. v. F. Von Langsdorff Licensing Ltd., 851 F.2d 1387, 7 USPQ2d 1222 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 956 (1988). See also Yita LLC v. MacNeil IP LLC, 69 F.4th 1356, 1363, 2023 USPQ2d 667 (Fed. Cir. 2023). Applicant or patent owner bears the burden of establishing a nexus between the objective evidence of nonobviousness and the claimed invention. See In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 140, 40 USPQ 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
Both the primary reference and the secondary reference teach cement/concrete with multi walled carbon nanotubes and other additives recognizing improved strength of the composition formed and are analogous art.
For the above reasons the rejections as above set forth are maintained and made final.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA H WEISS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732