Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 recites, in part, “frame that supports an the anode”. The word “an” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Funakawa et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2015/0027878).
Regarding claim 1, Funakawa teaches a method for producing an electrolyzer by arranging an electrode for electrolysis in an existing electrolyzer (figure 4 shows assembly of an electrolysis tank) comprising an anode (11), a cathode (21) that is opposed to the anode (11), a membrane/partition wall (30) arranged between the anode (11) and the cathode (21 – shown in figures 1-2; paragraph 46); and
an electrolytic cell frame comprising an anode frame that supports the anode (11; paragraph 111) and a cathode frame that supports the cathode (21; paragraph 66), the electrolytic cell frame storing the anode (11), the cathode (21), and the membrane/partition wall (30) by integrating the anode frame and the cathode frame (as shown in figures 1-2; paragraphs 66, 111), the method comprising:
a releasing process of releasing the integration of the anode frame and the cathode frame to expose the membrane (figure 4 shows that during assembly of the cell, the electrolytic frame can be detached to expose a membrane - 2; paragraph 47);
an arranging process of arranging the electrode for electrolysis on at least one of surfaces of the membrane after the releasing process (paragraphs 47, 133-134), and
an integrating process of integrating the anode frame and the cathode frame after the arranging process to store the anode (11), the cathode (21), the membrane (2; 30), and the electrode for electrolysis into the electrolytic cell frame (as shown in figures 1-3; paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 3, Funakawa further teaches wherein, in the arranging process, the electrode for electrolysis is positioned such that a conducting surface on the membrane (2) is covered with the electrode (11, 21) for electrolysis (paragraph 47; figures 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funakawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Funakawa et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0102662, referred to as Funakawa’662 hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Funakawa teaches all the features discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein, before the arranging process, the electrode for electrolysis and/or the membrane is moistened with an aqueous solution.
Funakawa’662 teaches a method for assembling an electrolyzer comprising an arranging step wherein, before the arranging step, the electrode for electrolysis and/or the membrane is moistened with an aqueous solution in order to form a laminate that exhibits excellent electrolytic performance (paragraphs 578, 2274-2276, 2630-2632).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a step of moisten the electrode or membrane of Funakawa before the arranging process, as taught by Funakawa’662 in order to form a laminate that exhibits excellent electrolytic performance.
Regarding claim 4, Funakawa’662 further teaches wherein, in the arranging process, a wound body obtained by winding the electrode for electrolysis is used to improve the work efficiency during electrode renewing (paragraphs 14, 97-102).
Regarding claim 5, Funakawa’662wherein, in the arranging process, a wound state of the wound body is released on the membrane (paragraphs 99, 260, 1470).
Conclusion
/ZULMARIAM MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794