Response to Amendment
The response filed May 28, 2026 includes amendments to the claims, specification, drawings, and remarks related to the previous rejection. The above had been entered and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejections of claims 1 and 19, Applicant argues the amendment of a plurality of light sources being “adjustable axially with respect to the housing structure” (Claim 1) and the corresponding method steps of “mounting” and “moving” the light sources axially relative to the housing structure (Claim 19), overcome the previous 102 rejection under Kono (US 2011/0197679).
Examiner notes that under MPEP § 2111, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Furthermore, MPEP § 2112 states prior art anticipates a claim limitation if the claimed capability or result is the natural and inherent feature of the structure disclosed in the prior art.
Specifically, with respect to Claim 1, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (MPEP § 2111), the limitation “adjustable axially with respect to the housing structure” is functional that fails to recite any specific structure (e.g., collars, gears, teeth, or tracks) performing or constraining that adjustment. As discussed below, Kono discloses an ultrasonic inspection system comprising an ultrasonic transducer (601) and a plurality of laser light sources (106A, 106B) externally mounted in discrete holders on the outer perimeter of the sensor body (Figures 24–26; paragraphs [0131]–[0137]). Because Kono explicitly teaches mounting discrete light source holders onto the exterior perimeter of a housing structure (fig. 24; 2104), the capability of sliding, adjusting, or re-securing those external light source holders at different axial heights along the perimeter of the housing structure is obviously possessed by Kono et al.'s structure (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Kono explicitly teaches in paragraphs [0135]–[0136], that varying the axial position of the lasers relative to the target surface changes the intersection point of the beams along the central acoustic axis.
While Kono's brackets are fixed in an operational state, adjusting the axial position of a light source along a housing before operation to calibrate or set a target intersection or a water-path distance must occur and is considered a routine optimization of a known result-effective variable (MPEP § 2144.05). i.e. even though Kono does not explicitly recite the light sources are adjustable axially with respect to the housing structure, this indeed must be true from the disclosure to yield an accurate reading. The lasers must be fine-tuned to be accurate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to adjust the axial mounting position of Kono et al.'s light sources along the sensor housing perimeter to select a desired target distance.
With respect to the rejection of claim 19, the method steps of “mounting a plurality of light sources… so that the light sources are adjustable axially” and “moving the light sources relative to the housing structure to adjust an axial position” are anticipated for the same reasons. Mounting Kono et al.'s laser holders at an adjustable axial position on the sensor housing perimeter and moving or adjusting them to set the desired beam intersection configuration represent conventional assembly and calibration steps inherent from Kono.
Therefore, the 102 rejections of independent Claims 1 and 19 over Kono are deemed proper and are maintained.
With respect to the rejection of claim 18, Applicant asserts that Kono et al. fails to mention or disclose sleeves that are “attached to the ultrasonic transducer… pivotally about an axis transverse to the axis extending from the transmitting surface.”
Applicant’s argument is persuasive, and the prior rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Kono et al. alone is WITHDRAWN.
However, claim 18, which depends from amended claim 1, is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below. Specifically, in figure 17 of Kono, POSITA would understand that small fine-tuning adjustments will be needed to accurately intersect 603 and 602 to calibrate the position 106s. and even though Kono does not disclose this, it is inferred from the disclosure and obvious to POSITA to allow for accurate results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–17 and 19–28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by previously cited US PGPUB 2011/0197679 to Kono et al. (“Kono”).
With regards to claim 1, Kono et al. discloses an ultrasonic transducer system comprising, as illustrated in Embodiment 6 (Figures 23–25; paragraphs [0131]–[0136]):
an ultrasonic transducer (601) having a housing structure (Figure 25; 2104), the ultrasonic transducer (601) configured to emit an ultrasonic energy in a direction from a transmitting surface (e.g., emitting surface 105 emitting an ultrasonic wave along center sound axis 602; Figure 25; paragraphs [0131]–[0132]), the ultrasonic energy defining an axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface (105); and
a plurality of light sources (e.g., laser markers 106A, 106B; Figure 25; paragraph [0131]) mounted with respect to the housing structure (e.g., mounted on opposite flanks of ultrasonic sensor 2104; Figure 25), each light source configured to emit a light beam (e.g., beams along optical axes 603A, 603B; Figure 25) that defines a beam pattern (e.g., spot pattern meeting at irradiated position 106S / linear patterns 1501A, 1501B; Figures 24–26; paragraphs [0131]–[0137]) and mounted with respect to the ultrasonic transducer so that the light source emits the light beam in the direction (Figure 25; paragraph [0132]);
the plurality of light sources being adjustable axially with respect to the housing structure (e.g., laser markers 106A, 106B are discrete external components mounted on the flanks of sensor 2104, inherently possessing the capability of being slid, positioned, or re-secured at different axial locations along the perimeter of sensor 2104 to calibrate or vary the target intersection distance 1401B relative to test object 100; paragraphs [0131]–[0136]; Figure 25);
wherein the light sources of the plurality of light sources (106A, 106B) are oriented with respect to each other so that, when the ultrasonic transducer (2104) is disposed so that the ultrasonic transducer emits the ultrasonic energy to a material surface (100), the light sources project the light beam onto the material surface so that the beam patterns intersect the axis (602) in a predetermined configuration (e.g., converging at irradiated position 106S on sound axis 602 at predetermined distance 1401B; Figure 25; paragraphs [0132]–[0135]).
With regards to claim 2, Kono et al. further discloses each said beam pattern defines a center axis (e.g., optical axes 603A, 603B of laser markers 106A, 106B; Figure 25; paragraphs [0131]–[0132]).
With regards to claim 3, Kono et al. further discloses each center axis (603A, 603B) does not orthogonally intersect the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface (105) (e.g., optical axes 603A, 603B are tilted toward each other at an acute angle relative to sound axis 602; Figure 25; paragraph [0132]).
With regards to claim 4, Kono et al. further discloses each center axis (603A, 603B) is not parallel with the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface (105) (e.g., optical axes 603A, 603B are tilted toward sound axis 602; Figure 25; paragraph [0132]).
With regards to claim 5, Kono et al. further discloses each center axis does not intersect the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g., optical axes 603A, 603B terminate at position 1401A before intersecting sound axis 602; Figure 25; paragraph [0133]).
With regards to claim 6, Kono et al. further discloses a bracket (e.g., flank mountings/holders on ultrasonic sensor 2104 holding laser markers 106A, 106B; Figure 25) mounted on the ultrasonic transducer (2104) and in which the light sources of the plurality of light sources (106A, 106B) are secured in respective orientations with respect to the ultrasonic transducer (Figure 25; paragraph [0132]).
With regards to claim 7, Kono et al. further discloses the bracket comprises a plurality of sleeves (e.g., discrete holders on opposite flanks of sensor 2104; Figure 25) that are discrete from each other, each sleeve receiving at least one light source (106A, 106B) of the plurality of light sources in the respective orientation of the light source (Figure 25; paragraph [0132]).
With regards to claim 8, Kono et al. further discloses the bracket (unlabeled mounting body on flanks of sensor 2104 in Fig. 25) comprises a band surrounding a perimeter of the ultrasonic transducer and passing through each sleeve of the plurality of sleeves so that the band holds the sleeves of the plurality of sleeves in position against the perimeter (e.g., light sources 106A and 106B are each mounted in a separate position on each flank of ultrasonic sensor 2104 such that the light sources are each surrounded by an unnumbered holder, both holders forming part of the sensor body extending around transducer 2104; Figure 25; paragraphs [0131]–[0132]).
With regards to claim 9, Kono et al. further discloses each light source of the plurality of light sources is a laser (e.g., laser markers 106A, 106B; paragraph [0131]).
With regards to claim 10, Kono et al. further discloses each light source of the plurality of light sources is a line laser (e.g., laser markers 106A, 106B projection linear beams 1501A, 1501B; Figure 26; paragraph [0137]).
With regards to claim 11, Kono et al. further discloses each light source of the plurality of light sources is a laser (e.g., laser markers 106A, 106B; paragraph [0131]).
With regards to claim 12, Kono et al. further discloses each light source of the plurality of light sources is a line laser (e.g., laser markers 106A, 106B projecting linear beams 1501A, 1501B; Figure 26; paragraph [0137]).
With regards to claim 13, Kono et al. further discloses the beam pattern of a first said light source (106A) and the beam pattern of a second said light source (106B) intersect at a point (106S) on the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface at a predetermined distance (1401B) from the transmitting surface (Figure 25; paragraphs [0132]–[0135]).
With regards to claim 14, Kono et al. further discloses the ultrasonic energy is focused on a focal point (e.g., incident position 106S / sound axis focal position; Figure 25; paragraphs [0132]–[0135]).
With regards to claim 15, Kono et al. further discloses each of the light beam of the first said light source (106A) and the light beam of the second said light source (106B) is collimated (e.g., laser beams along optical axes 603A, 603B; Figure 25; paragraph [0132]).
With regards to claim 16, Kono et al. further discloses the beam pattern of a first said light source (106A) is generally planar (linear beam 1501A) and intersects a plane normal to the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface in a line (1502A); the beam pattern of a second said light source (106B) is generally planar (linear beam 1501B) and intersects the plane in a line (1502B); and the line (1502A) of the first said light source and the line (1502B) of the second said light source intersect each other in the plane at a point (106S) on the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface at a predetermined distance (1401B) from the transmitting surface (Figure 26; paragraph [0137]).
With regards to claim 17, Kono et al. further discloses the beam pattern of a first said light source (106A) is generally planar (1501A) and intersects a plane normal to the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface in a line (1502A); the beam pattern of a second said light source (106B) is generally planar (1501B) and intersects the plane in a line (1502B); and each of a plane of the generally planar beam pattern of the first light source and a plane of the generally planar beam pattern of the second light source includes the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface (Figure 26; paragraph [0137]).
With regards to claim 19, Kono et al. discloses a method of operating an ultrasonic transducer system, comprising the steps of:
providing an ultrasonic transducer having a housing structure (e.g., ultrasonic sensor 2104; Figure 25), the ultrasonic transducer configured to emit an ultrasonic energy in a direction from a transmitting surface (105), the ultrasonic energy defining an axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface;
mounting a plurality of light sources (106A, 106B) with respect to the housing structure (2104) so that the light sources are adjustable axially relative to the housing structure (e.g., laser markers 106A, 106B mounted in discrete flank holders on sensor body 2104, inherently capable of axial sliding/positioning along the perimeter of sensor 2104; Figure 25; paragraphs [0131]–[0135]), each light source configured to emit a light beam (optical axes 603A, 603B) that defines a beam pattern in the direction, wherein the light sources of the plurality of light sources are oriented with respect to each other so that, when the ultrasonic transducer is disposed so that the ultrasonic transducer emits the ultrasonic energy to a material surface (100), the light sources project their said beam patterns onto the material surface so that the beam patterns intersect the axis (602) in a predetermined configuration (106S) (Figure 25; paragraphs [0132]–[0135]);
moving the light sources (106A, 106B) relative to the housing structure (2104) to adjust an axial position of each of the light sources relative to the housing structure (e.g., inherently moving/adjusting the laser holders along the perimeter axis of sensor 2104 to calibrate or set target intersection distance 1401B; Figure 25; paragraphs [0131]–[0135]); and
disposing the ultrasonic transducer (2104) with respect to the material surface (100) so that the beam patterns intersect the axis (602) in the predetermined configuration (106S) (Figure 25; paragraphs [0132]–[0135]).
With regards to claim 20, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each said beam pattern defines a center axis (optical axes 603A, 603B; Figure 25; paragraph [0132]).
With regards to claim 21, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each light source of the plurality of light sources is a laser (paragraph [0131]).
With regards to claim 22, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each light source of the plurality of light sources is a line laser (Figure 26; paragraph [0137]).
With regards to claim 23, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each light source of the plurality of light sources is a laser (paragraph [0131]).
With regards to claim 24, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each light source of the plurality of light sources is a line laser (Figure 26; paragraph [0137]).
With regards to claim 25, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a first said light source (106A) and the beam pattern of a second said light source (106B) intersect at a point (106S) on the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface at a predetermined distance (1401B) from the transmitting surface (Figure 25; paragraphs [0132]–[0135]).
With regards to claim 26, Kono et al. further discloses the step of focusing the ultrasonic energy on a focal point (sound axis focal position; Figure 25; paragraphs [0132]–[0135]).
With regards to claim 27, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a first said light source (106A) is generally planar (1501A) and intersects a plane normal to the axis (602) in a line (1502A); at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a second said light source (106B) is generally planar (1501B) and intersects the plane in a line (1502B); at the mounting step, the line of the first said light source and the line of the second said light source intersect each other in the plane at a point (106S) on the axis extending from the transmitting surface at a predetermined distance (1401B) from the transmitting surface; and at the disposing step, the material surface (100) coincides with the plane (Figure 26; paragraph [0137]).
With regards to claim 28, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a first said light source (106A) is generally planar (1501A) and intersects a plane normal to the axis (602) in a line (1502A); at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a second said light source (106B) is generally planar (1501B) and intersects the plane in a line (1502B); at the mounting step, each of a plane of the generally planar beam pattern of the first light source and a plane of the generally planar beam pattern of the second light source includes the axis (602) extending from the transmitting surface; and at the disposing step, the material surface (100) coincides with the plane normal to the axis extending from the transmitting surface (Figure 26; paragraph [0137]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB Kono in view of previously cited USPN 5,915,316 to Tajima et al. (“Tajima”) and further in view of the knowledge of a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (POSITA).
With regards to claim 18, Kono et al. discloses an ultrasonic transducer system as in claim 6, comprising:
a bracket (not labeled) mounted on the ultrasonic transducer (e.g., lasers 106A, 106B are each mounted in a separate position on opposite flanks of ultrasonic sensor 2104 such that each light source is surrounded by a holder/mounting extending around transducer 2104; Figure 25; paragraphs [0131]–[0132]);
a collar (unlabeled perimeter portion of sensor body 2104 surrounding transducer 601; Fig. 25) that surrounds a perimeter of the ultrasonic transducer (e.g., mounting body of sensor 2104 surrounding the transducer; Figure 25); and
a plurality of sleeves (not labeled) that are discrete from each other, each sleeve receiving at least one light source (106A, 106B) of the plurality of light sources (Figure 25; paragraph [0132]).
Kono et al. does not explicitly disclose:
That each sleeve is attached to the ultrasonic transducer pivotally about an axis transverse to the axis extending from the transmitting surface; and
That the bracket collar is movable on the perimeter in a direction parallel to the main axis, wherein each sleeve defines a gear that engages a rack defined on the collar so that movement of the collar parallel to the main axis rotates each sleeve about its transverse axis to thereby move the light beam.
However, 1) in Figure 25 of Kono et al., a POSITA would understand that small, fine-tuning angular adjustments of optical axes 603A, 603B relative to central sound axis 602 are necessary in practice to accurately align the beams and calibrate intersection point 106S. Although Kono et al. does not explicitly detail the mechanical pivoting structure, allowing pivotal adjustment of the laser mounts about a transverse axis is inferred from the disclosure and would have been obvious to a POSITA to achieve precise visual calibration and accurate testing results (MPEP § 2144).
Furthermore, 2) Tajima et al. explicitly teaches an adjustable tool assembly wherein a collar/cylinder (1044) moves parallel to a main tool axis to drive a rack (rack teeth 1063 of rack 1062) engaging a gear (drive gear 1059 / intermediate gear 1060) defined on a sleeve/mount, thereby pivoting the sleeve/mount about an axis transverse to the main axis to move a light beam (Tajima et al., Figures 13–17; column 13, line 39 to column 14, line 23).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tajima’s rack-and-pinion pivoting sleeve structure with Kono’s perimeter-mounted light sources in order to provide fine-tuning angular adjustment of sleeves 106A, 106B about a transverse axis, thereby enabling the operator to accurately calibrate intersection point 106S along central axis 602 for reliable water-path measurement (Tajima et al., column 19, lines 49–56; MPEP § 2143).
With regards to claim 29, Kono in view of Tajima further teach the step of moving the plurality of light sources (106A, 106B) with respect to the ultrasonic transducer (2104) to select an intersection (106S) of the beam patterns with the axis (602) in the predetermined configuration (e.g., Tajima et al. discloses driving laser heads 1040 along cylinder 1044 via gear 1060 and rack 1062 to select a target intersection/focal position on a surface; Figures 13–17; column 13, line 39 to column 14, line 23).
The combination is obvious for the reasons set forth above for Claim 18.
With regards to claim 30, Kono et al. in view of Tajima et al. further teaches the method wherein the providing step comprises providing a bracket mounted on the ultrasonic transducer (2104) in which the light sources (106A, 106B) are secured in respective orientations, the bracket comprising a collar (unlabeled perimeter portion of sensor body 2104 surrounding transducer 601; Fig. 25) surrounding a perimeter of the transducer and movable on the perimeter in a direction parallel to the main axis, and a plurality of discrete sleeves attached pivotally about a transverse axis receiving the light sources, wherein each sleeve defines a gear engaging a rack on the collar so that movement of the collar parallel to the main axis rotates each sleeve about its transverse axis to thereby move the light beam (Kono et al., Figure 25, paragraphs [0131]–[0135]; in view of Tajima et al., Figures 13–17, column 13, line 39 to column 14, line 23).
The combination is obvious for the reasons set forth above for Claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855