DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-30 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, line 2, the word -- an -- should be inserted before the phrase “ultrasonic energy”. In line 7, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify. In line 10, what is the word “their” referring to? Please clarify.
In claim 7, line 3, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify.
In claim 18, line 9, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify. In line 10, the phrase “the at least one source” should be changed to -- the at least one light source -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 19, line 2, the word -- an -- should be inserted before the phrase “ultrasonic energy”. In line 7, what is the word “its” referring to? Please clarify. In line 10, what is the word “their” referring to? Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0197679 (Kono et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Kono et al. discloses an ultrasonic inspection system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-35, an ultrasonic transducer system 42 (e.g. ultrasonic sensor; paragraph [0086]; Figure 5) comprising an ultrasonic transducer 50 (e.g. 1-D array transducer; paragraph [0090]; Figure 8B) configured to emit ultrasonic energy W1 (e.g. ultrasonic wave; paragraph [0084]) in a direction (e.g. perpendicular direction towards test object 100; Figure 6) from a transmitting surface (e.g. bottom surface of the ultrasonic sensor having the ultrasonic transducer) such that the ultrasonic energy defining an axis (e.g. z-axis) extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. observed in Figure 6); a plurality of light sources 6A,6B (e.g. lasers; paragraph [0087]) such that each light source configured to emit a light beam 7A,7B (e.g. visible laser beam; paragraph [0087]) that defines a beam pattern (e.g. the light beams 7A,7B form a spot S,S1,S2 on the surface of test object 100; Figures 5-8A,9A) and mounted with respect to the ultrasonic transducer so that the light source emits its light beam in the direction (e.g. paragraphs [0086],[0087]); the light sources 6A,6B of the plurality of light sources are oriented with respect to each other so that, when the ultrasonic transducer 50 is disposed so that the ultrasonic transducer emits the ultrasonic energy W1 to a material surface 100 (e.g. test object; paragraphs [0086],[0087]), the light sources project the beam patterns onto the material surface so that the beam patterns intersect the axis in a predetermined configuration (e.g. paragraphs [0086] to [0091]; observed in Figures 5-8A,9A). (See, paragraphs [0082] to [0161]).
With regards to claim 2, Kono et al. further discloses each beam pattern defines a center axis (e.g. lasers 6A,6B emit beams 7A,7B and form a spot on the test object 100 at position S where the beams having a center axis; figures 5-9B; paragraphs [0086-0091]).
With regards to claim 3, Kono et al. further discloses each center axis does not orthogonally intersect the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. acute angle as observed in Figures 5-8A,9A; paragraphs [0086] to [0091]).
With regards to claim 4, Kono et al. further discloses each center axis is not parallel with the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. acute angle as observed in Figures 5-8A,9A; paragraphs [0086] to [0091]).
With regards to claim 5, Kono et al. further discloses each center axis does not intersect the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. optical axes 603a,603b terminate in position 1401A before meeting the center sound axis 602; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131] to [0133]).
With regards to claim 6, Kono et al. further discloses bracket (e.g. not numbered but observed in Figure 25 holding the light sources 106A,106B located opposite and separate positions) mounted on the ultrasonic transducer 601 (e.g. transducer of ultrasonic sensor 2104) and in which the light sources 106A,106B of the plurality of light sources are secured in respective orientations with respect to the ultrasonic transducer. (See, paragraphs [0131] to [0136]; Figures 24-26).
With regards to claim 7, Kono et al. further discloses the bracket comprises a plurality of sleeves (e.g. a holder as observed in Figure 25) that are discrete from each other such that each sleeve receiving at least one light source of the plurality of light sources in the respective orientation. (See, paragraphs [0131] to [0136]; Figures 24-26).
With regards to claim 8, Kono et al. further discloses the bracket comprises a band surrounding a perimeter of the ultrasonic transducer 601 and passing through each sleeve of the plurality of sleeves so that the band holds the sleeves of the plurality of sleeves in position against the perimeter (e.g. light source 106A and 106B are each mounted in a separate position on each side of the ultrasonic transducer 601 such that the light sources each surrounded by an unnumbered mounting so that the light sources have the optical axes 603a and 603b aligned to make irradiated positions 106S, both the mounting positions part of the ultrasonic sensor 2104 which extends around the ultrasonic transducer 601; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131]-[0136]).
With regards to claim 9, Kono et al. further discloses each light source 6A,6B of the plurality of light sources is a laser (e.g. laser; paragraph [0086]).
With regards to claim 10, Kono et al. further discloses each light source 106A,106B of the plurality of light sources is a line laser (e.g. laser markers can create linear beams; paragraph [0132]; Figure 26).
With regards to claim 11, Kono et al. further discloses each light source 6A,6B of the plurality of light sources is a laser (e.g. laser; paragraph [0086]).
With regards to claim 12, Kono et al. further discloses each light source 106A,106B of the plurality of light sources is a line laser (e.g. laser markers can create linear beams; paragraph [0132]; Figure 26).
With regards to claim 13, Kono et al. further discloses the beam pattern of a first light source 6A and the beam pattern of a second light source 6B intersect at a point on the axis extending from the transmitting surface at a predetermined distance from the transmitting surface (e.g. lasers 6A and 6B emit beams 7A and 7B which can intersect as per Figure 7 prior to reaching the surface of the test object; Figures 5-9B; paragraphs [0086] to [0091]).
With regards to claim 14, Kono et al. further discloses the ultrasonic energy W1 is focused on a focal point S (e.g. incident position; paragraph [0088]; the ultrasonic transducer 50 to simultaneously incident a test object at various angles to a focus; Figures 5-9B; paragraphs [0086] to [0091]).
With regards to claim 15, Kono et al. further discloses each of the light beam 7A of the first light source 6A and the light beam 7B of the second light source 6B is collimated. (See, paragraphs [0086] to [0091]).
With regards to claim 16, Kono et al. further discloses the beam pattern of a first light source 106A is generally planar and intersects a plane normal to the axis extending from the transmitting surface in a line (e.g. light sources 106A can create linear beam 1501A such that the linear beam having a planar shape aligned along the optical axis; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131] to [0137]); the beam pattern of a second light source 106B is generally planar and intersects the plane in a line (e.g. light sources 106B can create linear beam 1501B such that the linear beam having a planar shape aligned along the optical axis; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131] to [0137]); the line of the first light source and the line of the second light source intersect each other in the plane at a point on the axis extending from the transmitting surface at a predetermined distance from the transmitting surface (e.g. light sources 106A,106B can create linear beams 1501A,1501B which intersect at the incident position of the ultrasonic wave, the intersection extending outwards from the surface; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131], [0135] to [0137]).
With regards to claim 17, Kono et al. further discloses the beam pattern of a first light source 106A is generally planar and intersects a plane normal to the axis extending from the transmitting surface in a line (e.g. light source 106A can create linear beams 1501A where the linear beams having a planar shape aligned along the optical axis; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131] to [0137]); the beam pattern of a second light source 106B is generally planar and intersects the plane in a line (e.g. light source 106B can create linear beams 1501B where the linear beams having a planar shape aligned along the optical axis; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131] to [0137]); each of a plane of the generally planar beam pattern of the first light source and a plane of the generally planar beam pattern of the second light source includes the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. light sources 106A,106B can create linear beams 1501A,1501B which intersect at the incident position of the ultrasonic wave; figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131] to [0137]).
With regards to claim 19, Kono et al. discloses an ultrasonic inspection system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-35, a method of operating an ultrasonic transducer system 42 (e.g. ultrasonic sensor; paragraph [0086]; Figure 5) comprising the steps of providing an ultrasonic transducer 50 (e.g. 1-D array transducer; paragraph [0090]; Figure 8B) configured to emit ultrasonic energy W1 (e.g. ultrasonic wave; paragraph [0084]) in a direction (e.g. perpendicular direction towards test object 100; Figure 6) from a transmitting surface, the ultrasonic energy defining an axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. bottom surface of the ultrasonic sensor having the ultrasonic transducer; observed in Figure 6); mounting a plurality of light sources 6A,6B (e.g. lasers; paragraph [0087]) such that each light source configured to emit a light beam 7A,7B (e.g. visible laser beam; paragraph [0087]) that defines a beam pattern (e.g. the light beams 7A,7B form a spot S,S1,S2 on the surface of test object 100; Figures 5-8A,9A) with respect to the ultrasonic transducer so that the light source emits its light beam in the direction (e.g. paragraphs [0086],[0087]); the light sources 6A,6B of the plurality of light sources are oriented with respect to each other so that, when the ultrasonic transducer 50 is disposed so that the ultrasonic transducer emits the ultrasonic energy W1 to a material surface 100 (e.g. test object; paragraphs [0086],[0087]), the light sources project the beam patterns onto the material surface so that the beam patterns intersect the axis in a predetermined configuration (e.g. paragraphs [0086] to [0091]; observed in Figures 5-8A,9A); disposing the ultrasonic transducer 50 with respect to the material surface 100 so that the beam patterns intersect the axis in the predetermined configuration (e.g. paragraphs [0086] to [0091]; observed in Figures 5-8A,9A). (See, paragraphs [0082] to [0161]).
With regards to claim 20, Kono et a. further discloses at the mounting step, each beam pattern defines a center axis (e.g. lasers 6A,6B emit beams 7A,7B and form a spot on the test object 100 at position S where the beams having a center axis; Figures 5-9B; paragraphs [0086] to [0091]).
With regards to claim 21, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each light source 6A, 6B of the plurality of light sources is a laser (e.g. laser; paragraph [0086]).
With regards to claim 22, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each light source 106A,106B of the plurality of light sources is a line laser (e.g. laser markers can create linear beams; paragraph [0132]; Figure 26).
With regards to claim 23, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each light source 6A,6B of the plurality of light sources is a laser (e.g. laser; paragraph [0086]).
With regards to claim 24, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, each light source 106A,106B of the plurality of light sources is a line laser (e.g. laser markers can create linear beams; paragraph [0132]; Figure 26).
With regards to claim 25, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a first light source 6A and the beam pattern of a second light source 6B intersect at a point on the axis extending from the transmitting surface at a predetermined distance from the transmitting surface (e.g. lasers 6A and 6B emit beams 7A and 7B which can intersect as per Figure 7 prior to reaching the surface of the test object; Figures 5-9B; paragraphs [0086] to [0091]).
With regards to claim 26, Kono et al. further discloses the step of focusing the ultrasonic energy W1 on a focal point S (e.g. incident position; paragraph [0088]; the ultrasonic transducer 50 to simultaneously incident a test object at various angles to a focus; Figures 5-9B; paragraphs [0086] to [0091]).
With regards to claim 27, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a first the light source 106A is generally planar and intersects a plane normal to the axis extending from the transmitting surface in a line (e.g. light source 106A can create linear beams 1501A having a planar shape aligned along the optical axis; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131} to [0137]); at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a second light source 106B is generally planar and intersects the plane in a line (e.g. light source 106B can create linear beams 1501B having a planar shape aligned along the optical axis; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131} to [0137]); at the mounting step, the line of the first light source 106A and the line of the second light source 106B intersect each other in the plane at a point on the axis extending from the transmitting surface at a predetermined distance from the transmitting surface (e.g. light sources 106A,106B can create linear beams 1501A,1501B which intersect at the incident position of the ultrasonic wave where the intersection extending outwards from the surface; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131],[0135] to [0137]); at the disposing step, the material surface coincides with the plane (e.g. light sources 106A,106B can create linear beams 1501A,1501B which intersect at the incident position of the ultrasonic wave; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131],[0137]).
With regards to claim 28, Kono et al. further discloses at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a first light source 106A is generally planar and intersects a plane normal to the axis extending from the transmitting surface in a line (e.g. light source 106A can create linear beams 1501A where the linear beams having a planar shape aligned along the optical axis; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131],[0137]); at the mounting step, the beam pattern of a second light source 106B is generally planar and intersects the plane in a line (e.g. light source 106B can create linear beams 1501B where the linear beams having a planar shape aligned along the optical axis; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131],[0137]); at the mounting step, each of a plane of the generally planar beam pattern of the first light source 106A and a plane of the generally planar beam pattern of the second light source 106B includes the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. light sources 106A,106B can create linear beams 1501A,1501B which intersect at the incident position of the ultrasonic wave; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131],[0137]); at the disposing step, the material surface coincides with the plane normal to the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. light sources 106A,106B can create linear beams 1501A,1501B which intersect at the incident position of the ultrasonic wave; figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131],[0137]),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0197679 (Kono et al.) in view of U.S. Patent 5,915,316 (Tajima et al.).
With regards to claim 18, Kono et al. further discloses the bracket comprises a collar that surrounds a perimeter of the ultrasonic transducer 601 (e.g. light sources 106A,106B are each mounted in a separate position on each side of the ultrasonic transducer 601 of ultrasonic sensor 2104 such that the light sources each surrounded by an unnumbered mounting so that the light sources have the optical axes 603a, 603b aligned to make irradiated positions 106S, both the mounting positions part of the ultrasonic sensor 2104 which extends around the ultrasonic transducer 601; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131]-[0136]); a plurality of sleeves (e.g. a holder as observed in Figure 25) that are discrete from each other such that each sleeve being attached to the ultrasonic transducer 601 pivotally about an axis transverse to the axis extending from the transmitting surface and receiving at least one light source 106A,106B of the plurality of light sources (e.g. paragraphs [0131] to [0136]; Figures 24-26).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the bracket is movable on the perimeter in a direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface wherein each sleeve defines a gear that engages a rack defined on the collar so that movement of the collar in the direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface rotates each sleeve about its axis transverse to the axis extending from the transmitting surface to thereby move the light beam of the at least one source received by the sleeve.
Tajima et al. discloses an embroidering and laser processing machine comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-100, a system having a bracket movable on the perimeter in a direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. laser heads 1040 are driven vertically in a direction to and from a surface based on motion of a gear 1060 and rack 1062 on the back side of cylinder 1044; Figures 13-17; column 13, line 39 to column 14, line 23); each sleeve defines a gear that engages a rack defined on the collar so that movement of the collar in the direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface rotates each sleeve about its axis transverse to the axis extending from the transmitting surface to thereby move the light beam of the at least one source received by the sleeve (e.g. laser heads 1040 are each driven vertically in a direction to and from a surface based on motion of a gear 1060 and rack 1062 based on the rotations on the back side of cylinder 1044: Figures 13-17; column 13, line 39 to column 14, line 23). (See, column 6, line 37 to column 63, line 25).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the bracket is movable on the perimeter in a direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface wherein each sleeve defines a gear that engages a rack defined on the collar so that movement of the collar in the direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface rotates each sleeve about its axis transverse to the axis extending from the transmitting surface to thereby move the light beam of the at least one source received by the sleeve as suggested by Tajima et al. to the system of Kono et al. to have the ability to provide the advantage of individualized light source movement to change the beam focus location or pattern. (See, column 19, lines 49-56 of Tajima et al.).
With regards to claim 29, Tajima et al. further discloses the step of moving the plurality of light sources with respect to the ultrasonic transducer to select an intersection of the beam patterns with the axis in the predetermined configuration (e.g. laser heads 1040 are individually driven vertically in a direction to and from a surface based on motion of a gear 1060 and rack 1062 on the back side of cylinder 1044; Figures 13-17; column 13, line 39 to column 14, line 23).
With regards to claim 30, Kono et al. further discloses the providing step comprises providing a bracket mounted on the ultrasonic transducer and in which the light sources of the plurality of light sources are secured in respective orientations with respect to the ultrasonic transducer (e.g. laser markers 106A,106B are each mounted in a separate position on each side of the ultrasonic sensor 2104 with the transducer 601 such that the markers each surrounded by an unnumbered mounting so that the markers have the optical axes 603a,603b aligned to make irradiated positions 106S where both the mounting positions part of the sensor body 2104 which extends around the transducer 601; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131]-[0136]); at the providing step, the bracket comprises a collar that surrounds a perimeter of the ultrasonic transducer (e.g. laser markers 106A,106B are each mounted in a separate position on each side of the ultrasonic sensor 2104 with the transducer 601 such that the markers each surrounded by an unnumbered mounting, both the mounting positions part of the sensor body 2104 which extends around the transducer 601; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0131]-[0136]); a plurality of sleeves that are discrete from each other such that each sleeve being attached to the ultrasonic transducer pivotally about an axis transverse to the axis extending from the transmitting surface and receiving at least one light source of the plurality of light sources (e.g. laser markers 106A,106B are each mounted in a separate position on each side of the ultrasonic sensor 2104 with the transducer 601 such that the markers each surrounded by an unnumbered mounting so that the markers have the optical axes 603a,603b aligned to make irradiated positions 106S the same as the central axis 602 of the transducer where the sensor able to rotate around itself; Figures 24-26; paragraphs [0083],[0131]-[0136]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the bracket is movable on the perimeter in a direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface wherein the sleeve defines a gear that engages a rack defined on the collar so that movement of the collar in the direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface rotates each sleeve about its axis transvers to the axis extending from the transmitting surface to thereby move the light beam of the one or more light sources received by the sleeve.
Tajima et al. discloses an embroidering and laser processing machine comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-100, a system having a bracket movable on the perimeter in a direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface (e.g. laser heads 1040 are driven vertically in a direction to and from a surface based on motion of a gear 1060 and rack 1062 on the back side of cylinder 1044; Figures 13-17; column 13, line 39 to column 14, line 23); each sleeve defines a gear that engages a rack defined on the collar so that movement of the collar in the direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface rotates each sleeve about its axis transvers to the axis extending from the transmitting surface to thereby move the light beam of the one or more light sources received by the sleeve (e.g. laser heads 1040 are each driven vertically in a direction to and from a surface based on motion of a gear 1060 and rack 1062 based on the rotations on the back side of cylinder 1044; Figures 13-17; column 13, line 39 to column 14, line 23). (See, column 6, line 37 to column 63, line 25).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the bracket is movable on the perimeter in a direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface wherein the sleeve defines a gear that engages a rack defined on the collar so that movement of the collar in the direction parallel to the axis extending from the transmitting surface rotates each sleeve about its axis transvers to the axis extending from the transmitting surface to thereby move the light beam of the one or more light sources received by the sleeve as suggested by Tajima et al. to the system of Kono et al. to have the ability to provide the advantage of individualized light source movement to change the beam focus location or pattern. (See, column 19, lines 49-56 of Tajima et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references cited, particularly Guess, Geithman, Parzuchowski, Kennedy, Buljubasic, Stephanou and Jack, are related to ultrasonic transducer system having a ultrasonic transducer emitting an ultrasonic energy towards a surface of a test object; at least one light source emitting a light beam towards the surface of the test object.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855