DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 3, 2024 and November 24, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1 – 59 are examined here-in.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a first agriculturally active compound” and “the first active compound”. It is believed that “the first active compound” should be “the first agriculturally active compound”. If this is not the case, a 35 U.S.C. 112b rejection will be made for improper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 – 11, 37, 38, 42, 47, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
The term “low-melting point” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low-melting point” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the specification does provide possible examples for “low-melting point” there is no definition.
The term “low-volatility” in claims 10 and 38 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low-volatility” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the specification does provide possible examples for “low-volatility” there is no definition.
The term “natural” in claims 10 and 38 is a relative (and subjective) term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “natural” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the specification does provide possible examples for “natural” there is no definition.
The term “high” in the phrase “high molecular weight” in instant claims 11 and 37 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claims 42, 47, and 58, the phrase "EBDC-like" renders the claims indefinite because the claims include elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "EBDC-like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 – 8, 11 – 19, 24, 25, 28 – 37, and 39 – 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US 2015/0164068 A1) in view of Roux (US 2018/0007897 A1).
Endo teaches a water-dispersible granule formulation containing agrochemical active ingredients (abstract, paragraphs 0009 – 0012).
Endo teaches the water-dispersible granule formulation contains the agrochemical active ingredient in an amount ranging from 0.02 to 90% by mass (paragraph 0103).
Endo teaches the formulation also contains a dispersion aid in an amount from 1 to 10% by mass (paragraph 0124). Endo teaches the dispersion aid can be polyoxyethylene, polyoxypropylene, or polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymers, among other compounds (paragraph 0123).
Endo teaches the formulation contains a hygroscopic water-soluble powder as a carrier in the amount of 10 to 99% by mass (paragraphs 0065, 0066).
Endo teaches the formulations contains an antifoaming agent, such as a silicon-based surfactant, in an amount of 5% or less (paragraph 0125).
Endo teaches the water-dispersible granules are an aggregate of a fine powder and a coarse powder (paragraph 0106 – 0108). Endo teaches the fine powder has a particle size distribution of 0.1 to 5 µm in approximately 50% volume-based particle size distribution, and the coarse powder has a particle size distribution of 2 to 20 µm in approximately 50% volume-based particle size distribution (paragraphs 0106 – 0108, claim 2).
Endo does not teach the agrochemical ingredient is (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as illustrated in the structure below.
[AltContent: rect]
Roux teaches the missing element of Endo.
Roux teaches (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as an apyrase inhibitor fungicide inhibitor (abstract). Roux teaches this compound enhances the potency of fungicides to restrict pathogenic fungal growth (paragraph 0030).
Roux teaches the combination of fungicides with apyrase inhibitors (abstract, paragraphs 0054, 0065, examples 1 – 5, claims 1, 2). Roux teaches fungicides copper octanoate, myclobutanil, and propiconazole as fungicides with apyrase inhibitor (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide (examples 1 – 5).
The combination of Endo and Roux’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the water-dispersible granule formulation of Endo to include the compound (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as agrochemical ingredient because Roux teaches that this compound enhances the potency of fungicides to restrict pathogenic fungal growth (abstract, paragraph 0030). Therefore, the combination of Endo and Roux’s teachings would yield a water-dispersible granule formulation with (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as agrochemical ingredient that functions as a fungicide enhancer. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield a predictable result is prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2143(i)(a).
Endo’s teaching for a water-dispersible granule formulation containing agrochemical active ingredients and a dispersion aid, which has particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 20 µm (abstract, paragraphs 0009 – 0012, 0106 – 0108, 0123 – 0124, claim 2) in combination with Roux’s teaching for (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as an agrochemical active ingredient (abstract) reads on instant claim 1. Endo’s teaching for particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 20 µm (paragraphs 0106 – 0108, claim 2) overlaps on the instantly claimed range of 0.01 to 20 microns. Claimed ranges that overlap with teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Endo’s teaching that the water-dispersible granule formulation contains the agrochemical active ingredient in an amount ranging from 0.02 to 90% by mass (paragraph 0103) overlaps on the instantly claimed range of 5 to 90 wt. % as recited in claim 3. Endo’s teaching also overlaps on the claimed ranges of 30 to 85 wt. %, 30 to 40 wt. %, and 70 to 85 wt. % as recited in instant claims 6 – 8.
Endo’s teaching that the water-dispersible granule formulation contains a dispersion aid in an amount from 1 to 10% by mass (paragraph 0124) overlaps on the instantly claimed ranges of 1 to 30 wt. % and 2 to 20 wt. % as recited in claims 5 and 19, respectively.
Endo’s teaches the dispersion aid can be polyoxyethylene, polyoxypropylene, or polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymers, among other compounds (paragraph 0123) reads on instant claims 11 - 18.
Endo’s teaching that the water-dispersible granule formulation contains a hygroscopic water-soluble powder as a carrier in the amount of 10 to 99% by mass (paragraphs 0065, 0066) reads on instant claims 24 and 25. Endo’s taught amount of 10 to 99% by mass (paragraphs 0065, 0066) overlaps on the instantly claimed range of up to 100 wt. % as recited in claim 25.
Endo’s teaching that the water-dispersible granule formulation contains an antifoaming agent, such as a silicon-based surfactant, in an amount of 5% or less (paragraph 0125) reads on instant claims 28 - 30. Endo’s taught amount of 5% or less (paragraph 0125) overlaps on the instantly claimed range of 0.01 to 1 wt. % as recited in claim 30.
The instant claims 31 - 36 recite “wherein the particles of the first agriculturally active compound are milled prior to granulation…” The limitation that the particles are milled prior to granulation is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps according to MPEP 2113.
Even though product-by-process claims are written as defined by the process, the determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In the instant case, Endo’s teaching that the water-dispersible granules are an aggregate of a fine powder and a coarse powder, wherein the fine powder has a particle size distribution of 0.1 to 5 µm in approximately 50% volume-based particle size distribution, and the coarse powder has a particle size distribution of 2 to 20 µm in approximately 50% volume-based particle size distribution (paragraphs 0106 – 0108, claim 2) reads on the claimed water-dispersible granules with particles in the designated size range. As such, the patentability of the instant composition does not depend on its method of production, and the Applicant’s limitation regarding the process of milling the particles prior to granulation is not patentable under 35 U.S.C. 103, in view of Endo.
Briefly, Endo’s teaching that the fine powder has a particle size distribution of 0.1 to 5 µm in approximately 50% volume-based particle size distribution, and the coarse powder has a particle size distribution of 2 to 20 µm in approximately 50% volume-based particle size distribution (paragraphs 0106 – 0108, claim 2) overlaps on the claimed particle size range of 0.01 to 15 microns, 0.01 to 10 microns, less than 7 microns, 0.01 to 5 microns, 0.01 to 2 microns, and about 1 micron as recited in instant claims 31 – 36, respectively. Claimed ranges that overlap teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Endo’s teaching for a water-dispersible granule formulation containing agrochemical active ingredients in an amount ranging from 0.02 to 90% by mass and a dispersion aid in an amount ranging from 1 to 10% by mass, wherein the particle size ranges from 0.1 to 20 µm (abstract, paragraphs 0009 – 0012, 0103, 0106 – 0108, 0123 – 0124, claim 2) in combination with Roux’s teaching for (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as an agrochemical active ingredient (abstract) reads on instant claim 37. Endo’s teaching for agrochemical active ingredient in an amount ranging from 0.02 to 90% by mass (paragraph 0103) overlaps on the instantly claimed range of 5 to 85 wt. %. Endo’s teaching for dispersion aid in an amount ranging from 1 to 10% by mass (paragraph 0124) overlaps on the instantly claimed range of 3 to 20 wt. %. Endo’s teaching for particle size ranging from 0.1 to 20 µm (paragraphs 0106 – 0108, claim 2) overlaps on the instantly claimed range below 2 microns. Claimed ranges that overlap with teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Endo’s teaching for particle size ranging from 0.1 to 20 µm (paragraphs 0106 – 0108, claim 2) overlaps on the instantly claimed about 1 micron as recited in claim 39.
Roux’s teaching to combine (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide with fungicides such as copper octanoate, myclobutanil, and propiconazole (examples 1 – 5) reads on instant claims 40 – 43 and 46 - 48.
Endo and Roux both teach water as an acceptable solvent or diluent (Endo paragraphs 0007, 0063, 0122, 0125, Roux paragraphs 0026 – 0027), reading on instant claim 44.
Roux’s example 1 teaches that the combination of myclobutanil and apyrase inhibitor (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide displays greater fungicidal inhibition than myclobutanil alone (paragraph 0056, Figure 2), in combination with Endo’s teaching that the amount of agrochemical active ingredient varies on the specific composition and desired effects, but may be in a range from 0.02 to 90% by mass (paragraph 0103) reads on instant claim 45.
Claims 2, 4, 9, 10, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (as cited above) in view of Roux (as cited above) and further in view of Detroit (US 5,041,153 B1).
The teachings of Endo and Roux is discussed above.
Endo and Roux do not teach the inclusion of a dust suppressant.
Detroit teaches the missing elements of the combination of Endo and Roux.
Detroit teaches an agricultural composition with anti-dusting properties (abstract).
Detroit teaches that the inclusion of lignosulfonate in a granular composition promotes anti-dusting properties (column 1 lines 65 – 67, column 7 lines 28 – 31, 34 – 38, column 8 lines 63 – 66). Detroit teaches lignosulfonate is to be included in the amount of 0.05 to 5% by weight (claim 1).
The combination of Endo, Roux, and Detroit’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the water-dispersible granule formulation of Endo, featuring the compound (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide of Roux as agrochemical ingredient, with an anti-dusting agent taught by Detroit in order to mitigate dust formation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include Detroit’s anti-dusting agent in Endo and Roux’s formulation because dust formation can cause air pollution and respiratory harm. The combination of Endo, Roux, and Detroit’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements (Endo’s water-dispersible granules, Roux’s agrochemical ingredient, Detroit’s anti-dusting agent) according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(i)(a)).
Endo’s teaching for a water-dispersible granule formulation containing agrochemical active ingredients and a dispersion aid, which has particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 20 µm (abstract, paragraphs 0009 – 0012, 0106 – 0108, 0123 – 0124, claim 2) in combination with Roux’s teaching for (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as an agrochemical active ingredient (abstract), and further combined with Detroit’s teachings to include an anti-dusting agent (column 1 lines 65 – 67, column 7 lines 28 – 31, 34 – 38, column 8 lines 63 – 66) read on instant claim 2.
Detroit’s teaching for lignosulfonate (which is a surfactant) as an anti-dusting agent (column 1 lines 65 – 67, column 7 lines 28 – 31, 34 – 38, column 8 lines 63 – 66) reads on instant claims 9 and 10.
Detroit teaches lignosulfonate is to be included in the amount of 0.05 to 5% by weight, such that anti-dusting properties are increased (claim 1). Detroit’s teaching for anti-dusting agent in the amount of 0.05 to 5% by weight overlaps on the instantly claimed range of 0.5 to 15 wt. % as recited in claims 4 and 38.
Claims 20 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (as cited above) in view of Roux (as cited above) and further in view of Birthisel (US 2008/0216536 A1).
The teachings of Endo and Roux is discussed above.
Endo and Roux do not teach the inclusion of a binding agent.
Birthisel teaches the missing elements of the combination of Endo and Roux.
Birthisel teaches a granular composition for promoting plant growth (abstract, paragraph 0008). Birthisel teaches the granule may include conventional binders and that a binder should be chosen to produce or promote cohesion for forming the granule (paragraphs 0010, 0017).
Birthisel teaches clays, carbohydrates, proteins, lipids, synthetic polymers, or lignin, among other compounds are suitable as a binder (paragraph 0011). Birthisel teaches a binder is present in an amount ranging from 1 to 25% by weight (paragraphs 0011, 0017).
The combination of Endo, Roux, and Birthisel’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the water-dispersible granule formulation of Endo, featuring the compound (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide of Roux as agrochemical ingredient, to include a binder as taught by Birthisel because binders promote cohesion for granule formulation (paragraphs 0010, 0017). The combination of Endo, Roux, and Birthisel’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(i)(a)).
Endo’s teaching for a water-dispersible granule formulation containing agrochemical active ingredients and a dispersion aid, which has particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 20 µm (abstract, paragraphs 0009 – 0012, 0106 – 0108, 0123 – 0124, claim 2) in combination with Roux’s teaching for (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as an agrochemical active ingredient (abstract), and further combined with Birthisel’s teachings to include a binder (paragraphs 0010, 0017) read on instant claim 20. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a binder as taught by Birthisel because Birthisel teaches that binders promote cohesion for granule formulation (paragraphs 0010, 0017).
Birthisel’s teaching to include a binder in an amount ranging from 1 to 25% by weight (paragraphs 0011, 0017) overlaps on the instantly claimed range of 5 to 30 wt. % and 10 to 25 wt. % as recited in claims 21 and 22. Claimed ranges that overlap with teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Birthisel’s teaching that the binder may be a clays carbohydrate, protein, lipid, synthetic polymer, or lignin (paragraph 0011) reads on instant claim 23, because any one of these compounds would be expected to have a melting point greater than 100 degrees C and be readily soluble in water.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (as cited above) in view of Roux (as cited above) and further in view of Suzuki (US 2003/0036481 A1).
The teachings of Endo and Roux is discussed above.
Endo and Roux do not teach that the inert carrier or diluent is a mineral material.
Suzuki teaches the missing elements of the combination of Endo and Roux.
Suzuki teaches a water-dispersible granule formulation which includes an active ingredient (abstract).
Suzuki teaches the water-dispersible granule is comprised of a fine carrier which consists of minerals (paragraph 0019). Suzuki teaches the mineral for the carrier may be diatomaceous earth, bentonite, or clay (paragraph 0034).
The combination of Endo, Roux, and Suzuki’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the water-dispersible granule formulation of Endo, featuring the compound (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide of Roux as agrochemical ingredient, to include a mineral carrier as taught by Suzuki because diatomaceous earth, bentonite, and clay are inert materials that are well-known carriers. Since the mineral carriers taught by Suzuki are well-known, using these as a carrier material in the water-dispersible granule formulation of Endo would yield predictable results. The combination of Endo, Roux, and Suzuki’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(i)(a)).
Endo’s teaching for a water-dispersible granule formulation containing agrochemical active ingredients and a dispersion aid, which has particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 20 µm (abstract, paragraphs 0009 – 0012, 0106 – 0108, 0123 – 0124, claim 2) in combination with Roux’s teaching for (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as an agrochemical active ingredient (abstract), and further combined with Suzuki’s teachings to include a mineral carrier (paragraphs 0019, 34) read on instant claims 26 and 27. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the mineral carriers as taught by Suzuki in the water-dispersible granule formulation of Endo because the mineral carriers are well-known and inclusion of these well-known compounds would yield predictable results.
Claims 49 – 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (as cited above) in view of Roux (as cited above) and further in view of Sharma (US 2022/0264884 A1).
The teachings of Endo and Roux is discussed above.
Endo and Roux do not teach a method for applying or making the composition.
Sharma teaches the missing elements of the combination of Endo and Roux.
Sharma teaches a method for protecting plants against fungal diseases by applying a water-dispersible granular formulation (abstract).
Sharma teaches that granular formulations have several advantages, including easy handling and use, reduced toxicity and dust hazards, and convenient delivery of pesticides (paragraph 0017).
Sharma teaches that water-dispersible granules are combined with various carriers (paragraphs 0203). Sharma teaches the carriers may include dispersing agents, stabilizers, antifoaming agents, pH modifiers, surfactants, or other fillers (paragraph 0205). Sharma teaches that water-dispersible granules mixed with water disperse rapidly and have good suspensibility (paragraph 0196, 0217, 0222).
Sharma teaches a method for controlling fungi at a locus by applying a fungicidal composition in the vicinity of desired crop plants where the fungal infestation has occurred or is expected to occur (paragraphs 0039, 0040, 0053, 0060, 0206 – 0208, 0223).
The combination of Endo, Roux, and Sharma’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the water-dispersible granule formulation of Endo, featuring the compound (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide of Roux as agrochemical ingredient according to the method taught by Sharma because Sharma teaches that granular formulations are easy handling and use, have reduced toxicity and dust hazards, and are convenient for pesticide delivery (paragraph 0017). The combination of Endo, Roux, and Sharma’s teachings is prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements (Endo’s water-dispersible granules, Roux’s agrochemical ingredient) according to known methods (Sharma’s method for applying granular pesticides) to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(i)(a)).
Endo’s teaching for a water-dispersible granule formulation containing agrochemical active ingredients and a dispersion aid, which has particle sizes ranging from 0.1 to 20 µm (abstract, paragraphs 0009 – 0012, 0106 – 0108, 0123 – 0124, claim 2) in combination with Roux’s teaching for (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide as an agrochemical active ingredient (abstract), and further in view of Sharma’s teachings for a method to controlling fungi at a locus by applying a fungicidal composition in the vicinity of desired crop plants where the fungal infestation has occurred or is expected to occur (paragraphs 0039, 0040, 0053, 0060, 0206 – 0208, 0223) reads on instant claims 49 and 50.
Sharma’s teaching that water-dispersible granules mixed with water disperse rapidly and have good suspensibility (paragraph 0196, 0217, 0222) and teaching to apply the composition to treat a fungal infestation (paragraphs 0039, 0040, 0053, 0060, 0206 – 0208, 0233) reads on instant claim 51.
Roux’s teaching to combine (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide with fungicides such as copper octanoate, myclobutanil, and propiconazole (examples 1 – 5) in combination with Sharma’s teaching to apply a fungicidal composition to treat a fungal infestation reads on instant claim 52.
Sharma’s teaching to apply a fungicidal composition to treat a fungal infestation in combination with Roux’s teaching that the combination of myclobutanil and apyrase inhibitor (E)-3-methyl-N-(1-(naphthalene-2-yl)ethylidene)-benzohydrazide displays greater fungicidal inhibition than myclobutanil alone (paragraph 0056, Figure 2) reads on instant claims 53, 54, and 57 - 59.
Sharma’s teaching to apply a fungicidal composition to treat a fungal infestation in combination with Endo’s teaching that the water-dispersible granule formulation contains the agrochemical active ingredient in an amount ranging from 0.02 to 90% by mass (paragraph 0103) reads on instant claim 55.
Sharma’s teaching that water-dispersible granules are combined with various carriers including dispersing agents, stabilizers, antifoaming agents, pH modifiers, surfactants, or other fillers (paragraphs 0203, 0205) reads on instant claim 56.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/TORIANA N. VIGIL/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612