DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 14, 15, 18-21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roovers et al. (WO 03/073057 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Roovers et al. discloses a shaft member (2; fig. 4) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle; p. 7, ll. 8-10) having a frame (40) and at least one wheel (wheel connected to wheel hub 47) that contacts a road on which the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) travels and is rotatably attached to the frame (a wheel connected to wheel hub 47 contacts a road on which the bicycle travels and the wheel and wheel hub 47 are rotatably attached to frame 40; p. 8, ll. 3-12), the shaft member (2) being configured to be attachable to the frame (bush 2 is attachable to frame 40) of the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) in a manner restricting rotation relative to the frame (bush 2 is attachable to frame 40 of the bicycle in a manner restricting rotation relative to frame 40; p. 8, ll. 18-26) and to couple the at least one wheel to the frame (bush 2 couples wheel hub 47, and the wheel, to frame 40; fig. 4), the shaft member (2) comprising: a setting surface (3) on which strain gauges (20) are arrangeable (deformation sensors 20, which are strain gauges, are arranged on bending sensitive segment 3; p. 5, ll. 15-20), the setting surface (3) including a plurality of setting portions (4) configured to allow for arrangement of one or more of the strain gauges (recesses 4 allow for arrangement of one of more deformation sensors 20; fig. 1C), and the setting portions (4) are provided in the setting surface (3) at different positions in a circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 4 are provided on bending sensitive segment 3 at different positions in a circumferential direction of bush 2; figs. 1A and 4).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Roovers et al. discloses wherein each of the setting portions (4) includes a flat part (recesses 4 includes flat bottom 5; fig. 5A); wherein each of the setting portions (4) includes a recess (p. 4, ll. 29-32).
Regarding claim 4, Roovers et al. discloses wherein at least one of the setting portions (4) is configured to allow at least two of the strain gauges (20) to be arranged in an axial direction of the shaft member (deformations sensors 20 may be arranged in a direction crossing or along an axial direction of bush 2; figs. 4 and 8D).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Roovers et al. discloses wherein two of the setting portions (4) are provided at positions that differ in phase by 180 degrees in the circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 4 are provided at positions that differ in phase by 180 degrees in the circumferential direction of bush 2; fig. 5A); wherein the two of the setting portions (4) are substantially equal in shape (recesses 4 have the same shape; fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 14, Roovers et al. discloses wherein the shaft member (2) includes a wheel axle (10) of the human-powered vehicle (bush 2 is part of rear axle 10 of a bicycle; p. 8, ll. 3-6).
Regarding claims 15 and 19, Roovers et al. discloses wherein the shaft member (2) includes a hub axle (10) of the human-powered vehicle (bush 2 is part of rear axle 10 attached to wheel hub 47 of a bicycle; p. 8, ll. 3-6); a hub (47) for a human-powered vehicle, the hub (47) comprising: the shaft member (wheel hub 47 includes bush 2; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Roovers et al. discloses further comprising the strain gauges (20) arranged on the setting surface (deformation sensors 20 are arranged in recesses 4; fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 23, Roovers et al. discloses wherein the strain gauges (20) are configured to detect a strain in an axial direction of the shaft member (deformation sensors 20 detect bending strain which is in an axial direction of bush 2; p. 6, ll. 13-21).
Regarding claim 9, Roovers et al. discloses a shaft member (2; fig. 4) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle; p. 7, ll. 8-10), the shaft member (2) being configured to be attachable to a body (40) of the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) of the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) in a manner restricting rotation relative to the frame (bush 2 is attachable to frame 40 of the bicycle in a manner restricting rotation relative to frame 40; p. 8, ll. 18-26), the shaft member (2) comprising: a first end (left end; fig. 4) and a second end (right end; fig. 4) in an axial direction of the shaft member (bush 2 has left and right ends in an axial direction; fig. 4); and a setting surface (3) on which strain gauges (20) are arrangeable (deformation sensors 20, which are strain gauges, are arranged on bending sensitive segment 3; p. 5, ll. 15-20), the setting surface (3) including a plurality of setting portions (4) configured to allow for arrangement of one or more of the strain gauges (recesses 4 allow for arrangement of one of more deformation sensors 20; fig. 1C), the setting portions (4) provided in the setting surface (3) at different positions in a circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 4 are provided on bending sensitive segment 3 at different positions in a circumferential direction of bush 2; figs. 1A and 4), the setting surface (3; fig. 4) including at least one wire groove (34) in which electric wires connected to the strain gauges (20) are arrangeable, and the at least one wire groove (34) is located between at least one of the setting portions (4) and at least one of the first end and the second end (guiding channels 34 for wires connected to deformation sensors 20 are located between recess 4 and a left end of bush 2; fig. 4 and p. 8, ll. 28-32).
Regarding claim 10, Roovers et al. discloses wherein the at least one wire groove (34) is located between every one of the setting portions (4) and at least one of the first end and the second end (guiding channels 34 are located between each recess 4 containing a deformation sensor 20 and a left end of bush 2; fig. 4 and p. 8, ll. 28-32).
Regarding claim 20, Roovers et al. discloses a wheel axle (10; fig. 4) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle; p. 7, ll. 8-10) having a frame (40) and at least one wheel (wheel connected to wheel hub 47) that contacts a road on which the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) travels and is rotatably attached to the frame (a wheel connected to wheel hub 47 contacts a road on which the bicycle travels and the wheel and wheel hub 47 are rotatably attached to frame 40; p. 8, ll. 3-12), the wheel axle (10) comprising: a first end (left end of axle 10; fig. 4) in an axial direction of the wheel axle (10), the first end including a male thread (42) configured to be engaged with a female thread (43) provided in the frame (40) of the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) in a manner restricting rotation relative to the frame (a left end of axle 10 includes threaded end 42 engaged with nut 43 provided in frame 40 of the bicycle in a manner restricting rotation relative to frame 40; p. 8, ll. 17-19); and a setting surface (3) including at least one setting portion (4) configured to allow for arrangement of at least one strain gauge (recesses 4 allow for arrangement of one of more deformation sensors 20 which are strain gauges; fig. 1C and p. 5, ll. 15-20), the wheel axle (10) configured to couple the at least one wheel to the frame (40) when the first end is engaged with the frame (axle 10 couples wheel hub 47 and the wheel to frame 40 when threaded end 42 of axle 10 is engaged with frame 40; fig. 4 and p. 8, ll. 17-19).
Regarding claim 21, Roovers et al. discloses a second end (right end; fig. 4) opposite the first end (left end; fig. 4) in the axial direction of the axle (10); and at least one of the first end and the second end includes a tool engagement portion engageable with a tool to fasten the male thread to the female thread (some portion of threaded end 42 may be engaged with a tool during fastening of nut 43; p. 8, ll. 17-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roovers et al. (WO 03/073057 A1) in view of Yeh et al. (US 2022/0187149 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Roovers et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Roovers et al. is silent on the setting portions differing in phase by 90 degrees in a circumferential direction.
Yeh et al. discloses a shaft member (10) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle; ¶ [0003]), the shaft member (10) comprising: a setting surface (12, 13) including a plurality of setting portions (120, 130) configured to allow for arrangement of one or more strain gauges (recesses 120 allow for arrangement of one of more strain gauges 20; fig. 1 and ¶ [0021]), wherein two of the setting portions (120) are provided at positions that differ in phase by 90 degrees in the circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 120 are provided in positions that differ by 90 degrees in the circumferential direction of spindle 10; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Roovers et al. with the increased number and location of setting portions of Yeh et al. to improve sensor sensitivity by reducing the torsional rigidity of the shaft member (Yeh et al., ¶ [0021]).
Regarding claim 8, Roovers et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1, and further discloses that the strain gauges (20; fig. 4) arranged on two of the setting portions (4) that differ in phase by 180 degrees in the circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 4 differ in phase by 180 degrees in the circumferential direction of bush 2; fig. 5A) are bridge-connected to each other (deformation sensors 20 arranged in recesses 4 that differ in phase by 180 degrees in the circumferential direction of bush 2 are connected by a Wheatstone bridge; p. 9, ll. 22-25).
Roovers et al. is silent on the setting portions including four setting portions.
Yeh et al. teaches the setting portions (120) include four setting portions (four recesses 120; fig. 1); the four setting portions (120) of the setting surface (12) are provided parallel to a center axis of the shaft member (10) at equal intervals in the circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 120 are provided parallel to a center axis of spindle 10 at equal intervals in the circumferential direction of spindle 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Roovers et al. with the increased number and location of setting portions of Yeh et al. to improve sensor sensitivity by reducing the torsional rigidity of the shaft member (Yeh et al., ¶ [0021]).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (WO 2021/131674 A1) in view of Roovers et al. (WO 03/073057 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Kawakami discloses a shaft member (35) for a human-powered vehicle (1; fig. 1), the human-powered vehicle (1) includes including a hub (34; fig. 2), the hub (34) including a hub shell (37), the shaft member (35) being configured to be attachable to a body (2) of the human-powered vehicle (1) in a manner restricting rotation relative to the body (axle 35 is attachable to frame 2 of bicycle 1 in a manner restricting rotation relative to frame 2 via front fork 2b; Espacenet Machine Translation, ¶ [0022]), the shaft member (35) comprising: a setting surface on which strain gauges are arrangeable (axle 35 has an outer surface on which strain gauges are arrangeable; fig. 2), the setting surface including a setting portion (45) configured to allow for arrangement of one or more of the strain gauges (recess 45 allows for arrangement of sensor 50 which may be a strain sensor; ¶ [0026]), and the setting portion (45) is arranged in a cavity defined in the hub shell (recess 45 is arranged in a cavity defined in hub shell 37; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Kawakami discloses the hub shell (37; fig. 2) includes two hub flanges (left and right flanges 43 of hub shell 37; fig. 2); and the setting portion (45) is configured to be arranged between the two hub flanges (43) of the hub shell (37) in an axial direction of the shaft member (recess 45 is arranged between left and right flanges 43 of hub shell 37 in an axial direction of axle 35; fig. 2).
Kawakami is silent on the shaft member having a plurality of setting portions at different circumferential positions.
Roovers et al. teaches a shaft member (2; fig. 4) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle; p. 7, ll. 8-10), the shaft member (2) comprising: a setting surface (3) including a plurality of setting portions (4) configured to allow for arrangement of one or more strain gauges (recesses 4 allow for arrangement of one of more deformation sensors 20; fig. 1C), and the setting portions (4) are provided in the setting surface (3) at different positions in a circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 4 are provided on bending sensitive segment 3 at different positions in a circumferential direction of bush 2; figs. 1A and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kawakami with the plurality of setting portions as taught in Roovers et al. to improve the measurement bending of the shaft member by providing symmetrically arranged strain sensors (Roovers et al., p. 8, ll. 12-14 and p. 10, ll. 20-26). In modifying the apparatus of Kawakami in view of Roovers et al., one of ordinary skill would have known that the setting portions (4) of Roovers et al. would be arranged between the hub flanges (43) of Kawakami.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roovers et al. (WO 03/073057 A1) in view of Kawakami (WO 2021/131674 A1) in view of
Regarding claim 22, Roovers et al. discloses a detection device (30) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle; c p. 7, ll. 8-10) having a frame (40) and at least one wheel (wheel connected to wheel hub 47) that contacts a road on which the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) travels and is rotatably attached to the frame (a wheel connected to wheel hub 47 contacts a road on which the bicycle travels and the wheel and wheel hub 47 are rotatably attached to frame 40; p. 8, ll. 3-12), the detection device (30) comprising: a shaft member (2; fig. 4) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle; p. 7, ll. 8-10) the shaft member (2) being configured to be attachable to the frame (bush 2 is attachable to frame 40) of the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) in a manner restricting rotation relative to the frame (bush 2 is attachable to frame 40 of the bicycle in a manner restricting rotation relative to frame 40; p. 8, ll. 18-26) and to couple the at least one wheel to the frame (bush 2 couples wheel hub 47, and the wheel, to frame 40; fig. 4); at least one strain gauge (20) configured to be provided on the shaft member (deformation sensors 20 are provided on bush 2 and are strain gauges; p. 6, ll. 13-18 and p. 9, ll. 22-25), the strain gauge (20) configured to detect a strain (p. 5, ll. 15-20).
Although Roovers et al. discloses the measurement signal from the strain gauge (20) is proportional to a deformation in a lateral direction (p. 5, ll. 8-20), Roovers et al. is silent on a calculator.
Kawakami teaches a detection device for a human-powered vehicle (1; fig. 1), at least one strain gauge (50) configured to be provided on a shaft member (35) of the human-powered vehicle (1), the strain gauge (50) configured to detect a strain (sensor 50 may be a strain sensor; ¶ [0026]); and a calculator (control device 20) that calculates load acting in a lateral direction on the human-powered vehicle (1) in accordance with an output of the at least one strain gauge (control device 20 calculates a load acting in a lateral direction on axle 35 of bicycle 1 based on detection information from sensor 50; ¶ [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Roovers et al. with the load calculator of Kawakami to provide improve operation of an electric assist bicycle based on the applied load (Roovers et al., p. 1, ll. 24-27 and Kawakami, ¶ [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “the first end includes a male thread used for attaching the shaft member to the body…and the at least one wire groove extends through the male thread in the setting surface” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claims 11 and 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1 July 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852