DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeh et al. (US 2022/0187149 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh et al. discloses a shaft member (10) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle; ¶ [0003]), the shaft member (10) being configured to be attachable to a frame (crank arms are part of a bicycle frame) of the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) in a manner restricting rotation relative to the frame (connection portions 14 and 15 allow attachment to for example, left and right crank arms of a bicycle, and connection portions 14 and 15 restrict rotation of shaft 10 relative to the crank arms; ¶ [0020]), the shaft member (10) comprising: a setting surface (12, 13) on which strain gauges (20, 30) are arrangeable (strain gauges 20 are arranged on side portions 12 and 13; ¶ [0021]), the setting surface (12, 13) including a plurality of setting portions (120, 130) configured to allow for arrangement of one or more of the strain gauges (recesses 120 allow for arrangement of one of more strain gauges 20; fig. 1), and the setting portions (120) are provided in the setting surface (12) at different positions in a circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 120 are provided on side portion 12 at different positions in a circumferential direction of spindle 10; fig. 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Yeh et al. discloses wherein each of the setting portions (120) includes a flat part (recesses 120 includes a flat part; figs. 1 and 5); wherein each of the setting portions (120) includes a recess (¶ [0019]).
Regarding claim 4, wherein at least one of the setting portions (portion of spindle 10 including recess 120 and 130; fig. 1) is configured to allow at least two of the strain gauges (20, 30) to be arranged in an axial direction of the shaft member (10).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh et al. discloses wherein two of the setting portions (120) are provided at positions that differ in phase by 90 degrees in the circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 120 are provided in positions that differ by 90 degrees in the circumferential direction of spindle 10; fig. 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Yeh et al. discloses wherein two of the setting portions (120) are provided at positions that differ in phase by 180 degrees in the circumferential direction of the shaft member (top and bottom recesses 120 are provided at positions that differ in phase by 180 degrees in the circumferential direction of spindle 10; fig. 1); wherein the two of the setting portions (120) are substantially equal in shape (recesses 120 have the same shape).
Regarding claim 18, Yeh et al. discloses further comprising the strain gauges (20) arranged on the setting surface (strain gauges 20 are arranged on side portion 12; ¶ [0021]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 11,135,474 B2).
Regarding claim 22, Lin et al. discloses a detection device for a human-powered vehicle (crank apparatus for bicycle; c. 1, ll. 17-20), the detection device comprising: at least one strain gauge (130; fig. 1B) configured to be provided on a shaft member (110) of the human-powered vehicle (strain gauges 130 are provided on crank arm 110 of a bicycle; c. 4, ll. 27-29), the strain gauge (130) configured to detect a strain in an axial direction of the shaft member (strain gauges 130 are disposed on layer 120 of crank arm 110 to measure strain along any three orthogonal axial directions to determine tensile strain, compressive strain, and torsion strain; c. 7, ll. 21-28); and a calculator (some calculating means is required to perform calculating of the force applied to the crank arm based on the strain measurements; c. 9, ll. 40-44) that calculates load (force) acting in a lateral direction on the human-powered vehicle (bicycle) in accordance with an output of the at least one strain gauge (the force applied to crank arm 110 is calculated in accordance with an output of strain gauges 130; c. 8, ll. 58-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 2022/0187149 A1) in view of Grassi (US 9,097,598 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Yeh et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1, and further discloses the setting portions (120) include four setting portions (four recesses 120; fig. 1); the four setting portions (120) of the setting surface (12) are provided parallel to a center axis of the shaft member (10) at equal intervals in the circumferential direction of the shaft member (recesses 120 are provided parallel to a center axis of spindle 10 at equal intervals in the circumferential direction of spindle 10).
Yeh et al. is silent on the sensor circuit connections.
Grassi teaches a shaft member (26) with strain gauges (52, 54) that are bridge-connected to each other (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yeh et al. with the bridge connection of Grassi to measure shear strain from torsional forces while negating bending forces (c. 2, ll. 20-25). In modifying the apparatus of Yeh et al. with that of Grassi, one of ordinary skill would know that the strain gauges arranged on opposite sides of the shaft member would be bridge-connected to each other to negate the influence of bending forces.
Claim(s) 14, 15, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 2022/0187149 A1) in view of Janecek et al. (US 2012/0234108 A1).
Regarding claims 14, 15, and 19, Yeh et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Yeh et al. is silent on the shaft member including a wheel axle or hub axle.
Janecek et al. discloses a shaft member (200) including a strain gauge (240), wherein the shaft member (200) includes a wheel axle of a human-powered vehicle (torque sensing system 200 includes rear wheel axle 244; ¶ [0040]); wherein the shaft member (200) includes a hub axle (244) of the human-powered vehicle (bicycle); a hub for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle), the hub comprising: the shaft member (axle 244 may be connected to a hub; fig. 2D and ¶ [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yeh et al. to be used on the wheel axle or hub axle as taught in Janecek et al. to allow sensing of torque and other forces at the wheels.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Yeh et al. discloses an axle (10) for a human-powered vehicle (bicycle), the axle (10) comprising: a first end (14) in an axial direction of the axle (10), the first end including a male thread (140) configured to be engaged with a female thread provided in a frame (crank arms are part of a bicycle frame) of the human-powered vehicle in a manner restricting rotation relative to the frame (male thread 140 must be engaged with a corresponding female thread to allow connection to crank arms and restrict rotation of shaft 10 relative to the crank arms; ¶ [0020]); and a setting surface (12) including at least one setting portion (120) configured to allow for arrangement of at least one strain gauge (strain gauges 20 are arranged in recesses 120; ¶ [0021]; further comprising: a second end (15) opposite the first end (14) in the axial direction of the axle (10); and at least one of the first end (14) and the second end (15) includes a tool engagement portion engageable with a tool to fasten the male thread to the female thread (some portion of connection portions 14 and 15 may be engaged with a tool during fastening).
Yeh et al. is silent on the shaft member including a wheel axle.
Janecek et al. discloses a shaft member (200) including a strain gauge (240), wherein the shaft member (200) includes a wheel axle of a human-powered vehicle (torque sensing system 200 includes rear wheel axle 244; ¶ [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yeh et al. to be used on the wheel axle as taught in Janecek et al. to allow sensing of torque and other forces at the wheels.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 2022/0187149 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US 11,135,474 B2).
Regarding claim 23, Yeh et al. discloses the invention as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Yeh et al. is silent on the strain gauges detecting strain in an axial direction.
Lin et al. teaches a shaft member (110) for a human-powered vehicle (crank apparatus for bicycle; c. 1, ll. 17-20), a setting surface (120) on which strain gauges (130) are arrangeable (figs. 1A and 1B); the strain gauges are configured to detect a strain in an axial direction of the shaft member (strain gauges 130 are disposed on layer 120 of crank arm 110 to measure strain along any three orthogonal axial directions to determine tensile strain, compressive strain, and torsion strain; c. 7, ll. 21-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Yeh et al. with the strain gauge arrangement of Lin et al. to provide more accurate force detection in a bicycle component by allowing measurement of tensile strain, compressive strain, and torsion strain (Lin et al., c. 7, ll. 21-28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “a first end and a second end in an axial direction of the shaft member, wherein the setting surface includes at least one wire groove in which electric wires connected to the strain gauges are arrangeable, and the at least one wire groove is located between at least one of the setting portions and at least one of the first end and the second end” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claims 9-12.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest “wherein: the human-powered vehicle includes a hub; the hub includes a hub shell; and at least some of the setting portions are arranged in a cavity defined in the hub shell” in combination with the remaining claim elements as recited in claims 16 and 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with regard to independent claim 1, filed 23 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant presents that in the Interview conducted 16 December 2025, “it was generally agreed that Yeh’s shaft 10 is not attachable to the frame of the human-powered vehicle in a manner restricting rotation relative to the frame.” Response, page 7. However, similar to the discussion of the previously claimed “body,” the presently amended language of “the frame” is not defined in the claim. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “frame” is interpreted as the entire bicycle, including its components. Shaft 10 of the bicycle of Yeh et al. is “attachable to” at least crank arms, which are a component of the frame, “in a manner restricting rotation relative” to the crank arms (¶ [0020]), and thus, meets the language recited in claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ERIKA J. VILLALUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852