1. This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed 4/28/2026.
2. Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 10 and 21 are independent claims. In the instant Amendment, claims 1, 2, 7, 10, 11, 16 and 19 were amended, claim 20 was canceled and claim 21 was added. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozog (US 10,027,727) in view of Urbach (US 2013/0042259).
Regarding claim 1, Ozog discloses a processing method, comprising:
in response to obtaining a first operation (see fig 31A; e.g., user selection of identified face in interface 7108) performed on a first display region of an electronic device (see fig 31A; e.g., interface 7108), generating a target processing logic (see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “one or more options 7110 relating to the face may be displayed”) based on the first operation and an initial processing logic (see fig 31A; also see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “after one or more face boundaries have been identified, a face may be selected and one or more options 7110 relating to the face may be displayed”), wherein the first display region displays at least one stream of multimedia data obtained by the electronic device (see fig 31A; e.g., face stream interface displaying photo containing a plurality of faces), the first operation is configured to determine target multimedia data (e.g., face identified by boundaries) from the at least one stream of the multimedia data (see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “after one or more face boundaries have been identified, a face may be selected and one or more options 7110 relating to the face may be displayed”), and the initial processing logic is a processing logic executed by the electronic device to process current multimedia data before obtaining the first operation (see fig 31A; also see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “one or more faces may be detected based on facial recognition”);
processing the target multimedia data based on the target processing logic (see fig 31A; also see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “the one or more options may include an ability to tag, ability to share media with the selected face, ability to request media with the selected face, and/or select any other option relating to a selected face”); and
outputting target multimedia content obtained by processing the target multimedia data (see fig 31A; e.g., share media with selected face).
Ozog does not expressly disclose wherein generating the target processing logic based on the first operation and the initial processing logic includes determining display position information of the target multimedia data in a second display region of the electronic device based on the first operation, the second display region being different from the first display region.
However, Urbach discloses wherein generating the target processing logic based on the first operation and the initial processing logic includes determining display position information of the target multimedia data in a second display region of the electronic device based on the first operation, the second display region being different from the first display region (see fig 3 and paragraphs [0051]-[0054]; e.g., select an object in a first window and drag and drop the object to a position in a second window). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Urbach’s teachings in Ozog’s user interface in an effort to save user time by simplifying the number of user inputs.
Regarding claim 2, Ozog discloses in response to obtaining a second operation performed on a second display region of the electronic device, updating at least one processing parameter in the target processing logic based on the second operation, wherein the second display region is an interface region for configuring an output parameter of target multimedia content for output (see fig 31B, interface 7110; e.g., user selects one of the options displayed in interface 7110).
Regarding claim 3, Ozog discloses wherein updating the at least one processing parameter in the target processing logic based on the second operation includes one of:
determining a configuration option of the second operation, and updating a corresponding processing parameter in the target processing logic based on a configuration parameter corresponding to the configuration option (see figs 23 and 31D; e.g., selection of “share media” option allows user to adjust/update share preferences); and
determining operation information of the second operation, generating a corresponding configuration parameter based on the operation information, and updating a corresponding processing parameter in the target processing logic based on the corresponding configuration parameter (see fig 31D; e.g., selection of “share media” option allows user to adjust/update share preferences).
Regarding claim 4, Ozog discloses in response to obtaining multiple streams of multimedia data from a target input component, displaying at least one stream of the multimedia data in the first display region of the electronic device, wherein the target input component is a component for collecting or forwarding the at least one stream of the multimedia data (see col. 37, line 65 to col. 38, line 15; e.g., select at least one stream from a number of streams); and
identifying objects in the at least one stream of the multimedia data and adding label information to the objects in the first display region, wherein different types of objects are obtained based on different identification models, and the label information is configured to label coordinate information and/or attribute information of the objects (see col. 42, line 38 to col. 43, line 4; e.g., tag faces identified by facial recognition).
Regarding claim 5, Ozog discloses determining the target multimedia data from the at least one stream of the multimedia data displayed in the first display region based on the first operation, which correspondingly includes one of:
determining a target object from the at least one stream of the multimedia data based on the first operation, and determining multimedia data containing the target object as the target multimedia data (see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “after one or more face boundaries have been identified, a face may be selected and one or more options 7110 relating to the face may be displayed”);
determining the target object from the at least one stream of the multimedia data based on the first operation, and cropping corresponding multimedia data with corresponding first cropping parameter based on label information of the target object to obtain the target multimedia data;
determining the target object from the at least one stream of the multimedia data based on the first operation, and cropping corresponding multimedia data with corresponding second cropping parameter based on label information and output layout information of the target object to obtain the target multimedia data; and
based on that the first operation is a circle-selection operation of circle-selecting the target object from the at least one stream of the multimedia data, determining multimedia data circle-selected by the circle-selection operation as the target multimedia data.
Regarding claim 6, Ozog discloses wherein determining the target object from the at least one stream of the multimedia data based on the first operation includes one of:
in response to the first operation is a drag operation of dragging a first object labeled in the first display region from a first position to a second position, determining the first object to be the target object, wherein the second position is outside the first display region;
in response to the first operation is a circle-selection operation performed on the first display region, determining an object circle-selected by the circle-selection operation as the target object;
in response to the first operation is an instruction input operation performed on the electronic device or the first display region of the electronic device, determining an object or region content matching an instruction inputted by the instruction input operation as the target object (see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “after one or more face boundaries have been identified, a face may be selected and one or more options 7110 relating to the face may be displayed”); and
in response to the first operation is a gesture input operation performed on the electronic device or the first display region of the electronic device, determining an object or region content matching a gesture inputted by the gesture input operation as the target object.
Regarding claim 7, Ozog discloses wherein generating the target processing logic based on the first operation and the initial processing logic includes one of:
processing the initial processing logic based on the display position information and a display parameter of the target multimedia data to obtain the target processing logic; and
processing the initial processing logic based on the display position information and a display output parameter of the target multimedia data to obtain the target processing logic (see col. 30, line 48 to col. 31, line 65; e.g., “ each face feature may have a corresponding set of data points/criteria that may be utilized to define that feature. Further, in one embodiment, the features and the positions relative to the other features may be utilized in constructing metadata that defines the face of a particular user (e.g. User A in this example, etc.)”), wherein the display output parameter is obtained based on display configuration information of an output device of target multimedia data for output (see fig 23; e.g., identified/selected faces are output based on preferences).
Regarding claim 8, Ozog discloses further including one of:
switching multimedia data currently displayed in the first display region based on the first operation to determine multiple streams of target multimedia data from multiple streams of multimedia data;
determining a target output mode based on a type of the target multimedia content, and outputting the target multimedia content based on the target output mode (see figs 23 and 31D; e.g., share preferences); and
determining an output mode of the target multimedia content based on a third operation on the electronic device and outputting the target multimedia content separately or synchronously according to a corresponding type based on determined output mode.
Regarding claim 9, Ozog discloses wherein outputting the target multimedia content obtained by processing the target multimedia data includes one of:
displaying and outputting the target multimedia content to a same display screen or different display screens based on a type of the target multimedia content;
outputting the target multimedia content to a target output part of the electronic device, wherein the target output part is determined based on attribute information of the target multimedia content; outputting the target multimedia content to a target application; and
outputting the target multimedia content to an output device having a target connection with the electronic device (see col. 8, lines 1-39; e.g., share content via Bluetooth between two users).
Claims 10-18 are similar in scope to claims 1-9, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, Ozog discloses a processing method, comprising:
in response to obtaining a first operation (see fig 31A; e.g., user selection of identified face in interface 7108) performed on a first display region of an electronic device (see fig 31A; e.g., interface 7108), generating a target processing logic (see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “one or more options 7110 relating to the face may be displayed”) based on the first operation and an initial processing logic (see fig 31A; also see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “after one or more face boundaries have been identified, a face may be selected and one or more options 7110 relating to the face may be displayed”), wherein the first display region displays at least one stream of multimedia data obtained by the electronic device (see fig 31A; e.g., face stream interface displaying photo containing a plurality of faces), the first operation is configured to determine target multimedia data (e.g., face identified by boundaries) from the at least one stream of the multimedia data (see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “after one or more face boundaries have been identified, a face may be selected and one or more options 7110 relating to the face may be displayed”), and the initial processing logic is a processing logic executed by the electronic device to process current multimedia data before obtaining the first operation (see fig 31A; also see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “one or more faces may be detected based on facial recognition”);
processing the target multimedia data based on the target processing logic (see fig 31A; also see col. 40, line 23 to col. 42, line 14; e.g., “the one or more options may include an ability to tag, ability to share media with the selected face, ability to request media with the selected face, and/or select any other option relating to a selected face”); and
outputting target multimedia content obtained by processing the target multimedia data (see fig 31A; e.g., share media with selected face).
Ozog does not expressly disclose wherein the first operation includes a drag operation of dragging a first object labeled in the first display region from a first position to a second position, the second position being outside the first display region.
However, Urbach discloses wherein the first operation includes a drag operation of dragging a first object labeled in the first display region from a first position to a second position, the second position being outside the first display region (see fig 3 and paragraphs [0051]-[0054]; e.g., select an object in a first window and drag and drop the object to a position in a second window). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Urbach’s teachings in Ozog’s user interface in an effort to save user time by simplifying the number of user inputs.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US 2015/0067590).
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174