DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 10/31/2023 has been entered. Claims 2-21 are pending. Claim 1 is canceled without prejudice.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,836,438 B2, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,836,438 B2 teach every limitation of claims 2-21 of the instant application, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangarajan Sridhar et al. (Rangarajan Sridhar), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0093088 A1, and further in view of West et al. (West), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0279577 A1.
As to independent claim 2, Rangarajan Sridhar discloses a system comprising:
processing circuitry (paragraphs [0006],[0042]: a device includes one or more processor/processing circuitry);
a memory coupled to the processing circuitry, the memory including a program stored thereon that, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising (paragraph [0006]: the device includes a memory and one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processor, the one or more programs including instructions for performing operations/actions):
generating, based on a series of tokens that represent a string of words, a local string-dependent embedding of each token of the series of tokens (paragraph [0210]: process a text string to produce multiple candidate text representations, and each candidate text representation is a sequence of words or tokens; Also see an example of an input sentence is tokenized/encoded in an n-gram; paragraph [0267]: the word contextualizer may implement a first natural language model, e.g., a word or token embedding model; paragraphs [0268]-[0269]: word contextualizer receives the n-gram encoding sentence, and the first language model may be employed to embed each token included in the n-gram in one or more token or word embedding (local string-dependent embedding of each token; paragraph [0270]: word embbeder 816 generates a first token vector E1 (local string-dependent embedding));
generating, based on the series of tokens, a global string-dependent embedding of each token of the series of tokens (paragraph [0267]: outputs of the first language model (token vector) are provided to sentence embedder , which may implement a second natural language model (sentence embedder model ) to generate sentence vector (global string-dependent embedding);
combining the local string-dependent embedding and the global string-dependent
embedding resulting in an induced embedding of each token of the series of tokens (paragraphs [0271][0272]: a linear combination of the three token vectors for each token may be taken to generate a fourth token vector for each of the tokens in the input sentence; the sentence embedder implement a second language model that receives as input a token vector for each token included in the sentence, and sentence embedder may additionally receive the n-gram encoding sentence as input and generate the final sentence vector (local string-dependent embedding and global string-dependent embedding);
generating, based on the series of tokens, a relative position embedding that includes a vector representation of a position of each token in the series of tokens (paragraphs [0257], [0262]: as a consequence of the multitask training of the sentence embedding model, a sentence vector may be employed to determine meaningful features of the semantic context of the corresponding sentence, especially, a sentence vector corresponding to a sentence may be employed to infer/determine the semantic context of the sentence, via a locality/position of the sentence vector within the vector space);
combining the relative position embedding and the induced embedding resulting in a disentangled attention embedding for each token of the series of tokens (paragraph [0327]: a spatial relationship-to-semantic mapping may map a spatial relationship between the vector embeddings of two sentences (series of tokens) to a semantic relationship between the semantic contexts of the two sentences (series of tokens), and such a special relationship may include the absolute and/or relative positions of each of the sentence vectors in the vector space).
Rangarajan Sridhar, however, does not disclose executing a masked language model (MLM) based on the disentangled attention embedding resulting in a masked word prediction.
In the same field of endeavor, West discloses transformer, encoder-decoder, attention-based neural net, LSTM based recurrent neural network (RNN), a convolutional neural net (CNN) or other machine learning model may provide prediction functionality, and a common component of these models is that the models create vectors n-gram that represent pieces or groups of the input/training data, and those vectors may be passed into the layers of the models such as masked language modeling for word prediction (paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rangarajan Sridhar to include executing a masked language model (MLM) based on the disentangled attention embedding resulting in a masked word prediction, as taught by West for the purpose of predicting masked words.
As to dependent claim 3, Rangarajan Sridhar discloses wherein generating the local string-dependent embedding of each token includes generating a multi-word embedding of a window of tokens of the series of tokens (paragraphs [0268], [0269]).
As to dependent claim 4, Rangarajan Sridhar discloses wherein generating the local string-dependent embedding of each window of tokens includes using a deep neural network (DNN) (paragraph [0210]).
As to dependent claim 5, Rangarajan Sridhar discloses wherein generating the global string-dependent embedding of each token includes using a neural network (NN) transformer (paragraph [0210]).
As to dependent claim 6, Rangarajan Sridhar discloses wherein the operations further comprise generating a relative position embedding of each token, the relative position embedding including a vector of values indicating an influence of every token on every other token (paragraphs [0257], [0262]).
As to dependent claim 7, Rangarajan Sridhar discloses wherein the operations further comprise determining a mathematical combination of two or more of (i) a content-to-position dependent embedding, (ii) a position-to-content dependent embedding, or (iii) a content-to-content dependent embedding and implement the MLM based on the mathematical combination (paragraph [0210]).
As to dependent claim 8, Rangarajan Sridhar discloses wherein the operations further comprise determining a mathematical combination of (i) a content-to-position dependent embedding, (ii) a position-to-content dependent embedding, and (iii) a content-to-content dependent embedding and implement the MLM based on the mathematical combination (paragraph [0210]).
As to dependent claim 9, Rangarajan Sridhar discloses wherein (i) the content-to-position dependent embedding and the position-to-content dependent embedding are determined based on both the relative position embedding and the induced embedding of each token, and (ii) the content-to-content dependent embedding is determined based on the induced embedding of each token (paragraph [0210]).
As to dependent claim 11, Rangarajan Sridhar does not disclose but West discloses wherein the operations further comprising providing the masked word prediction to an application (West, paragraph [0040]).
Claims 12-19 are method claims that contain similar limitations of claims 2-9, respectively. Therefore, claims 12-19 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 are machine-readable medium claim that contains similar limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145