DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 18 originally filed 26 October 2023. Claims 1 through 18 are addressed by this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 27 April 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
In the present case, no translation or concise explanation of relevance has been provided for NPL 2.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1).
The drawings enclose most reference characters in boxes in Figures 30, 34, and 35. Reference characters must not be enclosed within outlines.
Related to this deficiency, it is noted that reference character "30105" of Figure 30 is rendered on two lines which gives it the appearance of two numbers rather than one.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4).
The description uses the reference characters "3342" and "3343" to refer to the same part. The same part of an invention must be designated with the same reference character.
The description uses the reference characters "131", "132", "151", "331", "333", "334", "341", "3331", "3565", "31022", and "34515" to refer to more than one part each. The same reference character must never be used to designate different parts.
In the present case, these reference characters or similar numbers appear in the following locations: "131" is mentioned in ¶12, ¶82, ¶84, ¶88, ¶90, ¶94, ¶96, ¶97, ¶98, ¶99, ¶100, ¶101, ¶102, ¶103, ¶108, ¶111, ¶114, ¶121, ¶132, ¶133, ¶134, ¶135, ¶140, ¶141, ¶144, ¶146, ¶158, ¶171, and ¶173, "132" is mentioned in ¶81, ¶82, ¶85, ¶88, ¶89, ¶94, ¶98, ¶100, ¶102, ¶103, ¶113, ¶114, ¶115, ¶116, ¶117, ¶118, ¶119, ¶120, ¶121, ¶122, ¶126, ¶127, ¶134, ¶135, ¶136, ¶137, ¶144, ¶145, ¶146, ¶151, ¶152, ¶154, ¶155, ¶159, ¶161, ¶162, ¶170, ¶171, ¶172, and ¶173, "151" is mentioned in ¶94, ¶100, ¶103, ¶113, ¶114, ¶117, ¶121, ¶122, ¶124, ¶145, and ¶146, "331" is mentioned in ¶96, ¶102, ¶103, ¶104, ¶108, ¶111, and ¶122, "333" is mentioned in ¶150, ¶151, ¶154, ¶158, ¶159, ¶160, ¶169, and ¶170, "334" is mentioned in ¶150, ¶151, ¶152, ¶154, ¶155, ¶156, ¶158, ¶160, ¶169, and ¶172, "341" is mentioned in ¶96, ¶105, ¶106, ¶107, ¶109, ¶112, and ¶125, "3331" is mentioned in ¶160, ¶161, and ¶163, "3565" is mentioned in ¶198, "31022" is mentioned in ¶179 and ¶183, "34515" is mentioned in ¶194 and ¶196, and "334" is mentioned in ¶150, ¶151, ¶152, ¶154, ¶155, ¶156, ¶158, ¶160, ¶169, and ¶172.
The drawings refer to more than one part each with the reference characters "132", "30105", "Q2", "Q4", "Q3", "Q1", and "331b". The same part of an invention must be designated with the same reference character throughout the drawings.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5).
The drawings include the reference characters "312", "361", "3564", "4431", "4432", "4441", "4442", "30106", "30110", "33403", and "132c" which do not appear in the description. Reference characters not mentioned in the description must not appear in the drawings.
The description includes the reference characters "103", "110", "111", "316", "334", "402", "415", "431", "441", "3343", "3411", "3421", "3431", "3432", "3441", "3442", "4311", "4411", "30100", "301022", "4122a", "4133c", and "4133d" which do not appear in the drawings. Reference characters mentioned in the description must appear in the drawings.
In the present case, these reference characters or similar numbers appear in the following locations: "334" is mentioned in ¶150, ¶151, ¶152, ¶154, ¶155, ¶156, ¶158, ¶160, ¶169, and ¶172, "103" is mentioned in ¶200, ¶201, and ¶204, "110" is mentioned in ¶206, "111" is mentioned in ¶81, "316" is mentioned in ¶126, "334" is mentioned in ¶150, ¶151, ¶152, ¶154, ¶155, ¶156, ¶158, ¶160, ¶169, and ¶172, "402" is mentioned in ¶189, "415" is mentioned in ¶126, "431" is mentioned in ¶94, "441" is mentioned in ¶95, "3343" is mentioned in ¶162, "3411" is mentioned in ¶106 and ¶125, "3421" is mentioned in ¶105 and ¶106, "3431" is mentioned in ¶165, ¶166, and ¶167, "3432" is mentioned in ¶165, ¶166, and ¶167, "3441" is mentioned in ¶165, ¶166, and ¶167, "3442" is mentioned in ¶165, ¶166, and ¶167, "4122a" is mentioned in ¶108, "4133c" is mentioned in ¶106, "4133d" is mentioned in ¶106, "4311" is mentioned in ¶102, "4411" is mentioned in ¶105, "30100" is mentioned in ¶176, and "301022" is mentioned in ¶202 and ¶203.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, this claim requires a "third anode drive chip" and a "fourth anode drive chip", but no first or second such "anode drive chip". When using ordinal designations, it is necessary to start with an initial ordinal designation such as "first" and introduce further elements in numerical order from that point. Failure to adhere to such an ordering creates the implication of additional elements without strictly indicating the presence thereof. Due to this implication, it is unclear whether or not the claim actually requires the presence of the implied features. As such, this claim is deemed indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, this claim will be interpreted as requiring no elements other than those explicitly stated.
Regarding claim 16, this claim requires a "third anode drive chip" and a "fourth anode drive chip", but no first or second such "anode drive chip". When using ordinal designations, it is necessary to start with an initial ordinal designation such as "first" and introduce further elements in numerical order from that point. Failure to adhere to such an ordering creates the implication of additional elements without strictly indicating the presence thereof. Due to this implication, it is unclear whether or not the claim actually requires the presence of the implied features. As such, this claim is deemed indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. For the remainder of this action, this claim will be interpreted as requiring no elements other than those explicitly stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yasukawa (US Pub. 2024/0006850).
Regarding claim 1, Yasukawa discloses, "An emission substrate" (p. [0063] and Fig. 2B, pt. 12). "A first board surface" (p. [0063] and Fig. 2B, pt. 12). "A light emitting chip" (p. [0063] and Fig. 2B, pt. 10). "[The light emitting chip] assembled on the first board surface" (p. [0063] and Fig. 2B, pts. 10 and 12). "[The light emitting chip] internally integrating a laser array" (p. [0063] and Fig. 2B, pt. 10). "Wherein the laser array comprises m*n lasers, where m and n are respectively a number of rows and a number of columns of lasers comprised in the laser array, both m and n are positive integers, and at least one of m and n is greater than 1" (p. [0060] and Fig. 2A, pts. 10 and 13). "Wherein in the laser array, anodes of the lasers located in a same row are electrically connected" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3B, pt. 13, where the anode connections are arranged as rows when viewed from the side perspective). "[The anodes of the lasers located in a same row] lead out to a common anode end" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3B, pt. 13). "Cathodes of the lasers located in a same column are electrically connected" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3B, pt. 13, where the cathode connections are arranged as columns when viewed from the side perspective). "[The cathodes of the lasers located in a same column] lead out to a common cathode end" (p. [0065] and Fig. 3B, pt. 13). "At least one anode drive chip" (p. [0060], [0067], and Fig. 3B, pts. 20, S1, S2, S3, S4, S5, and S6). "[The at least one anode drive chip] assembled on the emission substrate" (p. [0060] and Fig. 2A, pt. 20). "[The at least one anode drive chip] internally integrating m anode drive circuits" (p. [0060], [0067], and Fig. 3B, pts. 20, S1, S2, S3, S4, S5, and S6). "Wherein the m anode drive circuits are respectively electrically connected to m number of the common anode ends in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0060], [0067], and Fig. 3B, pts. 13, S1, S2, S3, S4, S5, and S6). "At least one cathode drive chip" (p. [0060], [0064], and Fig. 3B, pts. 20, T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, and T6). "[The at least one cathode drive chip] assembled on the emission substrate" (p. [0060] and Fig. 2A, pt. 20). "[The at least one cathode drive chip] internally integrating n cathode drive circuits" (p. [0060], [0064], and Fig. 3B, pts. 20, T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, and T6). "Wherein the n cathode drive circuits are electrically connected to n number of the common cathode ends in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0060], [0064], and Fig. 3B, pts. 13, T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, and T6).
Regarding claim 2, Yasukawa discloses, "M anode energy storage components" (p. [0066] and Fig. 3B, pts. C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6). "Wherein the m anode energy storage components are assembled on the emission substrate" (p. [0060] and Fig. 2A, pts. 30). "One end of the m anode energy storage components is electrically connected to the m anode drive circuits respectively" (p. [0066] and Fig. 3B, pts. C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, C6, S1, S2, S3, S4, S5, and S6). "The m anode energy storage components are also electrically connected to the m common anode ends respectively" (p. [0066] and Fig. 3B, pts. 13, C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6). "Wherein the other end of the m anode energy storage components is grounded" (p. [0066] and Fig. 3B, pts. C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6).
Regarding claim 15, Yasukawa discloses, "Wherein the cathode drive chip is assembled on the first board surface" (p. [0060] and Fig. 3A, pts. 12 and 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa, in view of Shi et al. (Shi, US Pub. 2023/0027279), and further in view of Srowig et al. (Srowig, US Pub. 2023/0023489).
Srowig was initially cited in the IDS received 27 April 2025.
Regarding claim 3, Yasukawa discloses, "Wherein the anode drive chip is a bare chip" (Fig. 2B, pt. 20). Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a surface of the light emitting chip is provided with m common anode end bonding points." "The m common anode end bonding points are electrically connected to the m common anodes respectively in a one-to-one correspondence." Shi discloses, "Wherein a surface of the light emitting chip is provided with m common anode end bonding points" (p. [0023] and Fig. 1A, pts. 116 and 138, where the number of bondpads is set to the number of connections required by Yasukawa). "The m common anode end bonding points are electrically connected to the m common anodes respectively in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0023] and Fig. 1A, pts. 138, where the number of bondpads is set to the number of connections required by Yasukawa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Shi. In view of the teachings of Yasukawa regarding a laser array connected to driving circuitry, the alternate arrangement of the laser chip terminals to the top of the laser chip as taught by Shi would enhance the teachings of Yasukawa by providing a suitably alternate manner of configuring the connections to the laser chip.
The combination of Yasukawa and Shi does not explicitly disclose, "A surface of the anode drive chip is provided with m anode drive bonding points." "The m anode drive bonding points are electrically connected to the m anode drive circuits respectively in a one-to-one correspondence." "Wherein the m anode energy storage components are connected to the m anode drive bonding points through m first bonding wires to achieve electrical connections with the m anode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence." "The m anode energy storage components are also connected to the m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires to achieve electrical connections with the m common anode ends in a one-to-one correspondence." Srowig discloses, "A surface of the anode drive chip is provided with m anode drive bonding points" (p. [0334] and Fig. 6, where the anode driver chip of Yasukawa may include upper terminals in like manner to the driver IC of Srowig). "The m anode drive bonding points are electrically connected to the m anode drive circuits respectively in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0334] and Fig. 6, where employing upper terminals for the driver IC of Yasukawa in the manner of Srowig involves connecting these terminasl to the driver in like manner to the wires of Srowig). "Wherein the m anode energy storage components are connected to the m anode drive bonding points through m first bonding wires to achieve electrical connections with the m anode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0334] and Fig. 6, where the driver and capacitor corresponding to an anode line of Yasukawa may be connected via a wire connected from an upper terminal of the driver to the capacitor and another wire connected from the capacitor to the laser as in Srowig). "The m anode energy storage components are also connected to the m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires to achieve electrical connections with the m common anode ends in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0334] and Fig. 6, where the driver and capacitor corresponding to an anode line of Yasukawa may be connected via a wire connected from an upper terminal of the driver to the capacitor and another wire connected from the capacitor to the laser as in Srowig). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa and Shi with the teachings of Srowig. In view of the teachings of Yasukawa regarding a laser array connected to driving circuitry, the alternate manner of connecting a laser, driver, and capacitor via wires as taught by Srowig would enhance the teachings of Yasukawa and Shi by providing a suitably alternate manner of providing the required circuit connections.
Regarding claim 13, Yasukawa discloses, "Wherein the anode drive chip and the m anode energy storage components are assembled on the first board surface" (p. [0060] and Fig. 3A, pts. 12, 20, and 30).
Claims 4 through 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa, in view of Shi, in view of Srowig, and further in view of Seurin et al. (Seurin, US Pub. 2013/0163627).
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Yasukawa, Shi, and Srowig does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the emission substrate is equipped with m first anode energy storage component solder pads." "Where each of the m first anode energy storage component solder pads is electrically connected to each of the m anode energy storage components respectively in a one-to-one correspondence." "Wherein the m first anode energy storage component solder pads are bonded to m anode drive bonding points through m first bonding wires to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m anode drive circuits." "Wherein the m first anode energy storage component solder pads are also connected to the m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m common anode ends." Seurin discloses, "Wherein the emission substrate is equipped with m first anode energy storage component solder pads" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the capacitor of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Where each of the m first anode energy storage component solder pads is electrically connected to each of the m anode energy storage components respectively in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the capacitor of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the m first anode energy storage component solder pads are bonded to m anode drive bonding points through m first bonding wires to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m anode drive circuits" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the capacitor of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the m first anode energy storage component solder pads are also connected to the m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m common anode ends" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the capacitor of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa, Shi, and Srowig with the teachings of Seurin. In view of the teachings of Yasukawa regarding a laser array connected to driving circuitry, the alternate techniques for providing a connection between two electrical elements that are mounted together as taught by Seurin would enhance the teachings of Yasukawa, Shi, and Srowig by providing a suitably alternate techniques for providing the required circuit connections.
Regarding claim 5, The combination of Yasukawa, Shi, Srowig, and Seurin does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein each of the m first anode energy storage component pad comprises a second pad and a third pad." "Wherein the second pad and the third pad are respectively located on both sides of a corresponding anode energy storage component." "The second pad and the third pad are electrically connected with the anode energy storage component." "Wherein the second pad is bonded to an anode drive bonding point through a first bonding wire." "Wherein the third pad is bonded to a common anode end bonding point through a second bonding wire." The examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that it was known in the art to employ a distinct bonding pad for each wire when connecting electrical components via wires. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a number of wiring connection pads for the capacitor that corresponds to the number of wires connected to the capacitor, since such an arrangement is a known suitable manner of providing connection points for wires.
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Yasukawa, Shi, and Srowig does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a surface of each of the m anode energy storage components is equipped with a second anode energy storage component pad." "The second anode energy storage component pad is used to establish an electrical connection between an anode energy storage component and an external circuit." "Wherein m number of the second anode energy storage component pads are connected to the m anode drive bonding points through m first bonding wires to establish a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m anode drive circuits." "Wherein m second anode energy storage component pads are also connected to the m common anode end bonding points through the m second bonding wires to establish a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m common anode ends." Seurin discloses, "Wherein a surface of each of the m anode energy storage components is equipped with a second anode energy storage component pad" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the portion to which the wires bond corresponds to the second pad). "The second anode energy storage component pad is used to establish an electrical connection between an anode energy storage component and an external circuit" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the portion to which the wires bond corresponds to the second pad). "Wherein m number of the second anode energy storage component pads are connected to the m anode drive bonding points through m first bonding wires to establish a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m anode drive circuits" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the portion to which the wires bond corresponds to the second pad). "Wherein m second anode energy storage component pads are also connected to the m common anode end bonding points through the m second bonding wires to establish a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m common anode ends" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the portion to which the wires bond corresponds to the second pad). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa, Shi, and Srowig with the teachings of Seurin for the reasons provided above regarding claim 4.
Claims 7 through 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa, in view of Shi, and further in view of Seurin.
Regarding claim 7, Yasukawa discloses, "Wherein the anode drive chip is a packaged chip" (Fig. 2B, pt. 20). "[The m anode energy storage components are bonded] to achieve electrical connections with the m common anodes in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0066] and Fig. 3B, pts. 13, C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, and C6). Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a surface of the light emitting chip is provided with m common anode end bonding points." "[Wherein] m common anode end bonding points are electrically connected to the m common anodes in a one-to-one correspondence." Shi discloses, "Wherein a surface of the light emitting chip is provided with m common anode end bonding points" (p. [0023] and Fig. 1A, pts. 116 and 138, where the number of bondpads is set to the number of connections required by Yasukawa). "[Wherein] m common anode end bonding points are electrically connected to the m common anodes in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0023] and Fig. 1A, pts. 138, where the number of bondpads is set to the number of connections required by Yasukawa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Shi for the reasons provided above regarding claim 3.
The combination of Yasukawa and Shi does not explicitly disclose, "A surface of the anode drive chip is provided with m anode driving solder points." "Wherein the m anode driving solder points are electrically connected to the m anode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence." "Wherein the m anode driving solder points are soldered on the emission substrate." "[The m anode driving solder points] are electrically connected to m anode driving solder pads." "[The m anode driving solder pads] set on the emission substrate correspondingly." "Wherein the m anode driving solder pads are electrically connected to the m anode energy storage components through m first printed circuits set on the emission substrate, or, through m first bonding wires to the m anode energy storage components for bonding." "[The m anode driving solder pads are electrically connected] to achieve electrical connections between the m anode energy storage components and the m anode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence." "Wherein the m anode energy storage components are also bonded to the m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires." Seurin discloses, "A surface of the anode drive chip is provided with m anode driving solder points" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the anode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the m anode driving solder points are electrically connected to the m anode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the anode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the m anode driving solder points are soldered on the emission substrate" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the anode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "[The m anode driving solder points] are electrically connected to m anode driving solder pads" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the anode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "[The m anode driving solder pads] set on the emission substrate correspondingly" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the anode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the m anode driving solder pads are electrically connected to the m anode energy storage components through m first printed circuits set on the emission substrate, or, through m first bonding wires to the m anode energy storage components for bonding" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the anode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "[The m anode driving solder pads are electrically connected] to achieve electrical connections between the m anode energy storage components and the m anode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the anode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the m anode energy storage components are also bonded to the m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the anode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa including by providing a connection to the capacitor in like manner to the connection between element 518 and element 501 of Seurin). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa and Shi with the teachings of Seurin. In view of the teachings of Yasukawa regarding a laser array connected to driving circuitry, the alternate techniques for providing a connection between two electrical elements that are mounted together as taught by Seurin would enhance the teachings of Yasukawa and Shi by providing a suitably alternate techniques for providing the required circuit connections.
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Yasukawa and Shi does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the emission substrate is equipped with m first anode energy storage component solder pads." "Where each of the m first anode energy storage component solder pads is electrically connected to an anode energy storage component respectively in a one-to-one correspondence." "Wherein the m first anode energy storage component solder pads are electrically connected to m anode drive solder pads through the m first printed circuits to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m anode drive circuits." "Wherein the m first anode energy storage component solder pads are also bonded to m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires." "[The m first anode energy storage component solder pads are bonded] to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and m common anode ends." Seurin discloses, "Wherein the emission substrate is equipped with m first anode energy storage component solder pads" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the capacitor of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Where each of the m first anode energy storage component solder pads is electrically connected to an anode energy storage component respectively in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the capacitor of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the m first anode energy storage component solder pads are electrically connected to m anode drive solder pads through the m first printed circuits to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and the m anode drive circuits" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500b, 505, and 518, where the connection between the capacitor and anode driver required by Yasukawa may be provided in the manner of the connection between elements 501 and 518 in arrangement 500b of Seurin). "Wherein the m first anode energy storage component solder pads are also bonded to m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the capacitor of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "[The m first anode energy storage component solder pads are bonded] to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the m anode energy storage components and m common anode ends" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the capacitor of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa and Shi with the teachings of Seurin for the reasons provided above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Yasukawa, Shi, and Seurin does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein each of the m first anode energy storage component pads comprises a second pad and a third pad." "Wherein the second pad and the third pad are respectively located on both sides of a corresponding anode energy storage component." "[The second pad and the third pad] are electrically connected with the corresponding anode energy storage component." "Wherein the second pad is electrically connected with an anode driving solder point through a first printed circuit." "Wherein the third pad is bonded to a common anode end bonding point through a second bonding wire." The examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that it was known in the art to employ a distinct bonding pad for each wire when connecting electrical components via wires. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a number of wiring connection pads for the capacitor that corresponds to the number of wires connected to the capacitor, since such an arrangement is a known suitable manner of providing connection points for wires.
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Yasukawa and Shi does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a surface of each anode energy storage component is equipped with a second anode energy storage component pad." "The second anode energy storage component pad is used to establish an electrical connection between the anode energy storage component and an external circuit." "Wherein m second anode energy storage component pads are connected to m anode drive solder points through m first bonding wires to establish a one-to-one electrical connection between m anode energy storage components and m anode drive circuits." "Wherein m second anode energy storage component pads are also connected to m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires to establish a one-to-one electrical connection between m anode energy storage components and m common anodes." Seurin discloses, "Wherein a surface of each anode energy storage component is equipped with a second anode energy storage component pad" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the portion to which the wires bond corresponds to the second pad). "The second anode energy storage component pad is used to establish an electrical connection between the anode energy storage component and an external circuit" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the portion to which the wires bond corresponds to the second pad). "Wherein m second anode energy storage component pads are connected to m anode drive solder points through m first bonding wires to establish a one-to-one electrical connection between m anode energy storage components and m anode drive circuits" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the portion to which the wires bond corresponds to the second pad). "Wherein m second anode energy storage component pads are also connected to m common anode end bonding points through m second bonding wires to establish a one-to-one electrical connection between m anode energy storage components and m common anodes" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the portion to which the wires bond corresponds to the second pad). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa and Shi with the teachings of Seurin for the reasons provided above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Yasukawa discloses, "Wherein the cathode drive chip is a bare chip" (Fig. 2B, pt. 20). Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a surface of the light emitting chip is provided with n common cathode bonding points." "The n common cathode bonding points are electrically connected to the n common cathode ends in a one-to-one correspondence." "Wherein the n cathode drive bonding points are bonded to the n cathode drive bonding points through n third bonding wires to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the n cathode drive circuits and the n common cathode ends." Shi discloses, "Wherein a surface of the light emitting chip is provided with n common cathode bonding points" (p. [0023] and Fig. 1A, pts. 116 and 136, where the number of bondpads is set to the number of connections required by Yasukawa). "The n common cathode bonding points are electrically connected to the n common cathode ends in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0023] and Fig. 1A, pts. 136, where the cathode connections are in a one-to-one correspondence as required by Yasukawa). "Wherein the n cathode drive bonding points are bonded to the n cathode drive bonding points through n third bonding wires to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the n cathode drive circuits and the n common cathode ends" (p. [0024] and Fig. 1A, pt. 136, where the number of wires and bondpads is set to the number of connections required by Yasukawa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Shi for the reasons provided above regarding claim 3.
The combination of Yasukawa and Shi does not explicitly disclose, "A surface of the cathode drive chip is equipped with n cathode drive bonding points." "Wherein the n cathode drive bonding points are electrically connected to the n cathode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence." Seurin discloses, "A surface of the cathode drive chip is equipped with n cathode drive bonding points" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500c, 501, 506, and 518, where the cathode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the n cathode drive bonding points are electrically connected to the n cathode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500c, 501, 506, and 518, where the cathode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa and Shi with the teachings of Seurin for the reasons provided above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 12, Yasukawa discloses, "Wherein the cathode drive chip is a packaged chip" (Fig. 2B, pt. 20). Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the n cathode drive solder pads are bonded to n cathode drive bonding points through n third bonding wires to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the n cathode drive circuits and the n common cathode ends." Shi discloses, "Wherein the n cathode drive solder pads are bonded to n cathode drive bonding points through n third bonding wires to achieve a one-to-one electrical connection between the n cathode drive circuits and the n common cathode ends" (p. [0024] and Fig. 1A, pt. 136, where the number of wires and bondpads is set to the number of connections required by Yasukawa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Shi for the reasons provided above regarding claim 3.
The combination of Yasukawa and Shi does not explicitly disclose, "A surface of the cathode drive chip is equipped with n cathode drive solder points." "Wherein the n cathode drive solder points are electrically connected to the n cathode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence." "Wherein the n cathode drive solder points are soldered on the emission substrate and are electrically connected in a one-to-one correspondence with n cathode drive solder pads located on the emission substrate." Seurin discloses, "A surface of the cathode drive chip is equipped with n cathode drive solder points" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the cathode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the n cathode drive solder points are electrically connected to the n cathode drive circuits in a one-to-one correspondence" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the cathode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). "Wherein the n cathode drive solder points are soldered on the emission substrate and are electrically connected in a one-to-one correspondence with n cathode drive solder pads located on the emission substrate" (p. [0060] and Fig. 5, pts. 500a, 505, 506, and 518, where the cathode driver of Yasukawa may be connected in the same manner as element 518 of Seurin to provide the connections required of Yasukawa). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa and Shi with the teachings of Seurin for the reasons provided above regarding claim 7.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa, in view of Shi, in view of Srowig, and further in view of Hoashi et al. (Hoashi, US Pub. 2009/0161710).
Regarding claim 14, Yasukawa discloses, "Wherein the anode drive chip comprises at least one third anode drive chip and at least one cathode drive chip" (p. [0110] and Fig. 9A, pts. 20). "Wherein the third anode drive chip is assembled on the first board surface" (p. [0110] and Fig. 9B, pts. 12 and 20). "[The third anode drive chip] internally integrated with m3 anode drive circuits" (p. [0116] and Fig. 12B, pts. 20, S1, S2, and S3). "[The fourth anode drive chip] internally integrated with m4 anode drive circuits" (p. [0116] and Fig. 12B, pts. 20, S4, S5, and S6). "Wherein m3 anode energy storage components are assembled on the first board surface" (p. [0116] and Figs. 9A and 12B, pts. 30, C1, C2, and C3). "Where m3 and m4 are both positive integers, and m3+m4=m, m3≥1, m4≥1" (p. [0116] and Fig. 12B, pts. S1, S2, S3, S4, S5, and S6).
The combination of Yasukawa, Shi, and Srowig does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a fourth anode drive chip is assembled on a second board surface opposite to the first board surface." Hoashi discloses, "Wherein a fourth anode drive chip is assembled on a second board surface opposite to the first board surface" (p. [0127] and Fig. 8, pts. 5 and 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa, Shi, and Srowig with the teachings of Hoashi. In view of the teachings of Yasukawa regarding a laser array connected to driving circuitry, the alternate arrangement of elements on the bottom of the mounting board as taught by Hoashi would enhance the teachings of Yasukawa, Shi, and Srowig by allowing for elements to be arranged across the surface area of both the top and bottom of the mounting board and thereby reduce the overall footprint of the device.
The combination of Yasukawa, Shi, Srowig, and Hoashi does not explicitly disclose, "[Wherein] m4 anode energy storage components are assembled on the second board surface." Hoashi teaches that it was known in the art to assemble electrical components on both sides of a connection board (p. [0127] and Fig. 8, pts. 5 and 16). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange at least some capacitors on the bottom of the connection board, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa in view of Hoashi.
Regarding claim 16, Yasukawa discloses, "Wherein the cathode drive chip comprises at least one third cathode drive chip and at least one fourth cathode drive chip" (p. [0110] and Fig. 9A, pts. 20). "Wherein the third cathode drive chip is assembled on the first board surface" (p. [0110] and Fig. 9B, pts. 12 and 20). "[The third cathode drive chip] internally integrated with n3 cathode drive circuits" (p. [0117] and Fig. 12B, pts. 20, T1, T2, and T3). "[The fourth cathode drive chip] internally integrated with n4 cathode drive circuits" (p. [0117] and Fig. 12B, pts. 20, T4, T5, and T6). "Where n3 and n4 are both positive integers, and n3+n4=n, n3≥1, n4≥1" (p. [0117] and Fig. 12B, pts. T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, and T6). Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose, "The fourth cathode drive chip is assembled on a second board surface." Hoashi discloses, "The fourth cathode drive chip is assembled on a second board surface" (p. [0127] and Fig. 8, pts. 5 and 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Hoashi. In view of the teachings of Yasukawa regarding a laser array connected to driving circuitry, the alternate arrangement of elements on the bottom of the mounting board as taught by Hoashi would enhance the teachings of Yasukawa by allowing for elements to be arranged across the surface area of both the top and bottom of the mounting board and thereby reduce the overall footprint of the device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa.
Regarding claim 17, Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein elements comprised in the anode drive circuits… are silicon-based elements." "Elements comprised in the cathode drive circuits are silicon-based elements." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the driving circuits from silicon-based elements, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasukawa, in view of Russell et al. (Russell, US Pub. 2022/0166322), and further in view of Kanner et al. (Kanner, US Pub. 2021/0296854).
Regarding claim 18, Yasukawa does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein each of the anode drive circuits comprises an anode addressing switch element." "An anode unidirectional conduction component." "An anode reverse bias switch element." "The other end of the anode unidirectional conduction component is connected to a corresponding common anode end." "Wherein states of the anode addressing switch element and the anode reverse bias switch element are opposite." "Wherein when the anode addressing switch element is turned on, the anode unidirectional conduction component is in a conducting state." "Wherein when the anode reverse bias switch element is turned on, the anode unidirectional conduction component is in a reverse bias state." "The anode reverse bias switch element are the silicon-based elements." Russell discloses, "Wherein each of the anode drive circuits comprises an anode addressing switch element" (p. [0052] and Fig. 1A, pt. 18). "An anode unidirectional conduction component" (p. [0053] and Fig. 1A, pt. 25). "An anode reverse bias switch element" (p. [0054] and Fig. 1A, pt. 43). "The other end of the anode unidirectional conduction component is connected to a corresponding common anode end" (p. [0058] and Fig. 1A, pts. 25, 27, 35, and 50, where the connection to lasers 50 of Russell corresponds to the common anode connection of Yasukawa). "Wherein states of the anode addressing switch element and the anode reverse bias switch element are opposite" (p. [0090] and Figs. 1A and 1C, pts. SC1 and SC2, where, when either SC1 or SC2 are on, the opposite signal is off). "Wherein when the anode addressing switch element is turned on, the anode unidirectional conduction component is in a conducting state" (Fig. 1A, pts. 18 and 25). "Wherein when the anode reverse bias switch element is turned on, the anode unidirectional conduction component is in a reverse bias state" (Fig. 1A, pts. 25 and 43). "The anode reverse bias switch element are the silicon-based elements" (p. [0054]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Russell. In view of the teachings of Yasukawa regarding a laser array connected to driving circuitry, the additional inclusion of inclusion of additional driving switches as taught by Russell would enhance the teachings of Yasukawa by allowing for additional conditioning of the pulse.
The combination of Yasukawa and Russell does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein an end of the anode unidirectional conduction component is connected to the anode addressing switch element and the anode reverse bias switch element." Kanner discloses, "Wherein an end of the anode unidirectional conduction component is connected to the anode addressing switch element and the anode reverse bias switch element" (p. [0051] and Fig. 4, pts. 402, 404, and 408). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yasukawa and Russell with the teachings of Kanner. In view of the teachings of Yasukawa regarding a laser array connected to driving circuitry and the teachings of Russell regarding the inclusion of additional driving switches for conditioning the pulse, the additional indication of wiring between a current delivery switch and additional current conditioning switches as taught by Kanner would enhance the teachings of Yasukawa and Russell by providing a suitable manner of connecting the additional current conditioning switches of Russell to the current delivery switch of Yasukawa.
The combination of Yasukawa, Russell, and Kanner does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the anode addressing switch element… are the silicon-based elements." "The anode unidirectional conduction component… are the silicon-based elements." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the driving circuits from silicon-based elements, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The combination of Yasukawa, Russell, and Kanner does not explicitly disclose, "[The diode is] a germanium-based diode." Russell teaches the use of a diode within a driving circuit to ensure proper current flow therein (p. [0053] and Fig. 1A, pt. 25). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a diode element between the driving switch and the additional switching element, since inclusion of such a diode would prevent current flow in undesired directions.
The combination of Yasukawa, Russell, and Kanner does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein m anode addressing switch elements comprised in the m anode drive circuits are electrically connected to a cathode of a… diode." "An anode of the… diode is used to receive current and charge the m anode energy storage components." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the diode from germanium-based elements, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Van Nieuwenhove et al. (Van Nieuwenhove, US Pub. 2019/0293764) is notable for teaching a light emitting device arrangement with explicit anode and cathode pads connected to connection lines.
Iguchi (US Pub. 2021/0265813) is notable for teaching a packaging arrangement for a laser and driving circuitry that includes various printed and wired connections.
Hurwitz et al. (Hurwitz, US Pub. 2022/0029383) is notable for teaching a packaging arrangement for a laser and driving circuitry that includes various printed and wired connections.
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828